AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2000 INSC 458
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • Article 14 of the Constitution
  • Section 5, Subsection 2 of the 1983 Income Tax Act
  • Fourth Pay Commission's Report
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2000 INSC 458
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Advocates
Judges
Acts
  • Article 14 of the Constitution
  • Section 5, Subsection 2 of the 1983 Income Tax Act
  • Fourth Pay Commission's Report
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The respondent was appointed as a Lady Medical Officer in the Family Welfare Centre, Visakhapatnam, on 22-9-1968 and was made quasi-permanent from 31-3-1972. She retired on 13-11-1980 after completing 12 years, 2 months and 9 days of service—short of the 20-year qualifying period then required for pension under the Central Civil Services (Temporary) Rules, 1965. Consequently, she received only terminal benefits and no pension.

The Fourth Central Pay Commission later recommended, with effect from 1-1-1986, that the qualifying service for pro rata pension be reduced to 10 years. After this change, the respondent sought pensionary benefits effective from 1-1-1986, but the Government rejected her claim on the ground that she had retired before the new rule’s commencement. In 1996 she filed an Original Application before the Central Administrative Tribunal, Hyderabad, which allowed her claim. The Union of India appealed to the Supreme Court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the reduction of qualifying service for pro rata pension from 20 to 10 years, effective 1-1-1986, confers pensionary entitlement on an employee who retired prior to that date without the requisite 20-year service.
  2. Whether denying such benefit violates Article 14 of the Constitution by arbitrarily distinguishing between pre-1986 and post-1986 retirees.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellants’ Arguments (Union of India)

  • The respondent was ineligible for pension on her 1980 retirement because she had not completed 20 years of service.
  • The 10-year qualifying rule introduced on 1-1-1986 is prospective; it cannot be applied retrospectively to persons who had already exited service.
  • The question is squarely governed by V. Kasturi v. State Bank of India (1998) 8 SCC 30 and allied cases, which hold that a new pension scheme does not benefit past non-pensioners unless expressly made retrospective.
  • Decisions relied on by the Tribunal (T.S. Thiruvengadam and M.C. Dhingra) were distinguished in Kasturi and are inapplicable.

Respondent’s Arguments

  • Once the qualifying service was reduced to 10 years, she fell within the class of pensioners and should receive pro rata pension from 1-1-1986.
  • Denial of pension solely because she retired before 1-1-1986 is arbitrary and infringes Article 14.
  • Relied on T.S. Thiruvengadam v. Secretary to Government of India (1993) 2 SCC 174 and M.C. Dhingra v. Union of India (1996) 7 SCC 564 to contend that beneficial pensionary changes are not confined to future retirees.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
M.C. Dhingra v. Union of India, (1996) 7 SCC 564 Additional pensionary benefits can extend to existing pensioners. Distinguished; respondent was never a pensioner, hence the case was inapplicable.
T.S. Thiruvengadam v. Secy. to Govt. of India, (1993) 2 SCC 174 Benefits intended to protect earlier earned pensionary rights may apply to those absorbed earlier. Distinguished on facts; that case involved persons already entitled to pension.
V. Kasturi v. Managing Director, SBI, (1998) 8 SCC 30 Prospective pension scheme cannot be invoked by pre-scheme non-pensioners unless expressly retrospective. Treated as governing precedent; applied to deny pension to respondent.
Commander HQ v. Capt. Biplabendra Chanda, (1997) 1 SCC 208 New pension rules effective 1-1-1986 are not retrospective; earlier retirees remain ineligible. Reinforced prospective nature of 1986 changes.
Union of India v. Lieut. E. Iacats, (1997) 7 SCC 334 An employee cannot claim benefit of a liberalised pension scheme introduced after retirement. Relied upon for identical principle.
T.N. Electricity Board v. R. Veerasamy, (1999) 3 SCC 414 Referenced by counsel; specific principle not detailed in the opinion. Not expressly analysed by the Court in its reasoning.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court synthesized its earlier rulings to formulate three guiding propositions:

  1. An employee not entitled to pension at retirement cannot, by a later prospective amendment, be converted into a pensioner unless the amendment is expressly retrospective.
  2. If the amendment is retrospective, new benefits extend to earlier non-pensioners; otherwise, they do not.
  3. Employees already drawing pension at retirement automatically receive later enhancements.

