Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Smart Summary

Structured Summary of the Opinion (Appeal against Claims Tribunal award dated 17-7-1979)

Factual and Procedural Background

This appeal was instituted by the claimants against the judgment and award dated 17-7-1979 passed by the Claims Tribunal, Karwar, in MVC No. 45/77, which had awarded compensation of Rs. 29,970 to the claimants.

The deceased was 48 years old at the time of his death and employed as an Assistant Engineer with a monthly salary of Rs. 1,120. The claimants asserted that, in the normal course, he would have been promoted to Executive Engineer in about three years and would then have drawn Rs. 1,500 per month (with allowances). On these averments the claimants sought compensation of Rs. 2,21,400.

Respondent-1 was the State (owner of the vehicle) and Respondent-2 was the driver. The respondents contested liability, stating the accident was not the result of rash and negligent driving; alternatively, they contended that the claim was exorbitant.

At the Tribunal hearing, the claimants examined PWs 1 to 4 and produced Exts. P-1 to P-15. The respondents examined two witnesses and produced Exts. R-1 and an unclear reference recorded in the record as "R-???". The Tribunal found that the accident resulted from rash and negligent driving and awarded Rs. 29,970. The claimants appealed to this Court challenging the adequacy of the award.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the compensation awarded by the Claims Tribunal (Rs. 29,970) was just and proper.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellants' Arguments

  • The global compensation awarded by the Tribunal (Rs. 29,970) was very low and inadequate.
  • The deceased was 48 years old, earning Rs. 1,120 per month as an Assistant Engineer, with a reasonable prospect of promotion to Executive Engineer in about three years earning Rs. 1,500 per month; longevity in the family supported a higher claim. Based on those facts the claimants claimed Rs. 2,21,400.

Respondents' Arguments

  • The owner (State) and driver denied that the accident was caused by rash and negligent driving.
  • Alternatively, the respondents contended that the claim made by the claimants was exorbitant.

Table of Precedents Cited

No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court framed the sole question as to whether the compensation awarded was just and proper. In addressing that question the Court examined the Tribunal's approach to assessing loss of dependency and other heads of damage and then recalculated the components of compensation on the basis of the material on record.

Key elements of the Court's analytical process (as stated in the opinion) are:

  • The Tribunal had allowed loss of dependency at Rs. 738 per month; the Court rounded that figure to Rs. 740 per month in its recalculation, noting that the Tribunal had taken into account the prospect of promotion (to Executive Engineer earning Rs. 1,500 p.m. within three years).
  • The Court calculated loss of dependency for the remaining seven years of service at Rs. 740 per month, producing a total of Rs. 62,160 (740 × 84 months = 62,160 as stated in the opinion).
  • From that amount the Court deducted the pension that the Government had granted to the family (Rs. 320 per month). Over seven years the pension totalled Rs. 26,880, which the Court treated as an amount to be set off against dependency loss. Subtracting Rs. 26,880 from Rs. 62,160 yielded a balance of Rs. 35,280 (figures given in the opinion).
  • The Court referred to a lump-sum calculation (noted in the opinion as "we have calculated Rs. 62,150 as lump sum grant") and, on account of that calculation and for uncertainty of life, the Court deemed it proper to deduct Rs. 6,280 from the lump-sum grant. (The opinion records these figures as stated; the Court used this deduction in its final reckoning.)
  • The Court then added specified heads of damages: Rs. 5,000 for loss to the estate, Rs. 4,000 for loss of consortium to the widow, Rs. 1,000 for incidental and medical expenses, and Rs. 1,000 for pain and suffering given the deceased's five days' hospitalization at Karwar and Manipal prior to death.
  • Combining these components, the Court arrived at a global compensation figure of Rs. 43,000, upgrading the Tribunal's award of Rs. 29,970 to Rs. 43,000 (the Court states this arithmetic and conclusion explicitly).
  • The Court further stated the legal position (as applied in this case) that amounts such as gratuity and provident fund should not be deducted from compensation because they are legitimate earnings of the deceased and are not the result of death. Similarly, the Court held that Rs. 10,000 awarded from a Welfare Fund (being the result of premium paid by the deceased during his lifetime) could not be deducted.
  • On distribution and protection of minors' shares, the Court set out directions for payment to the widow and the children, interest, deposit in a Nationalised Bank for minors with the mother as guardian, and permitted the mother to receive and spend interest on the sums deposited for the welfare of the minors. The Court also acknowledged amounts already paid by the respondents and ordered appropriate deductions and deposits to reflect the enhancement.

