Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

IN RE CHAVEZ ESTATE

Michigan Court of Appeals.
Jul 19, 1983
Important Paras
Please sign up to view Important Paras.
Smart Summary (Beta)

Summary of Opinion: In re Chavez Estate, Docket No. 64199 (Mich. Ct. App. July 19, 1983)

Factual and Procedural Background

The Michigan Department of Social Services (the department) appealed as of right from an order of the Eaton County Probate Court that denied, in part, the department's claim against the estate of Carole Chavez. The undisputed factual history is as follows:

  • Mrs. Chavez was admitted to the University of Michigan Hospital in early 1980.
  • An application for Medicaid assistance was filed on her behalf with the department on May 10, 1980, and the application was approved.
  • The department paid benefits totaling $37,929.92 to cover Mrs. Chavez's medical expenses prior to her death on June 30, 1981.
  • After her death it was discovered that Mrs. Chavez owned corporate stock valued in excess of $25,000; had this asset been disclosed at application, the department would have denied the application.
  • The department filed a claim against the estate seeking recovery of the full amount paid. The probate court awarded only $25,469.57 to the department, basing its determination on statutory exemptions governing marketable liquid assets (MCL 400.106; MSA 16.490(16)).

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the department is entitled under § 60 of the Social Welfare Act (MCL 400.60; MSA 16.460) to recover the full amount of benefits paid where the recipient possessed assets in excess of the eligibility maximum throughout the entire period during which benefits were paid.
  2. Whether recovery is limited under the statute (and related eligibility provisions) to the amount the recipient would have been required to exhaust prior to becoming eligible, as the probate court held.

Arguments of the Parties

Department's (Appellant's) Arguments

  • The department argued that because Mrs. Chavez possessed assets exceeding the eligibility maximum for the entire period benefits were paid, she was never lawfully entitled to any benefits and therefore the department could recover the entire amount paid pursuant to § 60 of the Social Welfare Act.

Estate's (Appellee's) Arguments

  • The appellee contended that the Legislature's use of more specific language in another provision of the statute (addressing fraud) creates ambiguity in the meaning of § 60, implying that § 60 should not be read to permit recovery of the entire amount in the situation presented.
  • The appellee relied on authority (cited in the opinion) to support the contention that the more specific statutory language elsewhere should affect interpretation of § 60.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Dussia v Monroe County Employees Retirement System, 386 Mich. 244, 191 N.W.2d 307 (1971) The principle that when a statute is clear and unambiguous on its face, it must be enforced as written. The court invoked this rule to justify reading § 60 according to its plain language and enforcing the statutory formula for recovery without importing other considerations not stated in § 60.
Bannan v City of Saginaw, 120 Mich. App. 307, 328 N.W.2d 35 (1982) Cited by appellee to support the argument that specific statutory language elsewhere can bear on the interpretation of a different provision. The court considered appellee's reliance on this authority but found the appellee's argument unpersuasive and did not allow that citation to alter the plain meaning of § 60.
Detroit Automobile Inter-Ins Exchange v McMillan, 97 Mich. App. 687, 296 N.W.2d 147 (1980) Principle that issues not properly presented by cross-appeal will not be addressed on appeal. The court relied on this procedural rule to decline consideration of issues raised by appellee for which no cross-appeal had been filed.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court's analysis proceeded from the text of § 60 of the Social Welfare Act (MCL 400.60; MSA 16.460), which authorizes recovery of "the difference between the lawful amount of assistance or aid and the amount of assistance or aid actually received" where assistance was obtained by fraud or similar devices, and permits administrative recovery when prosecution is deemed unnecessary.

Applying the statutory text and the instruction from Dussia that clear and unambiguous statutes are to be enforced as written, the court concluded that § 60 must be read according to its plain language. The court observed that Mrs. Chavez possessed assets exceeding the eligibility maximum during the entire period she received benefits; therefore, she was never lawfully entitled to any benefits. Under the straight reading of § 60, the "lawful amount" of assistance in that circumstance is zero, so the "difference between the lawful amount" and the amount actually received equals the total amount paid.

