Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

This appeal arises from W.C.C No. 64 of 1989 before the Court of Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation (Deputy Labour Commissioner), Kottayam. The applicant, a driver, sustained injuries in an accident on 12 June 1986 during the course of employment, resulting in a crush injury and fracture of both bones of his right forearm. A medical certificate assessed his permanent disability at 21.5%. The applicant contended that this injury caused 100% disability in performing his work as a driver. The Commissioner had not granted compensation on this basis and had limited the payment of interest on compensation to the period after the order was received. The appeal challenges these findings.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the Commissioner erred in not granting compensation assessing the appellant's disability at 100% despite the medical certificate indicating 21.5% permanent disability.
  2. Whether the appellant was entitled to interest at the rate of 6% per annum from the date of the accident until realisation of compensation, rather than from the date of the order.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The appellant contended that his disability should be assessed at 100% given the nature of his employment as a driver, despite the medical certificate indicating 21.5% permanent disability.
  • The appellant argued that interest on compensation should be paid at 6% per annum starting from the date of the accident, not from the date of the compensation order.

Respondent's Arguments

The opinion does not contain a detailed account of the respondent's legal arguments.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Oriental Insurance Company, Ltd. v. Abdul Nazar [I.L.R 1997 (1) Ker. 496] Compensation becomes due on the date of the accident; employer liable to pay interest if compensation is delayed beyond one month. Established that the right to interest on compensation runs from the date of the accident, not from the date of the compensation order.
United India Insurance Company, Ltd. v. Alavi [1998 (3) L.L.N 285] Right to receive compensation crystallizes at the moment of personal injury; retrospective effect of amendment on payment of interest. Confirmed that the right to compensation and interest arises from the date of injury, supporting the appellant's entitlement to interest from the accident date.
Kerala State Electricity Board v. K. Valsala [1999 (4) L.L.N 1183] While computing compensation under Workmen's Compensation Act, the date of accident is relevant. Supreme Court affirmed the principle that the date of accident determines the commencement of compensation and interest liability.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court rejected the appellant's claim of 100% disability, relying on the fact that the appellant’s driving license was renewed after the accident, indicating an ability to perform driving duties. Consequently, the medical certificate's assessment of 21.5% permanent disability was accepted. Regarding interest on compensation, the Court analyzed the statutory provision Section 4-A(3) as it stood before the 1995 amendment and relevant case law. It held that compensation becomes due on the date of the accident, and any delay beyond one month entitles the workman to interest from that date. The Court found the Commissioner's order limiting interest payment from the date of receipt of the compensation order to be erroneous. The Court thus modified the order to direct payment of interest at 6% per annum from 12 June 1986, the date of the accident.

Holding and Implications

The appeal stands partly allowed.

The Court upheld the medical assessment of 21.5% disability and rejected the claim for 100% disability. However, it allowed the appellant’s claim for interest on compensation from the date of the accident at the rate of 6% per annum. The decision corrects the Commissioner's error regarding the computation of interest, ensuring the workman receives interest from the date compensation became due. No new precedent was established beyond affirming existing legal principles as applied to the facts.

    Gopinath v. United India Insurance Company, Ltd.

    Usha, J.:— This is an appeal at the instance of the applicant in W.C.C No. 64 of 1989 before the Court of Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation (Deputy Labour Commissioner), Kottayam. Two points are mainly raised in this appeal. Firstly, it is contended that the Commissioner has committed an error in not granting compensation assessing appellant's disability at 100 per cent. Secondly, according to the appellant, the Commissioner should have directed payment of interest at the rate of 6 per cent from the date of the accident till realisation.

    2. The applicant was a driver. On 12 June, 1986, during the course of his employment, he met with an accident and sustained a crush injury on his right forearm and fracture of both bones of his right forearm. Exhibit A1 medical certificate issued by a medical officer was to the effect that the applicant had suffered 21.5 per cent permanent disability. According to the appellant, in the nature of his employment, namely, as a driver, the above mentioned disability will cause cent per cent disability to do the work.

    3. We find no merit in the above contention, in view of the fact that appellant's driving licene had been renewed after the accident up to 4 August, 1988. A person who has thus got his driving license renewed after the accident cannot contend that he is totally disabled to do the work of a driver.

    4. But, we find merit in the second contention raised by the appellant. Relevant provision regarding payment of interest as it stood before the amendment in the year 1995 was as follows:

    “Section 4-A(3). Where any employer is in default in paying the compensation due under this Act within one month from the date it fell due, the Commissioner may direct that in addition to the amount of arrears, simple interest at the rate of six per cent per annum on the amount due together with, if in the opinion of the Commissioner there is no justification for the delay, a further sum not exceeding fifty per cent of such amount, shall be recovered from the employer by way of penalty.” A Bench of this Court had occasion to consider the scope of the above provision in Oriental Insurance Company, Ltd. v. Abdul Nazar [I.L.R 1997 (1) Ker. 496]. This Court took the view that compensation becomes due on the date of the accident itself. One month's time is granted to the employer to satisfy the claim of the workman. Any delay in making payment beyond the time granted by the statute would make the employer liable to compensate the employee by paying interest. It is, therefore, the right of the workman to get interest on the amount of compensation for the period in which it was not made available to him by the employer. Liability to pay interest will run from the date on which the right to receive compensation accrued in favour of the workman, namely, the date of the accident and not when the orders are issued by Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation. A Full Bench of this Court in United India Insurance Company, Ltd. v. Alavi [1998 (3) L.L.N 285], while considering the retrospective effect of amendment brought under Act 80 of 1995, has taken the view that the right of the injured employee or his heirs to receive compensation gets crystallised the moment the personal injury takes place. This view has been subsequently affirmed by the Supreme Court in Kerala State Electricity Board v. K. Valsala [1999 (4) L.L.N 1183]. The Apex Court has held that while computing amount of compensation under Workmen s Compensation, it is the date of the accident which is relevant. Thus, it is clear that under Sub-sec. (3) reference to “the date it fell due” is to the date of the accident and not the date of the order of Workmen's Compensation Commissioner under which employer is found liable and his liability is quantified. Therefore, the direction given by the Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation to pay interest at the rate of 6 per cent only on default of depositing the amount within thirty days from the date of receipt of the order, is erroneous. The appellant is entitled to interest at the rate of 6 per cent from the date of the accident namely, 12 June, 1986. We modify the order of me Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation as above.

    The appeal stands partly allowed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Gopinath v. United India Insurance Company, Ltd.
    (Feb 15, 2000)