AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2007 INSC 87
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • Section 22 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923
  • This Act
  • Section 4, Subsection (2).4-A of the Act
  • Section 4 of the Act
  • Section 4-A of the Act (amended by Act 30 of 1995)
  • The Act (year not specified)
  • Section 30 of the Act
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2007 INSC 87
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • Section 22 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923
  • This Act
  • Section 4, Subsection (2).4-A of the Act
  • Section 4 of the Act
  • Section 4-A of the Act (amended by Act 30 of 1995)
  • The Act (year not specified)
  • Section 30 of the Act
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

Respondent 1 in each of the three civil appeals was an employee of Respondent 2 and claimed to be either the driver, cleaner or labourer on vehicles that met with accidents during the course of employment. All three claimants filed petitions under Section 22 of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923, before the Commissioner for Workmen’s Compensation and Assistant Commissioner of Labour, Nizamabad (“the Commissioner”). The Commissioner, relying on medical evidence, assessed varying percentages of permanent/partial disability, functional disability and loss of earning capacity and awarded compensation accordingly.

The insurer of the vehicles (the present appellant) accepted the Commissioner’s awards. The claimants, however, appealed under Section 30 of the Act to the High Court of Andhra Pradesh. A learned Single Judge enhanced the compensation by treating each claimant as having 100% loss of earning capacity and directed payment of interest at 12% p.a. from the date of accident until realisation. The insurer then brought the present appeals to the Supreme Court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the High Court was justified in fixing the loss of earning capacity at 100% without providing any supporting reasons, thereby enhancing the compensation awarded by the Commissioner.
  2. What is the correct rate and commencement date for payment of interest on compensation under Section 4-A of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant’s Arguments

  • The High Court’s finding of 100% loss of earning capacity is unsustainable because it was reached without any discussion or analysis of the medical evidence or statutory criteria.
  • Interest at 12% p.a. from the date of accident is impermissible; both the rate and starting point fixed by the High Court are excessive or incorrect.

Respondents’ Arguments

  • The High Court’s enhancement and award of interest are justified and should be upheld.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Maghar Singh v. Jashwant Singh, (1998) 9 SCC 134 Interpretation of Section 4-A regarding liability for and rate of interest on delayed compensation payments. Invoked to affirm that, after the 1995 amendment, the minimum statutory rate of interest is 12% p.a. when default occurs.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

1. Loss of earning capacity. The Court examined Sections 4(1)(c)(ii) and Explanations I & II of the Act, emphasising that loss of earning capacity is distinct from the percentage of physical disability and must be assessed by a qualified medical practitioner with reference to Schedule I. The medical witness had already assessed functional disability and loss of earning capacity (65–80%) for each claimant. The High Court, however, summarily declared 100% loss of earning capacity without assigning reasons. Finding no evidentiary or statutory basis for that conclusion, the Supreme Court restored the Commissioner’s original assessments.

2. Interest under Section 4-A. Section 4-A(3) imposes simple interest where an employer defaults in paying compensation “within one month from the date it fell due.” The Court clarified that compensation “falls due” only after adjudication, because liability and quantum become ascertainable only then. It rejected the High Court’s use of the accident date as the starting point. Relying on Maghar Singh, the Court upheld the 12% rate (post-1995 amendment) but ruled that interest begins one month after the date of adjudication by the Commissioner.

Holding and Implications

APPEALS ALLOWED IN PART. The Supreme Court set aside the High Court’s determination of 100% loss of earning capacity and reinstated the Commissioner’s original awards. Interest at 12% p.a. is payable, but only from one month after the date of adjudication, not from the accident date. No order as to costs.

Implications are confined to the parties: the compensation reverts to the Commissioner’s assessment, and interest is recalculated from the correct statutory trigger. The decision reiterates that loss of earning capacity must be evidence-based and clarifies the “falls due” standard under Section 4-A, but it creates no new substantive precedent beyond applying existing principles.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed And Another

    Dr. Arijit Pasayat, J.— Challenge in these appeals is to the judgment rendered in each case by learned Single Judge of the Andhra Pradesh High Court. Respondent 1 in each case was working as employee of Respondent 2. Each of them filed a claim petition under Section 22 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 (in short the “Act”) claiming compensation for alleged personal injuries sustained in course of employment. In each case the claimant claimed to be either a labour or cleaner or driver of the vehicle which was involved in the accident. While Respondent 1 in Civil Appeal No. 5625 of 2006 claimed to be driver of Vehicle No. APJ 1907, Respondent 1 in Civil Appeal No. 5623 of 2006 claimed to be the cleaner of the vehicle. Respondent 1 in Civil Appeal No. 5624 claimed to be employed on a different vehicle. The claim petitions were adjudicated by the Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation and Assistant Commissioner of Labour, Nizamabad (hereinafter referred to as the “Commissioner”).

    2. In order to prove the nature of injuries sustained and the alleged loss of earning capacity, a doctor was examined as witness. The doctor who was examined, indicated the percentage of permanent and temporary disablement, functional disability and loss of earning capacity as follows:

    Civil Appeal No. 5623 of 2006

    Permanent/partial disability : 65% Functional disability : 65% Loss of earning capacity : 80%

    Civil Appeal No. 5624 of 2006

    Permanent/partial disability : 65% Functional disability : 65% Loss of earning capacity : 65%

    Civil Appeal No. 5625 of 2006

    Permanent/partial disability : 65% Functional disability : 70% Loss of earning capacity : 80%

    3. The appellant insurer of the offending vehicle did not question correctness of the award made by the Commissioner. The claimant in each case preferred an appeal under Section 30 of the Act. By the impugned judgment in each case the High Court held that there was 100% loss of earning capacity and, therefore, awarded compensation. It also directed grant of interest @ 12% p.a from date of accident till actual realisation.

