LLC-Only Insurance Does Not Cover an Owner’s Personal Income Loss: Capacity, Proof, and Summary Judgment

Case: Ward v. State Farm
Court: United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Decision date: October 23, 2026
Disposition: Summary judgment for State Farm affirmed.

Precedential status: The opinion is not designated for publication under Fifth Circuit Rule 47.5. It principally applies existing procedural, insurance, and business-entity rules rather than announcing a new generally binding doctrine.

1. Introduction

In Ward v. State Farm, the Fifth Circuit addressed an insurance dispute complicated by a fundamental distinction: a limited liability company’s losses are not automatically the personal losses of its owner. Raveon Ward, the sole member and manager of E&T Grill and Restaurant, LLC, sought additional insurance proceeds after a fire damaged the business. State Farm Fire & Casualty Company insured the LLC, but Ward was neither a named insured nor an additional insured.

The appeal presented three overlapping questions: whether Ward could pursue the LLC’s claims in her own name, whether the policy covered her personal loss of income, and whether the record supported additional contractual payments or bad-faith liability. A procedural problem complicated each issue: Ward had not opposed State Farm’s three summary-judgment motions in the district court.

The decision illustrates two complementary principles. First, failing to oppose summary judgment can prevent a litigant from presenting new legal arguments on appeal. Second, that failure does not automatically entitle the moving party to judgment: the court must still determine whether the requirements of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56 have been satisfied.

2. Background and Procedural History

A fire damaged E&T Grill on June 1, 2024. State Farm’s policy identified the business as the insured; it did not identify Ward or any other person or entity as a named or additional insured. Following an inspection and a review of the business’s financial statements, State Farm paid:

  • $892.67 for damage to the insured premises;
  • $3,152.29 for loss of income; and
  • an additional $2,213.22.

Ward sued on September 18, 2024. Although the action was styled as brought “on behalf of” E&T Grill, the complaint sought compensation for Ward’s individual losses, including $70,000 in lost income. She also alleged that State Farm’s refusal to pay more was arbitrary and capricious and had affected her standard of living.

The district court granted State Farm’s unopposed summary-judgment motions on four grounds: Ward lacked capacity to sue for the LLC; the LLC’s revoked status prevented it from suing on its own behalf; Ward was not an insured under the policy; and the evidence did not establish bad faith.

The revocation arose from E&T Grill’s failure to file required annual reports. According to the opinion, the Louisiana Secretary of State revoked its LLC status on May 15, 2024, before the fire. Importantly, however, the Fifth Circuit did not independently resolve the legal consequences of that revocation. Its affirmance rested on Ward’s inability to pursue the company’s losses personally and the absence of evidence supporting further payment.

3. Summary of the Opinion

The Fifth Circuit affirmed through a sequence of procedural and substantive conclusions:

  1. Ward’s new appellate arguments were waived. Because she had not presented arguments opposing summary judgment below, she could not raise them for the first time on appeal.
  2. State Farm still had to satisfy Rule 56. The absence of an opposition did not dispense with the insurer’s obligation to establish entitlement to judgment as a matter of law.
  3. Ward could not personally assert the LLC’s property-loss claims. Louisiana law distinguishes an LLC from its members, including a sole member and manager.
  4. The policy did not insure Ward’s personal income. Its business-income coverage applied to E&T Grill, the named insured.
  5. The record did not support additional recovery. Ward supplied no evidence establishing that State Farm owed the business more than it had paid.
  6. The bad-faith claims failed under either potentially applicable state law. Ward lacked the relevant insured status under the Arkansas theory, and the record did not establish arbitrary or otherwise actionable nonpayment under Louisiana law.

The appellate court also explained that the result would remain unchanged even if E&T Grill itself were assumed capable of bringing the action: there was still no evidence showing that the payments were inadequate.

4. Analysis of the Court’s Legal Reasoning

A. Waiver and de novo review address different questions

The court reviewed summary judgment de novo, applying the same legal standard as the district court. That standard requires the absence of a genuine dispute over a material fact and entitlement to judgment as a matter of law. Facts and reasonable inferences must be viewed favorably to the nonmoving party.

Nevertheless, de novo review does not give an appellant a fresh opportunity to present legal arguments omitted below. The panel treated Ward’s failure to oppose State Farm’s motions as a failure to preserve her appellate arguments.

The court then separately examined whether State Farm had met its summary-judgment burden. This distinction is central: an appellant may lose the ability to advance new arguments without relieving the movant of the obligation to demonstrate a legally sufficient basis for judgment. An unopposed motion is not simply a default judgment.

B. The LLC and its owner remained legally distinct

The panel invoked Rule 17(a), which requires an action to be prosecuted in the name of the real party in interest, and Rule 17(b)(3), under which it applied Louisiana law to the capacity issue before it.

Louisiana authority provides that LLC members have no right to sue personally for damage to LLC property. Ward’s position as sole owner and manager did not eliminate the distinction between her and E&T Grill. If the fire damaged the company’s property and interrupted the company’s operations, the corresponding company claims did not become Ward’s personal claims merely because she ultimately depended on the business’s earnings.

