Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

HUGGINS v. COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT

United States District Court, E.D. Pennsylvania.
Oct 29, 2010
Important Paras
Please sign up to view Important Paras.
ORDER

HOWELL MELTON, Senior District Judge

This cause is before the Court on Defendant's Motion for Final Judgment Based on Review of Administrative Record (Doc. 21), filed May 28, 2010. On June 15, 2010, Plaintiff filed a response in opposition (Doc. 24) to Defendant's motion. On August 11, 2010, the Court heard oral argument on the matter. On September 3, 2010, each party filed memoranda (Docs. 27 and 28) regarding the proposed final judgment in this case

Plaintiff seeks review of Defendant's termination of her long term disability ("LTD") benefits. The benefit plan ("Plan") in this case is governed by the Employee Retirement Investment Security Act of 1964, 29 U.S.C. § 1001, et seq. ("ERISA"). Defendant determined that Plaintiff was no longer eligible to receive LTD benefits under the Plan effective July 22, 2008, because she failed or refused to cooperate in a requested Independent Medical Examination ("IME"). R. at 00699-700 and 703. Plaintiff seeks review and reversal of Defendant's decision.

The Plan and Plan Details are found in the court record at Docs. 21-4 and 21-5, with sequentially numbered pages. Throughout this Order, the Court cites to them as "Plan at [page number]."

The administrative record under review is found in the court record at Docs. 21-6 through 21-19, with sequentially numbered pages. Throughout this Order, the Court cites to it at "R. at [page number]."

The Court will first review the relevant Plan provisions and facts established in the administrative record, then analyze those facts under the appropriate standard of review. For the reasons set forth below, the Court finds that Defendant's decision to terminate Plaintiff's LTD benefits was not arbitrary and capricious and therefore is not due to be reversed.

The Plan

To receive LTD benefits under the Plan, Plaintiff had to qualify as "Totally Disabled," defined as "the complete inability of the Participant, due to Sickness or Injury, to do any job for which the Participant is (or may reasonably become), with or without reasonable accommodation, qualified by training, education, or experience." Plan at 000005 (emphasis in original). Benefits are payable under the Plan provided "the Participant is cooperating with the Claims Service Organization's periodic evaluation of his/her medical condition, the Participant is under the ongoing care of an Approved Treatment Provider and is routinely adhering to an Approved Treatment Plan prescribed by that Provider . . . and the Participant is cooperating with any procedure, evaluation, investigation or audit in connection with this Plan. . . ." Plan at 000009. The responsibility of the Participant to provide continued medical evidence of disability, Defendant's right to conduct evaluations of a Participant's medical status at any time to determine continued eligibility to receive LTD benefits, the requirement that the Participant actively participate in and cooperate with periodic evaluation of his/her medical condition, and Defendant's right to terminate benefits for a Participant's failure to meet his/her obligations under the Plan, are clearly set forth and reiterated throughout the Plan. Plan at 000014, 000016, 000017-18, 000044, 000047, 000049, and 000056.

Facts from Administrative Record

Plaintiff first began receiving LTD benefits under the Plan on February 1, 1996, based upon a diagnosis of Bipolar Affective Disorder, Depressed. R. 00005-6 and 8. In September 2000, her diagnoses included: Personality Disorders, Unspecified; Pathological Personality NOS; Personality Disorder NOS; Psychopathic: Constitutional State; Bipolar Disorders, Other and Unspecified; Bipolar II Disorder; and Manic Depressive Psychosis, Mixed Type. R. at 00008.

Plaintiff completed an IME, an Adult Psychiatric Evaluation, with Dr. Michael Pruitt on November 28, 2006, and he diagnosed Plaintiff with Depression, Major, Recurrent Episode Without Mention of Psychotic Behavior. R. 00008-9 and 00663-665. Dr. Pruitt's report notes that Plaintiff had only marginally improved after years of on-and-off psychiatric treatment, and opined that she was unlikely to improve in the near future and that her disability was most likely permanent. R. at 00663-665. Dr. Pruitt also noted that Plaintiff reported fear of psychotherapy because of a bad experience. R. at 00664. He found that she was unable to work due to memory and concentration impairment, low energy and motivation, irritability, social isolation and agitation. R. at 00665.

Plaintiff's treating physician, Dr. Robert E. Groble, provided Defendant with updated information about Plaintiff's condition by completing an Attending Physician Statement and Mental Health Evaluation dated June 6, 2008. R. 00635-638. He listed her disabling diagnoses as: major depression, bipolar II disorder, personality disorder, and chronic pain. R. at 00020 and 00637. He also stated that Plaintiff was not complying with all treatment recommendations in that she was refusing psychotherapy because of negative past experiences. Id. Dr. Groble opined that Plaintiff was unable to return to work under any circumstances. R. at 00638.

The case manager who reviewed the information that Dr. Groble provided noted that Plaintiff had a poor prognosis for return to work or achieving any wellness without a change in treatment and that she should be evaluated with an IME for a full diagnosis and treatment plan. R. at 00020. Plaintiff was scheduled for another IME, a Neuropsychological Consultation, with Dr. Tannahill Glen, on July 10, 2008. Defendant sent Plaintiff a letter dated June 24, 2008, advising her that the IME had been scheduled and to "[p]lease be aware your failure to attend, put forth reasonable effort or otherwise fully cooperate in this evaluation will result in the termination of your disability benefits as well as any other benefit programs you may be eligible for through Johnson Johnson." R. at 00632 (emphasis added).

