Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • S. 3(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 (in short the Act)
  • S. 4(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act,
  • Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923.
  • Workmen's Compensation Act, 1906,
  • Workmen's Compensation Act,
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • S. 3(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 (in short the Act)
  • S. 4(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act,
  • Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923.
  • Workmen's Compensation Act, 1906,
  • Workmen's Compensation Act,
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The appellant employer challenged an order of the Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation awarding compensation for the death of a loading and unloading worker who collapsed and died due to a heart attack while carrying a head load during the course of employment. The employer contended that the worker's fall was due to his own carelessness and that the death was natural, not arising from an accident related to employment. The Commissioner held that the accident occurred during the course of employment and that the death arose out of employment, entitling the dependents to compensation. The employer raised four grounds of challenge to this order.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether negligence or contributory negligence on the part of the workman disentitles dependents to compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act.
  2. Whether death due to heart attack qualifies as an accident arising out of and in the course of employment.
  3. Whether a casual worker is entitled to compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act.
  4. Whether compensation should be calculated according to the provisions of the Act as they stood at the time of the accident or as amended later.
  5. Whether an ex gratia payment made by an unregistered agreement can be deducted from compensation awarded under the Act.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The worker's death was caused by his own carelessness while carrying the load.
  • The death was due to natural causes (heart attack) and not an accident arising out of employment.
  • The worker was a casual employee and therefore not entitled to compensation.
  • Compensation was incorrectly calculated on the basis of the amended Act, not the Act as it stood in 1991.
  • An amount of Rs. 7,000 paid under an unregistered agreement should be deducted from the compensation awarded.

Respondent's Arguments

  • Negligence or even gross negligence on the part of the workman does not disentitle dependents to compensation under the Act.
  • The death occurred due to an accident arising out of and in the course of employment as the worker collapsed while carrying a head load.
  • Casual workers employed for the purposes of the employer's trade or business are covered under the Act.
  • Compensation must be calculated as per the provisions of the Act at the time of the accident.
  • Payments made under an unregistered agreement are not deductible from compensation awarded under the Act, especially in cases of death.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Sundaresa Mudaliar v. Muthummal [1956 - II L.L.J 52] Doctrine of contributory negligence has no place in workmen's compensation claims. Negligence by the workman does not disentitle compensation; employer liable regardless.
Clover, Clayton and Company, Ltd. v. Hughes [1910 A.C 242] Definition of "accident" as an unlooked for mishap or untoward event not expected or designed. Death due to rupture of aneurism while working held to be an accident arising out of employment.
United India Insurance Company, Ltd. v. Yashodhara Amma [1989 (2) L.L.N 125] Death from heart attack during course of employment is compensable under S. 3(1). Heart attack while working held as injury arising out of employment; insurer liable.
National Insurance Company, Ltd. v. Smt. Balawwa [1993 (2) L.L.N 416] Supports compensability of sudden death during employment. Similar view confirming compensability of death due to heart attack during employment.
Hindustan Steel Construction Ltd. v. Nuralsha Khatoon [1992 (2) L.L.N 250] Supports compensability of death arising out of employment. Reinforces principle of nexus between employment and accidental death.
Smt. Sundarbai v. General Manager, Ordnance Factory, Jabalpur [1976 (2) L.L.N 58] Supports compensability of death during employment. Confirms compensability of death arising out of employment conditions.
Jayaram Motor Service, Srivilliputtur v. Pitchammal [1982 (2) L.L.N 257] Supports compensability of death during employment. Affirms compensability of sudden death in course of employment.
Executive Engineer v. Janaki [1978 K.L.T 897] Acceleration of disease due to work amounts to accident arising out of employment. Work accelerating disease held to establish causal nexus for compensation.
Mackinnon Mackenzie and Company v. Rita Fernandez [1969 - II L.L.J 812] Pre-existing disease aggravated by employment resulting in death constitutes accident. Employment aggravation of disease held compensable as accident.
Kochappan v. Krishnan [1987 (2) L.L.N 177] Casual workers employed for employer's trade or business are covered under the Act. Confirms entitlement of casual workers engaged in employer’s business to compensation.
Kerela State Electricity Board v. K. Valsala [1999 (4) L.L.N 1183] Compensation must be calculated as per Act provisions at time of accident. Compensation calculation based on salary ceiling existing at time of accident.
Kathleen Dias v. H.M Coria and Sons [1951 - 11 L.L.J 192] Unregistered agreements for ex gratia payments cannot be deducted from compensation. Payment by unregistered agreement not deductible from compensation awarded.
Bai Chanchalben v. Burjorji Dinshawji Sethna [1969 - II L.L.J 357] Same principle as Kathleen Dias regarding unregistered agreements. Reinforces that unregistered ex gratia payments do not reduce compensation.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court began by affirming that negligence or contributory negligence on the part of the workman does not disentitle dependents to compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act, citing the Madras High Court's ruling in Sundaresa Mudaliar v. Muthummal. The court examined the definition of "accident," relying on English authorities such as Clover, Clayton and Company, Ltd. v. Hughes, interpreting accident as an unexpected mishap not designed or expected, excluding natural disease but including sudden death during employment.

