AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Acts
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Advocates
Judges
Acts
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The plaintiff (appellant) appealed from a decree of the Civil Judge, Meerut, which dismissed his suit with costs. The dispute arises from an insurance policy issued by the Crown Life Insurance Company (Toronto) through its Bombay branch. On 15 January 1951 Mukhtar Singh (deceased, the assured) applied for insurance for Rs. 35,000, describing his occupation as "landlord and mill owner, Weaving and Spinning Mills" and giving a Meerut residential address. An interim policy was issued 19 February 1951 and Policy No. 573768 dated 21 May 1951 was later issued; the appellant was named nominee/beneficiary.

Two quarterly premiums were paid (first on 12 February 1951; second by draft/money transfer on 19/21 May 1951). Mukhtar Singh died on the night between 19 and 20 August 1951. The appellant notified the Company of his claim on 15 September 1951. The Company requested further particulars and ultimately repudiated the claim on the ground that the assured had made false statements in his application regarding occupation, status, residential and business address. The appellant sued for recovery of Rs. 35,000; the trial court dismissed the suit. The appellant challenges, among other things, the trial court's findings that the application statements (as to occupation/status and address) were false and that the policy had been effected by the appellant for his own benefit (so that the appellant lacked insurable interest).

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the statements and declarations in the assured's proposal form (Ex. A-10) as to status, occupation and residential/business address were false and, if so, whether that vitiates the policy when those statements were made part of the contract (Clause 4).
  2. Whether the appellant had an insurable interest in the life of Mukhtar Singh or whether the policy was, in truth, effected and financed by the appellant for his own benefit (with consequences for the validity of the contract under Section 30 of the Contract Act).
  3. Whether the Life Insurance Corporation Act (XXXI of 1956) and the vesting of control business in the Life Insurance Corporation of India during the suit's pendency required impleading the Corporation or otherwise prevented a decree against the original Company (i.e., whether devolution of interest during pendency affected continuation of the suit under O. XXII, R.10 CPC and related statutory provisions).
  4. Whether Section 45 of the Insurance Act prevents the Company from calling in question statements in the proposal where death occurred within two years of effecting the policy.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The trial court was not justified in holding that the declarations made by Mukhtar Singh in the application (Ex. A-10) regarding status, occupation and residential/business address were false.
  • Implicitly, the appellant contested the Company's refusal to pay on the basis of those alleged false statements and maintained entitlement as nominee/beneficiary.
  • The appellant argued that Section 30 of the Contract Act did not, in terms, apply to insurance contracts and that reliance on the 1899 Bombay decision (ILR 23 Bom 191) grounded in English common law was inapplicable to India.

