- Bookmark
- Share
- CaseIQ
D. VAMSHI KRISHNA REDDY v. M/s UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD. & ANR.,
Case Summary — National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Consumer Case No. 423 of 2013
Factual and Procedural Background
The complainant, D. Vamshi Krishna Reddy (proprietor of Manasa Rice Mills, Venkatagiri, Nellore), held a Standard Fire and Special Peril Insurance Policy with the opposite party, M/s United India Insurance Co. Ltd. The policy covered the rice mill including building, plant & machinery and stocks for a total insured value stated to include Rs. 3.00 crores for stocks (and Rs. 1.70 crores for building, plant & machinery).
An accidental fire occurred at the mill premises at about 3:30 a.m. on 15.09.2012. The complainant alleged large-scale destruction of paddy stocks (including stocks belonging to the Andhra Pradesh Civil Supply Department and stocks of farmers) and submitted a claim for Rs.2,75,32,900/-. The insurer appointed surveyors (A.C. Rami Reddy; later M/s Cunningham Lindsey International Pvt. Ltd.) who inspected the site and prepared reports. The insurer repudiated the claim by letter dated 24.05.2013, relying on the surveyor's findings (cause of fire not established, open-yard storage, foreign material in samples, and stocks said to be held in trust/commission). The complainant filed the present complaint under Section 21 of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 seeking award of the claimed amount with interest.
Both parties filed evidence, rejoinders and synopses; the Commission heard counsel for both sides and delivered the order dated 06 September 2023.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether the insurer's repudiation of the claim was justified on the grounds that (a) the cause of the fire was not established; (b) the damaged stocks were stored in an open yard and therefore not within the "premises" covered by the policy; and (c) the stocks were goods held in trust/commission and excluded under General Exclusion-5 of the policy.
- Whether the surveyor and laboratory findings on the physical quantity and quality of the paddy (including the presence of husk and foreign matter and the low proportion of actual paddy) justify the reduction of the claimant's asserted loss and preclude full indemnity.
- If the claim is payable in part, what is the correct quantum of loss payable to the complainant and what interest is payable?
Arguments of the Parties
Complainant's Arguments
- The fire was accidental and occurred on 15.09.2012; a claim was lodged on 09.10.2012 for the stocks destroyed.
- The policy covers stocks located in the "premises" of the rice mill; the open yard within the compound falls within the meaning of "premises" and therefore stocks in the open yard were insured.
- The stocks (including those received from AP Civil Supply Department and farmers) were not goods held in trust or commission but were held as part of the mill's milling operations for consideration; hence exclusion under General Exclusion-5 does not apply.
- The complainant maintained that the claimed stock figures accurately reflected the paddy received for milling and the repudiation on the basis that cause of fire was not conclusively established is not a valid basis to deny the claim when the fire was accidental.
Opposite Party's (Insurer's) Arguments
- The complaint is not maintainable for deficiency in service; the insurer appointed surveyors whose reports supported repudiation.
- Preliminary and subsequent survey reports concluded that the cause of fire was not established and that the insured's claimed quantity of destroyed paddy was not physically present. The surveyor found only 208.25 tonnes physically available against the claimed 2017.1 tonnes (approximately 10.33% of the claimed quantity).
- Laboratory testing (SGS India Pvt. Ltd., Chennai) indicated the sample contained more foreign matter than pure paddy; the Indian Institute of Crop Processing Technology (Thanjavur) testing found only 46.8% paddy in the sample. These results undermined the complainant's claimed quantity and quality.
- The stock was stored in the open yard; the policy extension covered stocks in the "premises" only and, according to insurer's interpretation, open-yard storage made them ineligible. Further, stocks allegedly supplied by the Civil Supplies Department were said to be goods held in trust/on commission and excluded under General Exclusion-5.
- The insurer contended that proper records were not produced to substantiate the complainant's claimed stock position and the mill's production data did not support the asserted continuous operation or the claimed stock levels.
