Reconsideration Does Not Restart Insurance-Claim Limitations Unless the Insurer Withdraws or Changes Its Decision

Case: Mark Schnatzmeyer and Carole Sandlin v. State Farm Lloyds
Court: United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Decision date: October 22, 2026
Disposition: District court judgment affirmed.

Precedential status: The opinion is not designated for publication under Fifth Circuit Rule 47.5. It applies existing authorities rather than establishing a new generally binding circuit precedent.

1. Introduction

This insurance dispute concerns when the limitations clock begins—and whether later claim review restarts it. Mark Schnatzmeyer and Carole Sandlin, the insured owners of a Dallas residence, challenged State Farm Lloyds’ handling of water damage sustained during a February 2021 freeze. State Farm paid its estimate and closed the claim in March 2021. The insureds later sought substantially more compensation, particularly for allegedly damaged ceramic tile, but did not sue until November 2023.

The Fifth Circuit held that the March 2021 determination started the applicable limitations periods. State Farm’s subsequent consideration of additional information did not restart those periods because it never withdrew or changed its original decision concerning the 2021 loss.

The decision illustrates an important distinction: an insurer’s willingness to consider supplemental material does not necessarily make its original determination preliminary or preserve the insured’s right to sue indefinitely.

2. Background and Procedural History

The 2021 loss and initial determination

On February 17, 2021, water from a neighbor’s frozen, burst pipes damaged the insureds’ property. They reported the loss the next day. State Farm’s adjuster inspected the property on March 1 and identified damage to baseboards and laminate flooring, but not to ceramic tile.

On March 12, 2021, State Farm issued its estimate and claim decision letter, paid $4,261.52, and telephoned Schnatzmeyer to advise that the claim was closed. State Farm also requested repair receipts so that the insureds could seek replacement-cost benefits. The insureds provided no further water-damage documentation for months.

No additional living expenses were incurred or owed under that claim because the insureds elected to stay at another residence they owned during repairs.

A second freeze and renewed demands

A separate freeze on December 24, 2022, caused additional damage and generated a different claim. During the handling of that claim, Schnatzmeyer raised the alleged ceramic-tile damage and asserted that it belonged under the 2021 claim. He acknowledged that the repairs previously funded by State Farm had not been completed.

The distinction between the two claims is central. State Farm’s February 7, 2023, partial denial letter concerned the 2022 claim; it was not the initial determination of the 2021 claim.

Key events affecting the limitations analysis
Date Event Significance
March 12, 2021 State Farm issued its decision, paid $4,261.52, and closed the 2021 claim. The court identified this as the accrual date.
December 30, 2022 Schnatzmeyer raised the alleged ceramic-tile damage under the 2021 claim. The later supplemental demand did not displace the original decision.
February 16, 2023 State Farm received the public adjuster’s $58,150.83 estimate for the 2021 claim. Submitting the estimate did not itself restart limitations.
May 15, 2023 State Farm reaffirmed its original evaluation and declined additional payment. The court treated this as confirmation, not a new initial determination.
September 23, 2023 A reinspection identified additional repairs appropriate under the 2022 claim, but no ceramic-tile water damage. Changes concerning the separate 2022 claim did not change the 2021 determination.
November 3, 2023 The insureds filed suit. The court held that the relevant limitations periods had already expired.

The insureds sued in Texas state court, and State Farm removed the action to federal court based on diversity jurisdiction. The district court granted State Farm partial summary judgment. The insureds then voluntarily dismissed their remaining claims, making the judgment final and appealable.

The appeal addressed only the 2021-related claims. The insureds did not present claims concerning the 2022 loss in their opening brief, and their separate 2022 additional-living-expense claim had been voluntarily dismissed.

3. Summary of the Opinion

The Fifth Circuit affirmed the judgment, rejecting four groups of arguments:

  1. Contractual and related claims: State Farm’s March 12, 2021, determination started limitations. Subsequent review did not restart the clock because State Farm did not withdraw or change that determination.
  2. Bad faith: The claim accrued with the same determination and was untimely under the two-year period applied by the court. Allegations of inadequate investigation did not produce a later accrual date.
  3. Misrepresentation, fraud, and conspiracy: The court held these claims untimely. It also found an argument about an alleged promise to allow supplementation forfeited because it had not been raised in the district court, and upheld an additional ground rejecting the post-loss communications theory.
  4. Texas Prompt Payment of Claims Act: The contractual limitations period applied, and the panel additionally concluded that the unsuccessful underlying 2021 claims could not support the asserted prompt-payment claim.