Prior to that exam, on June 25, 2008, Plaintiff phoned Defendant and spoke with a case manager who noted Plaintiff was very angry about attending another IME and stated Defendant could not make her attend the exam or therapy. R. at 00021. The case manager referred her to the LTD Plan. Id. Plaintiff called Defendant again on June 30, 2008, and the case manager noted she was hostile, threatened not to attend the IME and said she absolutely would not attend psychotherapy. Id. On July 2, 2008, she phoned Defendant a third time and stated she had received the IME notification and would attend the evaluation. Id. The case manager discussed with Plaintiff the need for psychotherapy that may be brought into her treatment as a result of the IME and noted that "[s]he [Plaintiff] will have no part of it." Id.

Dr. Glen performed Plaintiff's neuropsychological evaluation on July 10, 2008. R. at 00625. Dr. Glen noted it was Plaintiff's first such evaluation but that she had undergone a comprehensive psychological evaluation with a Dr. Reynolds in 2004, who documented intentionally poor effort and concluded she was unable to work due to behavioral and interaction style rather than any cognitive or major psychiatric issues. R. at 00625. Dr. Glen reviewed extensive records and gathered information from Plaintiff herself. Id. Dr. Glen noted that Plaintiff reported losing custody of her children because her ex-husband used her psychiatric records against her. Id. Dr. Glen's behavioral observations included that Plaintiff had "a fairly dramatic presentation," "worked extremely slow in testing," "was fairly oppositional in testing," and exhibited "highly unusual test-taking behavior." R. at 00626. Dr. Glen states in her report that "[t]hese behaviors did not appear to reflect cognitive impairment or medication effects."

Dr. Glen explained Plaintiff's test results and her impressions:

in neuropsychological testing, Mrs. Smith put forth suboptimal effort, so scores on tests completed today are invalid and should not be considered an accurate representation of her actual cognitive abilities. Three separate measures of symptom validity were presented. Mrs. Smith failed two of those outright, and her performance on the third was highly unusual and suggestive of suboptimal effort, or intentional exaggeration of cognitive symptoms. This is similar to Mrs. Smith's performance in Dr. Reynold's 2004 evaluation, in which effort was minimal.
In short, she performed extremely poorly on the rest of tests presented to her as well. I should note that these extremely impaired scores were in great contrast to observations and report of current functioning. Also, the quality of her test taking behavior was highly unusual and much more impaired than seen in even patients with severe brain injury.

R. at 00626. Dr. Glen went on to state:

Mrs. Smith did not exhibit evidence of bipolar disorder, although she probably has had dysthymic mood for many years. This would not be unexpected with history of personality disorder; she demonstrates symptoms of a mixed personality disorder with borderline and narcissistic features. There is no evidence of cognitive impairment based on observations. I cannot rely on test results, however, as Mrs. Smith put forth suboptimal effort that was suggestive of intentional symptom magnification, invalidating results.
I should add that certainly there are cases in which patients have severe psychiatric distress, who (A) perform poorly in neuropsychological testing and (B) fail symptom validity testing as a result. It is my opinion that this is not the case with Mrs. Smith, and that symptom validity test performance reflects intentionally poor effort. There is the added issue of litigation in a personal injury case. Where there are factors such as litigation, discrepancies between a patient's claimed distress and objective findings, external incentive such as remaining away from work, and presence of Personality Disorder, malingering should be suspected. I do suspect malingering in this case, but will wait until the MMPI 2 [test] results are available before making that final diagnostic consideration.

R. at 00627. Dr. Glen noted that Plaintiff exhibited emotional dyscontrol, but could compose herself when necessary, and that her presentation during the evaluation was suggestive of exaggeration or symptom magnification. Id.

Dr. Glen further reported:

Mrs. Smith exhibited impaired-range scores in testing, which in some cases might represent cognitive impairment. However, validity testing indicated intentionally suboptimal performance and poor effort, so test scores were invalid measures of actual cognitive ability. No cognitive impairment was noted by observation.
No reality testing impairment was noted nor was there evidence of formal thought disorder. The MMPI 2 [test results] should provide further information as to evidence of symptom magnification of psychiatric complaints.
Emotional lability/anxiety was actually less intrusive than Mrs. Smith's tendency to withhold responses, respond in an oppositional manner, and provide vague information, which are all behavioral rather than psychiatric in nature. Thus, there was behavioral impairment notable in testing and interview, but behavior seemed to reflect personality style and oppositional interactions rather than any underlying psychiatric dysfunction.
Id. Dr. Glen concluded:

. . . I do not think Mrs. Smith can maintain an 8 hour job, but not due to any underlying psychiatric dysfunction such as severe depression or uncontrolled mood disorder. Her challenges appear to be more characterological and psychosocial in nature. Thus, technically and cognitively, I think she is able to be employed. However, I think she would be an unpredictable and unsatisfactory employee based on medical records and today's observations. Unfortunately, she has been in treatment for many years, with very poor results, so prognosis for improvement is poor. Her current treatment regimen appears to be perfectly adequate and appropriate for her challenges.
Id.

