- Bookmark
- Share
- CaseIQ
STATE OF PUNJAB ETC v. JANGIR SINGH
Legal Opinion Summary: RSA-361-2004 (O&M) — State of Punjab & Others v. Jangir Singh
Factual and Procedural Background
The plaintiff-respondent (Jangir Singh) filed a declaratory suit seeking military service benefits under the Punjab Government National Emergency (Concession) Rules, 1965 and fixation of pay under Rule 7.20 of the Punjab Civil Services Rules, Volume-II, Part-II (CSR) at Rs. 1,800 per month w.e.f. his joining as Constable in Punjab Police on 11.06.1990 instead of Rs. 1,000 per month, along with arrears of pay, revised pensionary benefits, interest and consequent service benefits. The plaintiff alleged prior military service (variously pleaded dates are in the record) and that upon discharge from the Army his basic pay was Rs. 1,800 per month. He retired from Punjab Police on 28.02.2001 and filed the suit on 03.01.2002 after serving a legal notice on 07.09.2001.
The defendants (State of Punjab and officers) contested the suit, raising preliminary objections including limitation and estoppel (on account of accepting pay during service). They contended that Rules 7.19 and 7.20 of CSR were omitted effective 06.12.1992 (notification dated 18.09.1993) and that the plaintiff had been granted five advance increments and certain payments (e.g., GPF) which were paid during the pendency.
The trial court (Senior Civil Judge) decreed the suit on 10.01.2003, holding the plaintiff entitled to fixation of pay at Rs. 1,800 w.e.f. 11.06.1990 and restricted arrears to 38 months prior to filing. The first appellate court (District Judge, Bathinda) dismissed the appellants' appeal on 01.09.2003, upholding the trial court's decree. The State filed the present Regular Second Appeal in the High Court of Punjab & Haryana. The High Court heard the matter and delivered its decision on 21.12.2017.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether the impugned judgments and decrees passed by the two courts below granting the benefit of military service and ordering fixation of the plaintiff's pay at Rs. 1,800 per month w.e.f. 11.06.1990 are legally sustainable. (This was formulated by the High Court as the substantial question of law.)
- At trial the courts had specifically framed issues including: (a) whether the plaintiff is entitled for military service benefits for the service rendered during emergency; (b) whether the plaintiff is entitled for protection of his pay; (c) whether the suit is within limitation; and related maintainability/estoppel issues. These were the factual and legal issues adjudicated by the courts below.
Arguments of the Parties
Appellants' (State of Punjab and others) Arguments
- The plaintiff had already been granted the benefit of five annual increments in respect of his military service and had accepted those increments without challenge.
- Rules 7.19 and 7.20 of the CSR had been omitted w.e.f. 06.12.1992 by gazette notification dated 18.09.1993; therefore the plaintiff could not claim the benefits under the omitted provisions after omission.
- The suit is time-barred: the plaintiff's right to sue accrued when his pay was initially fixed and, at the latest, when the notification omitting Rule 7.20 was published.
- The plaintiff is estopped from raising the claim because he accepted pay during his employment and never objected during service.
- On the merits, the appellants disputed entitlement to protection of last military pay and argued that the plaintiff's military service entitlement (as framed in the appeal) amounted to only limited increments in the initial entry—i.e., not an automatic right to fixation at Rs. 1,800.
- Payments such as GPF and other amounts had been paid to the plaintiff (bill and demand draft references were produced).
Respondent's (Plaintiff) Arguments
- The plaintiff contended that he rendered qualifying military service (periods are in the record) and that under Rule 7.20 of CSR he was entitled to counting of military service and fixation of pay at Rs. 1,800 per month w.e.f. 11.06.1990 (the date of entry into Punjab Police).
- The plaintiff sought arrears of pay, revised pensionary benefits and other consequential benefits; he relied on documentary evidence including last pay certificate, discharge certificate and service records.
- Before the High Court the plaintiff contended that there was no merit in the appellants' contentions and asked the court to uphold the judgments of the two courts below.
