Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

J Kirkaldy & Sons Ltd v Walker

England and Wales High Court (Commercial Court)
Feb 9, 1999
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

This case concerns the insurance of a floating dry dock originally built in 1916 and purchased in 1997 by a Southampton-based company ("the Owners") intending to operate it in Portland, Dorset. The Owners obtained a 12-month insurance policy with Lloyd's underwriters for port risks, including coverage for total loss and wreck removal. The dry dock was towed from Sweden to Portland in August 1997, following a survey by a nominated surveyor. On 10 November 1997, the dry dock suffered damage resulting in the collapse of a crane and subsequent sinking, becoming a total loss. The Owners sought to recover under the insurance policy for wreck removal expenses after conceding they could not prove a loss by insured perils. The underwriters denied liability, asserting breaches of warranty relating to the required towage approval and condition surveys, and alternatively, non-disclosure of the dock's unseaworthy condition at inception.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. What type of condition survey was required by the insurance policy?
  2. Was the required condition survey carried out?
  3. If not, did this constitute a breach of the insurance contract's terms or warranty?
  4. Was the towage approval survey properly performed?
  5. Was any alleged breach waived or were the insurers estopped from relying on it?
  6. Was there a failure to disclose the dock's leak at the time of contracting, amounting to non-disclosure?

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments (Owners)

  • The term "condition survey" is ambiguous and could reasonably be interpreted as a survey limited to assessing suitability for towage.
  • The nominated surveyor was instructed to perform both a towage approval survey and a condition survey, and his understanding of his instructions was reasonable.
  • The surveyor’s interpretation should bind the parties, and any ambiguity should be resolved contra proferentem against the insurer.
  • The insurers waived or are estopped from relying on any breach because they accepted the surveyor's report and premiums without objection.
  • Non-disclosure of the dock’s leak was not material because the surveyor was to identify and address such issues.

Appellee's Arguments (Insurers)

  • The condition survey required was a thorough survey to assess seaworthiness for the entire 12-month port risk period, not merely towage suitability.
  • The nominated surveyor did not perform the required condition survey, constituting a breach of warranty discharging the insurance contract.
  • The towage approval survey was properly performed, though it lacked certain theoretical calculations, but this did not breach the contract.
  • There was no waiver or estoppel because the insurers did not know the condition survey was absent until after the risk had incepted and promptly denied cover once aware.
  • Non-disclosure of the dock’s leak was immaterial given the warranty requiring a condition survey and the surveyor’s role in identifying defects.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Cole v Accident Insurance (1889) 5 TLR 736 Ambiguity in contract terms must be genuine before applying contra proferentem. The court held the term "condition survey" was not genuinely ambiguous and therefore did not apply contra proferentem based on a surveyor's subjective interpretation.
Passmore v Vulcan Boiler & General Insurance Co. (1936) 54 Lloyd's LR 92 Clear policy meaning excludes application of contra proferentem. Reinforced that the court must decide ambiguity before applying contra proferentem; here, no ambiguity was found.
The Good Luck [1992] 1 AC 233 Fulfilment of warranty is a condition precedent to insurer liability. Confirmed that non-compliance with the warranty on surveys discharged the insurer's liability.
Nikko Hotels (UK) Ltd v M.E.P.C. Plc [1991] 2 EGLR 103 Expert decisions on contract construction are binding unless the expert fails to perform the task. The court found the surveyor answered the wrong question (towage only), so his decision did not absolve the Owners from breach.
The Glacier Bay [1996] 1 Lloyd's Rep 370 Endorsed Nikko Hotels approach to expert decisions on contractual matters. Supported the court's application of expert decision law in rejecting the surveyor's interpretation.
Brown v G10 Insurance [1998] Lloyd's I & R Reports 201 Further application of Nikko Hotels principle on expert decisions. Confirmed the court's approach to the surveyor's failure to perform the required survey.
Zeus Tradition Marine v Bell (1998) Condition survey must be satisfactory to show no defects affecting seaworthiness. Used to support the conclusion that the condition survey required was to assess seaworthiness for port risks.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court began by construing the term "condition survey" within the context of the insurance contract and marine insurance market practice. It concluded that the term required a survey assessing the dry dock's seaworthiness for the entire 12-month port risk period, not merely suitability for the towage. This conclusion was supported by the contract's purpose, the parties' knowledge that the dock was not classed, and relevant market standards and precedents.

The court found that the nominated surveyor performed only a towage approval survey and explicitly did not conduct a condition survey of the required type. The surveyor answered the wrong question by limiting his assessment to towage suitability rather than seaworthiness for port operation. Consequently, the court held there was a breach of the warranty requiring the condition survey, discharging the insurer's liability under the contract.

The court rejected the Owners' argument that the surveyor's interpretation bound the parties or that the term was ambiguous requiring resolution against the insurer. It emphasized that a true ambiguity must exist before applying contra proferentem, which was not the case here.

Regarding the towage approval survey, the court found it was performed, although imperfectly, and did not amount to a breach. The court also rejected the claim that the insurers waived or were estopped from relying on the breach, finding no unequivocal representation or knowledge of the absence of the condition survey until after inception.

On non-disclosure, the court held that the known leak was not material to the insurers because the warranty requiring a condition survey made disclosure unnecessary; the surveyor was expected to identify and address such defects. Thus, non-disclosure was not a valid defence.

Holding and Implications

Judgment was entered for the Defendant (Insurers), dismissing the Owners’ claim for wreck removal expenses under the insurance policy.

The direct effect is that the Owners are not entitled to recover under the policy due to breach of the warranty requiring a proper condition survey. The court did not find ambiguity in the contract term and held that the surveyor’s limited inspection was insufficient. No waiver or estoppel prevented the insurers from relying on the breach. The non-disclosure defence was also rejected as unnecessary given the warranty. The decision applies established principles of marine insurance law and does not set new precedent beyond confirming the strict approach to survey warranties and the interpretation of contractual terms in this context.