Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Judges
Acts
  • Section 10, sub-section (1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act,
  • Section 10 of the Workmen's Compensation Act,
  • Workmen's Compensation Act, 1925,
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Judges
Acts
  • Section 10, sub-section (1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act,
  • Section 10 of the Workmen's Compensation Act,
  • Workmen's Compensation Act, 1925,
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The applicant, the widow of Mahmed Ahmed Shaikh Mahiboo, claimed compensation for the death of her husband, who sustained an injury while employed on the hatch of the ship "S.S. Khandalla" on 19 October. The injury involved the nail being off the middle finger. According to the factual findings reported, the deceased continued to work on various days and nights up to the night of 26 October, became ill on 27 October, was removed to hospital on the morning of 28 October, and died of tetanus at 9 a.m. on 28 October. The widow gave notice to the employer on 30 October and filed an application before the Commissioner on 21 November 1931.

In the lower Court (the Commissioner), the issues decided included (1) whether the applicant was a dependent, and (2) whether the injury arose out of and in the course of employment and caused death — on these two points the Commissioner decided for the applicant. On the third point the Commissioner held that the failure to give notice as required by Section 10 of the Workmen's Compensation Act was not due to sufficient cause and dismissed the application. The present opinion is from the appellate court on an appeal against that dismissal.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the notice of the accident was given "as soon as practicable" under Section 10 of the Workmen's Compensation Act.
  2. Whether the failure to give notice was "due to sufficient cause" within proviso 2 to Section 10(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act.
  3. Whether the appellate court has jurisdiction to review the Commissioner's finding on whether the facts constitute sufficient cause (i.e., whether that question is reviewable as a matter of law).

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The notice given on 30 October should be treated as given as soon as practicable after the happening of the accident.
  • In the alternative, even if notice was not given in time, the failure to give notice was due to sufficient cause under proviso 2, Section 10(1) of the Act.
  • The appellant relied on authorities (Albison v. Newroyd Mill Ltd.; Fenton v. Owners of S.S. "Kelvin"; Webster v. Cohen Brothers) for the proposition that a workman is required to give notice "as soon as he realizes that his condition entitles him to compensation" and that an honest belief that the injury is trivial can constitute sufficient cause for delay in giving notice.

Respondent's Arguments

  • The respondent argued there is a difference between the English statutory provision and the proviso to Section 10 of the Indian Act, and that it is the Commissioner who must be satisfied that the failure to give notice was due to sufficient cause.
  • Reliance was placed on the view (derived from Shotts Iron Co. v. Fordyce) regarding the role of the Commissioner and the character of the question whether facts found constitute reasonable/sufficient cause.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Albison v. Newroyd Mill, Ltd. Holds that "as soon as practicable" means notice must be given as soon as the workman realizes his condition entitles him to compensation; example where injury initially treated as trivial and the workman continued at work. The court noted this authority (and similar ones) to support the principle that a workman's subjective assessment that an injury is trivial may amount to sufficient cause for delay in giving notice. The appellate court applied that principle to infer sufficiency of cause from the deceased's conduct (continuing to work).
Fenton v. Owners of S.S. "Kelvin" Supported the same view as Albison: notice is to be given when the workman realizes he is entitled to compensation. Referred to as supporting authority for the legal test adopted by the appellate court; used to frame the question whether the deceased believed the injury to be trivial and therefore had sufficient cause for not giving notice.
Webster v. Cohen Brothers Distinguishes between (a) genuinely believing no claim will be required, which may be reasonable cause for not giving notice, and (b) hoping matters will improve so notice is postponed, which is not reasonable cause. The court quoted this distinction to refine the inquiry into the deceased's state of mind — whether he honestly thought the injury trivial (reasonable cause) or was merely hoping for improvement (not reasonable cause). The appellate court found the evidence supported the former inference.
Ellis v. Fairfield Shipbuilding and Engineering Co. Recognizes that an honest belief at the time that nothing serious has happened may be reasonable cause for delay beyond statutory periods. Used to reinforce the proposition that an honest mistaken belief as to the seriousness of the injury can constitute reasonable/sufficient cause for delay in making a claim or giving notice.
Shotts Iron Co. v. Fordyce That the question whether facts found by an arbitrator (or Commissioner) constitute reasonable cause for failure to give notice or claim within the statutory period is a question of law, and thus open to appellate review. The court relied on this authority to conclude that the Commissioner's decision on sufficiency of cause is reviewable on appeal; on that basis the appellate court reviewed the facts, disagreed with the Commissioner's conclusion, and held the failure to give notice was due to sufficient cause.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The appellate court focused on the central legal question: whether the failure to give notice was due to sufficient cause under proviso 2 to Section 10(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act. The court first observed that the widow's notice of 30 October, given after the workman's death, could not easily be treated as notice "as soon as practicable" after the accident; thus the principal inquiry was whether the deceased's failure to give notice before his death was excused by sufficient cause.

