Madan Mohan Punchhi, J.:— General is the rule in the United States of America that a liberal construction be given to a pension statute, although Courts there never interpret such a statute to include persons not plainly within the legislative intent. (See American Jurisdiction, 2nd Edition, Volume 60, Page 881). We suppose same is the rule in this welfare State of ours though not expressly formulated by a judicial precedent of the highest Court. But, here the rule of liberal construction is sought to be extended to the terms of two appointment letters so as to read therein pensioner privileges. It is somewhat a titillating question but, as it would appear, it permeates the substratum of these two matters placed before us. They shall then, for purpose of convenience, be disposed of by a common judgment. Respective facts of each are as under:—
Letters Patent Appeal No. 165 of 1983:
2. Shri D.N Rampal respondent was appointed to the post of Assistant Advocate General, Punjab by the Punjab Government, vide order dated 17th July, 1967 (Annexure P. 3). He was to be on probation for one year, but as a whole-time Government servant. Inter alia, his appointment letter provided:—
“In the matter of (his) leave and traveling allowance etc., the Punjab Civil Services Rules will be applicable.”
2. His period of probation of one year expired successfully and he was confirmed on 4th January, 1969, with effect from 17th July, 1968. Later, a venture was made by the Government to withdraw his order of confirmation but this Court, on a writ petition preferred by him, scuttled that stop. This Court held that Rampal stood appointed substantively against a permanent post. The contention of the State that the appointment of Rampal was contractual was negative. Later, vide order (Annexure P. 7A) dated 5th December, 1975. Shri Rampal was promoted as a Deputy Advocate General, Punjab, though temporarily. In its terms and conditions, it was, however, mentioned that in the matter of leave and traveling allowances, he will be governed by the Punjab Civil Services Rules and that his services were contractual in nature and, as such, he will not be entitled to any other benefits except those mentioned in the terms and conditions. Vide order (Annexure P. 7) dated 26th May, 1978, Rampal was allowed to retire, after attaining the age of superannuation, on 31st May, 1978. On retirement, he laid claim to pension and gratuity. Vide order Annexure P. 8 dated 3rd August, 1981, the State Government informed him that he was not entitled to the payment of pension, gratuity etc. Aggrieved against the said order, he filed Civil Writ Petition No. 4241 of 1981 which was allowed by a learned Single Judge on 23rd November, 1982. It is against that decision that the present letters patent appeal has been filed.
Civil Writ Petition No. 1068 of 1983:
3. Shri Mohinder Pal Singh Gill was appointed Assistant Advocate General on 17th September, 1969 vide order Annexure P. 1. He was Page: 16to be a whole-time Government employee but his services were purely temporary. Out of his terms and conditions, the three relevant for our purposes are reproduced:—
“(v) In the matter of leave, and traveling allowances, they (he) will be governed by the Punjab Civil Services Rules.
(vi) No house rent will be admissible to them (him),
(vii) Their (his) services are contractual in nature and, as such, they (he) will not be entitled to any other benefit except those mentioned in their (his) terms and conditions”
4. On 12th April, 1970, vide order Annexure P. 5, conditions Nos. (vi) and (vii) afore-quoted were deleted from his appointment order and, instead, house rent allowance and dearness allowance were sanctioned to him. Vide order Annexure P. 2 dated 21st June, 1978, Shri Gill was temporarily promoted as Deputy Advocate General, Punjab. And then again it was mentioned therein that in the matter of leave and traveling allowance, he was to be governed by the Punjab Civil Services Rules and that his services were contractual in nature and, as such, he was not entitled to any other benefit except those mentioned in the terms and conditions. He was allowed, vide Annexure P. 4, to continue in service beyond the age of 55 years with effect from, 19th September, 1978. Persons appointed later than Gill as Assistant Advocate Generals were confirmed earlier though he had a long durated service. Aggrieved against the confirmation of those persons, he filed Civil Writ Petition, No. 3361 of 1980 on 20th September, 1980, in this Court. While its was pending, the Government on 28th September, 1981, passed order Annexure P. 3 confirming Shri Gill as Assistant Advocate General with effect from 31st May, 1978 In the same order it was added however:—
“This order will not entitle S. Gill to any pension, gratuity, encashment of leave etc.”