After receiving the MMPI 2 test results, Dr. Glen wrote on July 22, 2008, advising Defendant:

Not surprisingly, Mrs. Smith's test profile was invalid due to a pervasive style of responding in a manner that [indicates] exaggeration or magnification of symptomology. She also selectively omitted enough items on the test to warrant caution in test interpretation. I should add that her response profile was remarkably dramatic, in the sense that I very rarely see this level of unlikely responses. Her response pattern was also not likely to be due to psychopathology or an emotional `cry for help.' I think it is more likely due to malingering.

R. at 00629.

By letter dated July 23, 2008, Plaintiff was advised of Defendant's decision to terminate her LTD benefits based on her failure to cooperate or put forth her best effort during the IME with Dr. Glen. R. at 00622. Plaintiff appealed that decision and submitted a letter dated September 8, 2008, from her treating physician Dr. Groble in response to the findings and conclusions of Dr. Glen. R. at 00065-67.

Dr. Groble's letter primarily takes issue with Dr. Glen's diagnoses and her conclusion that Plaintiff could resume employment. Id. Commenting on what he characterizes as Dr. Glen's emphasis on Plaintiff's "diminished energy, concentration and slowed test performance with reported exaggeration of mental symptoms," he states:

This patient has become emotionally distrustful and traumatized by past professional contacts including a social worker divulging "confidential" information leading to the loss of custody of her children. The patient has been afraid, as a result, to even be in any further counseling that might have improved her adjustment emotionally and potentially allowed rehabilitation.
Id. at 00066.

By letter dated October 17, 2008, Defendant informed Plaintiff that her appeal had been denied and the decision to terminate her LTD benefits upheld due to her suboptimal effort at the July 10, 2008, IME with Dr. Glen. R. at 00049. She was advised that her claim had been sent for a physician file review to determine if medical documentation supported cognitive defects which would have impaired her ability to complete testing, and that the reviewing physician, Dr. Marie-Claude Rigaud, determined that based on the objective medical findings, Plaintiff did not have a cognitive impairment which would adversely affect her ability to complete psychological or neuropsychological testing. Id. and R. at 00057-62. Dr. Rigaud noted that Plaintiff's functional impairments reported by Dr. Groble in June of 2008 were not supported by objective findings of a mental status and functional evaluation and also concurred with Dr. Glen that Plaintiff was able to work less than 8 hours a day. R. at 00061.

Plaintiff's second appeal was denied by Defendant by letter dated June 11, 2009. R. at 00699-704. Defendant advised Plaintiff that it had considered her entire file, including her two submissions on appeal: the September 8, 2008, letter from Dr. Groble, and the results of an orthopedic IME conducted by Dr. John Kihm on January 26, 2009. R. at 00702. Defendant's letter noted that Dr. Groble's letter was not accompanied by any objective documentation to support his statement, and that Dr. Kihm had not opined as to Plaintiff's functional capacity for work. Id. Nor does his report address the issue of her ability to cooperate in an IME. Defendant therefore upheld its decision to terminate Plaintiff's LTD benefits effective July 22, 2008. This suit followed.

Defendant also advised Plaintiff that the decision to terminate her benefits would have been the same based upon the record and the opinions of Drs. Glen and Rigaud that she was capable of working less than 8 hours a day, and as a result, she no longer met the Plan's definition of Totally Disabled. R. at 00703. Defendant also argues that Plaintiff's benefits were terminable because she failed to advise Defendant of personal injury litigation she brought and of her receipt of Social Security benefits, as required under the Plan. The Court finds no need to address these issues and reviews only the reasonableness of Defendant's decision to terminate Plaintiff's LTD benefits on the basis it specified, that is, for her failure to cooperate in the IME with Dr. Glen.

Standard of Review and Analysis

At the hearing, the parties stipulated that the Court's review in this case is limited to the administrative record. Because the Plan at issue gives the Plan administrator discretionary authority to determine eligibility for benefits and construe the terms of the Plan, the standard of review in this case is abuse of discretion, that is, the Court may not reverse Defendant's decision to terminate Plaintiff's LTD benefits unless it finds that the decision was arbitrary and capricious. See Jett v. Blue Cross Blue Shield, 890 F.2d 1137, 1139 (11th Cir. 1989). Under this standard, "the function of the court is to determine whether there was a reasonable basis for the decision, based on the facts known to the [plan] administrator at the time the decision was made." Id.

A benefit plan administrator, such as Defendant, may not "arbitrarily refuse to credit a claimant's reliable evidence, including opinions of a treating physician." Black Decker Disability Plan v. Nord, 538 U.S. 822, 834 (2003). Denial of a benefit claim based on conflicting but reliable evidence is permissible, but relevant evidence may not be ignored to reach a desired conclusion. Oliver v. Coca Cola Co., 497 F.3d 1181, 1199 (11th Cir. 2007).

