Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • Stamp Act, 1891 (54 and 55 Vic. C. 39), Section 93 (1).
  • Indian Stamp Act, No. 2 of 1899, S. 7
  • Stamp Act (1903) 30 Cal 565
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • Stamp Act, 1891 (54 and 55 Vic. C. 39), Section 93 (1).
  • Indian Stamp Act, No. 2 of 1899, S. 7
  • Stamp Act (1903) 30 Cal 565
Smart Summary

Structured Summary of the Opinion (Lord Sumner)

Factual and Procedural Background

The plaintiffs (appellants) sued for breach of an alleged contract by which the defendants agreed to issue policies of insurance covering war risks on goods to be shipped by them, at a specified rate prevailing at the time of the plaintiffs' declaration of the steamer. The plaintiffs relied on (a) a written quotation of a lowest rate on jute and a war risk rate; (b) an alleged oral acceptance by the plaintiffs; and (c) an arrangement that the plaintiffs would supply a statement of the approximate amount to be covered. A declaration for an aggregate amount of £10,870 was alleged; the defendants refused to issue a policy, the plaintiffs insured elsewhere at higher premiums and sued for the excess as damages. No loss of the goods occurred.

At trial Pearson, J. found the contract and breach proved and entered a decree for the plaintiffs. The High Court set that decree aside, holding the contract insufficiently established. On appeal to their Lordships (Privy Council), Lord Sumner considered, inter alia, whether the oral contract was enforceable in light of the Indian Stamp Act's provision that "no contract for sea insurance shall be valid unless the same is expressed in a sea policy."

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether, under the Indian Stamp Act (No. 2 of 1899, Section 7), a contract for sea insurance not expressed in a sea policy is valid and enforceable.
  2. Whether, on the facts as pleaded and proved (largely by oral testimony after a long delay), the plaintiffs had established a binding contract for sea insurance.
  3. Whether, if the appeal were decided for the respondents on the statutory ground, the appellants should be deprived of costs (or whether costs should be awarded to the respondents).

Arguments of the Parties

Appellants' (Plaintiffs') Arguments

  • The plaintiffs alleged a contract to issue sea insurance policies: founded on a written quotation of premium rates, an oral acceptance of that rate by the plaintiffs, and an arrangement that the plaintiffs would supply the defendants with an approximate statement of the amount to be covered.
  • On that basis the plaintiffs claimed that the defendants' refusal to issue a policy amounted to a breach; they insured elsewhere at higher premiums and sought recovery of the excess paid as damages.
  • The appellants also requested that, if the respondents succeeded on the statutory ground, they should not be allowed any costs because the suit had proceeded on the factual questions throughout. (The opinion records this request and cites authority for it.)

