Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

Chief Adjudication Officer v. Faulds

UK Social Security and Child Support Commissioner
May 11, 2000
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

The Plaintiff, a senior fire officer employed by Company A for approximately 27 years, was discharged on medical grounds in 1993 after suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). The Plaintiff claimed industrial injuries benefit under section 94(1) of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992, asserting that his PTSD was caused by attending numerous fatal incidents during his employment between 1975 and 1993. The adjudication officer initially rejected the claim on the basis that no specific accident causing injury had been established, distinguishing between injury caused by accident and injury caused by a continuous process. The Plaintiff appealed to the Social Security Appeal Tribunal, which found him incapable of work due to a series of incidents resulting in industrial injury and granted the benefit. The adjudication officer appealed to the Social Security Commissioner, who set aside the tribunal’s decision, declaring that the Plaintiff had suffered personal injury by accident arising out of and in the course of employment, but noted deficiencies in the tribunal’s findings. The adjudication officer then appealed to the Court of Session, which upheld the Commissioner’s decision. The appeal was further taken to the House of Lords.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the Plaintiff suffered personal injury caused by an identifiable accident or series of accidents arising out of and in the course of his employment, as required under section 94(1) of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992.
  2. Whether the distinction between injury caused by accident and injury caused by a continuous process applies to psychological injuries such as PTSD in stressful occupations.
  3. The proper interpretation of the phrase "personal injury caused by accident" in the statutory context, particularly in relation to stress-related disorders.
  4. The evidential requirements for establishing a causative accident or accidents where injury develops over a period of time due to exposure to distressing incidents.

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant's Arguments

  • The tribunal’s findings were inadequate and failed to identify a specific accident or series of accidents causing the injury.
  • The claimant’s condition resulted from a continuous process of exposure to stress rather than discrete accidents, which is insufficient to qualify for industrial injury benefit.
  • Attendance at fatal incidents was part of the Plaintiff’s normal duties and thus not unexpected or untoward events constituting accidents.
  • The tribunal usurped the jurisdiction of medical authorities by determining disablement questions.
  • Citing precedent, a series of incidents must be specific and ascertainable accidents, not a process, to satisfy the statutory requirement.

Appellee's Arguments

  • The primary facts were undisputed and established the Plaintiff’s attendance at numerous fatal incidents causing PTSD.
  • The Plaintiff’s psychological injury qualifies as personal injury caused by accident under the statute.
  • Each distressing incident or exposure to horrific sights constituted an accident or part of a series of accidents causing injury.
  • The ordinary meaning of accident includes unintended and unexpected injury even if the event was foreseeable or part of normal duties.
  • Precedents support that psychological injuries caused by exposure to traumatic events can be compensable as accidents.
  • The tribunal’s decision, though brief, was sufficient for an adjudication officer to understand the basis of the conclusion.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Fenton v. J. Thorley & Co. Ltd. [1903] AC 443 Accident defined in ordinary and popular language as an unexpected or unintended event causing injury. Confirmed the broad meaning of accident including injury caused by over-exertion as accidental injury.
Ismay, Imrie & Co. v. Williamson [1908] AC 437 Death from heat stroke during work can constitute injury by accident. Supported the notion that injury caused by unexpected physiological events during work may be accidental.
Clover, Clayton & Co. Ltd. v. Hughes [1910] AC 242 Unexpected rupture causing death is injury by accident; accident includes unintended events causing injury. Reinforced that injury and accident may overlap and that accident is not limited to external events.
Pugh v. The London, Brighton and South Coast Railway Co. Ltd. [1896] 2 QB 248 Nervous shock causing incapacity can amount to injury by accident. Applied to psychological injury caused by unexpected events encountered in employment.
Welsh v. Glasgow Coal Co. Ltd. 1916 SC (HL) 141 Disease incurred "by accident" includes injury caused by a definite event. Established that disease may be personal injury by accident if caused by a specific event.
Roberts v. Dorothea Slate Quarries Co. Ltd. [1948] 2 All ER 201 Distinction between injury by accident (single or series of specific events) and injury by process (continuous exposure). Held silicosis as injury by process, not accident; used to distinguish cumulative injuries from discrete accidents.
Burrell and Sons Ltd. v. Selvage (1922) 126 LT 49 Cumulative effect of a series of minor accidents can constitute injury by accident. Supported recognition of a series of specific and ascertainable accidents causing injury.
Trim Joint District School Board of Management v. Kelly [1914] AC 667 Consideration of the victim’s occupation and the concept of expectation in defining accident. Guided approach to whether an event is an accident by reference to the nature of the employment.
Connelly v. New Hampshire Insurance Co. 1997 SLT 1341 Psychological injury from particularly distressing incidents may amount to accidental bodily injury. Applied to PTSD in fire officers; distinguished cases with identified triggering events.
R. v. National Insurance Commissioners, Ex parte Hudson [1972] AC 944 Requirement of identifiable accident causing injury in entitlement to industrial injury benefit. Emphasised distinction between accident and injury and necessity of causative incident.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The courts analysed whether the Plaintiff’s PTSD was caused by an identifiable accident or series of accidents arising out of and in the course of his employment, as required by section 94(1) of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992. The adjudication officer’s initial refusal was based on the view that the Plaintiff’s condition resulted from a continuous process of exposure to stress rather than discrete accidents. The Social Security Appeal Tribunal found the Plaintiff incapable of work due to a series of incidents causing industrial injury but did not clearly articulate how these incidents constituted accidents.