In Doyle v. Liberty Life Assur. Co. of Boston, 542 F.3d 1352, 1360 (11th Cir. 2008), the Eleventh Circuit found thatMetropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Glenn, 554 U.S. 105 (2008), overruled its precedent requiring the application of the heightened arbitrary and capricious standard in cases involving a conflict of interest. Whether the determination of benefits is made under a conflict of interest is now one factor in the Court's arbitrary and capricious analysis, for which the claimant bears the burden of proof. 542 F.3d at 1360. Accordingly, the Eleventh Circuit's previously well-defined series of six steps in reviewing a termination of ERISA benefits set forth in Williams v. Bellsouth Telecomms . . . Inc., 373 F.3d 1132, 1137-38 (11th Cir. 2004) were changed only as to the sixth step, which the Court now must apply as follows:

1) Apply the de novo standard to determine whether the claim administrator's benefits-denial decision is "wrong" (i.e., the court disagrees with the administrator's decision); if it is not, end the inquiry and affirm the decision;
2) If the administrator's decision in fact is "de novo wrong," then determine whether the claims administrator was vested with discretion in reviewing claims; if not, then end the judicial inquiry and reverse the decision;
3) If the administrator's decision is "de novo wrong" and the claims administrator was vested with discretion in reviewing claims, then determine whether "reasonable" grounds supported it;
4) If no reasonable grounds exist, then end the inquiry and reverse the administrator's decision; if reasonable grounds do exist, then determine if the claims administrator operated under a conflict of interest;
5) If there is no conflict, then end the inquiry and affirm the decision;
6) If there is a conflict of interest, then apply ordinary arbitrary and capricious review to it in light of all aspects of the decision to affirm or deny it.
Capone v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 592 F.3d 1189, 1195-96 (11th Cir. 2010); Herman v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 689 F.Supp. 2d 1316, 1324-25 (M.D.Fla. 2010) (noting that Glenn modified the Eleventh Circuit's six-step review in ERISA cases).

This difficult case involves termination of LTD benefits that Plaintiff had been receiving for some 12 years on the basis of a well-documented medical history of psychological and emotional impairments that Defendant had accepted as establishing that she was Totally Disabled, that is completely unable to perform any job. In addition, less than two years before terminating her benefits, Defendant continued her benefits on the basis of Dr. Pruitt's IME, which concluded that her disability was likely permanent. The Court is of the opinion that such factual background presents a question of fact as to whether Defendant's decision was not wrong. Nevertheless, the Court must uphold the decision if there is some reasonable basis for it and now proceeds to evaluate it under the arbitrary and capricious standard because it is undisputed that Defendant was vested with discretion in reviewing claims.

In this case, the Court cannot find that Defendant either arbitrarily refused to credit or ignored any evidence provided by Plaintiff. It is apparent from the record that both Drs. Glen and Rigaud, as well as Defendant, considered all the medical documentation provided, including that submitted by Dr. Groble, and that Dr. Rigaud and Defendant considered his September 8, 2008, letter critiquing Dr. Glen's conclusions.

The Court cannot find that it was unreasonable for Defendant to conclude that Dr. Groble's letter and other medical evidence did not establish that Plaintiff was incapable of actively participating and cooperating in the IME with Dr. Glen. Dr. Groble's letter primarily takes issue with Dr. Glen's diagnoses and conclusion that Plaintiff is capable of working less than 8 hours a day. He does not attempt to advocate that Plaintiff's test results are valid or in any way reflect her actual abilities, and gives as the sole reason for her poor effort, her fear of psychiatric counseling because of a negative past experience. Some twenty months earlier, despite that fear, she had been able to complete an IME with Dr. Pruitt. Plaintiff also had been advised verbally and in writing that the provisions of the Plan required her to participate in the testing or risk loss of her benefits. It is clear that Plaintiff had refused to and did not want to participate in recommended psychological counseling as part of her treatment plan because of her negative past experience. Nevertheless, to be eligible to continue to receive LTD benefits under the Plan, Plaintiff's remained obliged both to comply with recommended treatment that might assist her in returning to work at some point and to cooperate in evaluations when requested by Defendant. While the Court may find that the decision to terminate the LTD benefits of a woman who had been receiving them for some 12 years, and obviously had numerous physical, psychological, and emotional issues, on the basis of her failure to cooperate in one IME exam was harsh, it was within Defendant's rights under the Plan, did not ignore relevant information provided by Plaintiff, and was based upon reasons supported by evidence in the record. Plaintiff argues that Defendant's decision to terminate her LTD benefits should be reviewed under the heightened arbitrary and capricious standard. As discussed above, the Eleventh Circuit has held that the U.S. Supreme Court's decision in Glenn has eliminated such standard of review, requires the claimant to establish the existence of a conflict of interest, and requires the Court to consider any conflict as a factor in its review for abuse of discretion.

Plaintiff does not assert that Defendant had a traditional financial conflict of interest, but instead argues that the procedures it followed, particularly requiring Plaintiff to submit to two IME's within approximately 18 months, were so unreasonable as to demonstrate a conflict that should require a less deferential standard of review of its decision. In accordance with Glenn, the Court considers the alleged conflict of interest as a factor in determining whether the decision to terminate her LTD benefits was arbitrary and capricious.

The Court cannot find that it was procedurally unreasonable for Defendant to ask Plaintiff to submit to the IME with Dr. Glen. The Plan requires her to allow Defendant to evaluate her condition at any time. Defendant's request that she have the IME was triggered by information provided by her treating physician, Dr. Groble, that she was not complying with her treatment plan, as required to maintain her benefits under the Plan, by refusing to receive recommended psychotherapy.

For the reasons set forth above, the Court finds that Plaintiff has not established that Defendant's decision to terminate her LTD benefits effective July 22, 2008, was arbitrary and capricious and therefore is due to be upheld. Upon review of the matter, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED:

1. That Defendant's Motion for Final Judgment Based on Review of Administrative Record (Doc. 21) is granted; and

2. That the Clerk is hereby directed to enter judgment in favor of Defendant and against Plaintiff, and to close the case.