Applying these principles, the Court observed that:

  • The respondent retired in 1980 when 20 years’ service was mandatory for pension; she had completed only 12 years and was therefore outside the pensioner class.
  • The Fourth Pay Commission’s recommendation effective 1-1-1986 created a new class of pensioners based on 10 years’ service but was expressly prospective.
  • Because the amendment was not retrospective, the respondent remained a non-pensioner notwithstanding her survival beyond 1-1-1986.
  • Authorities cited by the respondent (Thiruvengadam and Dhingra) concerned individuals already eligible for pension and were thus distinguishable.

Consequently, the Tribunal’s reliance on those cases was erroneous, and the prospective principle affirmed in V. Kasturi and other decisions controlled the outcome.

Holding and Implications

Appeal Allowed; Tribunal’s judgment set aside.

The respondent is not entitled to pro rata pension under the Fourth Pay Commission recommendations because those recommendations operate prospectively from 1-1-1986. The decision confirms that beneficial pensionary amendments do not automatically extend to employees who were not pensioners at the time of retirement unless the amendment is expressly retrospective. No costs were awarded, and the ruling does not establish new precedent but reaffirms the prospective application of pension scheme amendments.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    Union Of India And Others v. Dr. Vijayapurapu Subbayamma .

    V.N Khare, J.— The respondent herein, was appointed as a Lady Medical Officer in the Family Welfare Centre, Vishakhapatnam under the control of Commanding-in-Chief, Eastern Naval Command, Vishakhapatnam on 22-9-1968. Subsequently, she was made quasi-permanent with effect from 31-3-1972 by an order dated 15-10-1974. On 13-11-1980, the respondent retired from service on attaining the age of superannuation. On retirement, the respondent was given the terminal and other benefits under Central Civil Services (Temporary) Services Rules, 1965. The respondent was also given insurance money along with other benefits, as admissible to her. At the time when the respondent retired she had not completed the requisite qualified service of twenty years for entitlement to pension. She was informed that as she had not put in required number of length of service, she is not entitled any pension. Subsequently, the Fourth Pay Commission made recommendation that for entitlement to pro rata pension, the length of service be reduced from twenty years to ten years. The said recommendation was accepted by the Government of India and came into force with effect from 1-1-1986. The respondent, after the Pay Commission's Report came into force, made a representation that since the length of service for entitlement to pension has been reduced from twenty years to ten years as per the recommendations of the Fourth Pay Commission and as she had put in only twelve years, two months and nine days' length of service, she is entitled to pro rata pension with effect from 1-1-1986. The representation of the respondent was considered and it was found that when the respondent retired, the requirement for entitlement to pension was that the retiree must have put in twenty years of service and since she retired prior to 1-1-1986, she was not entitled to pension. Under such circumstances, the respondent in the year 1996 filed on OA before the Central Administrative Tribunal, Hyderabad (hereinafter referred to as “the Tribunal”), for direction to the appellants herein, to grant pro rata pension in view of the recommendations of the Fourth Pay Commission with effect from 1-1-1986.

    2. The Tribunal relying on a decision of this Court in M.C Dhingra v. Union of India (1996) 7 SCC 564, (1996) 33 ATC 338 held that even though the respondent retired much prior to 1-1-1986, the payment of pro rata pension cannot be denied to her with effect from 1-1-1986. According to the Tribunal, such a denial would be arbitrary and violation of Article 14 of the Constitution. The Tribunal further relying upon another decision in T.S Thiruvengadam v. Secy. to Govt. of India (1993) 2 SCC 174, (1993) 24 ATC 102 held that any benefit conferred by the Government is not prospective, but will have a retrospective effect and such benefit will be available to even those who have retired prior to 1-1-1986 and in that view of the matter the Tribunal allowed the OA filed by the respondent with a direction to the appellants herein to grant pro rata pension with effect from one year prior to filing of the OA. It is against the aforesaid judgment of the Tribunal the appellants are in appeal before us.