5. The writ petition was disposed of as in fructuous on 28th September, 1981, in view of the confirmation order. Shri Gill attained the age of superannuation on 30th September, 1981, just two days after passing of the order Annexure P. 3. On retirement, he laid claim for release of pension, gratuity etc. but his request qua pension was turned down. Aggrieved against such stance of the State, Shri Gill approached this Court by way of this petition and placed reliance on Rampal's case (supra). On admission of the writ petition, it was ordered to be heard with Letters Patent Appeal No. 165 of 1983. The defences adopted by the State in both the cases are in a sense, common. It is maintained by the State that the services of both Rampal and Gill were contractual in nature and, as such, the claim to pension lay only if the terms and conditions of the appointments permitted. Secondly, it was mentioned that, in the absence of a clear stipulation in the appointment orders about the total applicability of the Civil Services Rules, the entire body of Rules could not be automatically attracted. Thirdly, claim of pension had not been reserved in the appointment letters and correspondence. And fourthly, pension could not be given merely because Rampal aud Gill had been allowed to retire from service. Other defences raised being individual, would at appropriate stages, be noticed later on. Reliance was placed on a decision rendered by D.S Tewatia, J., in V.P Prashar, Assistant Advocate General, Punjab, Chandigarh v. The State of Punjab (Civil Page: 17Writ Petition No. 198 of 1982) on 22nd September, 1983, to contend that the post of an Assistant Advocate General in the Office of the Advocate General, Punjab, was contractual in nature.
6. In the first instance we deem it necessary to clear the vision with regard to the concept of pension and the essentials which qualify a civil servant to claim it as a retirement benefit under the lew. It is well known that pension serves a beneficial purpose, both to the public and to person who is to receive the pension. The purpose behind it is to reward faithful service by a pension allowance. That is the reason why such legislation is applied fairly and broadly so that benefits intended are not arbitrarily withheld. All reasonable doubts in that regard go in favour of the applicability of the Civil Services Rules, or such law, by liberal construction in favour of the employee. The right of a Government servant to receive pension under the Civil Services Rules was considered even as property, the rejection of which invoked the principle of natural justice audi alteram partem (see State of Punjab v. K.R Erry and Sobhag Rai Meyta, 1972 Services Law Reporter 836). In the said case, it was even negatived to be a bounty. It obviously is not even a reward. It can broadly be then described as a just allowance or stipend made in consideration of past services. And it is on this broad meaning, as it appears to us, that the term ‘pension’, though not defined, is used in the Punjab Civil Services Rules. How one qualifies for pension is to be noticed later.
7. It has been noticed in the V.P Prasher's case (supra) that there were seven posts of Assistant Advocate General in the office of the Advocate General, Punjab, and those posts were non-contractual. An argument was raised in that case that, since those posts were regular posts, and when pay scales thereof had been revised by the Government on the recommendation fof the Pay Commission, that implied that those were meant to be filled up by persons appointed on regular basis. The contention was by passed by holding that the State Government was not precluded from making a contractual appointment to a regular post. Support for the view was taken from the provision of rule 1.3 of the Punjab Civil Services Rules, Volume I, Part I, which is in the following terms:—
“1.3 When in the opinion of the competent authority, special provisions inconsistent with these rules are required with reference to any particular post or any conditions of service that authority may. notwithstanding anything otherwise contained in these rules, and subject to the provisions of clause (2) of Article 310 of the Constitution of India (see” Appendix I), provide agreement with the person appointed to such post for any matters in respect of which, in the opinion of that authority, special provisions are required to be made: Provided that in every agreement so made it shall be provided that in respect of any matter for which no provision has been made in the agreement, provisions of these rules shall apply.”
8. Support was also sought from rule 1.4 of the said Rules (same part) where-under it is provided that the Punjab Civil Services Rules shall not apply to any Government employee between whom and the Government, a specific contract or agreement subsists in respect of any matter dealt with in the rules to the extent up to which specific provisions is made in the Page: 18contract or agreement. Based on the aforesaid rules, the decision went against the petitioner in V.P Prashar's case (supra), for his services were held contractual. It is precisely on that ground now the learned Additional Advocate General has contended that the services of Rampal and Gill too were contractual in nature and, as such, the Punjab Civil Services Rules were not applicable, whereunder alone pension could be claimed as of right.
9. As was conceded before us, the seven posts of Assistant Advocate General in the office of the Advocate General, Punjab, are partly permanent end partly temporary. These may or may not formally form a cadre but thsy provide undoubtedly substantive employment. A full Bench of the Patna High Court in Bishundeo Mehta v. The State of Bihar, 1981 (3) Services Law Reporter 467, explained the phenomene like this:
“Both in the State Services as well as in Subordinate Services, a number of posts are permanent. Temporary posts are also created from time to time, which according to exigency of the services, may be made permanent at later stage. Appointments to permanent posts are sometimes on substantive basis, and in some cases on probation, officiating or temporary basis. The probationary and officiating appointments are of a temporary nature. Similarly, so far as the temporary posts are concerned, substantive appointments can be made and are, in fact, sometimes made even on temporary posts.”