Respondent's (Company's) Arguments

  • The statements made by Mukhtar Singh in Parts I and II of the application were false and formed the basis of the contract; falsity merits repudiation of the policy.
  • The policy was not effected by Mukhtar Singh for his own use and benefit; it was effected and financed by the appellant for his own benefit and therefore the appellant lacked an insurable interest in the life of the deceased.
  • During the suit's pendency the Life Insurance Corporation Act vested insurer assets and liabilities in LIC; by operation of law the insurer's business stood transferred so that, under O. XXII, R.10 CPC, the life-insurance business devolved on LIC and the suit should have been continued against LIC (a procedural objection raised by respondent's counsel).
  • Section 30 of the Contract Act (against wagering agreements) applied to insurance contracts in cases lacking insurable interest; reliance was placed on Alamani v. Positive Govt. Security Life Assurance Co. Ltd. (1899) ILR 23 Bom 191.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent / Statute Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Saila Bala Dassi v. Nirmala Sundari Dassi, AIR 1958 SC 394 Interpretation that the expression "claiming under" is wide enough to include cases of devolution and assignment of interest mentioned in O. XXII, R.10 CPC. Relied upon to hold that assets and liabilities devolved on the Life Insurance Corporation of India became successors-in-interest of the Company; this supported overruling the respondent's objection about impleading LIC.
Life Insurance Corporation Act (XXXI of 1956), Section 7 and Sub-section (2) of Section 9 Vesting of assets and liabilities of insurers' control business in LIC; continuation of suits and appeals against LIC. Discussed as the statutory basis for the respondent's preliminary objection; the court applied Section 146 CPC and Saila Bala Dassi to reject the objection.
Section 146 of the Civil Procedure Code (CPC) Provides that proceedings that can be taken by a person may also be taken by any person claiming under him. Used with Saila Bala Dassi to justify continuing the suit against the successor-in-interest (LIC) and thus to overrule the respondent's devolution objection.
Section 45 of the Insurance Act Statutory provision that limits the ability to call in question statements in a proposal after two years (the court noted when it applies). The court held Section 45 was not applicable because the death occurred before expiry of two years; therefore the Company could call in question the statements in the proposal form.
Great Eastern Life Assurance Co. v. Sai Hira, AIR 1931 Bom 146 Falsity of statements in application that are made part of the contract vitiates the policy (forfeiture) if such falsity is established. Applied as authority supporting the proposition that false statements in the application, made part of the contract, will vitiate the policy.
Dawsons Ltd. v. Bonnin, (1922) 2 AC 413 English authority referenced on consequences of false statements in insurance proposals (supporting principle cited in Great Eastern and Halsbury). Cited alongside Great Eastern and Halsbury to support the legal principle that falsity of material statements can vitiate the policy.
Halsbury's Laws of England, Vol. 17, p. 551 Textual statement of the law regarding false statements/warranties in insurance applications and consequences. Referenced in support of the legal proposition that falsity in an application incorporated into the contract can void the policy.
Alamani v. Positive Govt. Security Life Assurance Co. Ltd., (1899) ILR 23 Bom 191 Held that Section 30 of the Contract Act (on wagering contracts) is applicable to insurance policies in certain situations (Bombay decision). Cited by respondent to argue that an insurance contract lacking insurable interest is a wagering contract and void under Section 30; the court engaged with the precedent but rejected the procedural objection based on vesting.
A.I.G Insurance Co. v. S.P. Maheshwari, AIR 1960 Mad 484 Statement that declarations in the application for policy amount to warranty and false averments may vitiate and render the contract unenforceable. Referred to by the court as authority that supports treating application declarations as warranties whose falsity can vitiate the contract.
Section 30 of the Indian Contract Act Addresses agreements by way of wager (voidness) — invoked to argue that a contract of insurance without insurable interest is a wagering contract. Discussed in submissions and considered by the court in relation to insurable interest; the court addressed the argument but upheld the trial court's factual findings on insurable interest and who financed/benefitted from the policy.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court proceeded in two phases: (A) disposal of the preliminary procedural objection relating to vesting under the Life Insurance Corporation Act and (B) merits analysis of falsity of statements and insurable interest.

A. Preliminary objection — vesting and continuation

  • The respondent argued that the Life Insurance Corporation Act (XXXI of 1956) vested the insurer's control business in LIC and that, by operation of O. XXII, R.10 CPC, the insurance business had been transferred so that the suit should have been continued against LIC; because LIC was not impleaded a decree could not be passed. The court rejected this objection.
  • The court relied on Section 146 CPC and the Supreme Court decision in Saila Bala Dassi v. Nirmala Sundari Dassi to hold that "claiming under" includes devolution/assignment situations under O. XXII, R.10. Since assets/liabilities devolved on LIC, the Corporation became successor-in-interest and the suit could be continued accordingly. Thus the procedural objection failed.