    3. Learned counsel for the appellant urged that in the year 1980 when the respondent retired from service she was not eligible for grant of liberalised pension in view of the fact that she had not put in 20 years of service. The grant of pro rata pension on completing ten years of qualified service for pension was introduced for the first time by the recommendation of the Fourth Pay Commission with effect from 1-1-1986 and, therefore, the said recommendation cannot be made applicable with retrospective effect. Learned counsel pointed out that the present case stands covered by the decision of this Court in the case of V. Kasturi v. Managing Director, State Bank of India (1998) 8 SCC 30. Learned counsel also pointed out that decisions relied upon by the Tribunal in allowing the OA filed by the respondent were distinguished in V. Kasturi case (1998) 8 SCC 30. Learned counsel also referred to decisions of this Court in Commander Head Quarter v. Capt. Biplabendra Chanda (1997) 1 SCC 208 Union of India v. Lieut. E. Iacats (1997) 7 SCC 334 and T.N Electricity Board v. R. Veerasamy (1999) 3 SCC 414 in support of his argument.

    4. In the case of V. Kasturi (1998) 8 SCC 30 the appellant joined State Bank of India as an officer. After completing twenty years, but without completing twenty-five years of pensionable service, he resigned on 31-7-1984 which was treated as voluntary retirement and, therefore, he was not given any pension as he had not put in twenty-five years of service. With effect from 20-9-1986, Rule 22(1)(c) was substituted by a new Rule 21(1)(c) which provided pension to an employee retiring on completion of twenty years of service. The appellant in the said case, therefore, contended that he was entitled to pension under the new Rule and the denial of pension to him was violative of Article 14 of the Constitution. This Court held as under: (SCC Headnote)

    “However, if an employee at the time of his retirement is not eligible for earning pension and stands outside the class of pensioners, and subsequently by amendment of the relevant pension rules any beneficial umbrella of pension scheme is extended to cover a new class of pensioners and by then the erstwhile non-pensioner might have survived, then only if such extension of pension scheme to erstwhile non-pensioners is expressly made retrospective by the authorities promulgating such scheme; the erstwhile non-pensioner who has retired prior to the advent of such extended pension scheme can claim benefit of such a new extended pension scheme. If such new scheme is prospective only, old retirees non-pensioners cannot get the benefit of such a scheme even if they survive such new scheme. They will remain outside its sweep.”

    5. This Court in Commander, Head Quarter v. Capt. Biplabendra Chanda (1997) 1 SCC 208 held as under: (SCC Headnote)

    “The new and revised Rules which came into force with effect from 1-1-1986 were not given retrospective effect. The respondent cannot be made retrospectively eligible for pension by virtue of these Rules in such a case. This is not a case where a discrimination is being made among pensioners who were similarly situated. Accepting the respondent's contention would have very curious consequences; even a person who had retired long earlier would equally become eligible for pension on the basis of the 1986 Rules. This cannot be.”

    6. This Court in Union of India v. Lieut. E. Iacats (1997) 7 SCC 334 held as under: (SCC Headnote)

    “The terms and conditions of service were known to the respondent at the time she joined the service. She at that time had signed an agreement to abide by the rules and regulations governing Military Nursing Service (Local) from time to time. She cannot claim the benefit of a liberalised pensionary scheme which came into operation from a date subsequent to the date of her retirement.”