Respondents' (Defendants') Arguments

  • The defendants did not plead Section 7 of the Indian Stamp Act specifically; their general plea asserted that the suit was not maintainable. They, however, defended the claim on its merits rather than on the statutory failure to satisfy the Act.
  • The respondents asserted that the quoted rate had been withdrawn (because current rates had risen after advice from London), so there was no subsisting proposal capable of acceptance at the time of the alleged declaration; consequently, the later written amounts did not amount to acceptance of the earlier quoted rate.
  • By defending on the merits the respondents sought a judgment on all the facts and to have the appeal dismissed with costs if they could support the High Court's judgment on the grounds given.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Nixon v. Albion Marine Insurance Co., 2 Ex. 338; 16 LT 568; 15 WR 964; LJ Ex 180 That a court cannot enforce as valid that which competent enactments have declared not to be valid; statutory prohibitions may be raised even if not pleaded. Applied to hold that the court may not enforce an oral sea insurance agreement if statute (Indian Stamp Act, S.7) forbids it, and that raising the statute is not barred by failure to plead it.
Fisher v. Liverpool Marine Insurance Co., 9 QB 418; 43 LJ QB 114; 30 LT 501; 22 WR 951; 2 Asp MC 454 Authority that in England agreements for sea insurance must be expressed in a policy; oral agreements of the kind are not enforceable. Used to show that English law is well-settled on the need for a policy; the Indian Act being expressed in almost identical terms should be construed similarly, supporting the conclusion that the alleged oral contract is unenforceable.
Ionides v. Pacific Insurance Co., 6 QB 685 (Blackburn J.) Another English decision supporting the rule that sea insurance agreements must be in policy form. Cited as part of the body of English authority underpinning the statutory construction and the conclusion of unenforceability of oral sea insurance contracts.
Xenos v. Wickham, 2 HL 314 English authority bearing on the same principle (requirement of formal policy for sea insurance agreements). Relied upon with other English cases to treat the Indian enactment as having the same effect as the English rule and to disallow the oral contract.
Bhagwandas v. Netherlands India Sea Insurance Co., 14 AC 83 Case referenced in relation to the concept of a "subsisting proposal capable of being accepted;" it was noted this case preceded the Stamp Act. The opinion notes that Bhagwandas was before the Stamp Act and refers to it in assessing whether the earlier quotation remained a subsisting proposal; the Privy Council considered that the quotation had been withdrawn and so did not constitute a subsisting proposal as in Bhagwandas.
Home Marine Insurance Co. v. Smith (1898) 1 QB 836 Authority for the proposition that a court may refuse costs to a successful party where the success is founded on statutory grounds. Mentioned in the context of the appellants' request that respondents be denied costs if they succeeded only on statutory ground; the court explained why respondents were nonetheless entitled to costs here because they had defended on the merits.
Reference under the Stamp Act (1903) 30 Cal 565 High Court observations distinguishing a contract for sea insurance and a policy of sea insurance (noted to have been directed to another point). Noted by their Lordships as a High Court observation that seemed directed to another point; did not alter the Privy Council's application of the statutory requirement for a policy.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court began by identifying the essential nature of the plaintiffs' claim: a contract for sea insurance founded largely on oral communications plus one written quotation of premium. Their Lordships observed a significant divergence from ordinary underwriting practice: enforceable marine insurance contracts by word of mouth are singular and at odds with established commercial practice.

The court then addressed the statutory issue. Attention was drawn to Section 7 of the Indian Stamp Act, No. 2 of 1899, which provides that, with exceptions not material in the case, "no contract for sea insurance shall be valid unless the same is expressed in a sea policy." Although the defendants had not pleaded this section specifically, the court held that the point could be raised: a court cannot enforce that which statute declares invalid, and such a prohibitory enactment is not a merely personal defence the omission of which can be cured by consent or failure to plead. The court relied on Nixon v. Albion Marine Insurance Co. to support the proposition that statutory prohibitions may be taken up by the court even if not pleaded.

Having accepted that the statute applies and that English authorities establish the same rule in England, their Lordships saw no reason to construe the Indian enactment differently. The statutory insistence on a sea policy was held to be a public interest prohibition against expressing sea insurance agreements otherwise than in a policy; allowing the suit to proceed would defeat the legislative provision.

The court further analysed the factual evidence. It noted the heavy reliance on oral testimony about mercantile transactions that are ordinarily recorded in writing and emphasized the difficulties inherent in proving such transactions by memory after a long delay. The plaintiffs had delayed bringing the suit (cause of action arose in late 1916; suit began in December 1919; trial in 1922), which increased the court's scepticism about the reliability of witness recollection.

On the facts, the transaction as alleged involved (1) a written quotation on 30 November; (2) an oral enquiry and an oral communication of an approximate figure (the court notes percentages and sums recited by witnesses); (3) a press copy letter the courts below did not believe genuine; and (4) later written declarations showing smaller amounts. The court found that the earlier approximate figure did not satisfy the statutory requirement of a sea policy and that the later written amounts could not be treated as acceptance of the earlier (now withdrawn) quotation because the rate had been withdrawn in the meantime when the defendants learned that current rates had risen.