The appellant relied upon authorities establishing that a workman should give notice "as soon as he realizes that his condition entitles him to compensation," and that an honest belief that the injury is trivial may amount to reasonable cause for not giving notice within the statutory period. The respondent stressed distinctions in statutory language and argued the Commissioner must be satisfied on the point.

The court examined the Commissioner's factual findings: the deceased worked after the injury on 19 October up to the night of 26 October, became ill on 27 October, and died of tetanus on the morning of 28 October; there was a contested factual question whether the deceased saw a doctor. The Commissioner had found no sufficient cause. The appellate judges scrutinized whether the Commissioner had properly taken into account the deceased's conduct as evidence of his belief about the injury.

Patkar, J. reasoned that the fact the deceased continued working until the 26th was strong evidence that he considered the injury trivial and did not think himself entitled to compensation (also noting Section 3(1)(a) that a workman is not entitled to compensation unless incapacitated for more than ten days). Given that the injury had been treated as slight in the deceased's conduct, the failure to give notice was, in Patkar J.'s view, due to sufficient cause.

The opinion relied on Shotts Iron Co. v. Fordyce to conclude that the question whether the facts constitute sufficient cause is open to appellate review as a question of law; therefore, the appellate court felt entitled to review and reverse the Commissioner's conclusion on this point.

Barlee, J. concurred and amplified the practical reasoning: dock work regularly involves slight injuries; it would be unreasonable to require notification for every bruise or scratch. He observed that the tetanus which caused death was a latent danger of which the deceased had no knowledge, and therefore the deceased had sufficient cause for not notifying what he regarded as a trifling injury.

The appellate court concluded that the Commissioner had erred by failing to take into account salient facts (the deceased's continued work and conduct) from which an inference of the deceased's belief that the injury was trivial could reasonably be drawn.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The appeal was allowed. The appellate court held that the failure to give notice was due to sufficient cause within proviso 2, Section 10(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, and that the Commissioner's contrary conclusion was erroneous. The order of the lower Court dismissing the application was set aside and the case was remanded to the Commissioner for decision on the merits and for determination of the amount. Costs were ordered to be costs in the application.

Implications:

  • Direct effect on the parties: the applicant's claim is restored for consideration on the merits by the Commissioner and a determination of compensation amount will follow; the earlier dismissal is vacated and costs are the costs in the application.
  • The court applied existing authorities about when notice must be given and what constitutes reasonable/sufficient cause; it did not state that it was establishing any new legal principle beyond applying those authorities to the facts at hand.

    Halemabi v. Ardeshir B. Cursetji .

    Patkar, J.:— In this case the widow of one Mahmed Ahmed Shaikh Mahiboo claimed compensation for the death of her husband who died as a result of an injury which he sustained while in the employment of the respondents. Various contentions were raised in the lower Court: (1) whether the applicant was a dependent; (2) whether the deceased workman received an injury as the result of an accident which arose out of and in the course of his employment, and whether the injury caused his death; and (3) whether notice was given as provided in Section 10 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, and whether if such notice was not given, the failure to give notice was due to sufficient cause. On the first two points the Commissioner decided in favour of the applicant. On the last point be held that there was no sufficient cause to prevent the deceased from going to the doctor and also informing his fore man, who was constantly on the ship, and therefore the failure to give notice was not due to sufficient cause. It appears that the deceased received an injury on 19th October, while he was doing work on the hatch of the boat “S.S Khandalla” and received an injury with the result that the nail was off the middle finger. He worked on for half a day and also at night on the 19th, and worked on the 20th at night, on the 21st he did not work, on the 22nd he worked during the day, on the 24th he worked day and night, on the 25th he worked during the day, and on the 26th he he worked at night, on the 27th he did not work, and on the 28th morning he got look-jaw and was removed to the hospital and died of tetanus at 9 a.m On 30th October, the applicant, the widow of the deceased, gave notice to the opponents claiming compensation for the injury received by the workman during the course of his employment, and on 21st November 1931 she filed an application before the Commissioner.