    7. The conspectus of legal position that emerges from the aforesaid decisions are these:

    (a) Where an employee under the terms and conditions of service or under the relevant Rules relating to pension is not eligible to earn pension on his or her retirement, any amendment to the Rules covering a new class of pensioner would not confer pensionary benefits to the employee who has retired prior to the coming into force of such amendment of Rules.
    (b) However, the position would be different if such an amendment in the relevant pension Rules is with retrospective effect as to cover a new class of employee including those employees who, at the relevant time, were not entitled to earn pension under the then existing rules or conditions of service.
    (c) Where an employee at the time of retirement is entitled to pension under the relevant Rules, any subsequent amendment to the relevant Rules enhancing pension or conferring additional benefit would be also applicable to him.

    8. Applying the aforesaid principles what we find in the present case is that the respondent retired on 13-1-1980 and under the then relevant Rules, an employee who has put in less than twenty years of qualifying service was not eligible to earn pension. At that point of time the respondent had put in only twelve years of qualifying service and, therefore, was not entitled to earn the pension on her retirement. The recommendations of the Fourth Pay Commission were enforced with effect from 1-1-1986 whereby the requirement of qualifying service to earn pension was reduced to ten years from twenty years. By the said recommendations a new class of pensioners was created. But the said recommendations of the Pay Commission were not enforced with effect from 13-11-1980 — the date when the respondent retired — but with effect from 1-1-1986. Thus, the recommendations of the Fourth Pay Commission not being with retrospective effect, the respondent was not entitled to receive pension under the said recommendations which came into effect from 1-1-1986.

    9. Learned counsel for the respondent strongly relied upon the decision of T.S Thiruvengadam v. Secy. to Govt. of India (1993) 2 SCC 174, (1993) 24 ATC 102 and M.C Dhingra v. Union of India (1996) 7 SCC 564, (1996) 33 ATC 338 for the contention that once qualifying service to earn pension was reduced from twenty years to ten years the respondent became eligible to receive liberalised pension. In the case of Thiruvengadam (1993) 2 SCC 174, (1993) 24 ATC 102 the employee concerned who has already having pensionary benefits in the service of the Central Government, was subsequently appointed in a public sector undertaking. After the employee concerned was absorbed in the public sector undertaking the Government issued a memorandum conferring pensionary benefits to the employees of the public sector undertaking. The question arose whether the pensionary benefits were also available to those who had already been absorbed in the service of the public sector undertaking prior to coming into force of the memorandum. This Court, in view of the facts and circumstances of that case held as under: (SCC Headnote)

    “The object of bringing into existence the revised terms and conditions in the memorandum dated June 16, 1967 was to protect the pensionary benefits which the Central Government servants had earned before their absorption into the public undertakings. Restricting the applicability of the revised memorandum only to those who are absorbed after the coming into force of the said memorandum, would be defeating the very object and purpose of the revised memorandum and contrary to fair play and justice.”

    10. In M.C Dhingra v. Union of India (1996) 7 SCC 564, (1996) 33 ATC 338 the employee concerned who was in the State service joined the service of the Central Government. The question arose as to whether the past service rendered in the State service by the employee could be taken into consideration for computing the quantum of pension payable to him. It was held that since the employee concerned was already a pensioner and, therefore, any additional benefit for computation of pension on the basis of subsequent circular was available to him. The decisions in the cases of T.S Thiruvengadam (1993) 2 SCC 174, (1993) 24 ATC 102 and M.C Dhingra (1996) 7 SCC 564, (1996) 33 ATC 338 are distinguishable and are not applicable to the facts of this case. The decisions in M.C Dhingra case (1996) 7 SCC 564, (1996) 33 ATC 338 as well as in T.S Thiruvengadam case (1993) 2 SCC 174, (1993) 24 ATC 102 were also considered in V. Kasturi case (1998) 8 SCC 30 and were distinguished. We accordingly hold that the respondent was not eligible to earn liberalised pension in pursuance of the recommendations of the Fourth Pay Commission.

    11. For the aforesaid reasons, the appeal deserves to succeed. Consequently, the judgment of the Tribunal under appeal is set aside and the appeal is allowed. There shall be no order as to costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Union Of India And Others v. Dr. Vijayapurapu Subbayamma .
    (Sep 22, 2000)