Combining the statutory rule with the assessment of the evidence, their Lordships concluded that the alleged contract was a contract for sea insurance and, not being expressed in a policy as required by statute, was unenforceable. They accepted the High Court's disbelief of the plaintiffs' factual case and did not need to decide whether the damages claimed would have flowed from a proved breach.

Holding and Implications

APPEAL DISMISSED.

Implications:

  • The Privy Council advised that the appeal should be dismissed with costs, thereby affirming the High Court's decision that the plaintiffs' claim failed.
  • The direct legal consequence for the parties is that the plaintiffs' suit for breach of an alleged oral contract to issue sea insurance was dismissed because such a contract, being a contract for sea insurance, was not expressed in a sea policy as required by Section 7 of the Indian Stamp Act and therefore was unenforceable.
  • The court expressly declined to rule on whether, if an enforceable contract had existed, the damages claimed would have flowed from its breach; no opinion was expressed in favour of the contention that the damages would have been recoverable.
  • No new principle of law beyond the statutory construction and application was established; the decision applies existing statutory rule and English authority to hold oral sea insurance agreements unenforceable in the absence of a policy under the Indian statute.

Disposition

The appeal was dismissed and the respondents were entitled to costs.

    Surajmull Nagoremull v. Triton Insurance Co., Ltd.

    Lord Sumner:-

    The appellants, the plaintiffs below, brought their suit for breach of an alleged contract to "issue policies of insurance covering war risks on goods" shipped or to be shipped by them "at the rate prevailing at the time of the plaintiff firm's declaration of the steamer, by which goods, as aforesaid, were to be snipped" (Plaint para. 3). As developed in further paragraphs, this was founded on (a) a written quotation by the defendants of their lowest rate on jute per Constantinos XII at per cent. and war risk at 5 per cent. less 10 per cent.; (b) an acceptance of this rate by the plaintiffs; and (c) an arrangement that the plaintiffs should sup ply the defendant company with a state ment of the approximate amount to be covered. Ultimately there was a declara tion for an aggregate amount of 10,870, for which sum the defendants refused to issue a policy, where on the plaintiffs in sured elsewhere at higher premiums and claimed the excess as their damages in the action. There was no loss of the goods at all.

    Pearson, J., who tried the case, found the contract and breach proved and gave the plaintiffs decree, but the High Court holding the contract to be insufficiently established, set that decree aside.

    On being informed that the alleged con tract arose on an acceptance by word of mouth of a letter quoting a rate of premium and on a declaration by word of mouth, not of the name of the steamer by which the goods were to be shipped, but of the ex pected value of the plaintiffs' goods to be loaded on board of her, and that the breach alleged was the defendants' refusal to issue a policy, their Lordships, struck by the divergence in this case from ordinary underwriting practice as known in this country and by the singularity of an en forceable contract by word of mouth to issue a policy of marine insurance, inquired whether there was no legislation in India corresponding to the Stamp Act, 1891 (54 and 55 Vic. C. 39), Section 93 (1). Their attention was then drawn by Counsel to the Indian Stamp Act, No. 2 of 1899, S. 7 of which provides that (with exceptions not now material) "no contract for sea insur ance shall be valid unless the same is expressed in a sea policy," a provision which re-enacted the original enactment of 1894.

    This section had not been pleaded by the defendants in the suit, for their general plea, No. 10 - "Lastly, the defendant company submits that the suit of the plaintiff firm is not maintainable" - cannot be read as raising a specific statutory answer. Their Lordships were informed that the point was not discussed in either Court below. Certainly it passed unnoticed in the Judgments, although Richardson, J., says "the law has laid it down that agree ments of certain kinds shall not be valid at all, unless commemorated in writing with or without formalities. . .

