Factual and Procedural Background
The reference arises from the Income-tax Appellate Tribunal (Delhi Bench A) under Section 66(1) of the Indian Income-tax Act, 1922, concerning the assessment of the respondent (assessee) for the assessment years 1959-60, 1960-61, and 1961-62 with respect to income under the head salary. The assessee, Lala Shri Dhar, was a director of Madan Mohan Lal Sri Ram and Company (P) Ltd. (the employer company). The employer company decided by board resolution to purchase a personal accident insurance policy for the assessee and another director. The policy was taken with London & Lancashire Insurance Company Ltd., with the premium paid by the employer company for each year.
The Income-tax Officer included the premium amount of Rs. 1597/- paid by the employer as a “perquisite” in the hands of the assessee. The assessee objected, arguing that the policy was a general insurance policy and the premium paid by the employer should not be treated as a perquisite. The Appellate Assistant Commissioner agreed with the assessee and deleted the addition. The Revenue appealed to the Income-tax Appellate Tribunal, which dismissed the appeal. The Commissioner of Income-tax then referred the question of law to the Court regarding whether the premiums paid by the employer were perquisites within the meaning of Section 7(1) of the Act.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether the premiums of Rs. 1597/- paid by Madan Mohanlal Sriram and Company (P) Ltd. in the three years under reference were perquisites within the meaning of the term “perquisite” as used in Section 7(1) of the Indian Income-tax Act, 1922.
Arguments of the Parties
Revenue's Arguments
- The payment of the premium was covered by clause (v) of Explanation 1 of Section 7(1) and thus should be treated as a perquisite.
- Besides clause (v), clauses (iii), (iv), and (ii) of Explanation 1 of Section 7(1) were also argued to apply.
- Reliance on the judgment in Controller of Estate Duty v. A.T Sahani to support the contention that the assessee had an interest in the insurance policy.
- Clause (iv) was argued to apply since the premium payment was an obligation which but for the employer’s payment would have been payable by the assessee.
- Clause (ii) was invoked on the basis that the assessee was a director and the benefit was provided by the company.
Assessee's Arguments
- The insurance policy was a general insurance policy, not life insurance, and the premium paid by the employer cannot be treated as a perquisite.
- Reference to a letter from Messrs Jardine Henderson Ltd. to the Commissioner of Income-tax, West Bengal, which acknowledged similar policies as general insurance policies and not perquisites.
- The payment of premium was not an obligation on the assessee personally and the policy was taken by the employer company for its own protection.
- No vested right or obligation existed on the part of the assessee to pay the premium.
- The benefit clauses (ii) and (iii) did not apply as the assessee did not have a substantial interest in the company as defined and the payment was not a benefit granted free of cost.
Table of Precedents Cited
| Precedent |
Rule or Principle Cited For |
Application by the Court |
| Controller of Estate Duty v. A.T Sahani, New Delhi (78 I.T.R 508) |
Consideration of rights in compensation under Estate Duty Act, 1953, and existence of vested interest in property rights arising from service conditions. |
Court found that the case related to estate duty and vested rights in compensation payable on death, not to the question of perquisites under Income-tax Act; thus it was not authority for treating insurance premiums as perquisites. |
| P. Newcome v. Commissioner of Income-tax, Kerala (45 I.T.R 52) |
Interpretation of clause (v) of Explanation 1 of Section 7(1) regarding employer contributions as perquisites. |
Not directly applied as clause (v) was not pressed by Revenue; noted as not directly relevant to the present question. |
| English and Scottish Joint Co-operative Wholesale Society Ltd. cases (44 I.T.R 816 and 53 I.T.R 91) |
Determination of when employer contributions to insurance schemes become vested rights and perquisites under Section 7(1). |
Held employer's contributions were not perquisites until employee acquired vested rights; contingent payments without vested rights are not perquisites. Applied to reject claim that premium payments were perquisites here. |
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The Court analyzed the definition of “perquisite” under Section 7(1) and its Explanation clauses (ii), (iii), (iv), and (v). It found that clause (v) did not apply as conceded by the Revenue. Clause (iv) was inapplicable because the employer company took the insurance policy by board resolution and paid the premium; the assessee was not personally obliged to pay the premium, nor had he voluntarily taken the policy. The policy was maintained at the employer’s discretion, and the employer bore the obligation to keep it alive.
The Court further reasoned that under the law for employee compensation, the employer is responsible to provide funds for compensation in case of injury or death during employment. The insurance policy was a mechanism to protect the employer’s interest, not the employee’s. Hence, the payment of premium did not constitute a benefit or amenity granted to the assessee free of cost, making clause (iii) inapplicable.
Regarding clause (ii), the Court found no evidence that the assessee had a substantial interest in the company as defined under the Act, so this clause was irrelevant.
The Court rejected reliance on the Estate Duty case as it concerned a different statute and a different legal question about vested rights in compensation payable on death, not about perquisites under the Income-tax Act.
Precedents interpreting employer contributions to insurance schemes as contingent and not vested rights supported the conclusion that the premium payments were not perquisites.
Holding and Implications
The Court held that the premiums of Rs. 1597/- paid by the employer company in the three years under reference could not be treated as perquisites within the meaning of that term as used in Section 7(1) of the Indian Income-tax Act, 1922.
The direct effect of this decision is that the premium payments for the personal accident insurance policy made by the employer company are excluded from the assessee’s taxable income as perquisites. The Court did not set any new precedent beyond the facts of this case and made no order as to costs.
Show full summary ...