Translate
Text Highlighter

Bookmark

PDF

Share

Report a problem
AMICUS AI
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Are you a practicing lawyer?
Enhance your digital presence and reach by creating a Casemine profile.
Upload pleading to use the new AI search
Cites
Cited by
Citation Codes
Equivalent Citations
citation codes
Case Number
Attorney(S)
Judges
Smart Summary

Factual and Procedural Background

The revision petitioner is the judgment-debtor in Execution Petition (E.P.) No. 290/84 arising from Original Suit (O.S.) No. 827/79 before the Munsiff Court, Sherthallai. The respondents (plaintiffs) filed the execution petition to attach the petitioner's salary at the rate of Rs. 70 per month. The revision petitioner filed objections asserting that no amount of his salary was attachable and produced his salary certificate. The learned Munsiff examined the certificate and held that the petitioner's salary was liable to attachment at Rs. 70 per month. The present proceeding is a revision (C.R.P.) challenging that order of attachment.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether monthly contributions paid to an insurance policy on the life of the judgment-debtor can be excluded from the calculation of the attachable portion of the debtor's salary under Section 60(1)(kb) of the Civil Procedure Code (C.P.C.).
  2. Whether the order of the court below attaching Rs. 70 per month from the revision petitioner's salary was justified and therefore liable to be set aside.

Arguments of the Parties

Revision Petitioner's Arguments

  • The court below was not justified in holding that Rs. 70 of the petitioner's salary could be attached.
  • Under Section 60(1)(kb) of the C.P.C., "all moneys payable under a policy of insurance on the life of the judgment-debtor" are not liable to attachment; the court below overlooked or misapplied this provision.
  • The petitioner produced his salary certificate in support of the objection that no amount of salary was attachable (i.e., the petitioner asserted that deductions such as insurance contributions should protect more of his salary from attachment).

Respondents' Arguments

  • The exemption in Section 60(1)(kb) applies only to sums payable under the insurance policy to the insured (i.e., the benefit or proceeds payable under the policy), not to the periodic contributions paid to the insurer.
  • Monthly contributions paid towards an insurance policy should not be deducted from the salary when computing the attachable portion; the legislature intended to protect amounts payable under the policy (proceeds), not contributions paid into the policy.
  • It is difficult to read Section 60(1)(kb) as exempting monthly contributions to insurance from attachment; thus contributions cannot be excluded in reckoning the attachable portion of salary.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Kousalya Devi v. Praveen Bankers, 1979 Ker LT 932 : (AIR 1980 Ker 148) The decision held that only after a contribution goes into the fund does the exemption under clause (k) (of the relevant provision) become available; a contribution which a person has agreed to make towards the Provident Fund cannot be excluded when reckoning the attachable portion of salary. The court analogised that principle to insurance contributions: just as Provident Fund contributions payable by an employee (but not yet vested) cannot be excluded from the salary for attachment purposes, monthly contributions to an insurance policy likewise cannot be excluded when computing the attachable portion of salary under Section 60(1)(kb).

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court's analysis proceeded in two linked strands: statutory interpretation and application of precedent.

  1. Statutory interpretation: The court examined the wording of Section 60(1)(kb) of the C.P.C. and distinguished between "moneys payable under the policy of insurance on the life of the judgment-debtor" and "moneys payable to the policy of insurance" (i.e., contributions). The court read the provision to mean that the exemption protects sums payable under the insurance policy (the proceeds/benefit) and not the periodic contributions paid into the policy by the debtor.
  2. Precedent and analogy: The court relied on the decision in Kousalya Devi v. Praveen Bankers (1979 Ker LT 932; AIR 1980 Ker 148), which held that contributions to a Provident Fund could not be excluded from the attachable portion of salary until such contributions actually vest in the fund (i.e., the exemption under the relevant clause becomes available only after contribution goes into the fund). The court treated the position of insurance contributions as similar: contributions paid to an insurer do not qualify as "moneys payable under the policy" and therefore are not exempt from attachment when calculating the attachable portion of salary.
  3. Arithmetical application to facts: Having determined that insurance contributions could not be deducted from salary for exemption purposes, the court applied the statutory formula in the proviso to Clause (i) of Section 60(1) to the admitted monthly salary of Rs. 964. The court calculated the attachable portion as follows (as stated in the opinion):
    Salary admitted: Rs. 964 per month.
    Exempt amount under proviso: Rs. 400 plus two-thirds of the remainder.
    Remainder after Rs. 400 = Rs. 564.
    One-third of Rs. 564 = Rs. 188 (attachable portion of that remainder).
    Of that Rs. 188, Rs. 100 per month may be attached by a stranger; the remaining Rs. 88 is the balance. The court below attached only Rs. 70 out of that amount.
  4. Conclusion of reasoned analysis: Because the court below attached only Rs. 70 (less than the calculated attachable balance), and because the court's interpretation of Section 60(1)(kb) (not extending the exemption to monthly insurance contributions) was consistent with precedent, the appellate court found no error in the order below.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The order of the court below confirming attachment of Rs. 70 per month from the revision petitioner's salary is confirmed. The Criminal Revision Petition (C.R.P.) is dismissed with no order as to costs. The opinion concludes with the notation: "Petition dismissed."

