- Bookmark
- Share
- CaseIQ
MATTER OF SPANGENBERG v. VIEW POINT REALTY
Factual and Procedural Background
Claimant Edward Spangenberg, a 38-year-old construction worker, sustained injuries to his right shoulder, neck, and back on August 21, 1985, while lifting lumber at work. These injuries forced him to cease working on February 15, 1987. Medical reports from claimant's physicians between February 1987 and June 1989 indicated total disability due to his back injury. Conversely, a consulting physician for the employer's workers' compensation carrier, after examinations in January and October 1988, testified that claimant was not disabled and could return to construction work. The Workers' Compensation Board Medical Examiner, who examined claimant on March 16, 1988, found him partially disabled.
On January 9, 1991, a Workers' Compensation Law Judge (WCLJ) determined that subsequent to March 16, 1988, claimant had a moderate partial disability, and benefits were awarded accordingly in a February 21, 1990 decision. Claimant appealed on March 23, 1990, asserting total medical disability through June 15, 1989, and total industrial disability due to his medical condition combined with illiteracy and unilateral deafness. The employer opposed, arguing that medical evidence supported only moderate partial disability. The Workers' Compensation Board modified the WCLJ's decision on August 3, 1990, finding total industrial disability after March 16, 1988. The employer then appealed this Board decision.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether the Workers' Compensation Board properly determined that claimant suffered a total industrial disability subsequent to March 16, 1988.
- Whether the Board's finding of total industrial disability is supported by substantial evidence, considering conflicting medical opinions and claimant's additional limitations (illiteracy and deafness).
Arguments of the Parties
Claimant's Arguments
- Claimant contended he was totally medically disabled through June 15, 1989.
- He argued that his total industrial disability was due to a combination of his medical condition, illiteracy, and deafness in one ear.
Employer's Arguments
- The employer maintained that substantial medical evidence supported a finding of only moderate partial disability.
Table of Precedents Cited
| Precedent | Rule or Principle Cited For | Application by the Court |
|---|---|---|
| Matter of Moore v RPM Indus., 144 A.D.2d 135 | The Board's authority to sustain a determination that a disabling injury extinguishes a worker's wage-earning capacity when substantial evidence shows no remunerative work is physically possible. | The court relied on this precedent to uphold the Board's determination that claimant's injury resulted in total industrial disability. |
| Matter of Rourke v Reichhold Chem., 129 A.D.2d 949 | Total industrial disability is a factual question reserved for the Board under Workers' Compensation Law § 20. | The court affirmed that the Board's factual finding of total disability was supported by substantial evidence. |
| Matter of Coluccio v Aenco, Inc., 147 A.D.2d 887, 888 | Support for the Board's conclusion that an injured worker's ability to work and earn wages may be extinguished where substantial evidence exists. | The court cited this case to corroborate the Board's conclusion based on medical and vocational evidence. |
| Matter of Grandinetti v Syracuse Univ., 134 A.D.2d 683 | Recognition of total industrial disability based on medical and vocational limitations. | Used to reinforce the substantial evidence standard supporting the Board's determination. |
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The court recognized that determining total industrial disability is a question of fact for the Workers' Compensation Board under Workers' Compensation Law § 20. It emphasized that the Board's decision must be supported by substantial evidence. Here, the court found the Board's conclusion well supported by the attending physician's opinion that claimant was totally medically disabled for a significant period post-accident, citing severe pain and degenerative spine condition. Additionally, the Board considered the vocational rehabilitation report indicating claimant's inability to be retrained due to physical limitations and other occupational barriers, including illiteracy and unilateral deafness. The court found that this combination of medical and vocational evidence constituted substantial evidence that claimant's wage-earning capacity was extinguished, justifying the Board's finding of total industrial disability. The employer's contrary medical testimony was insufficient to overturn the Board's factual determination.
Holding and Implications
The court affirmed the Workers' Compensation Board's decision that claimant suffered a total industrial disability subsequent to March 16, 1988.
The direct effect of this decision is the confirmation of claimant’s entitlement to total disability benefits from that date forward. The court did not establish any new legal precedent but applied established standards requiring substantial evidence to support the Board's factual findings.
Mahoney, P.J.
Claimant, a 38-year-old construction worker, injured his right shoulder, neck and back lifting lumber at work on August 21, 1985. As a consequence of his injuries, claimant was forced to stop working on February 15, 1987. Subsequent medical reports issued by claimant's attending physicians between February 1987 and June 1989 found that claimant's back injury rendered him totally disabled, as relevant to his eligibility for workers' compensation benefits. Martin Altchek, a consulting physician for the employer's workers' compensation insurance carrier, testified a hearing in June 1989 that he had examined claimant in January and October 1988 and found that claimant was not disabled and could return to construction work. The Workers' Compensation Board Medical Examiner examined claimant on March 16, 1988 and found him to be partially disabled.
On January 9, 1991, a Workers' Compensation Law Judge found that subsequent to March 16, 1988, the date of his examination by the Board physician, claimant had a moderate partial disability. Benefits reflecting partial disability rates were awarded in a decision filed February 21, 1990.
Claimant subsequently appealed on March 23, 1990, contending that he was totally medically disabled through June 15, 1989 and that his medical condition, combined with his illiteracy and deafness in one ear, left him with a total industrial disability. The employer opposed the appeal, arguing that "the substantial medical evidence supports the findings of a moderate partial disability". In a decision filed on August 3, 1990, the Board found that claimant had a total industrial disability subsequent to March 16, 1988 and the Workers' Compensation Law Judge's decision was modified accordingly. This appeal by the employer followed.
We affirm. This court will sustain the Board's determination that a disabling injury has extinguished a worker's wage-earning capacity when substantial evidence demonstrates that any remunerative work is beyond a worker's physical abilities (see, Matter of Moore v RPM Indus., 144 A.D.2d 135). The issue of whether such a "total industrial disability" exists presents a question of fact for the Board (see, Workers' Compensation Law § 20; Matter of Rourke v Reichhold Chem., 129 A.D.2d 949) and its decision here, in our view, is supported by substantial evidence. The record contains the medical opinion of the attending physician, John Handago, that claimant's pain was so severe and his spine so degenerative that he was, for a greater part of time since the accident, totally medically disabled. This medical evidence, coupled with the report of the Office of Vocational Rehabilitation that claimant could not be trained for new employment due to his physical condition and other occupational limitations, including the inability to read and total deafness in one ear, persuades this court that there is substantial evidence in the record to support the Board's conclusion that the ability to work and earn wages was no longer within claimant's powers (see, Matter of Coluccio v Aenco, Inc., 147 A.D.2d 887, 888; see also, Matter of Grandinetti v Syracuse Univ., 134 A.D.2d 683).
Mikoll, Yesawich Jr., Crew III and Harvey, JJ., concur. Ordered that the decision is affirmed, with costs to the Workers' Compensation Board.
Alert