10. This seems to us to be the correct position in law so far as substantive appointments are concerned and we are in respectful agreement with the view expressed. It was held in Baleshwar Dass v. State of U.P, (1980) 4 SCC 226 : A.I.R 1981 Supreme Court 41, that to appreciate the fiction used in the connection, it may well be said that a person is said to hold post in a substantive capacity when he holds it for an indefinite period, especially of long duration, in contradistinction to a person who holds it for definite or temporary period. Such also was the view of a Division Bench of the Patna High Court in Kamla Prasad v. The State of Bihar, 1981 (3) Services Law Reporter 717. The Supreme Court in Baleshwar Dass's case (supra) has also specifically ruled that fixed connotations to expressions like “substantive capacity”, ‘service’ and ‘cadre’, could not be attributed.
11. In the light of such judicial authority, rules 3.8 and 3.12 of the Punjab Civil Services Rules Volume II, making provision for pension, need now be noticed. Rule 3.8 provides that, unless it be otherwise provided by special rule or contract, the service of every Government employee begins to qualify for pension when he takes charge of the post to which he is first appointed. Thus, the time clock starts from the date of his initial appointment. Rule 3.12 provides three qualifications for pension. It says that the service of a Government employee does not qualify for pension unless it conforms to three conditions : (i) the service must be under Government; (ii) the employment must be substantive and permanent; and (iii) the service must be paid by Government. In the instant cases, concededly that service was under the Government, service was paid by the Government and the employment being long durated was substantive and permanent. Rampal. as said before, was confirmed as an Assistant Advocate General concededly against a permanent post of the Assistant Page: 19Advocate General. Similarly, Gill was confirmed from a back date as an Assistant Advocate General against a permanent post. Thus, both of them qualify for pension under the Punjab Civil Services Rules. No rules or Government order has been brought to our notice to suggest that the posts of Assistant Advocate General are non-pensionable. The point which still remains to be seen is whether the claims of pension are dead for Rampal and Gill under their initial terms of appointment and can their service bs treated as one under an agreement or contract excluding the applicability of the Punjab Civil Services.
12. So far as the case of Rampal is concerned, it presents no difficulty whatsoever, in the earlier case between him and the State, this Court negative the plea of the State that his services were contractual. That judgment being inter parties, reported as D.N Rampal v. State of Punjab, 1978 P.L.R 498, is res judicata. It was held therein that Rampal had been appointed substantively against a permanent post. He was promoted to the post of the Deputy Advocate General, the State treating the said post hierarchically promotional. He was even allowed to retire on attaining the age of superannuation. That incidence by itself showed that he was swept into regular service. And further, his initial terms of appointment, which governed his temporary service, outlived their utility. He thus became qualified for receiving pension, on his retirement, under rules 3.12 of the Punjab Civil Services Rules, Volume II, and was entitled thereunder to have his claim satisfied. In the alternative, even if it was not so, we see no reason why a liberal construction to his appointment letter be not made. Mention therein of the applicability of the Punjab Civil Services Rules regarding leave and traveling allowance etc., illustratively, was comprehensive enough to include pension as permissible under the Rules. In no way, could a restricted construction be put to such a term unless it was specifically stipulated therein that he was not entitled to claim pension. We are, for the aforesaid reasons, of the considered view that the learned Single Judge rightly allowed the claim of Rampal. If the services of Rampal were merely contractual, the contract had to be terminated or allowed to run out by efflux of time. In no case, could he be allowed to retire from service. The incidence that he was allowed to retire from service cuts at the very root of his post as a contractual. Thus, the Punjab Civil Services Rules were applicable to his case and, as such, he was entitled to pension on fruition of his service career.