    2. Under Section 10 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, a workman has to give notice of the accident as soon as practicable after the happening thereof. It is contended on behalf of the appellant that the notice given on 30th October was given as soon as practicable after the happening of the accident. In the alternative it is urged that if no notice was given of the accident, the failure to give notice was due to sufficient cause under prov. 2, S. 10(1). It appears clear from the evidence, and there is also the finding of the learned Commissioner, that the deceased appears to have worked of to the night of 26th October. He became ill on the 27th and was removed to the hospital on the morning of the 28th where he died at 9 a.m of tetanus. It is clear that the deceased did not give any notice of the accident, and it is difficult to hold that the notice given by the widow after the death of the workman on 30th October would be a notice of the accident. The question, however, for decision in this appeal is whether the failure to give notice was due to sufficient cause. It is contended on behalf of the appellant that a workman, when he receives an injury, is not bound to give notice till he realizes that he is entitled to compensation under the Act, and reliance is placed on the decision in the case of Albison v. Newroyd Mill, Ltd. (1), where a girl of 15, on 22nd January 1925, knocked some bobbins off the creel, one of which dropped on her nose causing it to bleed, but she continued at work after going to her superintendent, who wiped her nose, and her nose swelled and was treated by her mother and she did not leave work until 12th March 1925. It was held that notice to be given as soon as practicable must be given as soon as the workman realizes that his condition entitles him to compensation for injury by accident. The same view was taken in the case of Fenton v. Owners of S.S “Kelvin” (2). At p. 334 reference is made to the judgment of Buckley, L.J, in the case of Webster v. Cohen Brothers (3), where it was observed at p. 97 as follows:

    We must distinguish between two different sets of facts: In the one the workman says: ‘If things continue as they are, I shall never require to give notice of any claim for compensation;’ that might be reasonable cause for not giving notice. The other state of facts is this: the workman says to himself: ‘I have had an accident, the results of which are serious, but I think they will alter for the better. I shall not give my employer notice of the accident, because if, as I hope, the results alter for the better, I shall never have to give notice of a claim for compensation at all.’ That is not reasonable cause for the failure to give notice of the accident.

    3. The question therefore in such a case is whether the workman considers that he is entitled to compensation under the Act and whether he thinks that he shall never have to give notice of any claim for compensation because the injury which he has received is considered by him to be trivial. The same view was taken by Lord Dunedin in Ellis v. Fairfield Shipbuilding and Engineering Co. (4), referred to by Lord Sankey in Shotts Iron Co. v. Fordyce (5), where it is observed as follows (p. 509):

    A man may have an accident, and honestly believe at the time that nothing serious has happened to him and therefore not conceiving that he has a good claim against his employer, makes no claim, but if it afterwards tarns out that he has made a mistake in fact and really has been injured, that may be…. reasonable cause for his not making the claim within the six months.

    4. The learned Commissioner in this case considered that there was no evidence whatever that the deceased thought anything of the kind, namely, that the in jury was trivial, and that it was impossible for a Judge to draw inferences where there are no facts from which an inference can be drawn. He discarded the evidence of the witness Chunilal Shivraj that it was a trivial injury on the ground that according to the witness the deceased went to the doctor, but in the latter part of the judgment, he disbelieved the witness on the strength of the evidence of the doctor—Hormasji Dorabji Kapadya—and held that the deceased did not go to the doctor. If the Commissioner's view is right that the deceased did not go to the doctor it would support the inference that sit least in the opinion of the deceased the injury was trivial. The very fact that the deceased did work according to the finding of the learned Commissioner, up to the 26th night, shows that the deceased considered that the injury was trivial. If tetanus had not intervened and the man had not died on account of the effects of the tetanus, there is every possibility that the workman would not have made any claim for compensation, according to S. 3, sub-s. (1), Cl. (a), a workman is not entitled to compensation unless he is incapacitated for work for more than ten days, and it is difficult to hold that the deceased thought that he was entitled to compensation under the Act before the lapse of ten days after receiving the injury which he considered to be trivial. The learned Commissioner has not given effect to the finding in his judgment that the deceased worked up to the night of the 26th, that he became ill on 27th and was removed on the morning of 28th, to the hospital where he died at 9 a.m of tetanus. Having regard to the fact that the deceased was in the habit of doing hard work, and particularly to the fact that he is described as a gymnast, the slight injury that he received must have been considered by him to be trivial. The undisputed fact that he worked till the 27th is conclusive on the question that at least in the opinion of the deceased the injury was trivial and was such that he was not entitled to compensation under the Act. If that is so, the failure to give notice was in my opinion due to sufficient cause.

