Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Advocates
- Mr Colin Edelman QC and Mr Ben Lynch (instructed by Hugh James) for the Claimant
- Mr Robert Moxon-Browne QC and Mr Lucas Fear-Segal (instructed by BLM) for the Defendant
See more information ...
Click here to read the full judgment
MacCaferri Ltd v. Zurich Insurance Plc
Smart Summary
Factual and Procedural Background
The Defendant ("Company A") declined to provide an insurance indemnity to the Plaintiff in respect of liability arising from an accident causing a serious eye injury to an individual ("Mr McKenna"). The injury occurred while the injured party was using a tool hired from the Plaintiff. The injured party sued his employer, who in turn sued the company that hired the tool to them, which then sued the Plaintiff. The Plaintiff sought indemnity from Company A under a public and product liability insurance policy, which Company A refused on the basis of non-compliance with a condition precedent to liability under the policy.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether the Plaintiff complied with the notice requirements under Clause 2 of the insurance policy, specifically the obligation to give written notice "as soon as possible" after the occurrence of an event likely to give rise to a claim.
- The proper construction of the phrase "an event likely to give rise to a claim" within the policy.
- Whether the Plaintiff's notification timing satisfied the policy conditions given the facts of the accident and subsequent communications.
Arguments of the Parties
Defendant's Arguments
- The obligation to notify arises only when the insured could, with reasonable diligence, discover that an event was likely to give rise to a claim, not before.
- The phrase "as soon as possible" implies a duty of inquiry and a proactive approach to gathering full particulars before notification.
- Earlier written notice was required, specifically by October 2011 or June 2012, to comply with the policy conditions.
- Cited Verelst's Administratrix v Motor Cross Union Insurance Company Limited to support interpretation of "as soon as possible".
- Argued that even bad claims may still be likely claims, supporting a broad interpretation of the notice obligation.
Plaintiff's Arguments
- The phrase "as soon as possible" simply requires prompt notice after an event likely to give rise to a claim, without extending to a continuing or rolling assessment of claim likelihood.
- At the time of the accident, there was no more than a possibility, not a likelihood, of a claim arising from fault in the tool.
- The Plaintiff was not under blame initially, and the seriousness of the injury did not increase the likelihood that the claim would be against the Plaintiff or the tool.
- Notification to the insurer upon receipt of a solicitors' letter in July 2013 was timely under the policy terms.
- Reasonable diligence was exercised in seeking information, and lack of blame meant no further inquiry was required before notification.
Table of Precedents Cited
| Precedent |
Rule or Principle Cited For |
Application by the Court |
| Layher Ltd v Lowe [2000] Lloyd's IR 510 |
Interpretation of "likely to give rise to a claim" as at least a fifty percent chance that a claim will eventuate. |
Used to define the threshold event triggering notice obligations under the policy. |
| Jacobs v Coster (t/a Newington Commercials Service Station) and Avon Insurance (Third Party) [2000] Lloyd's Rep IR 506 |
Clarification that a possibility of a claim is insufficient to trigger notice obligations; seriousness of injury does not increase likelihood of claim against insured. |
Supported the conclusion that the accident did not constitute an event likely to give rise to a claim at the relevant time. |
| Verelst's Administratrix v Motor Cross Union Insurance Company Limited [1925] 2 KB 137 |
Consideration of the phrase "as soon as possible" in relation to knowledge of the existence of a policy. |
Held not directly applicable as it did not address what event triggers the notice obligation; court found it unhelpful to the present case. |
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The court analyzed the wording of Clause 2 of the insurance policy, focusing on the first sentence which requires the insured to give written notice "as soon as possible" after the occurrence of an event "likely to give rise to a claim" with full particulars. The court construed "likely to give rise to a claim" as meaning an event with at least a fifty percent chance of a claim arising, based on precedents. The phrase "as soon as possible" was interpreted to mean prompt notice after knowledge of such an event, rejecting the Defendant's argument that it implied a duty of ongoing inquiry or a rolling assessment of claim likelihood.
The court found that at the time of the accident, there was no sufficient likelihood (i.e., at least fifty percent chance) that a claim against the Plaintiff would arise, as there were multiple possible causes including user fault or no fault at all. The seriousness of the injury did not increase the likelihood that the tool was at fault. Therefore, the obligation to notify under the first sentence of Clause 2 was not triggered at the time of the accident or shortly thereafter.
The court further noted that the second sentence of Clause 2 requires immediate notification upon receiving notice of a claim, which the Plaintiff complied with by notifying the insurer after receiving a solicitors' letter in July 2013. The court rejected the Defendant's contention that earlier notice was required.
Evidence from the Plaintiff's witness about the condition and servicing of the tool was considered, but the court found that criticisms of the Plaintiff's system did not establish a failure to notify. The court also declined to draw adverse inferences from the absence of certain witnesses or documents, preferring to base its decision on the available evidence.
Holding and Implications
The court's final decision was that Company A is obliged to indemnify the Plaintiff under the insurance policy. The court declared that the Plaintiff complied with the policy conditions as the event of the accident was not "likely to give rise to a claim" at the relevant time, and the notification given upon receipt of a claim was timely.
The direct effect of this decision is that the Defendant must provide indemnity to the Plaintiff for the liability arising from the accident. The court noted that this decision was an "unusual step" by the Defendant but found it to be mistaken. No new legal precedent was established beyond the application of existing principles to the facts of this case. The exact terms of the declaration and any other relief will be considered subsequently with counsel.
Click here to read the full judgment