B. Merits — statements in the proposal and insurable interest

  • Clause 4 of the policy made the application and statements in it part of the contract. The court noted that Section 45 of the Insurance Act did not apply because death occurred within two years of effecting the policy; therefore the Company could call in question the statements in the proposal form.
  • The court reviewed the evidence the trial court relied on: admissions and testimony of Brahma Dutta (the appellant), documentary evidence (e.g., lease Ex. A-1), company enquiries and official letter Ex. A-4 from the District Supply Officer, and records showing handloom factories. The evidence indicated that Mukhtar Singh was an occupancy tenant of 1 bigha 3 biswas and not a zamindar, and that he did not own a spinning or weaving mill; the so-called factory was shown to be the appellant's property and in any event had passed out of his/family's possession by around 1950.
  • The appellant's explanations about payment of the second premium (Ex. A-2) and signing were disbelieved by the court; the court found unimpeachable evidence that the appellant signed and effected the draft/transfer. The appellant's explanation that Mukhtar Singh provided the money and the bank manager insisted on his signature was found palpably false.
  • The court accepted additional evidence produced by the defendant indicating Mukhtar Singh was employed as a village teacher who drew a meagre salary and had limited means; school registers showed Mukhtar Singh's employment and salary entries.
  • The court assessed the appellant's motive and the family circumstances (Mukhtar Singh had a wife and two sons) and found no ostensible reason for Mukhtar Singh to make the appellant sole beneficiary if the declarations as to means/status were true.
  • On the totality of evidence the court endorsed the trial court's finding that the declarations in Ex. A-10 regarding residential address, status and occupation were untrue.
  • Regarding the question of who effected and financed the policy, the court observed that both quarterly instalments were paid by the appellant and that the appellant was recorded as nominee/beneficiary from an early stage. The court concluded, on the evidence, that the policy was effected by the appellant in the name of Mukhtar Singh for the appellant's own use and benefit. The appellant had not shown any obligation on Mukhtar Singh's part to effect the policy to benefit the appellant; the appellant had neither the means nor the capacity to effect such a large policy on his own account.
  • The court applied cited authorities (e.g., Great Eastern Life Assurance Co. v. Sai Hira; Dawsons Ltd. v. Bonnin; Halsbury) for the proposition that falsity of statements made part of the contract can vitiate the policy. The court also considered authorities and submissions concerning Section 30 of the Contract Act (wagering contracts) and A.I.G. Insurance Co. v. S.P. Maheshwari that treat declarations in applications as warranties; the court concluded that the trial court's factual findings and legal conclusions were sound.

Holding and Implications

APPEAL DISMISSED WITH COSTS.

Holding: The appellate court upheld the trial court's decree dismissing the suit. It endorsed the findings that (a) the declarations in the proposal form (Ex. A-10) regarding residence, status and occupation were untrue, and (b) the policy had been effected and financed by the appellant for his own benefit and the appellant lacked a satisfactory explanation to justify the beneficiary designation.

Implications: The direct effect is that the decree of the Civil Judge, Meerut dismissing the plaintiff's suit for recovery of Rs. 35,000 is affirmed and the appellant must pay costs. The court overruled the procedural objection about devolution to LIC (per Life Insurance Corporation Act) by treating LIC as successor-in-interest under Section 146 CPC and relevant precedent. The opinion resolves the dispute on the specific facts before the court and affirms the legal principles cited (false statements incorporated in the contract can vitiate the policy; absence of insurable interest and financing/benefit by the claimant are determinative on these facts). The court did not purport to lay down any novel legal doctrine beyond applying existing statutes and authorities to the established facts.

DJ/D.R.R — Order as recorded in the original opinion: "22. Appeal dismissed."

    Brahm Dutt Sharma v. Life Insurance Corporation Of India

    Uniyal, J.:— The plaintiff has filed the appeal from the decree of the Civil Judge Meerut, dismissing his suit with costs.

    2. The facts giving rise to this appeal, shortly stated, are as follows: On the 15th January, 1951 Mukhtar Singh, deceased uncle of His appellant, made an application for insurance in the Crown Life Insurance Company, Toronto, Canada, with its branch office at Bombay (hereinafter referred to as the Company) for a sum of Rs. 35,000. In that application he stated his occupation as landlord and mill owner, Weaving and Spinning Mills, and his place of residence as C/o Brahma Dutta Sharma, Gujrati Well. Meerut City. On the basis of the above application the Company issued an interim policy to Mukhtar Singh on the 19th February, 1951. The interim policy was approved by the Head Office of the Company which issued Insurance Policy No. 573768, dated 21st May, 1951 in favour of the said Mukhtar Singh. In that policy the appellant was described as the nominee of the assured after his death. The policy was issued subject to the endorsements contained therein. Clause 4 of the endorsement reads:

    “After the expiry of two years from the date on which it shall have been effected this policy shall not be called in question by the company on the ground that a statement made in the application therefor or in any other document leading to the issue of the policy was inaccurate or false, unless the company shall show that such statement was on a material matter and fraudulently made by the insured and that the insured knew at the time of making it that the statement was false.”

    Clause 4 laid down that the application for the policy and any additional statements made to the company, together with the policy and its endorsements, shall constitute the entire contract between the parties. Clause 10 provided that on the policy becoming a claim by death, proof of claim shall include such evidence under oath as may be required by the company of the death of the insured and the causes leading thereto, and of the title of the claimant and proof of age as mentioned in Cl. 8 and such other information as the company may deem necessary to establish the validity of the contract.