Table of Precedents Cited
No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The High Court's analysis proceeded in a stepwise manner based on the record and the text of Rule 7.20 (as it stood prior to omission):
- The court noted the undisputed facts: the plaintiff was appointed as Constable on 11.06.1990 when Rule 7.20 was on the statute book; Rule 7.20 was omitted with effect from 06.12.1992 by notification dated 18.09.1993; the plaintiff retired on 28.02.2001; and the suit was filed on 03.01.2002.
- The court reproduced sub-rules (a) and (b) of Rule 7.20 and emphasized that sub-rule (b) prescribes how pay should be fixed for a junior commissioned officer or other rank on re-employment in a civil post: the pay is to be fixed at a stage in the civil time-scale equal to the basic pay exclusive of allowances at the time of retirement, or the next lower stage plus personal pay to make up the difference, subject to not exceeding the civil scale maximum or going below the minimum.
- The court observed that the plaintiff had, in fact, been granted five increments by office order No.2256 dated 15.11.2000 and had accepted them; neither the legal notice nor the plaint disclosed that such increments had been granted — a material fact omitted from pleadings which the court characterized as active concealment.
- The court found that the courts below erred in a material legal respect: they awarded fixation at Rs. 1,800 by directly taking the plaintiff's last military pay without applying sub-rule (b) of Rule 7.20 to determine whether the basic pay exclusive of allowances or the appropriate stage in the civil time-scale matched or how any difference should have been handled. The High Court emphasized the absence of pleadings and evidence as to the allowances component or the manner in which the five increments and any other financial elements were calculated and absorbed.
- On limitation, the High Court applied Article 58 of the Limitation Act, 1963 (Part III — suits relating to declarations: three years from when the right to sue accrues). The court held the plaintiff's right to sue accrued either when his initial pay was fixed or, at the latest, when the notification omitting Rule 7.20 was issued (18.09.1993). Given that the suit was filed on 03.01.2002, the court found it to be time-barred.
- Combining the procedural (limitation) and substantive (failure to apply sub-rule (b) and absence of pleadings/evidence on allowances and prior increments) defects in the plaintiffs' case and the errors made by both courts below, the High Court concluded that the judgments below were legally unsustainable.
Holding and Implications
Core Ruling: APPEAL ALLOWED; THE IMPUGNED JUDGMENTS AND DECREES OF THE COURTS BELOW ARE SET ASIDE; THE CIVIL SUIT FILED BY THE PLAINTIFF-RESPONDENT IS DISMISSED.
Implications and consequences:
- Direct effect: The decree ordering fixation of pay at Rs. 1,800 w.e.f. 11.06.1990 and related reliefs awarded by the trial and appellate courts were vacated; the plaintiff's declaratory suit was dismissed.
- Limitation implication: The High Court held the plaintiff's right to sue accrued earlier (at the time of initial pay fixation or at the latest upon omission of Rule 7.20), rendering the claim time-barred under Article 58 of the Limitation Act, 1963.
- Substantive implication: The decision identifies that a proper application of sub-rule (b) of Rule 7.20 requires consideration of basic pay exclusive of allowances and the civil time-scale stages; the courts below failed to undertake that analysis and therefore erred.
- Financial consequence: The court expressly directed that if the plaintiff-respondent has already received any financial benefits pursuant to the judgments below, those amounts shall not be recovered from him by the State/defendants.
- Broader precedent: The opinion does not articulate that it is laying down a novel principle of law beyond adjudicating the appeals; the decision addresses the direct reliefs in this litigation and the proper application of Rule 7.20 as it existed prior to omission. No additional authoritative precedential holdings were stated in the opinion beyond the disposition of the appeal.
Decision delivered on December 21, 2017 by Hon'ble Mr. Justice Mahabir Singh Sindhu. Neutral Citation: 2017:PHHC:128742.
RSA-361-2004 (O&M) -1-
IN THE HIGH COURT OF PUNJAB AND HARYANA AT
CHANDIGARH
RSA-361-2004 (O&M) Date of Decision:- 21.12.2017 State of Punjab and others .....Appellants
Versus
Jangir Singh
.....Respondent
CORAM: HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE MAHABIR SINGH SINDHU
Present: Mr. Amit Mehta, Sr. DAG, Punjab, for the appellants.
