AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Disposition
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The respondent, a company dealing in oil products, purchased two transit insurance policies from the appellant insurer in January 1988. The total sum insured was raised to Rs 17.10 crores upon payment of an aggregate premium of Rs 4,26,826. A contractual term required the insurer to refund a proportionate part of the premium if, by the end of the policy period, the value of goods actually transported was less than the total sum insured.

At expiry, the respondent had transported goods worth Rs 9,71,59,990—significantly below the insured limit—entitling it to a refund of Rs 2,05,797. The insurer, however, tendered only Rs 40,889, asserting that the premium originally collected (30% of the applicable rate) was lower than that mandated by a circular dated 7-3-1986, which allegedly required a 50% rate. Claiming deficiency in service, the respondent approached the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (“the Commission”), which allowed the claim in full. The insurer appealed, resulting in the present order.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether, after the policy period had expired, the insurer could withhold part of the refundable premium on the ground that it had earlier mis-calculated and under-charged the premium rate.
  2. Whether the contractual obligation to refund the unutilised portion of the premium could be unilaterally altered by the insurer on the basis of the 7-3-1986 circular.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant (Insurance Company)

  • Invoked a circular dated 7-3-1986 to contend that the correct premium rate was 50%, not the 30% actually charged, and therefore the respondent was not entitled to the full refund claimed.

Respondent (Insured Company)

  • Sought a proportionate refund of Rs 2,05,797 as stipulated in the insurance contract, maintaining that it had fully complied with all obligations under the policy.

Table of Precedents Cited

No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court rejected the insurer’s reliance on the 7-3-1986 circular, emphasising that:

  • If the insurer believed a higher premium rate applied, it should have raised the issue at the time of contracting or during the policy period, not after its expiry.
  • Both parties had been ad idem on the premium rate when the contract was formed; the insurer willingly accepted the premium and provided coverage on that basis.
  • Post-contract, the insurer could not unilaterally alter essential terms or appropriate part of the refundable premium to rectify its own alleged mistake.
  • Permitting such unilateral adjustment would undermine contractual certainty and adversely affect the validity of the insurance contract itself.

Accordingly, the insurer remained bound to refund the entire unutilised premium as originally agreed.

Holding and Implications

APPEAL DISMISSED; COMMISSION’S ORDER AFFIRMED

The insurer must refund the balance of the unutilised premium to the respondent. No order as to costs was made. The decision reinforces that insurers cannot retroactively modify premium terms after policy expiry; however, the order sets no new precedent beyond its application to the parties involved.

    Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Mantora Oil Products Pvt. Ltd. .

    Order

    1. The respondent Company dealt in oil products and for that purpose, it used to purchase vegetable and refined oil from different parts of the country and transported the same in oil tankers. In order to protect itself against losses due to accidents, theft, pilferage, non-delivery etc., occurring in the course of transit, the respondent took insurance policies with the appellant in January 1988. The first policy was for an insurance cover of Rs 10,10,00,000 which was further increased by Rs 7 crores. Thus the total insurance coverage was for Rs 17.10 crores for which an aggregate premium of Rs 4,26,826 was paid by the respondent to the appellant.

    2. One of the conditions of the contract of insurance was that in respect of the unutilised portion of the coverage, the appellant would refund to the respondent the proportionate amount of premium. That is to say, if the value of the total quantity of oil transported fell short of Rs 17.10 crores during the period of policy, the appellant would refund to the respondent the proportionate premium on the amount of shortfall in the quantity transported.

    3. It is not disputed that the respondent had transported goods worth Rs 9,71,59,990 during the period of the policies. After the expiry of the period of the insurance policies, the respondent requested for refund of the proportionate premium amounting to Rs 2,05,797 but the respondent Company paid only a sum of Rs 40,889 through a cheque on the ground that the premium charged by the appellant from the respondent was less than what it ought to have been charged. It was pointed out that the premium was levied only at the rate of 30% whereas it should have been at the rate of 50% in view of the circular dated 7-3-1986. It was in these circumstances that the respondent approached the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (for short “the Commission”) which has allowed the claim of the respondent.

    4. Learned counsel appearing on behalf of the Insurance Company has contended that in view of the circular dated 7-3-1986, the premium should have been paid at the rate of 50% and not at the rate of 30% as was done by the respondent. We are not prepared to accept this contention.

    5. If it was a mistake, the same should have been pointed out to the respondent during the period of the policy but the appellant did not raise this objection at any time during the continuance of the policy cover. The respondent also fulfilled its obligations under the policy and paid the premium as was agreed to between the parties. If there was a mistake on the part of the appellant in collecting the premium, the same should have been pointed out at the time of entering into the contract or immediately thereafter. After having received the benefit under the policy of insurance from the respondent by way of premium, it is not open to the appellant to contend that there was a mistake on their part in charging the premium at a rate lower than the rate at which it should have been charged by them. If the parties were not ad idem on this vital part of the contract of insurance, it would have an adverse effect on the contract itself. Since the period of policy is over, the appellant is under an obligation to refund the extra premium in terms of the policy. It cannot itself unilaterally make any adjustment from the amount of unutilised premium and retain a part of it on the ground that the premium charged was less than what it should have been charged.

    6. The Commission, in these circumstances, was fully justified in allowing the claim of the respondent and we see no infirmity in the judgment passed by it. The appeal is dismissed but without any order as to costs.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Mantora Oil Products Pvt. Ltd. .
    (Jul 21, 1999)