DONE AND ORDERED this 28th day of October 2010.

See, e.g., Lassiter v. Children's Hosp., 2008 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 7579 (E.D. Pa. Jan. 31, 2008 (no hostile work environment where African American plaintiffs' alleged that they were routinely passed over for promotion and were subjected to greater scrutiny than Indian and white peers); Woodard v. DHB Die Casting, 255 Fed. Appx. 608 (3d Cir. 2007) (no hostile work environment where African American plaintiff was asked if he planned to execute a drug deal during a bathroom break, where "you people" was used to refer to African Americans, and where graffiti depicting a burning cross and a Ku Klux Klan sign on a bathroom wall remained posted for three months after plaintiff reported it to his employer); Boyer v. Johnson Matthey, Inc., 2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 171 at *53 (E.D. Pa., Jan. 7, 2005) (no hostile work environment where African American plaintiff was referred to as "boy" on as many as five occasions); Rose v. Woolworth Corp., 137 F. Supp. 2d 604, 608-611 (E.D. Pa. 2001) (no hostile work environment where African American plaintiff's supervisor called the black community a "baby factory," said that blacks are incapable of thinking analytically, and warned the plaintiff not to talk to white women); Morgon v. Valenti Mid-Atlantic Mgmt., 2001 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22420 (E.D. Pa., Dec. 14, 2001) (no hostile work environment where supervisor referred to the Jamaican plaintiff as a "nigger," and also said that she would prefer not to hire Jamaicans); see also Al-Salam v. Bucks County Water Sewer Auth., 1999 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 3609 at *5 (E.D. Pa., March 25, 1999) ( quoting Schwapp v. Town of Avon, 118 F.3d 106, 110-111 (2d Cir. 1997) ("for racist comments, slurs and jokes to constitute a hostile work environment, there must be more than a few isolated incidents of racial enmity, meaning that instead of sporadic racist slurs, there must be a steady barrage of opprobrious racial comments")); Drinkwater v. Union Carbide, 904 F.2d 853, 863 (3d Cir. 1990) ("hostile environment harassment claims must demonstrate a continuous period of harassment, and two comments do not [suffice]").

B. Retaliation

To establish a prima facie case of retaliation under Title VII, a plaintiff must show that (1) he engaged in protected activity; (2) the employer took an adverse employment action against him; and (3) there was a causal connection between his participation in the protected activity and the adverse employment action. Moore v. City of Phila., 461 F.3d 331, 340-41 (3d Cir. 2006).

As to the claims presented in Mr. Huggins' first Complaint, the record contains evidence that Mr. Huggins engaged in protected activity (i.e., reporting Dr. Walker's alleged comments to her supervisor, Dr. Poteat); and also that he was subjected to an adverse employment action (i.e., he was terminated, and he allegedly was not fully reinstated when his termination was reversed). However, there is insufficient evidence of causality for Mr. Huggins to succeed with his retaliation claim.

At first glance, it appears to be relevant that the investigation which led to Mr. Huggins' termination was initiated within five weeks — and possibly fewer — of Mr. Huggins' conversation with Dr. Poteat. Under certain circumstances, "temporal proximity [between a protected action and an adverse employment action may be] sufficient to create an inference of causality to defeat summary judgment." Doe v. C.A.R.S. Prot. Plus, 527 F.3d 358, 370 (3d Cir. 2008) ( citing LeBoon v. Lancaster Jewish Cmty. Ctr., 503 F.3d 217, 232-233 (3d Cir. 2007)). On the other hand, this inference is weakened here by the fact that the investigation was initiated when students told Ms. Hannum and Ms. Berger that they were afraid of Mr. Huggins — and the record contains no evidence that the students' complaint was anything but spontaneous and initiated by them, as opposed to any of the adults at the school. There is no direct evidence of causality, and it is not appropriate to infer causality on the singular basis of temporal proximity where the adverse employment action was justified objectively as a response to events that were outside the Defendants' control and where — as the Court will now discuss — there is no evidence that this justification was fabricated.

Even if Mr. Huggins had shown causation, and thus set forth a prima facie case of retaliation, he has failed to show that the legitimate reason for his termination that has been offered by the School District is pretextual. Under the familiar McDonnell Douglas analysis, after an employee has set forth a prima facie case, the burden of production shifts to the defendant employer to articulate a legitimate, non-discriminatory rationale for the employment action. Should the defendant satisfy its burden, the presumption of discriminatory action has been rebutted, and the plaintiff must then demonstrate that the defendant's stated reasons are pretextual. See Wishkin v. Potter, 476 F.3d 180, 185 (3d Cir. 2007) ( citing McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 793-94 (1973)).

Here, the School District clearly can point to a compelling, non-retaliatory reason for terminating Mr. Huggins: namely, that he was accused by students of having engaged in behavior that the School District determined to have violated sexual harassment provisions of the Public School Code. The record contains no evidence that this proffered justification is pretextual. Mr. Huggins cites the arbitrator's report as evidence that the School District's decision to terminate him was not based on just cause. However, "to discredit the employer's proffered reason . . . the plaintiff cannot simply show that the employer's decision was wrong or mistaken, since the factual dispute at issue is whether discriminatory animus motivated the employer, not whether the employer is wise, shrewd, prudent or competent." Keller v. Orix Credit Alliance, Inc., 130 F.3d 1101, 1108-1109 (3d Cir. 1997). There may be evidence in the record from which a factfinder could that the District erred (by whatever measure) in terminating Mr. Huggins, but there is no evidence suggesting that the ground on which it did so was pretextual. As a result, summary judgment will be granted as to the Title VII claim presented in Mr. Huggins' first Complaint.