    3. The first quarterly premium on the policy was admittedly paid on the 12th February, 1951 by the appellant himself. The second Quarterly premium was also paid by the appellant through a draft or mail transfer on 19/21 May, 1951. Mukhtar Singh Sharma died at Meerut on the night between the 19th and 20th August, 1951 and notice of his death and that of the plaintiff's claim was sent to the defendant Company on the 15th September, 1951 on the basis of the nomination of the policy in the appellant's favour. The Company by letter, dated the 16th October, 1951 wrote to the appellant to give full names and addresses of the persons who were present at the time of the demise of the insured and stated that in accordance with endorsement No. 10 of the policy the Company was entitled to call for such other information hat it considered necessary to establish the validity of the contract. Eventually the Company refused the claim of the appellant on the ground that Mukhtar Singh assured had made false and incorrect declarations in his application Ex. A-10 as to his status and occupation, and also as to his residential and business address thereupon the appellant brought the suit for recovery of Rs. 35,000 out of which this appeal has arisen.

    4. The suit was resisted by the Company inter alia on the ground that the statements made by the assured Mukhtar Singh Sharma in Part I and Part II of the application for policy were false and that since these statements were agreed to be the basis for contract of insurance the suit was liable to be dismissed. It was further pleaded that the insurance policy was not really effected by Mukhtar Singh Sharma deceased for his use and benefit but was got effected by the appellant for his own use and benefit and that the appellant had no insurable interest in the life or the deceased.

    5. The Civil Judge was of the view that the defendant Company had failed to establish that the age given by Mukhtar Singh Sharma in his application for insurance was incorrect and that there was no credible evidence to prove that the declaration made by him regarding the health was false. These findings have not been challenged by the learned counsel for the respondent. He, however, held that Mukhtar Singh assured made false and incorrect statements in Ex. A-10 as to his occupation and status, as well as his business and residential address. He also came to the conclusion that the insurance policy in question was effected and financed by the appellant for his own benefit and that the appellant had no insurable interest in the life or the deceased.

    6. Before we examine the merits of the case it is necessary to dispose of a preliminary objection raised by the learned counsel for the respondent. It was contended that during the pendency of the suit in the Court below the Life Insurance Corporation Act (XXXI of 1956) was enacted by Parliament. By Section 7 of that Act all the assets and liabilities appertaining to the control business of all insurers became vested in the Life Insurance Corporation of India. Sub-section (2) of S. 9 provided that all suits and appeals pending on the date of the coming into force of the Act shall be continued against the Corporation. Mr. Jagdish Swamp, learned counsel for the respondent, argued that under O. XXII, R. 10 of the CPC the insurance business of the Company stood transferred to and was vested in the Life Insurance Corporation of India and, therefore, it was a case of devolution of interest during the pendency of the suit. Since the appellant failed to implead the said Life Insurance Corporation of India as a defendant in the suit no decree could be passed against it in respect of the insurance policy in question. We are unable to accede to the argument of the learned counsel.

    7. Section 146 of the CPC provides that “save as otherwise provided by the Code any proceeding that can be taken by a person may also be taken by any person claiming under him. The Supreme Court in Saila Bala Dassi v. Nirmala Sundari Dassi, AIR 1958 SC 394, held that the expression ‘claiming under’ is wide enough to include cases of devolution and assignment of interest mentioned in O. XXII, R. 10 of the CPC. The assets and liabilities of the control business of insurers devolved on the Life Insurance Corporation of India under S. 7 and, therefore, by operation of law they became the successors-in-interest of the Company in respect to matters relating to insurance business of the Company. We, therefore, overrule the objection.

    8. Turning to the merits of the appeal, we may state that the main contention of the learned counsel for the appellant was that the trial Court was not justified in holding that the declarations made by Mukhtar Singh Sharma in his application for insurance as to his status and occupation, and also as to his residential and business address, were false. It cannot be disputed that the declaration made by the assured was that the statements contained in Part I and Part II of the application Ex. A-10 made by him shall form the basis of the policy. Clause 4 clearly provides that the application for the policy and statements made therein, together with endorsements, shall constitute the entire contract between the parties. It is also beyond question that the death of the insured took place before the expiry of two years from the date on which the policy was effected, and, therefore, the provisions of Section 45 of the Insurance Act are not brought into play. In other words, it was open to the Company to call in question the statements and declarations made by the insured in the proposal form Ex. A-10.

