Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

GRUOL CONSTR. v. INSURANCE CO

The Court of Appeals of Washington, Division One.
Jul 15, 1974
Important Paras
Please sign up to view Important Paras.
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

Gruol Construction Company, Inc., engaged in construction since 1946, built an apartment building in 1963. After completion, the building was sold to Donovan in January 1964 under an agreement requiring the building to be completed in a workmanlike manner. In 1968, Donovan sued Gruol for damages caused by dry rot to the building's foundation, which resulted from defective backfilling during construction. Gruol tendered the defense to three insurance carriers covering successive policy periods: Safeco (1962–Feb 1965), Insurance Company of North America (INA) (Feb 1965–Feb 1966), and Northwestern Mutual (Feb 1966–Feb 1968). All insurers refused to defend. Gruol settled with Donovan and then sued the insurers for breach of contract. The trial court found all three insurers jointly and severally liable for $15,212.30. INA and Northwestern Mutual appealed.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the dry rot damage constituted an "accident" or "occurrence" under the insurance policies, given that the damage was a continuing and worsening condition originating prior to some policy periods.
  2. Whether exclusionary clauses in the INA and Northwestern Mutual policies barred coverage for damage arising from defective work or property "out of which" the accident arose.
  3. Whether the insurers are jointly and severally liable for the damages or if liability must be apportioned among them based on the time each policy was in effect.
  4. Whether the insurers' refusal to defend was proper based on the sufficiency of the complaint to state a claim within the insurance coverage.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellants' Arguments (INA and Northwestern Mutual)

  • The dry rot damage was not covered because it was not an "accident" or "occurrence" under the policies, relying on precedent distinguishing expected damage from accidents.
  • The exclusionary clauses in their policies barred coverage for damage to defective work or property "out of which" the accident arose.
  • The burden was on Gruol to prove the amount of damage attributable to each insurer’s policy period, and the court erred in imposing joint and several liability.
  • The complaint did not adequately apprise them of the basis of the claim, justifying their refusal to defend.

Respondents' Arguments (Gruol Construction Company, Inc. et al.)

  • The dry rot damage constituted a continuing "accident" or "occurrence" covered by the insurance policies.
  • The exclusionary clauses apply only to defective work itself, not to damage caused to other property by that defective work.
  • The burden of apportionment lies with the insurers, and the damage was a single continuous injury warranting joint and several liability.
  • The complaint sufficiently stated a cause of action within the insurance contracts, obligating the insurers to defend.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Truck Ins. Exch. v. Rohde, 49 Wn.2d 465 (1956) Definition of "accident" and "occurrence" as synonymous terms covering unintended and unforeseen events. Supported the finding that dry rot damage was an "accident" or "occurrence" under the insurance policies.
Viking Automatic Sprinkler Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co., 19 Wn.2d 294 (1943) Further clarification of "accident" and "occurrence" definitions. Reinforced the interpretation of coverage terms consistent with Truck Ins. Exch.
Tieton v. General Ins. Co. of America, 61 Wn.2d 716 (1963) Distinguishing expected damage from an "accident" for coverage purposes. Distinguished on facts; here, dry rot damage was unexpected unlike contamination in Tieton.
Travelers v. Humming Bird Coal Co., 371 S.W.2d 35 (Ky. Ct. App. 1963) Recognition that an "accident" may be a continuing process rather than a single event. Supported coverage for continuous damage occurring over multiple policy periods.
McGroarty v. Great Am. Ins. Co., 43 App. Div.2d 368 (1974) Ensuing result may be an accident despite lapse of time from initial negligent act. Reinforced coverage for continuing damage despite initial act occurring under earlier policy.
Kimball v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., 190 Neb. 152 (1973) Similar principle regarding continuing damage and coverage. Supported the court's ruling on continuous coverage.
Liberty Bldg. Co. v. Royal Indem. Co., 177 Cal.App.2d 583 (1960) Construction of exclusion clauses limiting coverage for defective work but allowing coverage for damage to other property. Guided interpretation of exclusion clauses to exclude coverage only for replacement of defective work, not resulting property damage.
S.L. Rowland Constr. Co. v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., 72 Wn.2d 682 (1967) Similar interpretation of exclusion clauses in insurance policies. Supported court's conclusion on exclusion clause application.
Kuhn v. Grant County, 201 Kan. 163 (1968) Burden of apportionment on insurers for continuing damage under multiple policies. Supported imposition of joint and several liability on insurers.
Royal Globe Ins. Co. v. Industrial Accident Comm'n, 63 Cal.2d 60 (1965) Apportionment and liability principles for continuing injuries under insurance policies. Supported joint and several liability finding.
Fireman's Fund Indem. Co. v. Industrial Accident Comm'n, 39 Cal.2d 831 (1952) Similar principles regarding insurance coverage and liability apportionment. Reinforced court’s ruling on liability.
Fugere v. Pierce, 5 Wn. App. 592 (1971) Recognition of continuing damage as a single injury for liability purposes. Supported joint and several liability for continuous damage.
Bosko v. Pitts Still, Inc., 75 Wn.2d 856 (1969) Requirements for complaint to state a claim within insurance coverage. Supported finding that complaint adequately apprised insurers of coverage basis.
Northern Pac. Ry. v. National Cylinder Gas Div., 2 Wn. App. 338 (1970) Similar to Bosko regarding sufficiency of complaint. Supported court’s rejection of appellants’ refusal to defend.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court first addressed whether the dry rot damage qualified as an "accident" or "occurrence" under the insurance policies. Relying on prior Washington precedent, it found the terms synonymous and inclusive of continuous or repeated exposure to conditions causing injury unexpectedly and unintentionally. The court concluded that the dry rot was an unexpected and undesigned injury, supported by testimony that Gruol had no knowledge of the defective backfilling until discovery in 1968.