Here, it is relevant that there is no evidence identifying Dr. Walker as a decision-maker with regard to Mr. Huggins' termination. See Foster v. New Castle Area Sch. Dist., 98 Fed. Appx. 85, 87-88 (3d Cir. 2004) (noting that "while discriminatory statements made by decision-makers with regard to the employment actions at issue are very strong evidence for a plaintiff, such statements made by non-decision-makers or individuals who played no part in the decision are inadequate to support an inference of discrimination"). In fact, Mr. Huggins was terminated by the Coatesville School Board (Affidavits of School Board Members, Exhibit L to the Motion for Summary Judgment as to the first Complaint).
Although Mr. Huggins identified comments by Dr. Walker which might serve as evidence of discriminatory animus, he conceded under oath that Dr. Walker was the only person who he believes discriminated against him based on his race (Huggins Depo. at 118, 280) (Q: "[Did] anybody else besides Dr. Walker [discriminate against you because of your race]? Mr. Huggins: "No." Q: "Did any school board member discriminate against you based on your race?" Mr. Huggins: "No, I don't know any school board members.") Even if Dr. Walker was involved in the decision to terminate Mr. Huggins or influenced that decision in some way — a possibility not supported by any evidence in the record — this would be insufficient to establish pretext, inasmuch as there were other decision-makers who acted independently on the basis of the proffered reason. See, e.g., Hill v. Lockheed Martin Logistics Mgmt., Inc., 354 F.3d 277, 290-91 (4th Cir. 2004) ("an employer will be liable not for the improperly motivated person who merely influences the decision, but for the person who in reality makes the decision").

Although the retaliation theory presented in Mr. Huggins' first Complaint does not survive a McDonnell Douglas analysis, the theory presented in his second Complaint has a somewhat stronger basis in the record. There is a prima facie case because the record provides evidence that Mr. Huggins engaged in a protected activity (the filing of the first Complaint); that he was subjected to adverse action (his transfer requests were denied; he was denied pay raises; and he received unwarranted poor performance reviews); and that there was a causal connection between the protected activity and the adverse employment actions.

Failure to rehire, promote, or transfer can constitute retaliation, even where an employee has no legal entitlement to be rehired, promoted or transferred. See Suppan v. Dadonna, 203 F.3d 228, 234 (3d Cir. 2000) (regarding First Amendment retaliation).

The evidence of causality is the statement that Mr. Huggins attributes to Mr. Como, via Mr. Quinones, that Mr. Huggins would only be transferred to Gordon as requested if he would drop his first case. This statement also allows Mr. Huggins to satisfy, for present purposes, his McDonnell Douglas burden of production, since the statement is evidence from which the finder of fact could reasonably decide that the School District's stated reason for denying Mr. Huggins' transfer back to Gordon (namely, that there were no available slots there) is merely a cover for what is actually an effort by a decision-maker to coerce him into dropping his case.

Both Mr. Como's alleged statement to Mr. Quinones and Mr. Quinones' statement to Mr. Huggins are admissible as admissions of a party opponent. Statements made by a defendant's agents or servants within the scope of employment are not hearsay. Fed.R.Evid. 801(d)(2). There is sufficient basis in the record to invoke this Rule as to this alleged statement.

In Section III, infra, the Court will discuss whether Mr. Huggins exhausted all of his administrative remedies with regard to this Title VII claim.

II. PHRA Claims Against the School District and Dr. Walker

In his first Complaint, Mr. Huggins presents a PHRA claim against the School District and Dr. Walker; in the second, he presents a PHRA claim against the School District. These claims mirror Mr. Huggins' Title VII claims. Because the PHRA is interpreted in accord with its federal counterparts, see Rinehimer v. Cemcolift, Inc., 292 F.3d 375 (3d Cir. 2002), the Court's analysis in Section I, supra, is equally applicable here. See, e.g., Weston v. Pennsylvania Dep't of Corrections, 251 F.3d 420, 426 n. 3 (3d Cir. 2001) ( citing Smith v. Pathmark Stores, Inc., 1998 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 8631 (E.D. Pa. June 11, 1998); Clark v. Pennsylvania, 885 F. Supp. 694, 714 (E.D. Pa. 1995)).

The sole significant difference is that Mr. Huggins' first Complaint only presents a Title VII claim against the School District, but presents PHRA claims against the District and Dr. Walker. However, for the same reasons that the record does not support a hostile work environment or retaliation claim against the District under the theory presented in the first Complaint, the record does not support any such claims against Dr. Walker.

As a result, summary judgment will be granted as to the PRHA claim presented in Mr. Huggins' first Complaint. The resolution of the motion as to the PHRA claim from the second Complaint is discussed in Section III, infra.

