Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

This is an appeal by the first defendant against the judgment and decree dated 11-7-1972 passed by the District Judge, North Canara in RA. 199 of 1971. The lower appellate court found that a lorry bearing registration MYZ 2792 belonged to the first defendant and that the second defendant was the driver. On 8-3-1961 the lorry, while being driven by defendant-2 in a rash and negligent manner, hit PW.5 Ramesh, an approximately eight-year-old boy, and dragged him for some distance. The boy sustained serious injuries to his left arm, was admitted to hospital, and was ultimately discharged with deformity and partial disability in the left hand (unable to stretch it beyond 90 degrees).

The lower appellate court (the first appellate court) held the accident resulted from rash and negligent driving by defendant-2 and awarded the injured boy, represented by his father, Rs. 9,360 as compensation with interest at 6% from the date of the suit until payment, to be paid by defendants 1, 2 and 4. The suit against defendant-3 was dismissed because there was no insurance covering the lorry on the date of the accident.

The present appeal is filed by the first defendant. Before the court below and on this appeal the first defendant argued that negligence was not properly established, that the compensation was excessive, and that awarding interest at 6% from the date of the suit was not justified. The first respondent supported the legality of the lower court's findings.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the accident was caused by rash and negligent driving of the lorry by defendant-2 (liability).
  2. Whether the quantum of general damages awarded (Rs. 9,360) was just and proper or excessive.
  3. Whether the rate of interest awarded by the lower appellate court (6% per annum from the date of the suit) should stand or be modified.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments (First Defendant)

  • The finding that the lorry was driven in a rash and negligent manner was not properly established by evidence.
  • The compensation awarded was highly excessive.
  • The lower appellate court was not justified in awarding interest at the rate of 6% from the date of filing the suit.

Respondent's Arguments (First Respondent)

  • Supported the legality and correctness of the findings of the first appellate court (i.e., that the accident was due to rash and negligent driving and that the compensation awarded was appropriate).

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
British Transport Commission v. Gourley Division between special damages (to be pleaded and proved) and general damages (presumed by law for pain, suffering, and future loss of earning capacity). The court relied on the principle to hold that the plaint's failure to specify particulars of damages did not bar an award of general damages once actionable negligence and injuries were proved.
Bombay State Road Transport Corpn. v. Narayan Pandurang Knmath Illustrative quantum: award of Rs. 15,000 as general damages in a case where the right fore-arm and palm were crushed. Used for comparison to conclude that Rs. 9,360 in the present case (less serious injuries) was not excessive in the circumstances.
Govt. of India v. Jeevaraja Alva Illustrative quantum: award of Rs. 25,000 to a boy of 10 years for compound fracture of fore-arm, leg fractures and mental shock. Used as a comparative benchmark to show that larger awards have been made where injuries were more severe, supporting the conclusion that the present award is reasonable.
Ganga Sugar Corpn. Ltd. v. Sukhbir Singh Award of Rs. 10,400 for crush injury to left arm; High Court awarded future interest at 6% and costs. Referenced as another comparative authority on quantum and the practice of awarding interest; the court noted the facts there showed a more severe crush injury than in the present case.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court's analysis proceeded in two main strands: liability and quantum (including interest).

Liability

  • The court reviewed the scope of a second appeal and noted it should not re-assess evidence unless the lower court ignored material evidence or based its findings on no evidence at all.
  • The court examined the eyewitness evidence: PW.1 (Raya, the boy's father) stated he witnessed the boy being knocked by the lorry; PW.2 (Shashikala, a teacher) said she witnessed the accident and that the lorry came in a rash and negligent manner and hit the boy on the extreme left side; PW.3 (Ananth Hanumanth Shetty, Head Master) arrived immediately after the accident and his evidence was accepted by the learned District Judge.
  • The driver (defendant-2) did not appear as a witness; the court drew an adverse inference from his failure to testify.
  • The defence produced a witness named Thimmappa whose name did not appear in the written statement; the District Judge rejected his evidence as being "got up for the purpose."
  • In addition to positive eyewitness testimony and adverse inference from non-production of the driver, the District Judge invoked the maxim res ipsa loquitur because the lorry went off the road to the left and there was no explanation from the driver why it swerved to the extreme left side.
  • On this cumulative basis the court concluded there was sufficient evidence to sustain the finding that the accident was caused by rash and negligent driving by the lorry-driver and that the injuries to the boy were the direct result.