Table of Precedents Cited
| Precedent | Rule or Principle Cited For | Application by the Court |
|---|---|---|
| Polymat India Pvt. Ltd. v. National Insurance Co. Ltd., (2005) 9 SCC 174 | The excerpt reproduced concerns timeliness of insurer action, the rate of interest awarded by earlier fora, and the Supreme Court's reduction of an 18% interest award and its comments about insurers disposing of claims within reasonable time. | The judgment was cited by the opposite party and paragraphs from that decision (31–32) were quoted in the opinion. The reproduced text appears in the record as cited by the insurer; the Commission's order reproduces those paragraphs. The order itself does not record any extended reliance on or direct application of Polymat beyond its being cited by the opposite party in their submissions. |
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The Commission proceeded step-by-step as follows (based solely on the content of the opinion):
- Admitted existence of a fire at the insured rice mill premises and that the mill was insured under the Standard Fire and Special Perils Policy.
- Identified the insurer's grounds for repudiation as (a) inability to establish the cause of the fire, (b) that the stock was stored in an open yard and therefore not within the "premises" covered by the policy, (c) that some of the stock comprised goods held in trust/on commission (excluded under General Exclusion-5), and (d) the surveyor's finding that the claimed quantum and quality of stock were not supported by physical verification and laboratory tests.
- Examined the surveyors' findings and laboratory test reports: the surveyor reported a large shortfall between claimed and physically available stock (claimed 2017.1 MT vs physical availability 208.25 MT as per one finding), and SGS Chennai and the Indian Institute of Crop Processing Technology reported high presence of foreign matter/husk and that only 46.8% of sample material was paddy.
- Considered policy wording and the insurer's reliance on General Exclusion-5 (which excludes "goods held in trust or on Commission"). The Commission noted that the insurer's conclusion that the stocks were held in trust was not supported by any documentary proof in the record.
- Addressed the insurer's interpretation that open-yard storage meant exclusion from "premises." The Commission consulted the Oxford dictionary definition of "premises" (quoted in the order as "the building and the land around it that a business owns or uses") and found that excluding the open yard from "premises" was not a valid interpretation of the policy wording; therefore, open-yard storage within the compound could be within the "premises" covered by the policy.
- On the issue of quantity and quality, the Commission accepted that the complainant failed to controvert the laboratory findings (SGS Chennai) indicating the presence of husk and foreign material and accepted that the proportion of actual paddy should be determined based on the average paddy available as estimated by the relevant test agencies. The court applied the laboratory's 46.8% figure as the reduction factor to be applied to the stocks available on the premises.
- The Commission performed arithmetic calculations (as recorded in the opinion) to determine the payable quantum: it used the stock figures recorded, applied the 46.8% factor to the available stock, used the surveyor's per MT rate (Rs. 13,619.74 per MT), made specified deductions (two amounts of Rs. 10,000 each for particular policy conditions/exclusions as recorded), included the surveyor's estimate for gunny bags (Rs. 5,30,800), and arrived at a quantified payable sum. The opinion records both an intermediate cumulative figure and the final payable sum as the basis for the award.
- Concluded that because the cause of the fire was accidental and because part of the stock was covered under the policy (including open-yard storage within premises), the insurer was liable to pay the assessed amount with interest from the date of the claim.
Holding and Implications
Holding: The complaint was found to have merits and was allowed. The Commission ordered payment to the complainant in the amount of Rs.1,33,96,181.85 (towards the loss of paddy and gunny bags) together with simple interest at 6% per annum from the date of submission of the claim until the date of the order. The insurer was directed to pay the amount within 8 weeks, failing which the rate of interest would rise to 9% p.a. until realization. There was no order as to costs. All pending interlocutory applications, if any, were disposed of along with the order.
Consequences / Implications:
- Direct effect: The opposite party (insurer) is required to pay Rs.1,33,96,181.85 to the complainant plus interest as specified. This is the immediate financial relief granted to the complainant arising from the accidental fire loss adjudicated in this complaint.
- The Commission rejected the insurer's narrow interpretation excluding open-yard storage from the "premises" insured and held that such an exclusion was not a correct interpretation of the policy wording (using the Oxford dictionary definition of "premises").
- The Commission accepted laboratory findings on quality/quantity where the complainant did not successfully challenge those findings; it applied the laboratory's 46.8% factor to determine the payable stock quantity and used the surveyor's per-tonne valuation and specified deductions to calculate the payable sum.
- No broader legal precedent or significant change in law was expressly declared or created by this opinion beyond its application to the facts of this dispute. The order effects settlement between the parties on the quantified basis set out in the opinion.