The panel characterized this defect as a lack of capacity to sue on the company’s behalf. Analytically, its discussion also concerns ownership of the substantive claim—the real-party-in-interest requirement. These concepts are related but distinct: capacity concerns a party’s legal ability to litigate, while real-party-in-interest rules ask whose right is being enforced.

The decision should therefore be read narrowly. It does not establish that an LLC can never act through authorized representatives. It establishes that Ward could not use her membership and management status to pursue the company’s damages as her own.

C. Policy language determined whose income was insured

The policy promised payment for the actual “Loss of Income” that “you” sustain because of a necessary suspension of “your” operations during the restoration period. “You” and “your” referred to E&T Grill, the named insured.

The court therefore distinguished between two economically connected but legally different losses:

  • The LLC’s business-income loss: the loss addressed by the policy’s coverage grant.
  • Ward’s personal income loss: an individual financial consequence not covered by this LLC-only policy.

Ward’s personal tax returns did not establish the insured company’s uncompensated business-income loss. The panel treated them as irrelevant to the claim she needed to prove. That conclusion was tied to the policy and record before the court; it should not be generalized into a rule that an owner’s tax records can never contain information relevant to a business claim.

D. Missing evidence independently defeated further recovery

Even assuming a proper claimant, the action failed because the record did not establish additional covered losses. State Farm had inspected the premises, reviewed financial information, and issued payments. Ward did not supply evidence showing that the business was entitled to more.

The court applied summary-judgment burden shifting: State Farm demonstrated the absence of evidence supporting additional recovery, after which Ward had to identify evidence creating a genuine factual dispute. She did not do so.

This reasoning is narrower than a general rule that payment proves full performance. An insurer’s partial payment does not itself establish that every obligation has been satisfied. Here, the decisive point was the absence of evidence showing an unpaid covered amount after State Farm met its initial burden.

E. Bad faith failed without resolving the choice-of-law dispute

The parties disputed whether Arkansas or Louisiana law governed the bad-faith claims. The panel found it unnecessary to select one because neither supplied a basis for recovery on this record.

Arkansas. The court described bad faith as affirmative dishonest, malicious, or oppressive conduct intended to avoid a just obligation to the insured. Ward was not insured under the policy, and the record did not establish such conduct in refusing further payment.

Louisiana. Applying the framework stated in Louisiana Revised Statute § 22:1892, the court explained that an insurer must pay a claim due within thirty days after satisfactory proof of loss. Penalties depend on a failure to pay that is arbitrary, capricious, or without probable cause. Substantial, reasonable, and legitimate questions about liability or the extent of loss preclude that characterization.

State Farm’s investigation, financial review, and payments, together with the absence of evidence of additional uncompensated loss, defeated Ward’s Louisiana theory. Dissatisfaction with the payment amount did not establish statutory bad faith.

Textual clarification: The Arkansas discussion states, “State Farm is,” immediately after observing that Ward is not insured. Read against the policy description and the rest of the opinion, this appears to be a drafting error: E&T Grill, not State Farm, was the named insured.

5. Precedents Cited and Their Influence

Summary-judgment review and preservation

Aguirre v. City of San Antonio, 995 F.3d 395, 405–06 (5th Cir. 2021)

The court cited this decision for de novo review of summary judgment. It supplied the appellate framework: the panel independently applied the same Rule 56 standard governing the district court, rather than reviewing only for an abuse of discretion.

Joseph ex. rel. Est. of Joseph v. Bartlett, 981 F.3d 319, 325 (5th Cir. 2020)

This decision supplied the requirement to view facts and draw reasonable inferences in the nonmovant’s favor. Its role was protective but limited: favorable treatment of the record does not supply missing evidence or extend insurance coverage beyond the policy’s terms.

Keelan v. Majesco Software, Inc., 407 F.3d 332, 339 (5th Cir. 2005)

The panel relied on this case for the rule that appellate review of a summary-judgment order is limited to matters presented to the district court. It explains why Ward could not cure her nonparticipation below by developing opposition arguments only after judgment.

Vaughner v. Pulito, 804 F.2d 873 (5th Cir. 1985)

This authority sharpened the preservation rule: a legal reason for denying summary judgment is waived when the party fails to assert it below. Together with Keelan v. Majesco Software, Inc., it supported the panel’s refusal to consider Ward’s newly raised appellate arguments.

Hetzel v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 50 F.3d 360, 362 n.3 (5th Cir. 1995)

This case supplied the essential qualification to the waiver analysis. A movant must establish the absence of a genuine issue of material fact regardless of whether a response was filed. It prevented the court from treating Ward’s silence alone as sufficient grounds to affirm.

Condrey v. SunTrust Bank of Georgia, 431 F.3d 191, 197 (5th Cir. 2005)

The panel used this authority to explain the evidentiary burden shift. Once State Farm demonstrated the absence of evidence supporting further payment, Ward needed to produce evidence supporting her claims. Her failure to do so independently justified summary judgment on the income-loss claims.