13. So far as the Gill's case is concerned, it is noticeable that, though in the initial terms of appointment his services were termed as contractual specifically, yet the concerned clause (vi) as also clause (vii) were withdrawn, vide order Annexure P. 5. Clause (vii) alone had mentioned that he would not be entitled to any other benefits except those mentioned in the terms and conditions. By withdrawal thereof, the contractual stag seems to us to be pulled away. The mere fact that clause (v) was allowed to remain and there was no word ‘etc’, as was in Rampal's case, would to our mind make no difference. Only the matter of leave and traveling allowance was touched which was to be governed by the Punjab Civil Services Rules. No other matter was touched. Those terms, if at all, governed his case while he was a temporary employee. But his temporary service, on the face of it, was long darated. There was no specific stipulation that no other provisions of the Punjab Civil Services Rules would be applicable. Even if his appointment. Page: 20though not held as such, is taken to have been contractual, rule 1.3 of the Punjab Civil Services Rules Volume I, Part I, required that in every agreement made with reference to a post requiring special provisions inconsistent with rules, a provision shall be made that in respect of any matter for which no provision has been made therein, provisions of the rules shall apply. It is interesting to read in the Punjab Civil Services Rules, Volume I, Part II, Model agreement Forms I, II and III, each of which contains a stipulation to the effect, with suitable adaptations, that in respect of any matter for which no provision has been made in the agreement, the provisions of the Rules framed under Article 309 of the Constitution of India shall apply to the extent to which they are applicable to the service hereby provided for. These requirements of the Rules reinforce our view that, in the absence of a negative clause in the terms of employment, specially saying that the Civil Services Rules would not be applicable, we can and should liberally construe the contractual letter to spell that the Civil Services Rules were applicable and, hence, claim for pension by Gill was maintainable.
14. Besides the above view, in line with Rampal's case, we are of the view that Gill was allowed to continue in service after confirmation as an Assistant Advocate General and allowed to retire on attaining the age of superannuation. That was a normal incidence of regular service. We have been shown the official record. It is plain therefrom that Gill was confirmed against a permanent post of Assistant Advocate General. Had he merely to be on contractual basis, his services had to be terminated or ended in a different fashion than retirement. Pension being a natural consequence thereto, could not be withheld in his case too. However, it has been asserted by the learned Additional Advocate General that, vide order Annexure P. 3 whereby Gill was confirmed, it was specifically stated therein that the said order shall not entitle Gill to any pension, gratuity, encashment of leave etc. Bare-facedly, the order has two parts, one which confirms Gill as Assistant Advocate General takes effect from 31st May, 1978; and the other which says that this order will not entitle Gill to any pension etc., is effective from 28th September, 1981, the day on which it was passed. These state of putative affairs have squally to be taken to the point on 21st June, 1978, the day when Gill became Deputy Advocate General. He had by then had already put in ten years qualifying service entitling him to pension. Having earned that right, the second part of the order disentitling him to pension etc. operating from 28th September, 1981, was violative of the rules of natural justice, as it was passed behind his back and is an order in direct conflict with Baleshwar Dass's case, (1980) 4 SCC 226 : A.I.R 1981 S.C 41 (supra). Thus, the second part of the order whereby Gill was disentitled to any pension, gratuity, encashment of leave etc., is quashed not only for the reasons aforementioned but also on being arbitrary and bereft of any reason.
15. The learned Additional Advocate General maintained that with effect from 21st June, 1978, Gill was in a new service inasmuch as he had accepted a contractual appointment as Deputy Advocate General, the terms of employment of which specifically said that the employment was contractual in nature. In other words, it was maintained that Gill had left the job of the Assistant Advocate General and that incidence by its elf disentitled him to pension. We are not impressed by this argument There was the departmental precedent of Rampal in the office of the Page: 21Advocate General when he was promoted from the post of Assistant Advocate General to that of Deputy Advocate General. On that precedent, one could safely assume that the appointment of Gill to the post of the Deputy Advocate General, though couched in the language of fresh appointment, was in essence and reality a promotion without causing any break in service. In any case, his lien to the post of the Assistant Advocate General did not vanish by that appointment. In either situation, he remained in the service of the Government, was paid by the Government, and his employment, substantive and permanent as Assistant Advocate General, remained subsisting under Rule 3.12 of the Punjab Civil Services Rules Volume I, Chapter III. He was allowed to retire when Deputy Advocate General while in Government service. Thus we are of the considered view that Gill was entitled to pension under the Punjab Civil Services Rules. In summing up, we hold that both Rampal and Gill were entitled to pensioner benefits. Affirming the view of the learned single Judge, we dismiss Letters Patent Appeal No. 165 of 1983 with costs. We also allow Civil Writ Petition No. 1068 of 1983, partially quashing that part of the Govt. order dated 28th September, 1981 (Annexure P. 3) whereunder Gill was ordered to be denied pension etc., and direct the respondents to release Gill's pensioner benefits forthwith. Gill shall have his costs. Counsel-fee in both the cases Rs. 500 each.
Rajendra Nath Mittal, J.:— I agree.
16. Appeal dismissed.