Quantum of Damages and Interest

  • The court analyzed the pleadings and evidence on damages. The plaint did not specify particulars of damages but claimed only general damages for the boy's future maintenance.
  • Relying on the principle in British Transport Commission v. Gourley, the court observed that special damages must be pleaded and proved, whereas general damages (for pain and suffering and future loss of earning capacity) are presumed once injuries from actionable negligence are established.
  • The defendants were aware of and contested the claim for damages in their written statement; issues framed by the trial court focused on damages only. The court therefore accepted that the claim was for general damages and that the defect in particulars did not preclude awarding general damages.
  • On the merits of quantum, the court took comparative cases into account: awards ranging from Rs. 10,400 to Rs. 25,000 in injuries of varying severity were discussed. The court noted that the injuries in the present case produced deformity and partial disability (inability to stretch the left hand beyond 90 degrees), but were not as severe as those in some precedents (e.g., crushed fore-arm and palm, multiple fractures).
  • Having regard to the nature of injuries, the boy's age, the loss of one year from school, and comparable awards, the court held that Rs. 9,360 for general damages was not so high as to warrant interference and confirmed the award.
  • Regarding interest, although the lower appellate court had awarded 6% per annum from the date of the suit, the court recognized the long pendency (accident in 1961) and considered it just and proper to reduce both pending and future interest to 5% per annum instead of 6%.

Holding and Implications

The appeal is dismissed with costs, and the judgment and decree of the lower appellate court are confirmed except for a reduction in the rate of interest.

Specifics of the holding:

  • The finding that the accident resulted from rash and negligent driving by defendant-2 is upheld.
  • The award of general damages of Rs. 9,360 to the injured boy is confirmed as reasonable and not excessive.
  • The rate of interest awarded by the lower appellate court is reduced from 6% per annum to 5% per annum for both pending and future interest.
  • The appeal of the first defendant therefore fails and is dismissed with costs.

The opinion does not purport to set any new legal precedent beyond applying established principles (such as the distinction between special and general damages and the application of res ipsa loquitur) to the facts of this case.

    Adamkhan Mohamed v. Ramesh Raya Naik & Ors.

    1. This is a first defendant's appeal against the judgment and decree dated 11-7-1972 passed by the Dist. Judge, North Canara in RA. 199 of 1971 on his file. The relevant facts, as found established by the Court below, which are necessary for appreciation of contentions raised in this appeal are that the lorry bearing MYZ 2792 belonged to the first defendant in the suit. The second defendant was the driver of the said lorry. It is found that on 8-3-61 when defendant-2 was driving the lorry in a rash and negligent manner, he hit against PW. 5 Ramesh, a young boy of about 8 years and dragged the boy on the road for some distance as a result of which the boy sustained serious injuries on his left arm. He was immediately admitted to the hospital and ultimately he came out of the hospital with deformity and disability in his left hand. It is held by the lower appellate Court that the boy is not able to stretch his left hand beyond 90 degrees. The boy has deposed that he is unable to use his left hand in the normal way which stands unrebutted and unchallenged.

    2. The lower appellate Court has found that the accident is due to rash and negligent driving of the lorry by defendant-2 and in that view, the lower appellate Court has awarded by its judgment and decree compensation to the injured boy represented by his father, Rs. 9360 along with interest thereon at 6 per cent from the date of the suit till payment from defendants 1, 2 and 4 The suit against defendant-3 is dismissed as there was no insurance by defendant-3 covering the lorry on the date of the accident. Aggrieved by the said decree the present appeal is filed by the first defendant in the suit. The learned Advocate appearing for the appellant-first defendant vehemently argued that the claim made in the suit was untenable as the finding of driving the lorry in a rash and negligent manner was not properly established in evidence. He further submitted that the compensation claimed and awarded is highly excessive. He also submitted that the lower appellate Court was not justified in awarding interest at the rate of six per cent from the date of filing the suit.

    3. The learned Advocate appearing for the first respondent argued supporting the legality of the findings of the first appellate Court.

    4. The first appellate Court on discussion of evidence has held that the accident was the result of rash, and negligent driving of the lorry. It has further held that the injury to the boy is the direct result of it. On going through the evidence, I do not, find anything justifiable to interfere with the finding of the lower appellate Court. This Court sitting in second appeal is not expected to re-assess the evidence unless it is found that the Court below has entirely ignored any piece of material evidence on record or has based its finding on no evidence at all. In the instant case, there is the evidence of eye witnesses namely, PW. 1, Raya, the father of the injured boy. He has stated that he witnessed the boy being knocked by the lorry. PW. 2 Shashikala is a teacher of the school where the boy was studying and she is an eye witness to the occurrence. She has deposed that she witnessed the accident, that the lorry came in a rash and negligent manner and hit the boy who was on the extreme left side to the lorry. PW. 3 Ananth Hanumanth Shetty is the Head Master of the school. He arrived immediately after the accident. The learned Dist. Judge had believed the evidence of these witnesses after fully discussing the answers elicited from them in the cross-examination. As against that it has to be noted that the driver of the lorry never appeared as a witness. He discreetly desisted from entering the box for obvious reasons and adverse inference has to be drawn in the circumstances against the driver. The contending defendant examined as a defence witness one Thimmappa whose name is not even suggested in the written statement of the concerned defendants. The learned Dist. Judge has rightly discarded his evidence as that of a person who is got up for the purpose. Thus appreciating the entire evidence on record, the Dist. Judge has come to the correct conclusion that the accident was the result of rash and negligent driving and that it caused injuries to the boy as a direct result. In addition to the positive evidence on record the learned Dist. Judge has also drawn support from the maxim res ipsa loquitur for the reason that the lorry went off the road on the left side and hit the boy and there is no explanation by the driver, who has not entered the box at all, why he swerved the lorry to the extreme left side. That being so, I have no hesitation to hold that the lorry was driven in a rash and negligent manner and that the injuries sustained by the boy were the direct result of it.