Notes and Observations Drawn Directly from the Opinion
- The opinion reproduces General Exclusion-5 of the policy verbatim (excluding goods held in trust or on commission, among other items) and states that the insurer relied on that exclusion in repudiating the claim.
- The opinion reproduces paragraphs of the Polymat India Pvt. Ltd. v. National Insurance Co. Ltd. decision (2005) 9 SCC 174 as cited by the insurer in its submissions.
- The opinion records numerical computations and two slightly different intermediate totals as they appear in the judgment text: paragraph 13 records a "cumulative loss" as Rs.1,34,16,181.85, while paragraphs 14–15 record the award/ordered payment as Rs.1,33,96,181.85 (the order uses the latter figure as the payable sum). Both figures, and their contexts, are reported in the opinion as presented.
This summary is prepared exclusively from information contained in the provided opinion and does not add facts or inferences beyond that text.
NATIONAL CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
NEW DELHI
CONSUMER CASE NO. 423 OF 2013
1. D. VAMSHI KRISHNA REDDY
S/o late Shri Sudhakar Reddy, Proprietor, Manasa Rice Mills, Kummarigunta Venkatagiri, NELLORE - 524232. ...........Complainant(s) Versus
1. M/S UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD. &
ANR.,
Regd. Office: No. 24, Whites Road, CHENNAI - 600014.
2. THE BRANCH MANAGER, UNITED INDIA
INSURANCE CO. LTD.,
Micro Office, Naidupet, S.P.S.R., NELLORE. ...........Opp.Party(s)
BEFORE:
HON'BLE MR. SUBHASH CHANDRA,PRESIDING MEMBER
FOR THE COMPLAINANT : MS. HETU ARORA SETHI,, ADVOCATE
FOR THE OPP. PARTY : MR RAVI BAKSHI, ADVOCATE WITH
MS SAYMA FEROZ, ADVOCATE
Dated : 06 September 2023
ORDER
1. This complaint under section 21 of the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 (in short, the 'Act') has been filed against the opposite party alleging deficiency in service in the repudiation of an insurance claim filed under a valid Standard Fire and Special Peril Insurance Policy (in short, the 'Policy'). The complainant is the proprietor of Manasa Rice Mill, Kummaragunta, Venkatagiri, Nellore District, Andhra Pradesh and had obtained the policy from the opposite party for Rs 4.70 crores for the Rice Mill (including building, plant & machinery and stocks) in which stocks were claimed to have been damaged in a fire on 15.09.2012.
2. The facts, as per the complainant, are that he has been running a Rice Mill since 2007 with all statutory licenses, clearances and certifications. The mill also undertakes milling of paddy on behalf of the Andhra Pradesh Civil Supply Corporation which supplies the same to the Food Corporation of India (FCI). Large quantities of paddy belonging to farmers for custom milling are stored on its premises. During February-April 2012, 1684.304 MTs of paddy was received for milling for FCI. By 14.09.2012 321.459 metric tonnes was milled and 215.378 metric tonnes was delivered to FCI. At around 3.30 am on 15.09.2012 an
1
accidental fire took place in the mill and paddy bags stored in the yard were completely burnt. The fire brigade was summoned and the fire extinguished. Police and revenue authorities were informed. The insurance company/opposite party was also intimated on 15.09.2012. The loss of paddy stocks destroyed including that belonging to Civil Supply Corporation was estimated as Rs 2.50 crores. A Loss Assessor and Surveyor was appointed by the opposite party and thereafter M/s Cunningham Lindsey International Pvt. Ltd. was appointed the Surveyor. The complainant filed a claim with the opposite party based on loss of 1200 metric tonnes of paddy of AP Civil Supply Department worth Rs 1,61,02,100/-,
817.1 metric tonnes of paddy of farmers worth Rs 1,09,00,000/- and gunny bags (26540 numbers) worth Rs 5,30,800/- aggregating to Rs 2,75,32,900/-. The claim was repudiated on 24.05.2013 on the basis of the Surveyor's report which concluded that the cause of fire was not established, the burnt stock which was stored in an open yard was not pure paddy but comprised of husk and impurities and the goods burnt were held in trust or commission and therefore excluded under the policy. The complainant is before us with the prayer to
"pass an award of Rs 2,75,32,900/- with interest and such other reliefs this Hon'ble Commission may be pleased to grant in the interest of justice and equity".