Implications:

  • The direct effect on the parties is that the attachment at Rs. 70 per month as ordered by the Munsiff stands confirmed; the revision petition seeking to set aside that attachment is dismissed.
  • On the legal question addressed, the court applied and followed the precedent in Kousalya Devi to hold that monthly contributions to an insurance policy are not to be excluded from the salary when calculating the attachable portion under Section 60(1)(kb). The opinion does not announce a broader new precedent beyond applying this principle to the facts before it; its practical consequence is the reaffirmation that contributions payable into a fund or policy do not themselves attract the exemption described in the statutory provision cited.

    Sreedharan Peethambaran v. Krishnan Sanku And Others

    1. Revision petitioner is the judgment-debtor in E.P 290/84 in O.S 827/79 of the Munsiff Court, Sherthallai. Respondents (Plaintiffs) filed the E.P to attach the salary of the judgment-debtor at the rate of Rs. 70/- per month. Revision petitioner filed objections stating that no amount of salary is attachable. He produced his salary certificate. On going through it the learned Munsiff found that salary of the revision petitioner, is liable to attachment at the rate of Rs. 70/- per month.

    2. Counsel for the revision petitioner contended that the Court below was not at all justified in holding that Rs. 70/- can be attached. It is pointed out that under S. 60(1)(kb) of the C.P.C all moneys payable under a policy of insurance on the life of the judgment-debtor are not liable to be attached and the Court below patently overlooked the above provision. Learned counsel for the respondents submitted that what has been exempted from attachment is only the amount payable under the policy to the insured and this does not at all mean that the monthly contributions paid to the insurer, should be deducted from the salary to decide how much amount could be attached.

    Counsel contended that the intention of the legislature in enacting the provision is to see that the amount paid towards the insurance should not be attached and this is evident from a reading of the provision. S. 60(1)(kb) makes it clear that all moneys payable under the policy of insurance on the life of the judgment-debtor are not liable to attachment. It is difficult to read into the above provision to hold that monthly contributions paid to the policy of insurance are not liable to attachment. In other words, the amount contributed monthly to the policy of insurance cannot be deducted from the salary of a judgment-debtor to decide the amount that can be attached from it.

    3. In Kousalya Devi v. Praveen Bankers, 1979 Ker LT 932 : (AIR 1980 Ker 148) this Court considered whether amount contributed to Provident Fund can be attached. In the above decision it has been held that only after the contribution goes into the fund exemption under clause (k) is available and therefore the contribution which a person has agreed to make towards Provident Fund cannot be excluded in reckoning the attachable portion of the salary. Similar is the position with regard to contribution payable to insurance.

    4. As S. 60(1)(kb) states that all moneys payable under the policy of insurance on the life of the judgment-debtor and not moneys payable to the policy of insurance are exempt from attachment, monthly contributions made to the insurance cannot be excluded in reckoning the attachable portion of salary.

    5. It is the admitted case that the revision petitioner's salary is Rs. 964/- per month. Under the proviso to Cl. (i) of S. 60(1) of the Code salary to the extent of Rs. 400/- and two-thirds of the remainder shall not be liable to attachment One-third of Rs. 564/- would come to Rs. 188/-. Out of which Rs. 100/- per month is subject to attachment by a stranger. The remainder is Rs. 88/-. The Court below has attached only Rs. 70/- out of it. It cannot be said that the order of the Court below is erroneous.

    There is no merit in the C.R.P The order of the Court below is hereby confirmed and the C.R.P is dismissed with no order as to costs.

    Petition dismissed.

    Use AI to get other relevant cases.

    Comments

    Sreedharan Peethambaran v. Krishnan Sanku And Others
    (Nov 19, 1985)