The court rejected appellants’ reliance on Tieton, distinguishing it on the basis that in this case the damage was unforeseen, unlike the expected contamination in Tieton. The court then considered whether coverage extended to all insurers providing coverage during the continuing damage period. It adopted the view that an "accident" may be a continuing process, not a single isolated event, thus justifying coverage by all insurers whose policies covered any part of the damage period.

Regarding the exclusionary clauses, the court followed California precedent interpreting similar language to exclude coverage only for defective work itself, not for damage caused to other property by that defective work. Thus, the insurers were not liable for repairing defective backfilling but were liable for damage to other parts of the property caused by it.

On the issue of liability apportionment, the court held that the burden rests on the insurers to apportion liability for a continuing injury covered by multiple policies. The damage was a single injury, justifying joint and several liability of the insurers.

Finally, the court found the complaint sufficiently stated a cause of action within the insurance contracts, making the insurers’ refusal to defend improper.

Holding and Implications

The Court of Appeals of Washington, Division One, affirmed the trial court’s judgment.

The court held that the dry rot damage constituted a continuing "occurrence" covered by the insurance policies of all three carriers during their respective policy periods. The exclusionary clauses did not bar coverage for damage to other property caused by defective work. The insurers were jointly and severally liable for the damages, and their refusal to defend was improper because the complaint adequately stated a claim within the insurance coverage.

The direct effect is that the appellants (INA and Northwestern Mutual) remain liable jointly and severally with Safeco for the damages awarded to Gruol. No new precedent was established beyond the application of existing legal principles to the facts of this case.

Show all summary ...

[1] Insurance — "Occurrence" — Continuing Damage. An insurance policy which covers an "occurrence," which it defines in such manner as to include a condition causing continuing and worsening injury, applies during its policy period to such a continuing condition even though the negligent event giving rise to the condition occurred prior to the effective date of the policy.

[2] Insurance — Exclusions — Property Out of Which Accident Arises. An exclusionary clause relating to goods or property "out of which" an accident or occurrence arises, excludes coverage only for defective items which are the cause of damage to other property.

[3] Insurance — Multiple Coverage — Apportionment — Burden. The burden is upon consecutive insurers to apportion liability for a single injury which continues during, and falls within, the coverage of their policies. [See 44 Am.Jur.2d, Insurance § 1807 et seq.]

Affirmed.

Action on insurance policies. The defendants appeal from a judgment in favor of the plaintiffs.

FARRIS, J.

Insurance Company of North America and Northwestern Mutual Insurance Company appeal from the trial court's finding that each of them is jointly and severally liable to Gruol Construction Company, Inc., and Kenneth R. Gruol and Carol Gruol, his wife, for damages caused by dry rot to the foundation of an apartment building.

Gruol entered the construction business in 1946 and since that time has engaged in both residential and commercial construction. In 1963 he built the apartment building in question. In December 1963, he entered into an earnest money agreement for the sale of the building to one Donovan; the sale was concluded in January 1964, after construction of the building was complete. The earnest money agreement provided:

Builder agrees to complete the building in a workmanlike manner and according to architect and City Building Department approved plans and specifications.