3. The complaint was resisted by the opposite party by way of reply. It is contended that the complaint was not maintainable as no deficiency in service was shown against the opposite party. Records and documents relied upon by the complainant needed authentication. Opposite party had appointed a loss assessor/surveyor, A.C. Rami Reddy, who submitted a preliminary report dated 23.09.2012 after two inspections and M/s Cunningham Lindsey International Pvt. Ltd. who submitted their report on 06.03.2013 after inspections and recommended that the claim was not admissible. The finding of the Surveyor was that based upon the complainant's assessment and the police investigation, the cause of the fire was not conclusive. The physical quantity of paddy available was only
208.25 tonnes against the claimed quantity of 2017.1 tonnes which is 10.33% of the claimed quantity. The surveyor had concluded that 90% burning of the paddy in gunny bags was not feasible. Quality analysis and testing by a laboratory viz., SGS India Pvt. Ltd., Chennai indicated that the sample contained more foreign matter than paddy. Testing was also undertaken by the Indian Institute of Crop Processing Technology, Thanjavur and only 46.8% paddy was found apart from husk. The material was also stored in the open which rendered it ineligible for indemnification under the policy since only stocks in 'premises' were covered and therefore paddy stored in open yard was excluded. It was also stated that the paddy stock of the AP Civil Supply Department was goods held in trust/commission and therefore not covered under the policy, that proper records were not produced and that the buildings were not of kutcha construction. The complaint was therefore stated to be baseless.
4. Parties filed their rejoinder and led their evidence on affidavit and filed their short synopsis of arguments. I have heard both the learned counsels for the parties and perused the records carefully.
5. The complainant has averred that the cause of action arose when the fire broke out on 15.09.2012 and a fire claim was filed on 09.10.2012. According to the claim form, paddy destroyed was mentioned as 1200 plus 817, i.e., 2017 tonnes. The complainant has filed a
2
claim for Rs.2,75,32,900/- crores with the opposite party. The complainant had received approximately 3385 tonnes from the A P Government for milling during Kharif season for the year 2011-12. The complainant, in turn, had delivered about 510 tonnes to Food Corporation of India. Hence, complainant had stock of 2875 tonnes of paddy undelivered. The Standard Fire and Special Perils Policy provided for an insurance cover of Rs.1.70 crores for building, plant and machinery and Rs.3.00 crores for the stocks. Complainant states that the description of the risk provided in the policy cover was for plant and machinery, complete rice mill building and godown with compound wall and machinery, stocks. He further states that there was no distinction or exclusion of risk, if stock was placed inside or outside the building, as long as the stock was placed within the premises of the Mansa Rice Mill. Learned counsel for the complainant states that the repudiation letter dated 30.05.2013 states that goods held in trust or in commission are not covered as per General Exclusion 5 of the insurance policy and that the stocks were stored in the open yard. The opposite party has relied the judgment of the Polymat India P Ltd. Vs National Insurance Co. Ltd., - (2005) 9 SCC 174, wherein the Hon'ble Supreme Court held that:
31. We are satisfied that the action taken by the Insurance Company was within reasonable time. Therefore, it cannot be saddled with a high rate of interest @ 18%. However, insurance companies should speed up disposal of claims in order to inspire greater confidence in them. Be that as it may, since the amount was received by the claimant in 1994, therefore, levy of interest @ 18% does not appear to be justified. Hence, we set aside the order awarding interest @ 18% per annum. Similarly, a levy of costs of litigation of Rs,10,000/- also does not appear to be justified in the present case as in view of our finding above. Hence, we allow CA no. 6063 of 1999 filed by National Insurance Company and set aside the order of the Commission.
32. Polymat India Pvt. Ltd., (CA no. 4366 of 1999) have also filed appeal against the same order and their grievance is that the Commission ought to have granted entire loss assessed by the surveyors instead of 75% and interest should have been awarded from the date of loss. Since, we have examined the whole matter in detail, we are satisfied that the claimant is not entitled to be compensated for the loss as claimed by them. Hence, we do not find any merit in this appeal and the same is dismissed with no orders as to costs."
6. Learned counsel for the complainant has stated that the surveyor's report highlights the differences in the address contained in the insurance policy and the site visited as one of the reasons for repudiation of the insurance policy. This is stated to be not correct as the mill was visited on two occasions as per the opposite party's own admission. He further states that the goods are not goods held in trust; rather, these are held as part of its job of milling of paddy into rice against consideration amount payable by the Government of Andhra Pradesh. Learned counsel also states that the policy does not allow an interpretation wherein, if the cause of fire has been proven to be not caused deliberately, then the claim can be denied.