Mr. Ashish Grover, Advocate,
for the respondent.
****
MAHABIR SINGH SINDHU , J. (Oral)
State of Punjab and its officers have filed the present Regular Second Appeal against the impugned judgment and decree dated 01.09.2003, passed by learned District Judge, Bathinda, vide which their first appeal has been dismissed and the judgment and decree dated 10.01.2003, rendered by learned Senior Civil Judge (Sr. Division), Bathinda, thereby decreeing a declaratory suit filed by the plaintiff- respondent and holding him entitled for fixation of his pay @ ̀ 1800 per month w.e.f. 11.06.1990 i.e. date of joining on the post of constable along with benefit of arrears of pay and pension to the extent of 38 months before the filing of the suit, has been upheld.
2. Brief facts of the case are that the plaintiff-respondent filed a suit for declaration to the effect that he is entitled for counting of his
1 of 13
military service rendered during emergency as per the Punjab Government National Emergency (Concession) Rules, 1965 (for short
"Rules of 1965") for fixation of his pay under Rule 7.20 of the Punjab Civil Services Rules, Volume-II, Part-II, (for short "CSR") at ̀ 1800/- (Rupees Eighteen Hundred) per month, w.e.f. his joining as constable in Punjab Police i.e. 11.06.1990, instead of `1000/- p.m., arrears of pay and revised pensionary benefits along with interest @ 24% per annum and all consequential service benefits.
The plaintiff pleaded that he was appointed as constable on 11.06.1990 as Bomb Disposal Special Duty (Explosive Expert) at Bathinda and prior thereto he had rendered service during the emergency in Indian Army w.e.f. 26.10.1962 to 17.12.1977 (11 years and 4 months), but no benefit has been granted to him towards fixation of pay, increments and seniority at the time of joining on the post of constable in Punjab Police. It is further pleaded that when plaintiff was discharged from Army, he was getting the basic pay of ̀ 1800/- per month and at the time of joining the post of constable on 11.06.1990, his basic pay was fixed at `1000/- per month; but in view of the provisions of Rule 7.20 of CSR, he was entitled to get his basic pay fixed @ ̀ 1800/- instead of `1000/- as on 11.06.1990; further revised pay, pension and gratuity etc. It is also pleaded that the plaintiff retired from Punjab Police on 28.02.2001 after attaining the age of superannuation, but till date he has not received his GPF amounting to `1,18,658/- up to 1999-2000 and further from 01.04.2000 to 01.09.2000 of `12,000/- along with interest and including
2 of 13
the benefit of his eight years' service towards increments (proficiency step up). It is also pleaded that the plaintiff-respondent also served a legal notice under Section 80 of the Code of Civil Procedure upon the defendants-appellants on 07.09.2001, but despite that, no action was taken. Hence, that necessitated to filing of the present suit. In paragraph 7 of the plaint it is pleaded that cause of action for filing of the suit arose on 28.02.2001, when the plaintiff retired from police service and the same is still recurring.
3. Defendants-appellants filed their written statement and raised preliminary objections to the effect that the suit is time barred and thus deserves to be dismissed. It was also raised in preliminary objection No.3 that the plaintiff is estopped from filing the present suit as he joined his service as constable in Punjab Police on 11.06.1990 and retired on 28.02.2001 and during all this period he had been accepting the pay, which was legally admissible to him and he cannot be allowed to raise the plea of fixation of pay at this stage.