The court calculated the deadlines as March 12, 2023, for the common-law and statutory violations it addressed, and March 13, 2023, for breach of contract and the prompt-payment claim. The November 3, 2023, lawsuit was therefore too late.

4. Analysis of the Precedents Cited

Thompson v. Microsoft Corp.

Thompson v. Microsoft Corp., 2 F.4th 460, 466–67 (5th Cir. 2021), supplied the standard for reviewing summary judgment. Review is de novo: the appellate court independently evaluates the ruling, viewing facts and reasonable inferences favorably to the nonmoving party.

The precedent also permits affirmance on any record-supported ground presented to the district court. Its significance here was procedural. Even with the insureds receiving favorable inferences, the court found no material factual dispute preventing a limitations ruling as a matter of law.

Silo Rest. Inc. v. Allied Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co.

Silo Rest. Inc. v. Allied Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 420 F. Supp. 3d 562, 573 (W.D. Tex. 2019), supported application of an insurance policy’s contractual limitations period to claims under the Texas Prompt Payment of Claims Act.

This authority connected the policy’s two-years-and-one-day provision to the insureds’ statutory prompt-payment theory. As a district court decision, it served as persuasive authority rather than binding appellate precedent.

Castillo v. State Farm Lloyds

Castillo v. State Farm Lloyds, 210 F. App’x 390, 395 (5th Cir. 2006), supported the panel’s application of two-year limitations periods to the common-law and statutory insurance claims before it, including claims under the Texas Insurance Code and Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act.

The panel used this authority both in its general limitations discussion and when rejecting the insureds’ misrepresentation, fraud, and conspiracy theories. Its discussion should be understood in that pleaded insurance-dispute context: the opinion does not separately analyze every potentially applicable limitations rule for an independently accrued fraud claim.

Smith v. Travelers Cas. Ins. Co. of Am.

Smith v. Travelers Cas. Ins. Co. of Am., 932 F.3d 302, 311, 316 (5th Cir. 2019), was the central substantive precedent. It supplied two propositions:

  • Contractual and extracontractual insurance causes of action begin to accrue when coverage is denied.
  • Reinvestigation alone is not inconsistent with an earlier denial; the insurer must expressly or implicitly withdraw or change its decision.

The court applied these propositions to distinguish continued claim handling from a changed coverage position. State Farm reviewed supplemental materials but consistently maintained that its original 2021 evaluation was correct. Under Smith, those reviews did not restart limitations.

Provident Life & Acc. Ins. Co. v. Knott

Provident Life & Acc. Ins. Co. v. Knott, 128 S.W.3d 211, 221–22 (Tex. 2003), supplied two additional principles. First, a denial need not contain “magic words” if the insurer’s position is clear. Second, a claim for breach of the duty of good faith and fair dealing must be brought within two years after accrual.

The first principle defeated the argument that no operative decision existed until May 2023. The March 2021 letter, payment, and notice of closure sufficiently communicated State Farm’s position. The second supported rejection of the insureds’ bad-faith claim as untimely.

Rollins v. Home Depot USA

Rollins v. Home Depot USA, 8 F.4th 393, 398 (5th Cir. 2021), supplied the preservation rule: an argument not raised in the district court ordinarily cannot be introduced on appeal.

The insureds asserted on appeal that State Farm had represented they could supplement the 2021 claim within two years. Because they had not presented that argument below, the panel treated it as forfeited. This was a procedural ruling, not a factual finding that the alleged representation had never occurred.

Schnatzmeyer v. State Farm Ins. Co. and Gooden v. State Farm Lloyds

The panel cited the district court’s decision, Schnatzmeyer v. State Farm Ins. Co., 2025 WL 1697505, at *9 (N.D. Tex. June 17, 2025), which relied on Gooden v. State Farm Lloyds, 2021 WL 7906860, at *3 (N.D. Tex. May 11, 2021). It endorsed the district court’s conclusion that post-loss communications could not support the insureds’ misrepresentation and fraud claims.

This supplied an additional ground beyond limitations. Because the appellate discussion is brief and does not fully reconstruct the underlying misrepresentation theories, the conclusion should be read as addressing the claims presented—not as a comprehensive rule immunizing every post-loss statement from potential liability.

Barbara Techs. Corp. v. State Farm Lloyds

Barbara Techs. Corp. v. State Farm Lloyds, 589 S.W.3d 806, 824 (Tex. 2019), supplied the proposition concerning claims determined through arbitration or litigation to be invalid and not payable by the insurer.