    9. It will be seen that in Part I of the application for insurance (Ex. A-10) the residential address of the insured was given as Gujrati Well, Meerut City, and his occupation was described as landlord and mill-owner, Weaving and Spinning Mills. The appellant Brahma Dutta stated that there was a factory near Sainik Bhawan in which Mukhtar Singh manufactured khaddar. In cross-examination he stated that there was no fixed quota for cotton thread from the Supply Office for the factory of Mukhtar Singh and that cotton thread used to be purchased by the factory from Ex-Servicemen Society. He pleaded ignorance about the contract between Mukhtar Singh ancl the Ex-Servicemen Society in respect of the quota although he asserted that he was co-owner with Mukhtar Singh in the factory. He admitted that account books and registers relating to the business of the factory used to be maintained but he pleaded his inability to produce them on the ground that they were with the Meerut Police. Even if it was so, no attempt was made by him to get them summoned from police custody. He asserted that after the death of Mukhtar Singh he sold the shop and the factory to one Kailashpati for Rs. 8,000 or Rs. 10,000. According to him it was an oral sale and there was no writing about it. He admitted that he had deposited the first quarterly premium of the policy but denied that he made the second decosit. There is, however, unimpeachable evidence on the record to show that it was Brahma Dutta appellant who made the deposit of the second instalment also. Indeed, it was admitted by him that the application Ex. A-2 for issue of a draft or mail transfer of Rs. 692-14-0 towards the premium was signed by him. He tried to explain that the money was provided by Mukhtar Singh himself and that he had gone to the bank with the money and deposited it there. He sought to make out that the signature on the back of Ex. A-2 was made by him in September 1951 as the Bank Manager insisted that he should do so in order to save the Manager from harm. The explanation given for the signature of the appellant on the back of Ex. A-2 appears to be palpably false. There could be no question of the Bank Manager-obtaining his signature when the premium had already been received by the Company. As a matter of fact the bank would not have prepared a transfer draft without a formal application by the appellant. After examining the application Ex. A-2 we are satisfied that the statement of Brahma Dutta that ho was got to sign this application is untrue. He admitted in cross-examination that Mukhtar Singh deceased was an occupancy tenant of 1 bigha 3 biswas of pakka land in village Alipur, Mughalpura. District Meerut, which was the subject-matter of a lease (Ex. A-1), dated 28th March, 1951. He further admitted that Mukhtar Singh was not the owner of any land other than the leased land.

    10. From the statement of Brahma Dutta appellant it becomes crystal clear that Mukhtar Singh was not a zamindar but was a tenant of a petty holding of 1 bigha and 3 biswas. It is also clear from his statement that no spinning or weaving mill was owned by Mukhtar Singh. The so-called khaddar factory, which according to the witness was jointly owned by him and Mukhtar Singh, is shown to have been the exclusive property of Brahma Dutta appellant. The letter Ex. A-4, dated 3-2-1934 of the District Supply Officer, Meerut, to the counsel of the Company is most revealing, it says:

    “After enquiry it has been revealed that on Spinning and Weaving Mill under the proprietorship of Mukhtar Singh, deceased, existed in this town for the last ten years. Only a handloom factory under the style of ‘Batya Handloom Factory’ was started at C. Patt Bazar, Meerut by Sri Brahma Dutta, nephew of Sri Mukhtar Singh Sharma in 1949 and that, too, has now passed to one Sri K.C Mithal, in 1950 or so.’

    11. This letter was proved by Sri V.D Tyagi, Cloth Inspector, Supply Office, Meerut. He stated that the list relating to handloom factories in Meerut City and Meerut Cantonment was kept in the office of the Supply Officer and that the handloom factory of Brahma Dutta appellant had remained up to 1950. Thus it would appear that on the date on which the application for insurance was made by Mukhtar Singh deceased neither he nor Brahma Dutta had any kind of factory, much less a Spinning and Weaving Mill as alleged. On the other hand, the evidence called by the defendant goes to show that Mukhtar Singh deceased was a village teacher drawing a meagre salary of Rs. 20 p.m Chandra Kishore D.W 7 was Head Master in the Junior High School, Alipur where Mukhtar Singh was teaoher. He produced the register of payment of salaries kept to the sohool. The register showed that from July 1944 to September 1946 Mukhtar Singh nad been working in this school as a teacher and had signed the register in lieu of having received his monthly salary.