The Social Security Commissioner identified deficiencies in the tribunal’s reasoning, notably the failure to explicitly conclude whether the series of incidents constituted accidents or a process, and set aside the tribunal’s decision. He declared that the Plaintiff had suffered personal injury by accident arising out of and in the course of employment, emphasizing that the incidents were exceptional and separated by sufficient time to be considered a series of accidents rather than a continuous process.

The Court of Session upheld the Commissioner’s decision, reasoning that the primary facts were undisputed and sufficient to infer that the Plaintiff’s injury was caused by exposure to a series of distressing incidents. The court applied ordinary meanings of accident and recognized that accident and injury may overlap, particularly in psychological injuries. It rejected the argument that foreseeability or expectation of exposure negated the occurrence of an accident. The court emphasized the need to identify an accident or series of accidents causing injury, rather than inferring accident solely from the existence of injury.

On appeal, the House of Lords majority allowed the appeal, holding that the lower courts erred in treating the injury and accident as indistinguishable and in failing to require identification of particular causative accidents. The Lords emphasized that for entitlement to industrial injury benefit, the Plaintiff must prove on a balance of probabilities that an accident or series of accidents caused the injury. They noted the complexity of psychological injuries and the need for careful investigation of the facts, including the relationship between the PTSD and specific incidents. They remitted the case to the Commissioner for further inquiry, recognizing that the evidence presented was insufficient to meet the statutory requirement.

Lord Hutton dissented, agreeing with the lower courts that the tribunal and Commissioner had adequately identified the accidents causing injury and that the appeal should be dismissed.

Holding and Implications

The House of Lords ALLOWED the appeal and remitted the case to the Social Security Commissioner for further investigation.

The core holding clarifies that under section 94(1) of the Social Security Contributions and Benefits Act 1992, a claimant must establish the occurrence of an identifiable accident or series of accidents causing personal injury arising out of and in the course of employment to qualify for industrial injury benefit. The injury and accident are distinct concepts, and the injury alone does not suffice without showing a causative accident. This decision emphasizes the evidential burden on claimants with stress-related disorders in stressful occupations and requires careful factual inquiry into the causation of injury by specific incidents. No new precedent was set beyond the application of established principles to psychological injury claims, but the decision underscores the necessity for clear identification of accidents in industrial injury claims involving cumulative or psychological injuries.