Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

MATTER OF GRANDINETTI v. SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY

Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of New York, Third Department.
Nov 5, 1987
Important Paras
Please sign up to view Important Paras.
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

Claimant Thomas Grandinetti suffered a compensable back injury on July 6, 1982, during his employment as a mason. The Workers' Compensation Board assessed the degree of disability after the case was twice restored to the Trial Calendar. The Board ultimately determined that the claimant was totally industrially disabled. Syracuse University, the self-insured employer, challenged this determination, arguing that the claimant was only partially disabled and that his failure to complete a rehabilitation program and refusal to undergo a myelogram precluded a finding of total disability. The appeal arises from the Board's decision affirming total disability.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the claimant is totally industrially disabled or only partially disabled following the compensable back injury.
  2. Whether the claimant's failure to complete a rehabilitation program justifies denying a finding of total disability.
  3. Whether the claimant's refusal to undergo a myelogram and possible laminectomy precludes a finding of total disability.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The claimant is only partially disabled and capable of performing light work with restrictions.
  • The claimant's failure to complete a rehabilitation program should negate a finding of total disability.
  • The claimant's refusal to undergo a myelogram and possible surgery precludes a finding of total disability.

Respondent's Arguments

  • There is abundant medical evidence that claimant is totally incapable of working in any heavy labor capacity.
  • The claimant was deemed an inappropriate candidate for the rehabilitation program by its staff, not that he voluntarily discontinued it.
  • The claimant's refusal to undergo a myelogram was reasonable based on the risks and adverse experiences of family members.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Matter of Rourke v. Reichhold Chem., 129 A.D.2d 949 Supports finding total industrial disability considering age, work experience, and education. The court relied on this precedent to affirm the Board's finding that claimant was totally disabled.
Matter of House v. International Talc Co., 51 A.D.2d 832; lv denied 39 N.Y.2d 708 Corroborates the Board's discretion in disability determinations. Used to validate the Board's assessment of claimant's total disability.
Matter of Lent v. Bethesda Hosp., 91 A.D.2d 768 Pre-existing conditions contributing to disability do not negate total disability findings. Confirmed that claimant’s prior back injury did not preclude finding total disability.
Matter of Ciccone v. National Accessories Stores, 46 A.D.2d 710 Questions of fact regarding refusal of medical procedures are for the Board to resolve. Supported the Board’s role in assessing claimant’s refusal of a myelogram.
Matter of Viggiano v. Pullman Co., 7 A.D.2d 800 Similar to Ciccone, addresses Board’s fact-finding on medical procedure refusals. Reinforced the Board’s discretion in evaluating claimant’s refusal.
Matter of Zanotti v. New York Tel. Co., 48 A.D.2d 192 Reasonableness of refusing medical treatment can support disability findings. Used to uphold the Board’s finding that claimant’s refusal was reasonable under the circumstances.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court recognized conflicting medical testimony regarding the claimant’s disability but deferred to the Board’s resolution of these conflicts. The Board found that the claimant’s age, work history as a mason, and limited education supported a finding of total industrial disability. The court noted that the claimant’s prior back injury was asymptomatic until the 1982 accident and acknowledged it as a contributing cause without negating total disability. The Board also found substantial evidence that the claimant did not voluntarily discontinue rehabilitation but was deemed unsuitable by program staff. Regarding the refusal of a myelogram and possible surgery, the court emphasized that such factual determinations are within the Board’s purview. The claimant’s reasonable apprehension about the procedure, supported by family adverse experiences and even his own surgeon’s recognition of the risks, justified the refusal. Consequently, the Board’s findings were supported by substantial evidence, warranting affirmation.

Holding and Implications

The court affirmed the Workers' Compensation Board's determination that the claimant is totally industrially disabled.

The direct effect of this decision is to uphold the claimant’s entitlement to total disability benefits despite the employer’s challenges. The decision does not establish new precedent but confirms the Board’s discretion in resolving conflicting medical evidence, evaluating rehabilitation participation, and assessing the reasonableness of refusing medical procedures.

Show all summary ...

Weiss, J.

Claimant suffered a compensable back injury on July 6, 1982. After the case was twice restored to the Trial Calendar for purposes of assessing the degree of disability, the Workers' Compensation Board ultimately determined that claimant was totally industrially disabled. The self-insured employer challenges this determination, asserting that claimant is only partially disabled and that his failure to complete a rehabilitation program and refusal to undergo a myelogram preclude a finding of total disability. We affirm.

Claimant was 54 years old at the time of this accident and was employed as a mason most of his adult life. While the employer's medical expert opined that claimant was only partially disabled and capable of performing light work with restrictions precluding lifting or bending, there is abundant medical evidence that claimant is totally incapable of working as a mason or in any other capacity that requires heavy labor. This conflict in medical testimony was for the Board to resolve. Considering claimant's age, work experience and limited education, the Board had ample basis to find him totally industrially disabled (see, Matter of Rourke v. Reichhold Chem., 129 A.D.2d 949; Matter of House v. International Talc Co., 51 A.D.2d 832, lv denied 39 N.Y.2d 708). Claimant had a previous back injury in 1980 which was asymptomatic until the accident of 1982. Although this condition is recognized as a contributing cause of the present disability, it does not preclude the Board's finding that claimant is now totally disabled (see, Matter of Lent v. Bethesda Hosp., 91 A.D.2d 768). There is also substantial evidence in the record that claimant did not voluntarily discontinue a rehabilitation program, but was deemed an inappropriate candidate by the program's staff.

Finally, whether claimant was justified in refusing a myelogram and, if indicated, a laminectomy presented a question of fact for the Board to resolve (see, Matter of Ciccone v. National Accessories Stores, 46 A.D.2d 710; Matter of Viggiano v. Pullman Co., 7 A.D.2d 800). While even claimant's orthopedic surgeon agreed that a myelogram would be helpful for diagnostic purposes, he further recognized that claimant's apprehensions were reasonable, given the serious dangers attendant such a procedure. Claimant testified that both his wife and brother-in-law experienced adverse results from a myelogram. Under these circumstances, the Board could rationally find that claimant's decision not to undergo a myelogram and possible laminectomy was reasonable (cf., Matter of Zanotti v. New York Tel. Co., 48 A.D.2d 192). The decision is supported by substantial evidence and we, accordingly, affirm.

Decision affirmed, with costs to the Workers' Compensation Board. Kane, J.P., Main, Weiss, Yesawich, Jr., and Levine, JJ., concur.