In 1968, Donovan sued Gruol for damage to the building caused by dry rot which resulted from dirt having been piled against the box sills of the building by backfilling during construction. Gruol tendered the defense to his insurance carriers (Safeco covered 1962-February 1965; Insurance Company of North America covered February 1965-February 1966; and Northwestern Mutual covered February 1966-February 1968). All three refused to defend. Gruol settled the claim with Donovan and brought action against all three insurance carriers for breach of contract. The trial court entered judgment against the three, finding them jointly and severally liable in the amount of $15,212.30. INA and Northwestern Mutual appeal; we affirm.

In entering judgment for Gruol, the trial court found that (1) the dry rot was an "accident" or "occurrence" since it was a condition which unexpectedly and unintentionally caused injury, and (2) that the injury and damage was a continuing process until its discovery in 1968. Accordingly, the trial court found that the insurance policies of all three carriers covered the injury and damage and that each had breached its contract when it declined to defend the suit by Donovan against Gruol.

The initial question is whether the dry rot was an "accident" or "occurrence" under the provisions of the insurance contracts. The Safeco policy provided coverage for "accidents" and except for the first 6 months of the coverage of the INA policy wherein "accident" was the term used, both INA and Northwestern Mutual provided coverage for damages due to an "occurrence." The term "accident" is not defined in the policies; however, the INA policy defined "occurrence" as

either an accident happening during the policy period or a continuous or repeated exposure to conditions which unexpectedly and unintentionally causes injury to or destruction of property during the policy period.

Northwestern defined "occurrence" as

an event, or a continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general conditions, which causes . . . property damage during the policy period resulting from acts or omissions by the Insured which would not be intended nor, with reasonable certainty, be expected by the Insured to produce injury. All injury or damage arising out of such exposure to substantially the same general conditions shall be considered as arising out of one occurrence.

Both terms were defined by the court in Truck Ins. Exch. v. Rohde, 49 Wn.2d 465, 469, 303 P.2d 659, 55 A.L.R.2d 1288 (1956):

An accident is ". . . an undesigned and unforeseen occurrence of an afflictive or unfortunate character; . . ."
An occurrence is "Any incident or event, esp. one that happens without being designed or expected; . . ."
. . . However, in our opinion and for the purposes of this case, the terms, "accident" and "occurrence," are synonymous.
See also Viking Automatic Sprinkler Co. v. Pacific Indem. Co., 19 Wn.2d 294, 142 P.2d 394 (1943); Annot., 7 A.L.R.3d 1262 (1966). We find substantial evidence to support the trial court's finding that the dry rot came within the definition of "accident" and "occurrence" as used in the contracts of insurance. The record reflects testimony of Gruol that he had no knowledge of the defective backfilling or concrete work until its discovery in 1968; that the defective condition was not observable after a concrete cap was put over the dirt and after completion of the building; and that the damage caused by dry rot was not foreseeable.

There is a significant difference in the facts here and the facts in Tieton v. General Ins. Co. of America, 61 Wn.2d 716, 380 P.2d 127 (1963) upon which the appellants rely. In Tieton, the municipality constructed a sewage installation with knowledge that a private well on adjacent property might be contaminated. The damage which resulted when the possibility of contamination became a reality was not unusual, unexpected or unforeseen and, therefore, not an "accident." Had the trial court found that Gruol knew about the defective backfilling and its possible result, the parallel could properly be drawn. See McGroarty v. Great Am. Ins. Co., 43 App. Div.2d 368, 351 N.Y.S.2d 428 (1974); Kimball v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., 190 Neb. 152, 206 N.W.2d 632 (1973). We recognize that dry rot is the expected result when moisture is introduced to dirt which is too close to wood but the fact that the condition (defective backfilling) was not detected during construction supports the finding that the dry rot which resulted from the unknown condition was unexpected. It cannot be disputed that it was undesigned.