LLC ownership and the right to sue

Pocket Billiards & Bar, LLC v. Fast & Affordable Coll. Student Movers, Inc., 2022-0109 (La. App. 4 Cir. 08/10/22); 346 So. 3d 399, 404

This was the principal Louisiana authority supporting the conclusion that Ward could not personally recover for damage to LLC property. Its rule made her sole ownership and management status insufficient to establish a personal right to pursue the company’s loss.

Zeigler v. Hous. Auth. Of New Orleans, 12-1168, p. 8 (La. App. 4 Cir. 4/24/13), 118 So. 3d 442, 450

This decision appeared as the source of the rule quoted through Pocket Billiards & Bar, LLC v. Fast & Affordable Coll. Student Movers, Inc.. Its influence was therefore indirect but substantive: it reinforced the separation between an LLC’s property rights and its members’ personal rights.

Insurance bad faith

4 Star Gen. Contracting, Inc. v. United Fire & Cas. Co., No. 2:22-CV-02036, 2022 WL 2980699, at *2 (W.D. Ark. July 27, 2022)

The court cited this federal district court decision for Arkansas’s demanding bad-faith standard. The quoted formulation requires affirmative dishonest, malicious, or oppressive conduct aimed at avoiding a just insurance obligation—not merely disagreement over payment.

State Auto Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. v. Swaim, 991 S.W.2d 555, 559 (Ark. 1999)

This Arkansas decision supplied the standard quoted through 4 Star Gen. Contracting, Inc. v. United Fire & Cas. Co.. It provided the underlying state-law authority for the court’s Arkansas analysis.

First United Pentecostal Church v. Church Mut. Ins. Co., 119 F.4th 417, 427–28 (5th Cir. 2024)

This case supplied both the Louisiana penalty standard and its important limitation. Nonpayment must be arbitrary, capricious, or without probable cause; substantial, reasonable, and legitimate questions about liability or loss prevent that finding. It supported rejection of Ward’s penalty claim where no evidence established an additional unpaid covered loss or an arbitrary refusal to pay.

6. Impact and Limits of the Decision

Preserving arguments is essential

The opinion underscores the risk of leaving summary-judgment motions unanswered. A litigant may lose both the opportunity to develop a factual dispute and the ability to present omitted legal theories on appeal. At the same time, courts must continue to scrutinize an unopposed motion under Rule 56.

Closely held businesses must distinguish company and owner losses

The reasoning is particularly relevant to single-member LLCs, whose owners may experience business losses as personal financial hardship. That economic reality does not merge the owner with the company. Claimants must identify both the proper party and the particular interest insured.

Additional insurance recovery requires evidence

The decision highlights the need for proof connecting claimed losses to policy coverage and demonstrating an unpaid amount. Depending on the dispute, relevant evidence might include business records, supported income calculations, repair estimates, or an analysis of the insurer’s payment calculation. The opinion does not mandate any particular form of proof; it turns on the absence of sufficient proof in this record.

Bad faith requires more than dissatisfaction

The alternative state-law analyses reinforce that a demand for more money does not itself establish misconduct. The claimant must satisfy the governing legal standard with evidence, while respecting any limitations on who may assert the claim.

The decision leaves important questions unresolved

  • It does not independently decide whether revocation for failure to file annual reports prevented E&T Grill from suing.
  • It does not resolve whether Arkansas or Louisiana law governed bad faith.
  • It does not hold that an insurer’s initial payment conclusively satisfies all obligations.
  • It does not decide what rights Ward might have had under a policy expressly insuring her individually.

Its unpublished status further counsels against presenting these applications of established doctrine as a sweeping new precedent.

7. Complex Concepts Simplified

Summary judgment
A decision without trial when no genuine dispute over an outcome-relevant fact requires resolution and the law favors the moving party.
De novo review
The appellate court independently applies the governing legal standard, without deferring to the district court’s legal conclusions.
Waiver, as used in this opinion
The loss of an opportunity to present an argument on appeal because it was not raised in the district court.
Real party in interest
The person or entity that owns the legal right being enforced. A company’s claim does not ordinarily belong personally to its owner.
Capacity to sue
A party’s legal ability to bring or maintain litigation, distinct from whether that party owns the underlying claim.
Named insured
The person or entity identified in the policy as insured. Here, that was E&T Grill, not Ward.
Burden shifting
After the moving party makes the required summary-judgment showing, the opposing party must identify evidence supporting a genuine factual dispute.
Arbitrary, capricious, or without probable cause
In this insurance context, a refusal to pay lacking a reasonable basis—not simply a payment decision the claimant disputes.

8. Conclusion

Ward v. State Farm affirms that sole ownership of an LLC does not convert the company’s insured losses into the owner’s personal claims. The policy covered E&T Grill, and the record did not establish additional unpaid covered losses or bad faith.

The opinion’s broader significance lies in the interaction of party identity, policy language, and procedural proof: the correct claimant must assert the covered loss, support it with evidence, and preserve opposition arguments before judgment. Even when those obligations go unmet, however, an unopposed summary-judgment motion still requires a legally sufficient showing by the movant.