The court distinguished natural death from accidental death and held that the immediate cause of death was the fall while carrying a load, constituting an accident arising out of and in the course of employment. The nexus between employment and death was established by the fact that the accident occurred during work and accelerated the fatal heart failure, supported by precedents including United India Insurance Company Ltd. v. Yashodhara Amma and Mackinnon Mackenzie and Company v. Rita Fernandez.

Regarding the status of the worker as a casual employee, the court noted that casual workers employed for the employer's trade or business fall within the definition of "workman" under the Act, citing Kochappan v. Krishnan. The court also addressed the calculation of compensation, holding that it must be based on the Act's provisions as they existed at the time of the accident, referencing Kerala State Electricity Board v. K. Valsala.

On the issue of ex gratia payments made under an unregistered agreement, the court relied on Kathleen Dias v. H.M Coria and Sons and Bai Chanchalben v. Burjorji Dinshawji Sethna to hold that such payments cannot be deducted from the compensation payable under the Act, especially in cases of death where compensation must be deposited with the Commissioner.

Finally, the court considered statutory provisions relating to payment of interest on delayed compensation and emphasized that interest rates depend on the time of payment, not the date of the accident.

Holding and Implications

The appeal is allowed partly.

The court held that the death of the worker was caused by an accident arising out of and in the course of employment, entitling the dependents to compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act. The compensation amount was recalculated according to the provisions in force at the time of the accident, reducing it from Rs. 1,32,822 to Rs. 88,548. The employer was ordered to pay this amount with simple interest at 12% per annum from the date of the accident until payment. The excess amount already deposited shall be returned to the appellant. The court rejected the employer's contention that the Rs. 7,000 paid under an unregistered agreement should be deducted from compensation.

No new precedent was created; the decision reaffirmed existing legal principles regarding compensability of death due to heart attack during employment, coverage of casual workers, and treatment of unregistered ex gratia payments under the Workmen's Compensation Act.

    Shah v. Rajankutty

    Koshy, J.:— Appellant employer challenges the order of the Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation on four grounds. A loading and unloading worker during the course of employment, while carrying a head load, collapsed, fell down and died due to heart attack. According to the appellant, in his written statement, the worker fell down while he was carrying the load due to his carelessness. Tribunal ordered compensation holding that the accident occurred during the course of employment and death is arising out of employment. Mere negligence or even gross negligence does not disentitle a workman for compensation. As held by the Madras High Court in Sundaresa Mudaliar v. Muthummal, [1956 - II L.L.J 52], doctrine of contributory negligence has no place in workmen's compensation claim. Proviso (b) to S. 3(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 (in short the Act) clearly provides as follows:

    “3. Employer's liability for compensation”.— (1) If personal injury is caused to aworkman by accident arising out of and in the course of his employment, his employer shall be liable to pay compensation in accordance with the provisions of this chapter:

    Provided that the employer shall not be so liable—

    (a) xxx

    (b) in respect of any injury, not resulting in death (or permanent total disablement) caused by an accident which is directly attributable to-

    (i) the workman having been at the time thereof under the influence of drink or drugs,, or

    (ii) the wilful disobedience of the workman to an order expressly given, or to a rule expressly framed, for the purpose of securing the safety of workman, or

    (iii) the wilful removal or disregard by the workman of any safety guard or other device which he knew to have been provided for the purpose of securing the safety of workmen.”

    Only on the specific conditions in proviso (b) to S. 3(1) compensation can be denied if injuries are sustained in an accident arising out of and during the course of employment. But, even those restrictions in the proviso are not applicable in case of death of a workman and obligation is absolute. In case of death, compensation cannot be denied on the basis of negligence on the part of the workman in a claim under the Workmen's Compensation Act.

