- Bookmark
- Share
- CaseIQ
The Seashell of Lisson Grove Ltd & Ors v Aviva Insurance Ltd & Ors
Factual and Procedural Background
The proceedings arise from a fire at The Seashell Restaurant, a fish and chip restaurant and takeaway located in Marylebone, London, on 13 August 2009. The First Claimant operated the restaurant, while the Second and Third Claimants were trustees of a pension scheme holding the freehold of the building. The Defendants insured the Claimants under two policies: the Restaurant Policy and the Property Policy. The Defendants declined liability for the fire damage, alleging breach of the Frying Range Warranty, misrepresentation, and failure to disclose material facts under the Restaurant Policy, and material non-disclosures under the Property Policy. The Claimants denied these allegations and relied on specific policy terms to mitigate the consequences of breaches, misrepresentations, or non-disclosures. Three preliminary issues relating to the construction of terms in the two insurance policies were ordered to be tried by Field J. on 4 March 2011, with the third issue subsequently reformulated.
Legal Issues Presented
- On the true construction of Condition 6 of the Restaurant Policy, whether the Insurers are obliged to indemnify the Seashell (1) for any part of the loss, destruction, damage or liability caused by the fire if it was wholly or partly due to or affected by a breach of warranty; and (2) for all loss, destruction, damage or liability caused by the fire which was not wholly or partly due to or affected by the breach of warranty, even if part of the loss was due to a breach of warranty.
- On the true construction of the Restaurant Policy Non-Invalidation Clause: (1) whether the clause operates to amend, ameliorate, or limit the scope or effect of a breach of warranty; and (2) assuming (without findings) that the Seashell was in breach of warranty unknown to or beyond its control, whether such breach entitles the Insurers to refuse cover for any claim related to damage to the building or contents.
- Whether the Trustees would be entitled to rely on the Property Policy Non-Invalidation Clause to prevent the Defendants from avoiding the Property Policy for misrepresentation and/or non-disclosure at the time the policy was entered into, assuming (without finding) that there was an act, omission, or alteration increasing the risk of damage unknown to or beyond the control of the Trustees.
Arguments of the Parties
Claimants' Arguments
- Regarding the first preliminary issue, the Claimants assert that the Insurers are obliged to indemnify both for loss partially or wholly due to breach of warranty and for loss not so connected.
- For the second preliminary issue, the Claimants contend that the Non-Invalidation Clause applies to breaches of warranty, including those unknown to or beyond their control, and thus limits the insurer's right to refuse cover once damage has occurred.
- In relation to the third preliminary issue, the Claimants argue that the Non-Invalidation Clause applies to avoidance of the Property Policy for both misrepresentation/non-disclosure and increased risk of damage, thereby preventing avoidance if the increased risk was unknown or beyond their control.
Defendants' Arguments
- On the first preliminary issue, the Defendants maintain that the Insurers are not obliged to indemnify for any part of the loss if it was wholly or partly due to a breach of warranty.
- Regarding the second preliminary issue, the Defendants argue the Non-Invalidation Clause is intended only to ameliorate the effect of alterations increasing risk (clause 5(c)) and not breaches of warranty, particularly where damage has already occurred.
- For the third preliminary issue, the Defendants submit that the Non-Invalidation Clause applies to avoidance under the alteration condition but not to avoidance for misrepresentation or non-disclosure.