[1] The question then becomes which insurer covered the damage — the insurer at the time of the defective backfilling, at the time of the discovery of the dry rot, or all insurers providing coverage during the total time period of the undiscovered condition which progressively worsened. The answer is determined by a consideration of whether the term "accident" or "occurrence" as used in the policy must of necessity be a single isolated event or whether it can be a continuing condition or process. The question is not a novel one:

The accident mentioned in the policy need not be a blow but may be a process. It is not required that the injury be the result of some contact with the bulldozer or the shelf or a rock hurled over from the shelf. It is not required to be sudden like an Alpine avalanche . . . A glacier moves slowly but inevitably.
Travelers v. Humming Bird Coal Co., 371 S.W.2d 35, 38 (Ky. Ct. App. 1963). In McGroarty v. Great Am. Ins. Co., supra at ___, the court recognized that under certain circumstances an "ensuing result may truly be termed an accident, even though there is a lapse of time between the initial negligent act and the occurrence of the ultimate damage . . ." See also Kimball v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., supra. Here, the resulting damage was continuous; coverage was properly imposed under the language of the policy on INA and Northwestern Mutual even though the initial negligent act (the defective backfilling) took place within the period of Safeco's policy coverage.

[2] INA and Northwestern Mutual argue, however, that even if there was an "accident" or "occurrence" there was no coverage because of exclusionary language in each contract of insurance. INA relies upon exclusion (j)(4) of its policy which provides that the policy does not apply

under Coverage C, to injury to or destruction of . . . (4) any goods, products or containers thereof manufactured, sold, handled or distributed or premises alienated by the named Insured, or work completed by or for the named Insured, out of which the accident arises.

Northwestern Mutual relies upon exclusion (d)(4) of its policy which provides:

This policy does not apply: . . . (d) to property damage: . . . (4) to any goods, products or containers thereof manufactured, sold, handled or distributed or premises alienated by the named Insured, or work completed by or for the named Insured, out of which the occurrence arises.

The issue was resolved in Liberty Bldg. Co. v. Royal Indem. Co., 177 Cal.App.2d 583, 587, 346 P.2d 444, 2 Cal. Rptr. 329 (1960), where the court in construing a similar exclusion held:

This Exclusion means that if the insured becomes liable to replace or repair any "goods or products" or "premises alienated" or "work completed" after the same has caused an accident because of a defective condition, the cost of such replacement or repair is not recoverable under the policy. However, if the accident also caused damage to some other property or caused personal injury, the insured's liability for such damage or injury becomes a liability of the insurer under the policy, and is not excluded.
See also S.L. Rowland Constr. Co. v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., 72 Wn.2d 682, 434 P.2d 725 (1967). We agree with the trial court's conclusion in light of the decision in Liberty Bldg. Co. v. Royal Indem. Co., supra. The language of the exclusionary clauses refers only to the defective backfilling; there is, therefore, no coverage for the replacement of the defective backfilling but there is coverage for damage which resulted from the defective work. See S.L. Rowland Constr. Co. v. St. Paul Fire Marine Ins. Co., supra. [3] Both INA and Northwestern Mutual argue that the court erred in finding them jointly and severally liable. They assert that Gruol had the burden of proving the amount of damage that occurred within the time limits of each policy. We disagree. In a dispute between an insured who has sustained damages of a continuing nature, and the insurance carriers providing coverage, the burden of apportionment is on the carriers. The question turns upon whether the damage is joint or several. Here, the trial court properly found joint and several liability. See Kuhn v. Grant County, 201 Kan. 163, 439 P.2d 155 (1968); Royal Globe Ins. Co. v. Industrial Accident Comm'n, 63 Cal.2d 60, 403 P.2d 129, 45 Cal.Rptr. 1 (1965); Fireman's Fund Indem. Co. v. Industrial Accident Comm'n, 39 Cal.2d 831, 250 P.2d 148 (1952); 11 G. Couch, Insurance §§ 44:190, 44:191 (2d ed. R. Anderson 1963). The damage, though continuing over a period of time, constituted a single injury. See Fugere v. Pierce, 5 Wn. App. 592, 490 P.2d 132 (1971).

Finally, appellants argue that their refusal to defend was proper in any event, because the complaint failed to apprise them of the basis of the claim. We find that the complaint adequately stated a cause of action within the contract of insurance. See Bosko v. Pitts Still, Inc., 75 Wn.2d 856, 454 P.2d 229 (1969); Northern Pac. Ry. v. National Cylinder Gas Div., 2 Wn. App. 338, 467 P.2d 884 (1970).

Affirmed.

JAMES and CALLOW, JJ., concur.

Petition for rehearing denied October 8, 1974.

Review denied by Supreme Court December 16, 1974.