7. Per contra, the opposite party has argued that on being informed about the alleged
3
loss, the insurance company immediately appointed A C Rami Reddy, Surveyor to carry out the preliminary survey who visited the affected compound on 15.09.2012 and 17.09.2012 and submitted his preliminary survey report on 23.09.2012. Thereafter, the insurance company appointed M/s Cunningham Lindsey International Pvt. Ltd., as Surveyors and Assessors on 29.09.2012 who also visited the site on 29.09.2012 and carried out the survey in the presence of the complainant/ proprietor of the firm. The surveyors recommended that the claim was not admissible as per the policy terms and conditions. Learned counsel for the opposite party has stated that the surveyors observed that the insured had not given the cause of fire with certainty since the possibility of the fire as alleged by the complainant did not appear plausible as the mill was in operation only for some days during the last few months prior to the incident. He further stated that the production data also revealed that the mill did not function on daily basis. Learned counsel for the opposite party also stated that the surveyor observed that the mill was not functioning for the last few days prior to the incident; there was also no possibility of auto ignition/ spontaneous combustion because paddy cannot burn by itself. He further stated that on physical verification of the quantity of stock, a large difference between weight claimed and physically available damaged paddy was found. As against the claimed quantity of 2017.1 tonnes of paddy, physical quantity available is only 208.25 tonnes which works out to only 10.33% of the claimed quantity. Learned counsel for the opposite party states that the surveyors concluded that the paddy stock did not exist at the time of incident to the extent claimed by the insured. The surveyor carried out quality analysis and got paddy samples tested at SGS India Private Ltd., Chennai which reported that the sample contained more foreign matter than paddy and therefore, it was not possible to do the analysis. Learned counsel further states that paddy present in the sample was only 46.8% and there was huge presence of husk which was a clear indication that the material claimed in the stock was not 100% paddy as alleged by the complainant. Hence, the claim was repudiated which was communicated to the complainant on 24.05.2012.
8. From the foregoing, it is manifest that admittedly, there was a fire in the rice mill which was the insured premises under the policy. The repudiation of the claim is on the grounds that the stock was in an open yard (and therefore not in the 'premises'), that it was goods held in trust/commission and therefore excluded under General Exclusion 5 to the policy and that the stock had large quantities of extraneous material which did not justify the quantity of stock claimed to have been destroyed. The moot issue is whether the Surveyor's conclusion that the stocks destroyed in the fire stand covered under the policy and are, therefore, indemnified against loss as per the risks covered.
9. The Surveyor's report has concluded as follows:
Value of damage worked out above is only for physical quantity existed excluding that portion which was supplied by Civil Supplies. Hence only own stock portion is quantified;
• No cenvat/ vat is involved;• There is no salvage value in our opinion for the damage quantified above in view of nature of damage;
• Sum insured is adequate considering the extent of physical availability of the •
4
material; The extent of quantify claimed is not available. The open storage area can accommodate the quantity claimed, but on verification it is found that claimed quantity is not available. Quantum of loss is given in the report to the extent of physical availability + allowances for moisture and invisible loss; and
• Damaged gunny bags were not quantified by insured during our visits and hence, same is not considered.
•
10. From the record, it is manifest that the opposite party's letter of repudiation of the claim of the complainant dated 24.05.2013 is based upon this report since it reads as below:
" The cause of fire incident dated 15.09.2012 in Manasa Rice Mill situated at Venkatagiri is not established as reported by the Surveyor. The material burnt in the said incident was not pure paddy but mixed with lot of husk and impurity etc. Your claim includes stock of paddy supplied by Civil Supplies Department. As per policy General Exclusion-5, goods held in trust or in commission are not covered. Further the material claimed was stored in open yard. As per policy schedule, stock kept in the premises only covered.
We therefore regret to inform that your claim is repudiated as not admissible as per policy terms and conditions."
11. It is also evident that the basis for the repudiation draws upon General Exclusion-5 of the policy which reads as below:
5. Loss, destruction, or damage to bullion or unset precious stones, any curios or works of art for an amount exceeding Rs 10,000/-, goods held in trust or on Commission, manuscripts, plans, drawings securities, obligations or documents of any kind, stamps, coins or paper money, cheques, books of accounts or other business books, computer systems records, explosives unless otherwise expressly stated in the policy.