The summary above follows the Court's own stated calculations and statements as recorded in the opinion. Where the opinion records an unclear exhibit reference ("R-???"), that uncertainty is reflected here without correction or inference.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The appeal was partly allowed and the compensation awarded by the Claims Tribunal was enhanced. The Court held that the claimants are entitled to a total global compensation of Rs. 43,000 instead of the Rs. 29,970 previously awarded by the Tribunal.

Direct consequences and specific directions ordered by the Court (as stated in the opinion):

  • Respondents 1 and 2 (owner and driver) were directed to pay Rs. 13,000 to the widow (mother) along with interest at 6% per annum from the date of the petition until payment, together with costs of this proceeding throughout (as recorded in the opinion).
  • The respondents were to deposit Rs. 6,000 (each) together with interest at 6% per annum from the date of the petition until payment before the Tribunal in the name of each of the children (claimants 2 to 6). Amounts already paid were to be deducted.
  • The Tribunal had previously awarded Rs. 3,690 in favour of claimant-4 and Rs. 5,160 in favour of claimant-6 and had directed deposit in a Nationalised Bank. Having enhanced compensation to Rs. 6,000 each for those children, the Tribunal was directed to deposit the difference (with interest) in a Nationalised Bank in the names of the children with their mother as guardian until they attain majority. If amounts were not already deposited, the entire amount was to be deposited now with interest in the children's names with the mother as guardian. The mother was permitted to receive interest accruing on the deposits and to spend interest for the welfare of the minors.
  • The amounts already paid by respondents were to be deducted from the sums now directed to be paid or deposited.
  • The opinion also explicitly states that gratuity, provident fund and similar amounts, and the Rs. 10,000 from the Welfare Fund, are not to be deducted from the compensation because they are not a result of death but legitimate earnings or contributions of the deceased.
  • Finally, the opinion contains the statement: "Respondents shall bear their own costs." (This is recorded verbatim from the opinion.)

Implications beyond the parties: The opinion does not set out or announce a new binding precedent; it contains the Court's application of established compensatory principles (prospects of promotion, deduction of pension, non-deduction of gratuity/PF/Welfare Fund, allowance for various heads of damage and protection of minors' shares) to the facts of this case. The direct and operative effect is the enhancement of compensation and the specified distribution and deposit directions for the benefit of the widow and children.

This summary is strictly based on the information contained in the provided opinion and does not add or infer facts beyond that text.

    Bhagyamma D. & Ors. v. State Of Karnataka & Another

    1. This appeal by the claimants is directed against the judgment and award dt. 17-7-1979 passed by the Claims Tribunal, Karwar, in MVC No. 45/77 on its file awarding compensation of Rs. 29,970 to the claimants.

    2. The learned Counsel for the appellants contended before us that the global compensation so awarded was very much on the lower side. The sole point, therefore, that arises for our consideration in this appeal is: Whether the compensation awarded is just and proper?

    3. It is not in dispute that the deceased was aged 48 years at the time of his death and was drawing Rs. 1,120 as monthly salary he being an Assistant Engineer. It is further on record that in the normal course he should have been promoted as an Executive Engineer in about 3 year in which case his salary would have increased and he would have drawn Rs. 1500 as monthly salary in addition to the allowances. The claimants further averred that there was longevity in their family and therefore the deceased would have lived at last upto the age of 65 year. On these averments they claimed compensation of Rs. 2,21,400 from the respondents.

