AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2000 INSC 93
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Advocates
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Neutral Citations
2000 INSC 93
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Advocates
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The appellant, a manufacturer of high-tension insulators, obtained an “all-risk” insurance policy for ₹50 lakhs covering storage, erection, trial, and testing of a 25 m3 kiln. After the kiln was loaded with insulators on 12-07-1988 for trial and testing, its structure collapsed, damaging kiln furniture and insulators. The appellant lodged a claim for ₹5,73,397.43; the respondent insurer’s surveyor assessed the loss at ₹4,66,873.

When the claim was not settled, the appellant filed a complaint before the Rajasthan State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, which directed the insurer to pay ₹4,66,873 with 18% interest. The respondent appealed to the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (“National Commission”), which set aside the State Commission’s order on 08-01-1997, holding that the appellant had violated an exclusion clause by using second-hand kiln furniture. The present appeal challenges the National Commission’s order.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the exclusion clause relating to second-hand or used property—purporting to end coverage at the commencement of testing—formed part of the insurance contract when the clause had not been communicated to the insured.
  2. Whether the National Commission erred in allowing the insurer to raise, for the first time on appeal, the new ground that the insured violated policy terms by using used kiln furniture.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant’s Arguments

  • Only the cover note and schedule were supplied; the exclusion clause was never communicated and therefore was not part of the contract.
  • The insurer’s original defence before the State Commission was limited to alleging that the damaged property was not covered; it could not raise new factual grounds on appeal.

Respondent’s Arguments

  • The damaged property was initially claimed to be outside the policy’s scope.
  • On appeal, the insurer contended that the appellant violated policy terms by employing used kiln furniture, invoking the exclusion clause.

Table of Precedents Cited

No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court reiterated the insurance law principle of utmost good faith, which obliges both insurer and insured to disclose all material facts. Because the exclusion clause was not furnished to the appellant, it never became part of the contractual terms; the insurer therefore could not rely on it to deny liability.

The Court further held that an appellate body cannot entertain new factual grounds that were not pleaded before the original forum. The insurer’s shift from claiming non-coverage to alleging breach through use of second-hand furniture was impermissible. The National Commission’s acceptance of this new ground was consequently unsustainable.

Holding and Implications

APPEAL ALLOWED; National Commission’s order set aside; State Commission’s order restored.

Immediate Effect: The respondent insurer must pay the assessed loss of ₹4,66,873 with the interest ordered by the State Commission. Each party will bear its own costs. No broader legal precedent was established beyond reaffirming duties of disclosure and limits on introducing new grounds in appellate proceedings.

To access the original judgment, please Sign In or Subscribe.

    Modern Insulators Ltd. v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. .

    S.N Phukan, J.— This appeal is directed against the order dated 8-1-1997 passed by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission whereby the Commission set aside the order passed by the State Commission of Rajasthan in the appeal filed by the respondent.

    2. The appellant has a factory wherein it manufactures high-tension insulators for transmission lines. The appellant had taken out an insurance policy known as “all-risk insurance policy” for Rs 50 lakhs for installation of 25 M3 kiln with furniture. The policy covered risks against loss during storage-cum-erection including trial and testing. After completion of the erection of 25 M3 kiln, the same was loaded with insulators on 12-7-1988 for trial and testing and when it was opened on 16-7-1988 it was found that the complete structure of kiln furniture with insulators had collapsed on kiln car and various items of kiln furniture were damaged. A claim of Rs 5,73,397.43 was lodged with the respondent and the surveyors assessed the damage at Rs 4,66,873. As the claim was not settled a complaint was filed before the State Commission alleging negligence on the part of the respondent and claiming the amount assessed by the surveyor with interest.

    3. The respondent Insurance Company in the reply to the complaint filed before the State Commission pleaded that damaged property was not covered by the insurance policy. The State Commission after considering the materials on record rejected the plea of the respondent and directed the respondent to indemnify the loss by making payment of Rs 4,66,873 with interest @ 18% per annum.

    4. An appeal was filed before the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission and in the grounds of appeal it was stated that the appellant violated the terms and conditions of the policy by using used kiln furniture. This was denied by the appellant.

    5. The appellant also urged before the National Commission that only the cover note and the schedule of the insurance policy were supplied and other terms and conditions including the exclusion clause were not communicated. According to the appellant the above document supplied did not contain the exclusion clause. The said exclusion clause runs as follows:

    “In the case of second-hand/used property the insurance hereunder shall, however, cease immediately on the commencement of the test.”

    6. The National Commission asked the parties to file affidavit to prove that the exclusion clause was duly communicated to the appellant. We have been taken through the affidavits filed and we find in the affidavit of the appellant the letter received by the appellant from the Branch Manager of the respondent was referred to wherein it was confirmed that the appellant was supplied only with a cover note and the schedule of the policy. So the other terms and conditions containing the above exclusion clause were not communicated. In the reply affidavit filed by the respondent it was not specifically mentioned that the exclusion clause was also communicated to the appellant.

    7. The National Commission was of the view that “it is equally the responsibility of the respondent to call for these terms and conditions even if they were not sent by the appellant as alleged, to understand the extent of risks covered under the policy and the associated aspects”.

    8. It is the fundamental principle of insurance law that utmost good faith must be observed by the contracting parties and good faith forbids either party from non-disclosure of the facts which the parties know. The insured has a duty to disclose and similarly it is the duty of the insurance company and its agents to disclose all material facts in their knowledge since the obligation of good faith applies to both equally.

    9. In view of the above settled position of law we are of the opinion that the view expressed by the National Commission is not correct. As the above terms and conditions of the standard policy wherein the exclusion clause was included, were neither a part of the contract of insurance nor disclosed to the appellant, the respondent cannot claim the benefit of the said exclusion clause. Therefore, the finding of the National Commission is untenable in law.

    10. We may refer to the next ground on which the appeal has to be allowed. It is a settled position of law that in an appeal the parties cannot urge new facts. From the pleadings of the respondent before the State Commission it is found that the respondent pleaded that the property damaged was not covered under the insurance policy. This plea was given a go-by before the National Commission and a new plea was taken up in the grounds of appeal that the terms and conditions of the insurance policy were violated by the appellant by using used kiln furniture. The National Commission accepted this new ground and allowed the appeal, which in our opinion is not sustainable in law.

    11. For the reasons stated above we hold that the present appeal has merits.

    12. In the result, the appeal is allowed. The judgment of the National Commission is set aside and the judgment of the State Commission is restored.

    13. Considering the facts and circumstances of the case we direct the parties to bear their own costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Modern Insulators Ltd. v. Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. .
    (Feb 22, 2000)