(Emphasis added)
12. The complainant would have us believe that the fire was accidental and that merely because the surveyor could not establish the cause of the fire it cannot be concluded that the claim was inadmissible. He also argues that the policy covers goods in the 'premises' of the rice mill which includes the open yard within the compound of the mill and therefore the repudiation of the claim on the ground that the stock was not in the 'premises' is incorrect. It is contended that the stock position of paddy was correctly provided based upon the stock of paddy received for milling from the AP Civil Supply Department and from farmers. Lastly, it was argued that the paddy was milled for a consideration and therefore the stocks were not held in trust or commission and were accordingly eligible for the claim filed. The stock quantity in the open yard is justified by the petitioner as eligible for coverage as it was within the premises and was for milling for a consideration and not held in trust/commission.
5
13. From the record it is evident that the complainant's rice mill was operating and milling paddy. The paddy was procured by farmers and the AP Civil Supply Corporation. The conclusion of the opposite party that the stocks were held in trust is not supported by any document. The exclusion of the paddy stocks from coverage under the policy on account of the fact that it was in an open yard cannot be considered valid since the policy clearly mentions the 'premises' of the rice mill and as per the Oxford dictionary, 'premises' is defined as 'the building and the land around it that a business owns or uses'. As per this definition, the exclusion of the open yard by the opposite party from the 'premises' covered under the policy is not a valid or correct interpretation of the policy. On the issue of the quantum and quality of stocks, the complainant has been unable to controvert the report of SGS, Chennai regarding the presence of husk and foreign material in the bags. The quantity of paddy claimed to have been lost in the fire should rightly be determined based on the average paddy available as estimated by the relevant test agencies. Accordingly, the damage/loss to the paddy stock needs to be reckoned as 46.8% of the available stocks stated to be on the premises i.e., deduction of 46.8% will apply on the stock available on the 'premises'. On this basis, the quantity of paddy destroyed due to the fire will be 927.82 tonnes (i.e. 46.8% of available stock of 2017.10 tonnes). The loss of paddy in financial terms works out to Rs.928/- per tonne on the basis of the price at which the loss has been claimed, and which is not controverted by the opposite party. The quantity of paddy available on the premises after deducting the quantity of milled paddy of 321.459 MT from the total paddy received (2017.10 MT), works out to 1695.641 MT. Applying the reduction factor of 46.8% as per the test report of SGS Lab, Chennai, the quantity of paddy works out to 944.002 M T. In monetary terms, based upon the loss @ Rs.13619.74 per MT adopted by the surveyor in his report, the value of his quantity comes to Rs.1,28,85,381.85. Applying deduction of Rs.10,000 for 'Act of God Perils' and Rs.10,000/- for loss arising out of other perils in which insured is indemnified by the policy as per policy conditions numbers (A) General Exclusions (1) (a) and (b) respectively, the net value of paddy is estimable to be Rs.1,28,65,381.85. The loss of gunny bags is estimated by the surveyor at Rs.5,30,800/-. Therefore, the cumulative loss can be quantified at Rs.1,34,16,181.85.
14. The cause of the fire being accidental, based upon the above, the opposite party is liable to pay the complainant an amount of Rs.1,33,96,181.85/- towards the loss of paddy and gunny bags due to the accidental fire in the premises of the rice mill which was a covered peril as per the insurance policy with compensation in the form of interest on this amount from the date of the preferring of the claim. This amount is within the insured value of stocks of Rs. 1,00,00,000/- and is therefore admissible.
15. The complaint is accordingly found to have merits and is allowed. The opposite party shall pay the complainant a sum of Rs.1,33,96,181.85 towards the settlement of the claim of loss of paddy in the premises of the complainant's rice mill that was destroyed in the accidental fire along with simple interest @ 6% p.a. from the date of the submission of the claim till the date of this order. This order shall be complied within 8 weeks failing which the rate of interest payable shall be 9% p.a. till the date of realization. There shall be no order as to costs. All pending IAs, if any, also stand disposed of alongwith this order.
......................................
6
SUBHASH CHANDRA
PRESIDING MEMBER
7
Alert