    4. Respondent-1 is the State the owner of the vehicle respondent-2 is the driver. They contested, the petitioner According to them, the accident was not the result of rash and negligent driving of the vehicle. Alternatively, they contended that the claim was exorbitant.

    5. During hearing the claimants examined P.Ws 1 to 4 and got marked Exts. P-1 to 15. As against that the respondents examined 2 witnesses and go to mark Exts. R-1 and R-???

    6. The Tribunal appreciating the evidence on record, held that the accidents was the result of rash and negligent driving of the vehicle in question. In that view the Tribunal awarded compensation as stated above.

    7. Aggrieved by the said judgment and award, the claimants have instituted the above appeal before this Court.

    8. The Tribunal has taken into consideration the loss of dependency per month at Rs. 738 while fixing this amount the Tribunal has kept in mind that the deceased would have become Executive Engineer and would have drawn a drawn a salary of Rs. 1500 p.m within three year. Thus it is clear that the Tribunal has taken into consideration the prospects of betterment of the deceased if he were alive Instead of Rs. 738, however we take the loss of dependency at the round figure of Rs. 740.

    9. The deceased was 48 years at the time of the accident and he had 7 years of service. During the seven years the loss of dependency at the rate of Rs. 740 p.m would be Rs. 62,160. In that period however the Government has compensated to the family by granting pension at Rs. 320 p.m and that amount of pension has to be deducted from the loss of dependency. That amounts to Rs. 26,880. Deducting the same from Rs. 62,160 we get the balance of Rs. 35,280. Since we have calculated Rs. 62,150 as lump sum grant, on that account and for uncertainty of life, we deem it just and proper to deduct Rs. 6,280 out of this lump sum grant. We add Rs. 5,000 towards loss to the estate of the deceased and Rs. 4,000 towards loss of consortium to the widow Rs. 1,000 towards incidental and medical expenses and Rs. 1,000 for pain and suffering as the deceased was in the hospital for five days for treatment both at Karwar and Manipal before he died. Together, therefore, the global compensation to which the claimants are entitled would be Rs. 43,000 instead of Rs. 29,970 awarded by the Tribunal.

    10. It may be noted in this context that this Court has ruled that the amount of gratuity and Provident Fond etc. should not be deducted as they are not the result of death but the legitimate earnings of the deceased. Similarly, Rs. 10,000 awarded from the Welfare Fund is the result of the premium paid by the deceased during his life time. That also cannot be deducted.

    11. The claimants are the widow and children of the deceased. There are five children. We direct the respondents, that Rs. 13,000 shall be paid over to the mother and Rs. 6,000 to every child along with interest. In the result, the appeal is partly allowed. The compensation is enhanced from Rs. 29,970 to Rs. 43,000. Out of this amount respondents 1 and 2 the owner and driver of the vehicle in question shall pay Rs. 13,000 to the widow of the deceased along with interest at 6% per annum from the date of the petition till payment along with costs of this proceeding throughout. They shall further deposit Rs. 6,000 alongs with of interest at 6% per annum ??? the date of petition till payment before the Tribunal in the name of each of the claimants 2 to 6. The amounts already paid shall be given deduction. The Tribunal has awarded Rs. 3,690 in favour of claimant-4 and Rs. 5,160 in favour of claimant-6 and it had further directed that they shall deposit the same in a Nationalised Bank. We have now enhanced the compensation in their favour at Rs. 6,000 each. The Tribunal therefore shall deposit the difference of amount awarded to them along with interest in a Nationalised Bank in the names of the children with their mother as guardian till such time as they attain the age of majority. It the amounts are not earlier deposited in their names in a Nationalised Bank, the entire amount awarded shall be deposited now with interest by the Tribunal in their names with their mother as guardian. The mother would be at liberty to receive interest accruing on the said deposit from time to time and spend the same for the welfare of the minors.

    12. Respondents shall bear their own costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Bhagyamma D. & Ors. v. State Of Karnataka & Another
    (Jun 17, 1983)