    In India apparently it is not fatal to the plaintiff's case that there was no contract in writing." Possibly the fact that the High Court's decision was already plainly adverse to the claim may be the explanation of the circumstance, that Counsel did not there and then dispel a misapprehension in the learned judge's mind of such capital impor tance, but the result, at any rate has been that the effect of this section was not considered until the case came before their Lordships' Board.

    The suggestion may be at once dismiss ed that it is too late now to raise the section as an answer to the claim. No Court can enforce as valid, that which competent enactments have declared shall not be valid, nor is obedience to such an enact ment a thing from which a Court can be dispensed by the consent of the parties, or by a failure to plead or to argue the point at the outset (Nixon v. Albion Marine Insurance Co.,) 2 Ex. 338 : 16 LT 568 : 15 WR 964 : LJ Ex 180. The enactment is prohibitory. It is not confined to affording a party a protection, of which he may avail himself or not as he pleases. It is not framed solely for the protection of the revenue and to be enforced solely at the instance of the revenue officials, nor is the prohibition limited to cases, for which a penalty is exigible.

    The expression of an agreement for sea insurance, otherwise than in a policy, is a thing forbidden in the public interest, and the statutory insistence on a policy is no mere collateral requirement or prescription of the proper way of making such an agreement. To allow the suit to proceed in defiance of Section 7 would defeat the provisions of the law laid down therein.

    In England this is well-settled law [Fisher v. Liverpool Marine Insurance Co. 9 QB 418 : 43 LJ QB 114 : 30 LT 501 : 22 WR 951 : 2 Asp MC 454. Ionides v. Pacific Insurance Co. 6 QB 685. (Blackburn J.) ; Xenos v. Wickham 2 HL 314. (Willes, J.) ], and there is no ground for construing the Indian Act, expressed in almost identical terms, in any different way. The observations of the High Court in the Reference under the Stamp Act (1903) 30 Cal 565 distinguishing a contract for sea insurance and a policy of sea insurance, seem to have been directed to another point, and the case of Bhagwandas v. Netherlands India Sea Insurance Co. 14 AC 83 was before the Stamp Act. In their Lordships' view, the contract alleged by the plaintiff was a contract for sea insurance and nothing else, and, not being expressed in a policy, was unenforceable.

    The appellants asked that, in the event of the respondents succeeding upon this ground, they should not be allowed any costs, since the suit had proceeded through out on the questions of fact in the case. For such a course there is authority (Home Marine Insurance Co. v. Smith) (1898) 1 QB 836. The respondents, however, had defended the claim on the merits and not on the failure to satisfy the statute, for obvious business reasons. They were entitled to have their Lordships' judgment on the whole of the case and to ask to have the appeal dismiss ed with costs, if they could support the judgment of the High Court, upon the grounds on which it was given. Their Lordships therefore proceed to examine the facts without restating them at length.

    The transaction alleged rested on conversation, except for the one let ter which quoted a rate of pre mium against war risk. There is always considerable difficulty when one of a number of mercantile transactions of as type usually recorded in writing has to be proved, by word of mouth, for experi ence shows that in such cases the most honest and careful witnesses, to recalling to memory, only the result of the conver sations, tend to give evidence of what they think they must have heard and said to produce such a result rather than to state from actual memory of them the very words that were used.

    This difficulty the appellants themselves deliberately increased, and for no good purpose by postponing the issue of their writ and the prosecution, of the suit in a wholly indefensible manner. It is fami liar enough that in country cases all over India claimants intentionally defer the commencement of suits till they are all but time-barred - a practice so deeply rooted, that it is useless to protest against it - but it is with equal surprise and re gret that their Lordships notice the ex tension of this evil practice to mercantile transactions in Calcutta.