    4. In support of the appeals, learned counsel for the appellant submitted that the judgment of the High Court without any discussion on the loss of earning capacity is clearly unsustainable, and in addition question of payment of 12% p.a interest does not arise. The rate of interest is high.

    5. Learned counsel for the respondents supported the impugned order of the High Court in each case.

    6. In order to decide the basic issues Sections 4 and 4-A of the Act need to be noted. They read as follows:

    “4. Amount of compensation.— (1) Subject to the provisions of this Act, the amount of compensation shall be as follows, namely:

    (a) where death results from the injury an amount equal to forty per cent of the monthly wages of the deceased workman multiplied by the relevant factor; or an amount of twenty thousand rupees, whichever is more; (b) where permanent total disablement results from the injury an amount equal to fifty per cent of the monthly wages of the injured workman multiplied by the relevant factor; or an amount of twenty-four thousand rupees, whichever is more;

    Explanation I.—For the purposes of clause (a) and clause (b), ‘relevant factor’, in relation to a workman means the factor specified in the second column of Schedule IV against the entry in the first column of that Schedule specifying the number of years which are the same as the completed years of the age of the workman on his last birthday immediately preceding the date on which the compensation fell due;
    Explanation II.—Where the monthly wages of a workman exceed one thousand rupees, his monthly wages for the purposes of clause (a) and clause (b) shall be deemed to be one thousand rupees only,

    (c) where permanent partial disablement results from the injury (i) in the case of an injury specified in Part II of Schedule I, such percentage of the compensation which would have been payable in the case of permanent total disablement as is specified therein as being the percentage of the loss of earning capacity caused by that injury; and (ii) in the case of an injury not specified in Schedule I, such percentage of the compensation payable in the case of permanent total disablement as is proportionate to the loss of earning capacity (as assessed by the qualified medical practitioner) permanently caused by the injury;

    Explanation I.—Where more injuries than one are caused by the same accident, the amount of compensation payable under this head shall be aggregated but not so in any case as to exceed the amount which would have been payable if permanent total disablement had resulted from the injuries;
    Explanation II.—In assessing the loss of earning capacity for the purposes of sub-clause (ii), of the qualified medical practitioner shall have due regard to the percentages of loss of earning capacity in relation to different injuries specified in Schedule I;

    (d) where temporary disablement, whether total or partial results from the injury a half-monthly payment or the sum-equivalent to twenty-five per cent of monthly wages of the workman, to be paid in accordance with the provisions of sub-section (2).

    4-A. Compensation to be paid when due and penalty for default.—(1) Compensation under Section 4 shall be paid as soon as it falls due.
    (2) In cases where the employer does not accept the liability for compensation to the extent claimed, he shall be bound to make provisional payment based on the event of liability which he accepts, and, such payment shall be deposited with the Commissioner or made to the workman, as the case may be without prejudice to the right of the workman to make any further claim.
    (3) Where any employer is in default in paying the compensation due under this Act within one month from the date it fell due, the Commissioner may direct that in addition to the amount of the arrears, simple interest at the rate of six per cent per annum on the amount due together with, if in the opinion of the Commissioner there is no justification for the delay, a further sum not exceeding fifty per cent of such amount, shall be recovered from the employer by way of penalty.”

    7. These cases related to injuries which were not specified in Schedule I and as such cases are covered by Section 4(1)(c)(ii) Explanation. In terms of Explanation II the qualified medical practitioner has to assess loss of earning capacity having due regard to percentage of loss of earning capacity in relation to the different injuries in Schedule I. Explanation I also provides that where there are more than one injuries, the aggregate has to be taken, so that the amount which would be payable for permanent total disablement is not exceeded.

    8. Loss of earning capacity is, therefore, not a substitute for percentage of the physical disablement. It is one of the factors taken into account. In the instant case the doctor who examined the claimant also noted about the functional disablement. In other words, the doctor had taken note of the relevant factors relating to loss of earning capacity. Without indicating any reason or basis the High Court held that there was 100% loss of earning capacity. Since no basis was indicated in support of the conclusion, same cannot be maintained. Therefore, we set aside that part of the High Court's order and restore that of the Commissioner, in view of the fact situation. Coming to the question of liability to pay interest, Section 4-A(3) deals with that question. The provision has been quoted above.

    9. Interest is payable under Section 4-A(3) if there is default in paying the compensation due under this Act within one month from the date it fell due. The question of liability under Section 4-A was dealt with by this Court in Maghar Singh v. Jashwant Singh (1998) 9 SCC 134. By amending Act 30 of 1995, Section 4-A of the Act was amended, inter alia, fixing the minimum rate of interest to be simple interest @ 12%. In the instant case, the accident took place after the amendment and, therefore, the rate of 12% as fixed by the High Court cannot be faulted. But the period as fixed by it is wrong. The starting point is on completion of one month from the date on which it fell due. Obviously it cannot be the date of accident. Since no indication is there as to when it becomes due, it has to be taken to be the date of adjudication of the claim. This appears to be so because Section 4-A(1) prescribes that compensation under Section 4 shall be paid as soon as it falls due. The compensation becomes due on the basis of adjudication of the claim made. The adjudication under Section 4 in some cases involves the assessment of loss of earning capacity by a qualified medical practitioner. Unless adjudication is done, question of compensation becoming due does not arise. The position becomes clearer on a reading of sub-section (2) of Section 4-A. It provides that provisional payment to the extent of admitted liability has to be made when employer does not accept the liability for compensation to the extent claimed. The crucial expression is “falls due”. Significantly, legislature has not used the expression “from the date of accident”. Unless there is an adjudication, the question of an amount falling due does not arise.

    10. The appeals are allowed to the extent indicated, without any order as to costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed And Another
    (Feb 1, 2007)