    2. Next ground is that the workman died due to heart attack and, therefore, it is a natural death and it is not due to an accident arising out of his employment. Accident is not defined in the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923. Therefore, the word “accident” should be understood in the popular and ordinary sense as denoting “an unlooked for mishap or an untoward event which is not expected or designed.” While explaining the word “accident” contained in the Workmen's Compensation Act in England, Lord Atkinson had observed as follows in Clover, Clayton and Company, Ltd. v. Hughes, [1910 A.C 242]:

    “I think, the meaning put upon the word “accident” in Fenton v. Thorley, [1903 A.C 443], must now be accepted in all cases turning on the construction of the phrase ‘injury by accident’ used in the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1906, as its true meaning, namely, ‘an unlooked for mishap or an untoward event which is not expected or designed.’ It must exclude disease. What is ‘unlooked for’ or ‘unexpected’ must, in every case, exist either in the external influences to which the sufferer is subjected, or in the effect upon him which those influences produce.”

    A death due to a natural disease (other than an occupational disease) is not an accident. Death of a workman by disease is not synonymous with accident. It is a natural death and not accident. But, the sudden death from the point of view of workman, who dies unexpectedly during the course of employment, without any disease is an “accident.” Self inflicted injuries and suicide are not accidents. Here, the workman fell down with head load, collapsed and died due to heart failure. In United India Insurance Company, Ltd. v. Yashodhara Amma, [1989 (2) L.L.N 125], a Division Bench of this Court considered an identical matter. In that case, a driver started plying the vehicle in normal circumstance, but, developed symptoms of heart attack en route (in the course of employment) and consequently died and it was held that the case attracted S. 3(1). It was held in that case that the driver's illness, though not an external injury, was a serious injury to the heart and insurance company is liable to pay compensation. Similar view was expressed by other benches as can be seen from National Insurance Company, Ltd. v. Smt. Balawwa, [1993 (2) L.L.N 416], Hindustan Steel Construction Ltd., v. Nuralsha Khatoon, [1992 (2) L.L.N 250], Smt. Sundarbai v. General Manager, Ordnance Factory, Jabalpur, [1976 (2) L.L.N 58] and Jayaram Motor Service, Srivilliputtur v. Pitchammal, [1982 (2) L.L.N 257].

    3. It is true that even if the “death” is an accident on claimant's point of view, to get compensation, it must be in the course of employment and arising out of employment. Here, there is no dispute that the death was during the course of employment. Question is whether it is arising out of employment. The accident which resulted in the injury or death, must be connected with the employment and must arise out of it; there must be casual connection or association between the employment and the accidental injury. Only a casual connection or nexus is necessary. In Clover Clayton and Company, Ltd. v. Hughes, [1910 A.C 242] (vide supra), the workman died due to rupture of an aneurism while doing his ordinary work in the ordinary way without any unusual exertion or strain. The aneurism was in such an advanced condition that it might have burst while the man was asleep, and a very slight exertion, or strain, would have been sufficient to bring about a rupture. Even so, the House of Lords held that this accident arose out of his employment as the strain of the work in which he was engaged, howsoever ordinary it may have been, was in fact one of the contributing causes. In Executive Engineer v. Janaki, [1978 K.L.T 897], it was held that even if the workman has early symptoms of the disease, if day's work accelerated the disease, accident is arising out of employment. Normally, it is for the claimant to prove that the death has got a connection, at least connection with the employment. Acceleration of disease during work establishes a casual connection. If death due to heart attack occur suddenly during the course of employment, it is for the employer to prove that the employment has no connection with the heart attack. Theory of res ipsa loquitor is applicable in this case. Here, there is no evidence that the workman was having heart disease earlier. Apex Court in Mackinnon Mackenzie and Company v. Rita Fernandez, [1969 - II L.L.J 812], observed that even if pre-existing disease is aggravated due to employment resulting in death, it is an accident arising out of employment. It is an admitted case that while carrying cashew bags, he fell down and, consequently, he died, even though ultimately his heart failed. Falling down while carrying cashew bags is an accident and that is the immediate cause which has accelerated the death of the workman. Therefore, he died due to personal injuries caused in an accident arising out of and in the course of employment.

    4. Thirdly, it was contended that he was a casual worker and therefore, he is not entitled to compensation. It is well settled law that casual workman employed for the purpose of business is also covered under the Workmen's Compensation Act. Accident occurred in 1991. At the relevant time, definition of “workman” under S. 2(n) of the Act specifically excluded “a person whose employment is of a casual nature and who is employed otherwise than for the purposes of the employer's trade or business”. The above specific exclusion was deleted only by Act 45 of 2000 with effect from 8 December 2000. Casual employment is employment necessitated by chance or on special circumstances in contradistinction to permanent or regular employment. Even if a person is employed casually, he would be a “workman” under the Act if he is employed for the purpose of the employer's trade or business (See Kochappan v. Krishnan, [1987 (2) L.L.N 177]. Here, the deceased workman was engaged for work connected with employer's business. Therefore, that contention also cannot be accepted.