III. Title VII and PHRA: Exhaustion of Administrative Remedies

As discussed above, the factual record does not support Mr. Huggins' hostile work environment claims or the retaliation claim set forth in the first Complaint, but a finder of fact could rationally determine — based on the statement of Mr. Como, via Mr. Quinones — that the School District's refusal to transfer Mr. Huggins back to Gordon was retaliatory. However, Mr. Huggins never filed an administrative complaint with regard to the claims set forth in his second Complaint, and therefore failed to exhaust his administrative remedies before filing suit.

A plaintiff bringing an employment discrimination claim under Title VII must comply with procedural requirements set forth in 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5. Before filing suit, a plaintiff must exhaust his administrative remedies by filing a timely discrimination charge with the federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC"). Id. §§ 2000e-5(b), (e)(1), (f)(1). The EEOC will then investigate the charge, and the plaintiff must wait until the EEOC issues a right-to-sue letter before he can initiate a private action. Burgh v. Borough Council, 251 F.3d 465, 470 (3d Cir. 2001). The ensuing suit is limited to claims within the scope of the initial administrative charge. Antol v. Perry, 82 F.3d 1291, 1296 (3d Cir. 1996). "The purpose of requiring exhaustion is to afford the EEOC the opportunity to settle disputes through conference, conciliation, and persuasion, avoiding unnecessary action in court." Id.

Otherwise, the charging party could greatly expand an investigation simply by alleging new and different facts when he was contacted by the Commission following his charge. See Hicks v. ABT Associates, Inc., 572 F.2d 960, 967 (3d Cir. 1978).

A communication with the EEOC in or reduced to writing, including an intake questionnaire, may constitute a charge if it is "of a kind that would convince a reasonable person that the grievant has manifested an intent to activate the Act's machinery." Bihler v. Singer Co., 710 F.2d 96, 99 (3d Cir. 1983). A communication with the EEOC will not constitute a charge if the EEOC advises a grievant that he must provide further information and then get back in touch with the agency to complete a formal charge and commence an investigation. See Michaelson v. Exxon Research and Engineering Co., 808 F.2d 1005, 1010 (3d Cir. 1987).

In this case, as to the Title VII and PHRC claims presented in the second Complaint, Mr. Huggins does not dispute that he failed to file an administrative complaint with either the EEOC or its state equivalent, the Pennsylvania Human Relations Commission ("PHRC"). Instead, he argues that because he filed a claim with the PHRC before filing the first Complaint (PHRC Case No. 200504470 and EEOC No. 17F200660933), and placed the PHRC on notice of later acts of retaliation via letter, it would have been legally futile for him to file an additional claim regarding the new incidents alleged in the second Complaint — this, despite the fact that the first PHRC case was officially closed as soon as the first Complaint was filed.

There is no evidence in the record to suggest that Mr. Huggins would have been unable to exhaust his administrative remedies with regard to the allegations in the second Complaint. Indeed, in a letter dated April 13, 2009, the PHRC actually informed Mr. Huggins that while he had missed the 80-day deadline for filing a claim with the PHRC, he would still be able to file with the EEOC, which has a 300-day deadline. By that point, however, Mr. Huggins had already filed his second Complaint.

"In order to invoke the futility exception to exhaustion, a party must `provide a clear and positive showing' of futility before the District Court." Wilson v. MVM, Inc., 475 F.3d 166, 176 (3d Cir. 2007) ( quoting D'Amico v. CBS Corp., 297 F.3d 287, 293 (3d Cir. 2002)).

Given that Mr. Huggins failed to exhaust his administrative remedies regarding the Title VII and PHRA claims presented in his second Complaint before filing that Complaint, summary judgment will be granted as to each of these claims.

IV. Section 1983 Claims Against Dr. Walker, Mr. Como and Mr. Quinones

In the first Complaint, Mr. Huggins alleges a § 1983 violation by Dr. Walker. In the second Complaint, he alleges § 1983 violations by Mr. Como and Mr. Quinones. Each of these claims suffers from the same deficiency: the factual record does not show that Mr. Huggins was treated differently than others who were similarly situated.

A. Dr. Walker

To prevail on a § 1983 claim for a denial of equal protection, a plaintiff must at minimum show that the treatment he received was different from that received by others who were similarly situated. Andrews v. City of Philadelphia, 895 F.2d 1469, 1478 (3d Cir. 1990) (internal quotations and citations omitted). It is not enough for a plaintiff to allege generally that a defendant's conduct deprived him of his civil rights in violation of the Equal Protection Clause. Oberle v. City of Duquesne, 2008 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 32076 at *11-12 (W.D. Pa. 2008) ( citing Phillips v. County of Allegheny, 515 F.3d 224, 245 (3d Cir. 2008) ("general accusations and the invocation of the Equal Protection Clause are not enough" to prevail on a § 1983 claim).

In this case, there is no evidence in the record that Dr. Walker treated Mr. Huggins differently from other similarly-situated employees. There is, of course, evidence that Dr. Walker made two racially insensitive remarks to Mr. Huggins, but this fact alone is not enough to show disparate treatment. In Pollack v. City of Phila., 2007 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 11624 (E.D.Pa. 2007), the Court evaluated a § 1983 claim brought by a former police officer who claimed that his supervisor subjected him to "continual" racial abuse. The Court found that the plaintiff had failed to state a claim because "although plaintiff has alleged that he was subject to harassment on the basis of his race, he has failed to allege that he was treated in any way differently than any other individuals, a requirement for pleading an equal protection claim." Id. at *11-12 ( citing Keefer v. Durkos, 371 F. Supp. 2d 686, 696-97 (W.D. Pa. 2005)).