The panel invoked that principle after upholding summary judgment on the underlying 2021 claims and concluded that those claims could not support the insureds’ prompt-payment theory. This reasoning supplemented the earlier conclusion that the prompt-payment claim itself was outside the contractual filing period.

5. Legal Reasoning and Important Distinctions

A payment can communicate a final adverse determination

State Farm did not deny the entire 2021 loss; it paid an amount it considered sufficient. Nevertheless, the panel treated the payment, decision letter, and closure notice together as a final determination capable of triggering limitations for claims seeking additional benefits.

The practical inquiry was whether State Farm’s position was clear, not whether its correspondence used a particular denial formula. The invitation to submit repair receipts did not make the overall determination provisional.

Supplementation is not necessarily withdrawal

The insureds emphasized that the ceramic-tile damage was reported later and that State Farm continued reviewing information. The court instead examined whether State Farm changed its original position. Its May 2023 letter expressly stood on the March 2021 decision.

This preserves an important boundary: accepting an estimate or conducting further review does not, without more, erase an earlier determination. The opinion leaves room for a different result where an insurer expressly or implicitly withdraws or changes that determination.

Separate losses require separate claim analysis

The later freeze complicated the factual narrative but did not merge the two claims. Further payments or revised repair assessments under the 2022 claim did not establish a changed decision concerning the 2021 claim. Likewise, the February 2023 partial denial of the 2022 claim did not provide a new accrual date for the earlier loss.

Repair deadlines and lawsuit deadlines are different

State Farm’s May 2023 letter also relied on the policy’s requirement to complete repairs within two years of the loss. That requirement was distinct from the two-years-and-one-day period for bringing suit.

The appellate limitations holding rested on the March 2021 determination and the late filing of the lawsuit. The discussion of repair obligations should not be confused with the accrual analysis.

The holding has limits

The opinion does not resolve a developed discovery-rule, equitable-tolling, or estoppel argument. Nor does it comprehensively analyze separate accrual for independently actionable later misconduct. Those questions should not be treated as decided merely because the insureds’ theories failed here.

The prompt-payment discussion also warrants precision. A limitations bar is analytically different from a factual determination that claimed damage was never covered. Although the panel linked the failure of the underlying claims to rejection of the prompt-payment theory, it did not conduct an extended analysis equating procedural untimeliness with substantive invalidity for every purpose.

6. Potential Impact

  • For policyholders: Continuing negotiations, supplemental estimates, and inspections should not be assumed to suspend or restart the deadline for litigation.
  • For insurers: Clear decision letters and consistent documentation can establish when a claim determination became final. Later communications remain important because they may show whether that determination was actually changed.
  • For litigators: Accrual should be analyzed claim by claim and loss by loss. Potential arguments about representations, delayed discovery, or other grounds for avoiding limitations must be developed in the district court.
  • For future courts: The opinion offers a fact-specific application of existing accrual principles, especially where a paid-and-closed claim is followed by a supplemental demand and a separate subsequent loss.

Its unpublished status limits its precedential reach. Its principal value lies in illustrating the operation of the rules articulated in Smith and Provident Life & Acc. Ins. Co. v. Knott.

7. Complex Concepts Simplified

Accrual
The point when a legal claim arises and its filing deadline begins to run. Here, the court selected March 12, 2021.
Contractual limitations period
A policy provision setting the time allowed to sue. Texas law permits the relevant agreement if it allows at least two years; this policy allowed two years and one day.
Extracontractual claim
A claim based on duties beyond the policy’s payment promise, such as good-faith claim handling or statutory consumer protections.
Summary judgment
A decision without trial when no genuine dispute over a material fact prevents judgment under the governing law.
De novo review
Independent appellate review without deference to the district court’s legal conclusion.
Forfeiture
The loss of an argument through failure to raise it at the proper stage, as occurred with the alleged two-year supplementation representation.
Additional living expenses
Policy benefits for qualifying extra living costs caused by a covered loss. The relevant 2022 dispute was dismissed and was not decided on appeal.
Texas Prompt Payment of Claims Act
A statutory framework regulating timely insurance-claim handling and payment, subject to applicable requirements, defenses, and filing deadlines.

8. Conclusion

The Fifth Circuit affirmed because the insureds sued after the limitations periods triggered by State Farm’s March 12, 2021, determination had expired. Reviewing additional information did not restart those periods because State Farm never withdrew or changed its original decision.

The central lesson is straightforward: continued claim review is not necessarily continued time to sue. A clear initial determination, the insurer’s subsequent position, and the preservation of arguments in the trial court can determine whether an insurance dispute ever reaches a merits adjudication.