AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2005 INSC 300
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • Section 10-B, Subsection (1) of the Industrial Dispute Act
  • Section 2(22) of the <Unknown Act Name>
  • (iii) any industry which has been declared by the State Government to be a public utility service for the purpose of this Act.
  • Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948
  • Section 10-B of the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947
  • The Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2005 INSC 300
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • Section 10-B, Subsection (1) of the Industrial Dispute Act
  • Section 2(22) of the <Unknown Act Name>
  • (iii) any industry which has been declared by the State Government to be a public utility service for the purpose of this Act.
  • Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948
  • Section 10-B of the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947
  • The Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The employees of the respondent company demanded an increase in wages, leading the State Government of Tamil Nadu to refer the dispute to the Special Industrial Tribunal, Madras. Pending adjudication, the Government issued two orders dated 15-7-1985 and 29-7-1985 under Section 10-B of the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947, directing interim monetary payments to the workmen, with a proviso that the sums could later be adjusted against benefits granted in the eventual award.

The company complied and made the prescribed payments. Subsequently, the parties filed a memorandum of compromise before the Tribunal, which adopted the compromise as its award effective from 1-5-1986. Clause 3(c) of the compromise characterised the interim payments as “ex gratia” and stated they would not be adjusted against future benefits.

The Employees’ State Insurance Corporation (ESIC) claimed statutory contributions on the interim amounts. A writ petition was filed; a Single Judge of the Madras High Court, later affirmed by a Division Bench, held that the sums were not “wages” because the Tribunal’s award labelled them ex gratia. ESIC appealed, resulting in the present judgment.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the amounts paid under the Government’s Section 10-B orders constitute “wages” within the meaning of Section 2(22) of the Employees’ State Insurance Act, 1948.
  2. If they were wages when paid, did they cease to retain that character because the compromise award later described them as “ex gratia” payments?

Arguments of the Parties

Employees’ State Insurance Corporation

  • The interim payments fall squarely within the statutory definition of “wages” because they are remuneration paid in cash pursuant to the employment relationship.
  • A subsequent compromise cannot alter the legal character of payments that were already wages when disbursed.

Respondent Company

  • The sums were not wages even at the outset; they were merely interim or gratuitous payments pending adjudication.
  • The Tribunal’s adoption of the compromise, expressly calling the sums “ex gratia,” conclusively changed their nature, precluding their treatment as wages for ESI contribution purposes.

Table of Precedents Cited

No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court began by examining Section 2(22) of the ESI Act, noting that “wages” covers all remuneration paid or payable in cash if it arises from the contract of employment, whether express or implied. The Government’s Section 10-B orders expressly stated that the interim payments would be adjusted against wages determined in the eventual award, confirming their linkage to the contract of employment.

The Court rejected the respondent’s contention that the payments lacked the character of wages when made. Because they were mandated by the Government to secure industrial peace and to be adjustable against future wage entitlements, they satisfied the statutory definition at the moment of payment.

Turning to the High Court’s view that the subsequent award re-characterised the sums as ex gratia, the Court held that the Tribunal never adjudicated on the nature of the payments; it merely recorded the parties’ compromise. A private label agreed upon by the parties cannot override the statutory definition where the underlying facts meet it. Therefore, the payments did not “cease” to be wages simply because the compromise called them ex gratia.

Consequently, the interim amounts remain wages, and statutory contributions under the ESI Act are payable. Interest, if any, is to be computed strictly in accordance with the Act.

Holding and Implications

Appeal Allowed; High Court judgments set aside.

The Court declared that the interim payments made under the Government’s Section 10-B orders constitute wages, and the respondent company is liable to pay ESI contributions on those sums. Interest liability will follow the statutory provisions. No order as to costs was made.

Implication: The decision clarifies that the statutory definition of “wages” prevails over any contrary nomenclature chosen in a settlement or compromise, reinforcing that employers cannot evade ESI contribution liability by labeling payments as ex gratia.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    Employees' State Insurance Corpn. v. Gnanambigai Mills Ltd. .

    Order

    1. This appeal is against the judgment of the Madras High Court dated 7-8-2002. Briefly stated, the facts are as follows:

    The employees of the respondent Company raised a demand for increase of wages. The dispute was referred to the Special Tribunal, Madras for adjudication. By virtue of Section 10-B of the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947 which had been introduced in the State of Tamil Nadu, the Government passed orders dated 15-7-1985 and 29-7-1985 directing certain payments to be made to the workmen pending the disputes. Both orders contained a clause that any money paid in pursuance of the order could be deducted by the employer from out of the monetary benefits to which the employee would become entitled under the award which may be passed by the Tribunal.