Table of Precedents Cited
| Precedent | Rule or Principle Cited For | Application by the Court |
|---|---|---|
| Kumar v AGF Insurance [1999] 1 WLR 1747 | Bar on repudiation and rescission of "this insurance" applying to repudiation, avoidance, or rescission of the policy, including discharge from liability due to breach of warranty. | Relied upon by the Claimants to support that the Non-Invalidation Clause applies to breaches of warranty. |
| Greenock Steamship Co. v Maritime Insurance Co. [1903] 1 KB 367 | Interpretation of "held covered" clauses in marine insurance, applying where damage has occurred. | Considered in assessing whether the Non-Invalidation Clause applies when damage has in fact occurred. |
| Mentz, Decker & Co. v Maritime Insurance Co. [1910] 1 KB 132 | Similar to Greenock Steamship, concerning "held covered" clauses. | Used to support the application of the Non-Invalidation Clause post-damage. |
| Hewitt v London General Insurance Co. [1925] 23 Ll.L. Rep. 243 | Interpretation of clauses protecting insurance cover despite increased risk. | Referenced in relation to the Non-Invalidation Clause's scope. |
| Liberian Insurance Agency v Mosse [1977] 2 Lloyd's Rep. 560 | Held covered clauses and their application after damage has occurred. | Informed the court's reasoning on the Non-Invalidation Clause's application. |
| ENCB Ltd. v Barnet Devanney (Harrow) Ltd. (Unreported, 1 July 1999) | Related to insurer's rights post-damage in context of increased risk. | Noted by the court but no decision on the point; supported Claimants' argument. |
| Ansari New India Assurance Ltd. [2009] EWCA Civ 93 | Similar context regarding insurer's rights and increased risk. | Referenced but did not decide the precise point; supported Claimants' submissions. |
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The court undertook an objective construction of the insurance policy clauses, considering the meaning a reasonable person with knowledge of the contractual background would attribute. Regarding the first preliminary issue, the court concluded that Clause 6 of the Restaurant Policy limits the common law rule by requiring a causal connection between the breach of warranty and the loss, destruction, damage, or liability claimed. Thus, only those parts of a claim wholly or partly due to or affected by a breach of warranty are invalidated; loss not connected to the breach remains indemnifiable.
For the second preliminary issue, the court examined the Non-Invalidation Clause in the Restaurant Policy, which protects the insured from invalidation of insurance by acts, omissions, or alterations unknown to or beyond the insured's control that increase the risk of damage, subject to notification and payment of additional premium. The court rejected the Defendants' initial submission that the clause applies only to risk increases prior to damage, finding instead that the clause applies even if damage has occurred before the insured becomes aware of the breach. The court reasoned that the clause encompasses breaches of warranty, and the addition of "act or omission" broadens its scope beyond alterations alone. The court emphasized that the clause allows the insured to maintain coverage despite breaches unknown or beyond control, provided prompt notification and premium payment.
Concerning the third preliminary issue, the court interpreted the Non-Invalidation Clause in the Property Policy similarly, finding no basis to exclude misrepresentation or non-disclosure from its scope. The court held that the clause applies where there is an increased risk of damage unknown to or beyond the control of the insured and prevents invalidation of the policy if the insured notifies the insurer once aware and pays any additional premium. This interpretation aligns with the reasoning applied to the Restaurant Policy's Non-Invalidation Clause.
Holding and Implications
Holding:
- The court held that under Clause 6 of the Restaurant Policy, insurers are obliged to indemnify for loss not wholly or partly due to or affected by a breach of warranty, and also for any part of the loss not connected to such breach.
- The Non-Invalidation Clause in the Restaurant Policy applies to breaches of warranty unknown to or beyond the control of the insured, and coverage is not refused for damage caused before the insured becomes aware of such breaches, provided immediate notification and payment of additional premium occur.
- The Trustees are entitled to rely on the Property Policy Non-Invalidation Clause to prevent the Defendants from avoiding the policy for misrepresentation and/or non-disclosure, assuming an unknown or uncontrollable increase in risk of damage existed at inception.
Implications: The decision limits the insurers' ability to avoid liability for breaches of warranty, misrepresentation, or non-disclosure when such breaches or omissions are unknown or beyond the insured's control, particularly emphasizing the protective effect of Non-Invalidation Clauses. The ruling clarifies the construction of such clauses, confirming their application even when damage has occurred before notification. No new precedent was set beyond the interpretation of the specific policy clauses in this case, and the direct effect is to maintain coverage for the Claimants under the terms construed.
Alert