    5. It is urged on behalf of the respondent that there is difference in the English Act and the proviso to S. 10, and that it is the Commissioner who must be satisfied that the failure to give notice or institute the claim, as the case may be, was due to sufficient cause. It was held in the case of Shotts Iron Co. v. Fordyce that the question whether the facts found by an arbitrator under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1925, constitute reasonable cause for the failure of the injured workman to give notice of the accident or to claim compensation within the statutory period is a question of law. It would, therefore, follow that the Commissioner's decision on the question is open to review. When an appeal is provided under the Act, the appellate Court is placed in the same position as the Commissioner to decide whether on the facts found the failure to give notice was or was not due to sufficient cause. In the circumstances of the present case, I think that the failure to give notice by the deceased workman was due to sufficient cause within proviso 2, S. 10(1), and therefore the view of the learned Commissioner on this point is erroneous. The result therefore is that the appeal will be allowed. The order of the lower Court dismissing the application must be set aside, and the case must be sent down to the Commissioner for decision on the merits. Costs will be costs in the application.

    Barlee, J.:— I agree. In this case the accident occurred on 19th October and no notice was given at all by the deceased. He continued to work in the oppondents' employment until the 26th and he died on the 28th at 9 a.m of tetanus. As he gave no notice the question whether notice was given as soon as practicable scarcely arises. The first question in this case is really whether his case comes within proviso 2 to Section 10, sub-section (1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, that is to say, was the failure to give notice due to sufficient cause? The second question is have we jurisdiction in appeal to differ from the finding of the learned Commissioner which is that the appellant, the applicant before him, had not made out sufficient cause? On this question we have had a number of decisions cited to us, and with respect I would quote the words of Lord Chancellor Sankey in the case of Shotts Iron Co. v. Fordyce :

    Once again I should like to protest against the great Dumber of cases which are so often cited upon this Act. I prefer to go back if possible to the words of the Statute and not to consider such words through a vista of decisions (p. 508).

    6. Therefore I shall not refer to any cases except that which I have cited. The decision there was that it is sufficient cause for the failure to make a claim if the person injured has no idea that he can make any reasonable claim.

    7. In the present case the deceased suffered an injury to a finger. It did not prevent him from going on with his work.

    8. He did not think it necessary to go to the doctor. He continued to work for six or seven days, and finally it was not this injury which was the cause of his death, but tetanus, which one might call a latent injury of which he could not know or did not know. Now in dock work a workman must continuously suffer slight injuries, and unless we hold that it is necessary for men to notify every bruise or scratch, we must say that this man had sufficient cause for not notifying the trifling injury which he had suffered. He could not give notice of the danger for he had no knowledge of it. He had no knowledge of any such injury, one might say, as comes within the category of accidents for which a demand for compensation could conceivably be made. I am therefore of the same opinion as my learned brother that he I had sufficient cause for not notifying the injury to his finger. An appeal under S. 30 lies only when there is a substantial question of law. In this case I am of opinion that the learned Commissioner has erred in the exercise of his discretion, when deciding, whether there was sufficient cause, in that he has left out of account some of the most salient facts. He writes:

    Mr. Joshi suggests that the deceased thought that the injury was so trivial that it was not worth bothering about … On this point there is no evidence whatever before me that the deceased thought anything of the kind and it is impossible for a Judge to draw inferences where there are no facts from which an inference can be drawn.

    9. With respect, I think that the learned Commissioner has left out of consideration the evidence which is afforded by the conduct of the deceased that be thought his injury really trivial. Had he been troubled by it probably he would have gone to the doctor who, as the learned Commissioner says, was on the spot, and it is improbable that be would have attended to his work right up to the date of his death, which occurred some eight or nine days later. This is, an error which, in my opinion, entitles us to interfere in this matter, and I agree with my learned brother that the fair order is to give compensation, and that the case must now be remanded for a decision as to the amount.

    R.K

    10. Appeal allowed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Halemabi v. Ardeshir B. Cursetji .
    (Dec 6, 1932)