    12. Another feature which goes to discredit the appellant's case is the circumstance that on his own showing Mukhtar Singh had two sons and a wife. Brahma Dutta stated that Mukhtar Singh was not pleased with his sons and, therefore, made him the sole beneficiary under the insurance policy. He did not state that the relationship of Mukhtar Singh with his wife was strained or that he had made provision for his wife. There is, therefore, no ostensible reason why Mukhtar Singh should have shown special favour to the appellant Brahma Dutta by making him the sole beneficiary under the insurance policy in question. The evidence in the case leads to the conclusion that Mukhtar Singh did not reside in Meerut and further that he did not own any spinning or weaving mill in that city. We endorse the finding of the Court below that the declaration given in the proposal form Ex. A-10 in respect of the residential address, status and occupation of Mukhtar Singh deceased was untrue.

    13. The next point to be considered is whether the policy in question was effected by Mukhtar Singh Snarma or by the appellant for his own benefit and whether the plaintiff had an insurable interest in the life of the deceased. We have said above that two quarterly instalments towards the insurance policy were paid by the appellant himself and not by Mukhtar Singh deceased. It is also evident that even when the interim insurance policy was issued the appellant was described as beneficiary on the death of the insured. In Cl. 16 of the policy that was issued on the 31st May, 1951 me appellant was shown as the nominee of the assured under the policy. Thus the plaintiff was both nominee and beneficiary with the result that the heirs of the deceased could not lay any claim to it on the ground of being legal heirs of the deceased.

    14. The circumstances in which the policy came to be issued and the manner in which the instalments were paid in respect of that policy, together with the fact that Mukhtar Singh had 10 status or means to get himself insured for such a large amount, go to establish that the policy in question was effected by the appellant. In the name of Mukhtar Singh for his own use and benefit. There is not a word in the evidence adduced on behalf of the plaintiff that Mukhtar Singh was under any obligation to effect the insurance policy in order to benefit the appellant. On the contrary, the plaintiff's own evidence would show that he had neither the means nor the capacity to effect any such policy. It further goes to show that Mukhtar ingh was a poor village teacher in occupation of 1 bigha and 3 biswas of tenancy land. A ??? of his status could not afford to take ??? a large insurance policy. We have, therefore, no hesitation in upholding the finding of the trial Judge that there was no satisfactory explanation from the side of the plaintiff as to why Mukhtar Singh came to assign the policy in favour of the appellant, while leaving his wife and children unprovided for.

    15. In Great Eastern Life Assurance Co. v. Sai Hira, AIR 1931 Bom 146, it has been held that the falsity of the statement involving forfeiture of the policy will vitiate the policy if the statements and declarations made in the application for the policy are made a part of the contract. (See also Dawsons Ltd. v. Bonnin, (1922) 2 AC 413, and Halsbury's Laws of England, Vol. 17, p. 551).

    16. On behalf of the respondent it was urged that inasmuch as the appellant had no insurable interest in the life of Mukhtar Singh deceased the contact of insurance was in the nature of a wagering contract within the meaning of Section 30 of the Contract Act and, therefore, void. Reference was made to Alamani v. Positive Govt. Security Life Assurance Co. Ltd., (1899) ILR 23 Bom 191 at p. 206, where it was held that Section 30 of the Contract Act was applicable to insurance policies.

    17. In A.I.G Insurance Co. v. S.P Maheshwari, AIR 1960 Mad 484, the learned Judges were of the opinion that the declarations in the application for policy amount to warranty and if it is found that the averments contained in the application are false the contract would be vitiated and become unenforceable in law.

    18. It was said on behalf of the appellant that S. 30 did not in terms apply to an insurance contract and that the reasoning adopted by the Bombay High Court in (1899) ILR 23 Bom 191, was based on English Common Law and, therefore, was inapplicable to India.

    19. We are not impressed with this argument. The learned Judges of the Bombay High Court were at pains to show that apart from the doctrine of English Common Law, S. 30 was attracted to a case where the contract was based on fraud.

    20. After giving our anxious thought to the facts and circumstances of the case it seems to us that the conclusion arrived at by the Court below is legally sound.

    21. We find no force in this appeal and it is accordingly dismissed with costs.

    DJ/D.R.R

    22. Appeal dismissed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Brahm Dutt Sharma v. Life Insurance Corporation Of India
    (Dec 24, 1965)