    5. Further contention was that compensation was calculated on the basis of the amended Act even though the accident occurred in 1991. The above contention is correct. In Kerela State Electricity Board v. K. Valsala, [1999 (4) L.L.N 1183], Apex Court held that compensation has to be calculated as per the provisions of the Act as existed at the time of the accident. At the time of the accident, in view of Explanation II to S. 4(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, the maximum monthly salary that can be taken by the Commissioner for the purpose of computation of workmen's compensation was only Rs. 1,000. Then compensation has to be calculated by multiplying only 40 per cent of the salary by the relevant factor. Thus, the compensation payable will be Rs. 88,548

    instead of Rs. 1,32,822 awarded by the Commissioner. Since the order was passed after amendment and payment was also deposited after the amendment, we are of the opinion that no interference is required in awarding of simple interest at the rate of 12 per cent per annum from the date of the accident till the date of deposit. Section 4A(1) mandates payment of compensation as soon as it falls due. Liability to pay compensation arise on the date of accident itself. Section 4A(3)(a) deals with percentage of interest which reads as follows:

    “(3) Where any employer is in default in paying the compensation due under this Act within one month from the date it fell due, the Commissioner shall—

    ‘(a) direct that the employer shall, in addition to the amount of the arrears, pay simple interest thereon at the rate of twelve per cent, per annum or at such higher rate not exceeding the maximum of the lending rates of any scheduled bank as may be specified by the Central Government, by notification in the Official Gazette, on the amount due;’”

    The above provision clearly shows that rate of interest depends on the time of payment of compensation and not on the date of accident.

    6. Finally, it was argued that Rs. 7,000/- was paid by Exhibit D1 agreement and that has to be deducted from the compensation awarded. Exhibit D1 agreement is not a registered agreement under S. 28. Direct payment of compensation is possible by executing agreement except in case of death as contained under S. 8(1). Even for such cases, failure to register the agreement is fatal in view of S. 29. In Kathleen Dias v. H.M Coria and Sons, [1951 - 11 L.L.J 192], Calcutta High Court held that if an employer pays the dependent's ex gratia under an agreement which is not registered under S. 28, he is not entitled to deduct the same amount from the actual amount of compensation. Same view was taken by Gujarat High Court in Bai Chanchalben v. Burjorji Dinshawji Sethna, [1969 - II L.L.J 357]. In the Workmen's Compensation Act, for death, compensation has to be deposited under the Act. The amount paid for funeral expenses, immediate medical treatment, etc., cannot be treated as a compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act especially in the case of death. Section 8(1) of the Act deals with distribution of compensation in the case of death. It reads as follows:

    “8. Distribution of compensation.— (1) No payment of compensation in respect of a workman whose injury has resulted in death and no payment of a lump sum as compensation to a woman or a person under a legal disability, shall be made otherwise than by deposit with the Commissioner, and no such payment made directly by an employer shall be deemed to be a payment of compensation:

    Provided that, in the case of a deceased workman, an employer may make to any dependant advances on account of compensation (of an amount equal to three month's wages of such workman and so much of such amount) as does not exceed the compensation payable to that dependant shall be deducted by the Commissioner from such compensation and repaid to the employer.”

    Hence, entire compensation has to be deposited by the employer. If any advance is made towards compensation (maximum three months wages) that can be deducted by the Commissioner. Here, what is paid is not advance towards compensation, but, payment towards funeral and other expenses. In this connection. S. 7 of the Act is also relevant which read as follows:

    “17. Contracting out. — Any contract or agreement whether made before or after the commencement of this Act, whereby a workman relinquishes any right of compensation from the employer for personal injury arising out of or in the course of the employment, shall be null and void in so far as purports to remove or reduce the liability of any person to pay compensation under this Act.”

    Hence, claim for deduction from compensation on the basis of ex gratia paid by unregistered agreement cannot be accepted.

    7. Compensation payable will be Rs. 88,548-with simple interest at the rate of 12 per cent per annum from the date of the accident (11 November 1991) till the date of deposit (25 June 1998). Excess amount deposited shall be returned to the appellant and the amount as calculated above should be paid to the dependents of the deceased as per law immediately.

    The appeal is allowed partly.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Shah v. Rajankutty
    (Jul 7, 2005)