Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Judges
Acts
  • Section 5, Subsection 2 of the 1983 Income Tax Act
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Judges
Acts
  • Section 5, Subsection 2 of the 1983 Income Tax Act
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The appellant is an ex-serviceman who served in the Indian Navy from 6-4-1974 to 30-4-1984, completing a total of 10 years and 24 days of service. He was discharged from service on medical grounds upon completion of his tenure and was granted disability pension by the Government.

The appellant sought, in addition to the disability pension, the service element of pension. He filed a writ petition before the Punjab and Haryana High Court claiming entitlement to the service element of pension. The learned Single Judge of the High Court, by judgment dated 22-9-2000, dismissed the writ petition on the ground that the appellant was not entitled to service pension.

Aggrieved by the dismissal, the appellant preferred a letters patent appeal before the Division Bench of the Punjab and Haryana High Court. The Division Bench held that the appellant had been granted the disability element of pension and that there was no provision in the statutory rules or regulations for grant of the service element of pension in cases of discharge on completion of an initial fixed tenure of 10 years. The letters patent appeal was accordingly dismissed.

The appellant then approached the present Court by way of appeal against the judgments of the learned Single Judge and the Division Bench of the Punjab and Haryana High Court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether an ex-serviceman of the Indian Navy, discharged on medical grounds upon completion of a fixed tenure after serving 10 years and 24 days and already in receipt of disability pension, is entitled to the service element of pension notwithstanding the minimum 15-year service requirement under Regulation 78 of the Navy (Pension) Regulations, 1964.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The appellant claimed entitlement to the service element of pension over and above the disability pension already granted by the Government.

Respondent's Arguments (Union of India)

  • Learned Senior Counsel for the Union of India drew the Court's attention to Regulation 78 of the Navy (Pension) Regulations, 1964, which prescribes that a minimum of 15 years of service is required to qualify for the service element of pension.
  • On this basis, it was contended that the appellant, having served only 10 years and 24 days, did not meet the threshold for eligibility to the service element of pension.

Table of Precedents Cited

No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court noted that Regulation 78 of the Navy (Pension) Regulations, 1964, clearly requires a minimum of 15 years of service to qualify for the service element of pension. It was undisputed that the appellant had completed only 10 years and 24 days of service.

Emphasizing the clarity of the applicable regulations, the Court concluded that, because the appellant had admittedly not completed the requisite 15 years of service, he was not entitled to the service element of pension. On this basis, the Court held that there was no infirmity in the judgment of the learned Single Judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court, which had denied the appellant's claim, and in its affirmation by the Division Bench in the letters patent appeal.

The Court therefore found no ground for interference with the impugned judgments, characterizing the appeal as devoid of merit.

Holding and Implications

HOLDING: The appeal was dismissed.

The Court upheld the decisions of both the learned Single Judge and the Division Bench of the Punjab and Haryana High Court, confirming that the appellant is not entitled to the service element of pension because he did not complete the minimum 15 years of service required under Regulation 78 of the Navy (Pension) Regulations, 1964. The parties were directed to bear their own costs.

The direct effect of this decision is that the appellant remains entitled only to the disability pension already granted and cannot claim the service element of pension. The opinion, as provided, does not discuss broader implications or establish any new legal precedent beyond the application of the clear regulatory requirement in this specific case.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    Bhola Singh v. Union Of India And Others

    Order

    1. We have heard the learned counsel for the parties.

    2. The appellant is an ex-serviceman having served the Indian Navy from 6-4-1974 to 30-4-1984, for 10 years and 24 days. He was discharged from service on medical ground on completion of the tenure of service. He was granted disability pension by the Government. The appellant claimed for service element of pension over and above the disability pension.

    3. Mr Attri, learned Senior Counsel appearing for the Union of India has drawn our attention to Regulation 78 of the Navy (Pension) Regulations, 1964, according to which the minimum service required for service element of pension is 15 years. The learned Single Judge of the Punjab and Haryana High Court vide his judgment dated 22-9-2000, dismissed the writ petition filed by the appellant on the ground that the appellant was not entitled to get service pension.

    4. Aggrieved by the said judgment passed by the learned Single Judge, the appellant preferred a letters patent appeal before the Division Bench of the Punjab and Haryana High Court. The Division Bench also observed that the appellant was granted disability element of pension and there is no provision made in the statutory rules or regulations for grant of service element of pension in the case of discharge, on completion of the initial tenure of fixed period of 10 years in service, and the letters patent appeal filed by the appellant was dismissed.

    5. In view of the clear regulations of the Navy, the appellant is not entitled to service element of pension because he has admittedly not put in 15 years of service.

    6. We do not find any infirmity in the impugned judgments passed by the learned Single Judge which is affirmed by the Division Bench of the Punjab and Haryana High Court. No interference is called for. This appeal being devoid of any merit, is accordingly dismissed leaving the parties to bear their own costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Bhola Singh v. Union Of India And Others
    (Aug 10, 2010)