The court addressed appellee's contention that another statutory provision (MCL 400.612; MSA 16.614(12))—which requires full repayment and permits treble damages when fraud is proven—creates ambiguity in § 60. The court distinguished the two provisions: where fraud is established, the separate fraud provision explicitly requires full repayment regardless of later eligibility; where fraud is not shown, § 60 governs and permits recovery only of amounts paid during periods of ineligibility. The court gave an illustrative hypothetical consistent with its reading: if an applicant possessed excessive assets initially but those assets dropped below the eligibility maximum during the period benefits were being paid, § 60 would permit recovery only for the period of actual ineligibility (the period prior to the asset drop), and benefits paid thereafter would be lawful.

Because Mrs. Chavez remained over the eligibility maximum throughout the entire benefit period, the court concluded that none of the benefits paid were lawful and that § 60 authorized recovery of the entire sum paid. The court also noted it would not address additional issues raised by appellee because appellee did not file a cross-appeal.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The probate court's decision was reversed and the case was remanded for proceedings consistent with the opinion. The court held that, under § 60 of the Social Welfare Act, the department was entitled to recover the full amount of benefits paid to Mrs. Chavez because she possessed assets in excess of the eligibility maximum for the entire period during which benefits were paid (i.e., none of the assistance paid was lawful).

Implications:

  • The direct effect of this decision is to permit the department to seek recovery of the entire $37,929.92 paid for Mrs. Chavez's medical expenses (the probate court had allowed only $25,469.57).
  • The court's interpretation distinguishes recovery under § 60 (which depends on the lawful amount of assistance given the applicant's eligibility status during the relevant period) from statutory remedies tied to proven fraud (which expressly authorize full repayment and additional damages). The opinion does not purport to establish a broader precedent beyond the statutory interpretation applied to the facts here.
  • The court ordered no costs, stating that an interpretation of a statute was involved.

This summary is based exclusively on the text of the provided opinion.

Show all summary ...

DANHOF, C.J.

The Michigan Department of Social Services (department) appeals as of right from an order of the Eaton County Probate Court denying, in part, its claim against the estate of Carole Chavez.

The facts in this case are not in dispute. Mrs. Chavez was admitted to the University of Michigan Hospital in Ann Arbor in early 1980. An application for Medicaid assistance was filed on her behalf with the department on May 10, 1980. The application was approved and the department paid benefits in the amount of $37,929.92 to cover the cost of Mrs. Chavez's medical expenses prior to her death on June 30, 1981.

After Mrs. Chavez died, it was discovered that she was the sole owner of corporate stock valued in excess of $25,000. It is undisputed that the department would have denied Mrs. Chavez's claim if the existence of such stock had been made known to the department at the time the application for assistance was filed. The department filed a claim against the estate seeking to recover the entire amount it had paid. The probate court ruled that the department was only entitled to recover $25,469.57. It based its determination on the eligibility exemptions contained in MCL 400.106; MSA 16.490(16), which permit an applicant to retain marketable liquid assets of not more than $1,500 ($2,000 for a two-person family) and which exempts from consideration the following in computing the value of marketable liquid assets:

"Excluded in making the determination of the value of liquid or marketable assets are the values of: the homestead, clothing and household effects, $1,000.00 of cash surrender value of life insurance, except if the health of the insured is such as to make continuance of the insurance desirable, the entire cash surrender value of life insurance is to be excluded from consideration, up to the maximums provided or allowed by federal regulations and in accordance with the rules of the state department, the fair market value of tangible personal property used in earning income, and a space or plot purchased for the purposes of burial for the person." MCL 400.106(1)(b)(iv); MSA 16.490(16)(1)(b)(iv).