Mr. Huggins' first Complaint does allege disparate treatment, but it does not attribute this to Dr. Walker. Paragraph 40 alleges that after his termination was reversed, Mr. Huggins was "reinstated back to work at a different school [i.e., not Gordon, where Dr. Walker was principal] . . . and was given more work than his white male co-workers." In Mr. Huggins' deposition, he stated that work assignments at his new school were handled by Mr. Quinones and only Mr. Quinones (Huggins Depo. at 278-279).

See also Nichelson v. Redwine, 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 15654 (E.D. Pa. October 26, 2000) ("without averments of facts alleging a similarly situated person, how that person was treated differently, and how the different treatment intentionally lacked a rational basis, a complaint states no violation of equal protection") ( citing Artway v. Attorney General of N.J., 81 F.3d 1235, 1267 (3d Cir. 1996)); Merrick v. Farmers Ins. Group, 892 F.2d 1434, 1438 (9th Cir. 1990) (although "comments suggesting that the employer may have considered impermissible factors are clearly relevant to a disparate treatment claim . . . `stray' remarks are insufficient to establish discrimination").

This case is analogous. Dr. Walker's comments to Mr. Huggins do not provide the basis for a § 1983 claim, and the record contains no other evidence that she subjected Mr. Huggins to disparate treatment. In light of this, the Court will grant summary judgment as to the § 1983 claim set forth in the first Complaint, and will not reach the issue of qualified immunity.

To the extent that Mr. Huggins might be presenting a hostile work environment claim under § 1983, the Court's analysis of that issue with regard to Title VII is applicable here. See, e.g., McPhaul v. Bd. of Comm'rs of Madison County, 226 F.3d 558, 567 (7th Cir. 2000) ("because § 1983 claims generally follow the contours of Title VII claims, we will apply the same hostile environment that is applied in Title VII cases").

B. Mr. Como and Mr. Quinones

The basis of Mr. Huggins' claims against Mr. Como and Mr. Quinones in the second Complaint is that they retaliated against him after he filed the first Complaint. Most notably, he claims that they refused to transfer him back to Gordon, and says that Mr. Como conditioned his potential transfer back to Gordon on his dropping the first Complaint. Mr. Huggins also claims that he was denied pay increases after his termination was reversed and had been reinstated.

However, the record again provides no evidence of disparate treatment because it contains no evidence that Mr. Huggins was treated differently than similarly-situated employees. When asked during his deposition whether he knew of any other custodian who had requested or received or been denied a transfer, Mr. Huggins said that he did not (Huggins Depo. at 221-222). And when asked whether he knew if any of his co-workers had received pay raises, he gave the same answer (Huggins Depo. at 263).

Mr. Huggins did submit an affidavit in which he asserted that "on or about April 12, 2007, I was working with Jerry and Amos (white males) and was given more work assignments than my co-workers." However, the fact that Mr. Huggins may have been assigned more work than two white co-workers on a single occasion cannot — as a matter of logic or law — provide the basis for a Section 1983 disparate treatment claim. Mr. Huggins' vague claims of having been subjected to greater scrutiny than co-workers are similarly insufficient in this context.

Huggins Affidavit of June 29, 2007, attached as Exhibit I to Plaintiff's Response in Opposition to the Motion for Summary Judgment as to the second Complaint.

See Johnson v. Cambridge Indus., Inc., 325 F.3d 892, 901 (7th Cir. 2003) ("harder work assignments do not constitute an adverse employment action"); Young v. Rogers Wells LLP, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 21541 (S.D.N.Y. Nov. 06, 2002) ("giving an employee more work . . . is not an adverse employment action"); cf. Avillan v. Potter, 2006 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 80062 (S.D.N.Y. Nov. 1, 2006) (plaintiff demonstrated adverse employment action where he was given more work than other employees "quite often").

Mr. Huggins asserts that on one occasion, Mr. Quinones took pictures of projects that he had failed to complete. "It is well-settled that being closely supervised or `watched' [by a supervisor] does not constitute an adverse employment action. . . ." Green v. Port Auth. of N.Y. N.J., 2009 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 100871 (D.N.J. October 29, 2009) ( citing McKinnon v. Gonzales, 642 F. Supp. 2d 410 (D.N.J. July 24, 2009)).

The Court will grant summary judgment as to the § 1983 claim set forth in the second Complaint, and will not reach the issue of qualified immunity.

CONCLUSION

The Defendants' Motions for Summary Judgment are granted in their entirety. The School District and Dr. Walker are entitled to summary judgment as to the Title VII and PHRA claims presented in the first Complaint because the evidence in the record does not support a hostile work environment theory, and there is no evidence that the School District's proffered reason for terminating Mr. Huggins was pretextual. Dr. Walker is entitled to summary judgment as to the Section 1983 claim in that case because there is no evidence of disparate treatment.

The School District is entitled to summary judgment as to the Title VII and PHRA claims presented in the second Complaint because Mr. Huggins failed to exhaust his administrative remedies before filing suit. Messrs. Como and Quinones are entitled to summary judgment as to the Section 1983 claim in that case because there is no evidence of disparate treatment.

An order to this effect follows.