    The conversations in question took place in November and December, 1916, and the cause of action, if any, was com plete before the end of the year, neverthe less, the suit was not begun till the 8th December, 1919; the written statement was not delivered till the middle of 1921, and the case was only brought to trial on the 31st July and 1st August, 1922. This, interval of five years, and a half was not, however, allowed to him the definiteness, with which the partners and employees in the plaintiffs' firm spoke to conversations in the ordinary course of business, relating to a matter, which had little about it that was out of the common, yet it is on the extent to which these witnesses can be trusted that the success of their claim depends.

    Witnesses, who speak after such an in terval, as a rule, remember either too little or too much. Here it is excessive re collection that is the vice of the plaintiffs' case. The question being whether any contract of insurance relating to war risks ever was agreed at all, three separate wit nesses swore to separate agreements upon the subject; the first when a quotation for a war risks premium was first asked for and before it was given : the second when it was given by word of mouth and before it was put into writing; the third when, for the first time, something approaching a declaration that could give rise to a specific insurance was made to the defen dants. It was this last agreement that was ultimately relied on.

    The case was put thus. A letter con taining a quotation of a war risks premium having been sent by the plaintiffs on the 30th November, the defendants' represen tative, without awaiting the receipt of a declaration of interest, called on the plain tiffs' senior partner at his private house to ask him " to let them know the approxi mate amount the insurance would be with regard to the goods of the steamer Con stantinos XII, because they wanted to reinsure." The enquirer was referred to the office and there "after calculation a Babu handed over a figure in pounds,"

    It was on a slip of paper containing an approximate number of bales and "the approximate amounts pounds in sterling." The amount given was 16,000, but it is impossible to say that this is a specification of "the amount or amounts insured."

    The plaintiffs produced a press copy of a letter of the same date, in which they purported to inform the defendants that they confirmed their war and marine de clarations of that date, but neither Court below believed that this letter was genuine. When written declarations were subse quently made a few days later, the actual amounts were only 9,300 and 1,570.

    The quotation had meantime been with drawn and the defendants refused to insure at the rate quoted on the 30th November, as they had since heard from London that current rates were now much higher, a point vital to the possibility of reinsuring the line.

    Accordingly the earlier amount, ap proximately given, did not satisfy the sta tutory requirements of a sea policy, and the latter amounts were not an acceptance of the rate of premium offered, for it had in the meantime been withdrawn. It was no longer a " subsisting proposal capable of being accepted," as in the case of Bhagwandas Co. 14 AC 83.

    It may be conceded that, in the ordinary course, the plaintiffs would wish to cover the war risk as well as the marine risk on their shipments. Possibly, the war risk cover would not be immediately pressing ; it might suffice, if it was effected before the ship cleared the Suez Canal, but, naturally, the covers would both be arranged before the ship sailed from Calcutta and most conveniently with the same insurers. Naturally, also, the plain tiffs would require policies in the ordinary way, that is documents that could be attached to bills of exchange or transferred to purchasers by separate assignments. On the other hand, it is certain that the defendants' representative could not really have meant, whatever he might be care less enough to say, that he was willing to cover 16,000 or even 10,870 then and there, without knowing the current rate of premium on that day, since the line, which the defendant company could take on war risks, was strictly limited and any excess must be covered in Europe. It is, therefore, in the last degree improbable that the transaction alleged should have been completed without the issue of regular cover notes from the office and the probability is that, the defendants having withdrawn from the negotiation in time, the plaintiffs' whole endeavour has been to hold them to a quotation which was out of date, and to make up for the absence of ordinary documents by an exaggerated account of quite unimportant inquiries.

    Their Lordships think that the learned Judges of the High Court were fully warranted in disbelieving the plaintiffs' case. They do not think it necessary to discuss the question whether the damages claimed could have been said to flow from a breach of the contract alleged, if it had been made and was enforceable, but they express no opinion in favour of that con tention. They will humbly advise His Majesty that this appeal should be dis missed with costs.

    Appeal dismissed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Surajmull Nagoremull v. Triton Insurance Co., Ltd.
    (Dec 2, 1924)