    5. The next point that arises for my consideration is whether the damages awarded could be described as just and proper. It may be mentioned at the very outset that in the plaint, the details of damages are not mentioned and what is claimed is in the general award for the living maintenance of the boy for the rest of his life. It is true that the particulars of damages are not detailed in the plaint but at the same time it has to be remembered that what is claimed, is only general damage. It is a well recognised principle of law that when once the injuries mentioned in the plaint are proved to be the result of actionable negligence on the part of the defendants, general damages have to be presumed by the Court. In a recent decision in the case of British Transport Commission v. Gourley(1), Lord Goddard explaining the position has observed:

    “In an action for personal injuries the damages are always divided into the main parts. First, there is what is referred to as special damage, which has to be specially pleaded and proved. This consists of Out-of-pocket expenses and loss of earning incurred down to the date of trial, and is generally capable of substantially exact calculation. Secondly, there is general damage which is, law implies and is not specially pleaded. This includes compensation for pain and suffering and the like, and, if the injuries suffered are such as to lead to continuing or permanent disability, compensation for loss of earning power in the future.”

    6. Thus it is clear that special damages claimed should be specified in the plaint and proved in the evidence whereas general damages have to be presumed by the Court. What is claimed in the present case is only general damages and hence the defect in the plaint would not come in the way of the Court awarding damages. It may also be mentioned that the defendants concerned have rightly understood what is claimed in the present plaint as damage. In the written statement at para 8, it is stated by the first defendant thus:

    “This defendant or any of the defendants are not liable for any damages.”

    7. Again in para 6 it is stated as follows:

    “The contents of para 7 are not admitted. This defendant or defendant-2 who is his son is not liable for any damages.”

    8. Similarly, the issues framed by the trial Court refer only to damages and nothing else. Therefore, I am of the considered view that the first appellate Court has rightly pointed out that what is claimed in the plaint is only general damages and nothing else.

    9. Adverting to the aspect of quantum of compensation, we have to bear in mind that it has to be awarded for the injury itself for pain and suffering, loss of amenities and permanent disability incurred. There is no pleading about the loss of future income in this case, because, the boy was only attending school. But, it is specifically mentioned in the plaint as well as in the evidence that, the boy lost one year in the school. It is held by the lower appellate Court that general damages have to be awarded on these grounds.

    10. The learned Dist. Judge has observed that what is claimed by way of general damages namely Rs. 9,360 is rather low, considering the serious nature of the injuries and the permanent disability incurred by the boy. The boy is not able to stretch his left hand fully, beyond 90 degrees. That means, that the boy has to suffer for the rest of his life inconvenience and loss of amenities. In the case. Bombay State Road Transport Corpn. v. Narayan Pandurang Knmath(2), this Court awarded Rs. 15,000 as general damages. In that case, the right fore-arm and palm of the victim were crushed. In the instant case, the injuries are not so serious. There is only deformity and partial disability in stretching the arm. Therefore, Rs. 9,360 awarded cannot be considered to be so high as to call for an interference at the hands of this Court. Again in the case of Govt. of India v. Jeevaraja Alva(3), this Court awarded Rs. 25,000 as general damage to a boy of 10 years who suffered compound fracture of fore-arm resulting in partial disability and deformity. In that, case, in addition to these injuries there was fracture of both bones of the leg and the boy had suffered mental shock. Therefore, having regard to the injuries and deformity to the left arm, Rs. 9,000 and odd awarded in this case cannot be considered to be excessive. In the case of Ganga Sugar Corpn. Ltd. v. Sukhbir Singh(4) the High Court, of Allahabad awarded Rs. 10,400 as compensation to Sukhbir Singh who suffered crush injury on his left arm. The High Court also awarded future interest at the rate of 6 per cent per annum along with costs commensurate with the amount awarded to the claimant. The claimant had demanded Rs. 51,000. In the instant case, no doubt, there is no crush injury to the left hand to the extent as in the case of Allahabad under consideration. Considering all these comparable cases and the likelihood of suffering, and loss of earning capacity to the boy in his future life, I hold that, Rs. 9,360 awarded for general damages cannot be described as very high or so high as to call for interference at the hands of this Court. Hence, I confirm the same holding that it, is quite reasonable and appropriate. The last question that was agitated before me was one of the interests, pending and future interests, at the rate of 6 per cent p.a It is true, that the accident happened in the year 1961 and the case has been pending for a long time; having regard to the same, I hold it just and proper to reduce the pending and future interest at 5 per cent p.a instead of 6 per cent.

    11. With this slight modification in the rate of interest, the appeal fails and is dismissed with costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Adamkhan Mohamed v. Ramesh Raya Naik & Ors.
    (Mar 27, 1978)