The court ruled that the department was only entitled to recover the amount that Mrs. Chavez would have been required to exhaust prior to becoming eligible to receive benefits. The department, on the other hand, claims that since Mrs. Chavez was possessed of assets which exceeded the eligibility maximum during the entire period that she received benefits, she was not entitled to receive any benefits and the department was entitled to recover the entire amount paid.

The department sought recovery pursuant to § 60 of the Social Welfare Act, MCL 400.1 et seq.; MSA 16.401 et seq., which provides in part:

"(1) Any person who by means of wilful false statement or representation or by impersonation or other fraudulent device obtains or attempts to obtain, or aids or abets any person to obtain (a) assistance or relief to which he is not entitled; or (b) a larger amount of assistance or relief than that to which he is justly entitled * * * shall, if the amount involved shall be of the value of $500.00 or less, be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall, if the amount involved shall be of the value of more than $500.00, be deemed guilty of a felony, and upon conviction shall be punished as provided by the laws of this state. The amount involved as used in this subsection shall be defined as the difference between the lawful amount of assistance or aid and the amount of assistance or aid actually received. If anyone receives assistance or relief through means enumerated in this section, in which prosecution is deemed unnecessary, the state department or county departments may take the necessary steps to recover from the recipient the amount involved, plus interest at 5% per annum." MCL 400.60; MSA 16.460.

It is well-established that where a statute is clear and unambiguous on its face, it is to be enforced as written. Dussia v Monroe County Employees Retirement System, 386 Mich. 244, 249; 191 N.W.2d 307 (1971). We believe that the probate court's interpretation of § 60 ignores the plain language of the statute. Section 60 permits the department to recover "the difference between the lawful amount of assistance or aid and the amount of assistance or aid actually received". Since Mrs. Chavez was possessed of assets which far exceeded the eligibility maximum during the entire period she received benefits, she was never entitled to the receipt of any benefits. Therefore, none of the assistance she received was lawful and the department was entitled to recover the entire amount paid.

Appellee claims that the Legislature's use of the more specific language in another part of the statute requiring full payment where fraud is shown renders the meaning of § 60 ambiguous. See Bannan v City of Saginaw, 120 Mich. App. 307, 319; 328 N.W.2d 35 (1982). We do not find appellee's argument persuasive. Where fraud is proven, the statute does expressly provide that the recipient is required to repay the "full amount received". It also permits the state to recover triple the amount of damages it has suffered as a result of the recipient's conduct. MCL 400.612; MSA 16.614(12). However, in our opinion this language is not at all inconsistent with our finding concerning the meaning of § 60.

MCL 400.612; MSA 16.614(12) requires that, in every instance where fraud is proven, the recipient shall be required to repay the full amount received regardless of whether the recipient would otherwise have become lawfully entitled to the receipt of benefits at some point thereafter. Where fraud is not shown, recovery may be had pursuant to § 60 which only requires the repayment of the full amount received if the recipient remains ineligible for benefits throughout the entire period that benefits are received. Otherwise, the department is entitled to recover only the amount paid during the period of ineligibility. For example, in this case since it was not shown that Mrs. Chavez knowingly concealed the assets in question, if after the payment of benefits had commenced the level of marketable liquid assets which she possessed had dropped to a level below the eligibility maximum, the department would have been entitled to recover only those benefits which had been paid to that point. Benefits paid thereafter would have been lawfully paid.

However, since, as noted earlier, Mrs. Chavez was shown to have possessed assets which far exceeded the eligibility maximum during the entire period during which she received benefits, she was not lawfully entitled to the receipt of any benefits and the department was entitled to recover the full amount paid.

We decline to address the issues raised by appellee since no cross-appeal was filed. Detroit Automobile Inter-Ins Exchange v McMillan, 97 Mich. App. 687, 696; 296 N.W.2d 147 (1980).

The probate court's decision is reversed and the case is remanded for proceedings in conformity with this opinion. No costs, interpretation of a statute being involved.