    2. At this stage, it would be convenient to set out Section 10-B of the Industrial Disputes Act, 1947 under which the orders were passed. Section 10-B reads as follows:

    “10-B. Power to issue order regarding terms and conditions of service pending settlement of disputes.—(1) Where an industrial dispute has been referred by the State Government to a Labour Court or a Tribunal under sub-section (1) of Section 10 and if, in the opinion of the State Government it is necessary or expedient so to do for securing the public safety or convenience or the maintenance of public order or supplies and services essential to the life of the community or for maintaining employment or industrial peace in the establishment concerning which such reference has been made, it may, by general or special order, make provision,—
    (a) for requiring the employer or workman or both to observe such terms and conditions of employment as may be specified in the order or as may be determined in accordance with the order, including payment of money by the employer to any person who is or has been a workman;
    (b) for requiring any public utility service not to close or remain closed and to work or continue to work on such terms and conditions as may be specified in the order; and
    (c) for any incidental or supplementary matter which appears to it to be necessary or expedient for the purpose of the order:
    Provided that no order made under this sub-section shall require any employer to observe terms and conditions of employment less favourable to the workman than those which were applicable to them at any time within three months immediately preceding the date of the order.
    Explanation.—For the purpose of this sub-section, ‘public utility service’ means—
    (i) any section of an industrial establishment on the working of which the safety of the establishment or the workmen employed therein depends;
    (ii) any industry which supplies power, light or water to the public;
    (iii) any industry which has been declared by the State Government to be a public utility service for the purpose of this Act.
    (2) An order made under sub-section (1) shall cease to operate on the expiry of a period of six months from the date of the order or on the date of the award of the Labour Court or the Tribunal, as the case may be, whichever is earlier.
    (3) Any money paid by an employer to any person in pursuance of an order under sub-section (1) may be deducted by that employer from out of any monetary benefit to which such person becomes entitled under the provisions of any award passed by the Labour Court or the Tribunal as the case may be.”

    3. The respondent paid the amounts as directed by the Government. Ultimately, the respondent Company entered into a memo of compromise with the employees and in terms of the memo of compromise an order was taken from the Special Tribunal which reads as follows:

    “To the workmen in the textile mills falling in Group D the relief granted shall be in the terms contained in Annexures I and III to the memorandum of compromise, dated 21-3-1986 (Appendix III), which have been adopted by me as my own findings and adjudication on the relevant issues and the same shall be effective from 1-5-1986.”

    Thus, the Special Tribunal never went into the question and did not decide whether or not the amounts paid (under the government order) were wages or not. It merely gave its imprimatur to a compromise arrived at between the parties. Clause 3(c) of the memorandum of compromise, which has been strongly relied upon, reads as follows:

    “It is agreed that the lump sum payment of Rs 500, Rs 260 and Rs 75, Rs 65 per month, as the case may be paid or payable to the workmen up to 30-4-1986 as per Government Orders No. 1399, dated 15-7-1985 and No. 1546, dated 29-7-1985 under Section 10-B of the Industrial Disputes Act and consent letter, dated 14-2-1986 by the Special Industrial Tribunal, be treated as an ex gratia payment and shall not be adjusted against the future benefits covered under this settlement.”

    4. The Employees' State Insurance Corporation claimed contributions on the amounts paid under the aforementioned two government orders. The Employees' State Insurance Corporation then sought to recover the contribution. A writ petition was thus filed before the High Court. A Single Judge of the High Court held that the amounts paid did not amount to “wages”. LPA filed by the Corporation has been dismissed by the impugned judgment. The judgments of the High Court proceed on the footing that the amounts paid under the orders of the Government would be “wages” within the meaning of the definition of the term “wages” as given under Section 2(22) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948. However, they conclude that as the award of the Tribunal terms these payments as “ex gratia payments”, therefore they cannot now be considered to be “wages”.

    5. We have heard parties at great length. In our view, the High Court was absolutely right in concluding that the payments made pursuant to the orders of the Government were “wages” within the meaning of the term as defined under the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948. We are unable to agree with the submissions made on behalf of the respondent that even at that stage these were not “wages”. The term “wages” as defined in Section 2(22) reads as follows:

    “2(22) ‘wages’ means all remuneration paid or payable in cash to an employee, if the terms of the contract of employment, express or implied, were fulfilled and includes any payment to an employee in respect of any period of authorised leave, lockout, strike which is not illegal or lay-off and other additional remuneration, if any paid at intervals not exceeding two months but does not include—
    (a) any contribution paid by the employer to any pension fund or provident fund, or under this Act;
    (b) any travelling allowance or the value of any travelling concession;
    (c) any sum paid to the person employed to defray special expenses entailed on him by the nature of his employment; or
    (d) any gratuity payable on discharge;”

    Thus, any remuneration paid or payable in cash to an employee if the terms of the contract of employment, express or implied, are fulfilled would be a “wage”. The government order clearly indicates that the payment was to be adjusted towards the “wages” after the award is passed. By virtue of the government order it is a payment in terms of the contract of employment and therefore it would be a wage.

    6. In our view the High Court has gone completely wrong in concluding that by virtue of the award it ceases to be wages. As stated above, the Tribunal has not applied its mind as to whether or not the payments were wages. All that the Tribunal did was to give its imprimatur to a compromise between the parties. Merely because the parties in their compromise chose to term the payments as “ex gratia payments” does not mean that those payments cease to be wages if they were otherwise wages. As stated above, they were wages at the time that they were paid. They did not cease to be wages after the award merely because the terms of compromise termed them as “ex gratia payments”. We are therefore unable to accept the reasoning of the judgments of the High Court. The judgment of the Division Bench as well as that of the Single Judge accordingly stand set aside. It is held that the amounts paid are wages and contribution will have to be made on those amounts also. We, however, make it clear that payments of the interest will be as per the statutory provisions.

    7. In this view of the matter, the appeal stands allowed. There will be no order as to costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Employees' State Insurance Corpn. v. Gnanambigai Mills Ltd. .
    (Jul 19, 2005)