On merits, it has been submitted that the plaintiff-respondent was granted the benefit of five annual increments, vide office order No.2256 dated 15.11.2000 and he accepted the same. So far as joining of the police department on the post of constable on 11.06.1990 is concerned, the same is admitted and the pay scale to the post of constable at that time of his joining is stated to be 950-1800 and basic pay of the plaintiff-respondent was fixed at ̀ 1000/-. It has also been submitted that Rules 7.19 and 7.20 of CSR, have already been omitted w.e.f. 06.12.1992, vide gazette notification dated 18.09.1993, hence, he is not
3 of 13
entitled to get any benefit of the same. It is also submitted that bill No.1022 dated 25.12.2001 for an amount of ̀ 1,49,741/- towards GPF was duly paid to the plaintiff-respondent by way of demand draft on 08.02.2002. As far as entitlement of eight years' service benefit for increment is concerned, the same has been denied on account of the fact that he could not pass the next promotion course and according to new amendment, vide letter No.7/52/2000-5PP1/18355 dated 07.12.2001, the benefit of eight years service for increment of the plaintiff-respondent was stated to be under process and the payment was to be made in due course.
No replication has been filed by the plaintiff-respondent.
4. On the basis of the pleadings of the parties, learned trial Court framed seven issues, which read as under: -
"1. Whether plaintiff is entitled for military service benefits for the service rendered during emergency? OPP
2. Whether plaintiff is entitled for protection of his pay? OPP
3. Whether suit is within limitation? OPP
4. Whether the suit is not maintainable? OPD
5. Whether plaintiff is estopped by his act and conduct? OPD
6. Whether plaintiff is entitled for declaration and consequential relief as prayed for? OPP
7. Relief."
In order to prove his case, plaintiff-respondent himself appeared as PW1 and brought on record the documentary evidence as
4 of 13
Exhibits P-1 to P-17 and which are as under: -
"Ex.P1 Last Pay Certificate. Ex.P2 Discharge certificate dated 31.12.1987 (premature retirement at his own request, after 25 years, 7 months and 7 days).
Ex.P3 Memo No.573 dated 17.12.2001 regarding payment of GP Fund.
Ex.P4 Legal Notice dated 10.01.2002. Ex.P5 Documents produced by the Department Ex.P6 Compensatory allowance amount of ̀ 1,49,741. Ex.P7 Circular letter dated 17.12.2001 for implementation of 4thPunjab Pay Commission under ACP Scheme.
Ex.P8 Communication/letter dated 12.10.2000. Ex.P9 Order dated 14.11.2000.
Ex.P10 Letter No.1583/SPLA dated 28.07.2001. Ex.P11 Letter No.8486 dated 23.08.2001. Ex.P12 Character and Service Roll dated 11.06.1990. Ex.P13 Service record
Ex.P14 Details of retiral benefits dated 10.07.2002. Ex.P15 Compensatory allowance- Bill No.1022 dated 25.12.2001 for an amount of `1,49,741/- towards GP fund.
Ex.P16 Compensatory allowance - Bill No.229 dated 24.05.2001 for an amount of `37,843/-. Ex.P17 Compensatory allowance - Bill No.xxx dated 14.03.2001 for an amount of `34,792/-."
On the other hand, the defendants-appellants examined ASI Jaspal Singh as DW-1.
5. After hearing both the sides and taking into consideration the material available on record, learned trial Court decided issues No.1 and
5 of 13
2 in favour of the plaintiff-respondent and came to the conclusion that although the Rule 7.20 of CSR, has been omitted in the year 1993, but the plaintiff-respondent joined his services on 11.06.1990, therefore, he is entitled for the benefit of said rule for counting of military service benefits. Learned trial Court has also come to the conclusion that at the time of retirement of the plaintiff-respondent from Indian Army, his basic pay was `1800 per month and thus, he is entitled for protection of his basic pay and decided issues No.1 and 2 in favour of the plaintiff- respondent. While deciding issue No.3, learned trial Court came to the conclusion that cause of action regarding pay and pensionary benefits is a recurring cause of action and the plaintiff-respondent is entitled for the same every month. Issues No.4 to 6 were also decided in favour of the plaintiff-respondent and ultimately while deciding issue No.7, pertaining to relief, the suit was decreed by learned trial Court vide judgment and decree dated 10.01.2003 and held that the plaintiff-respondent is entitled for fixation of his pay @ ̀ 1800/- per month w.e.f. 11.06.1990 when he joined on the post of constable, but his arrears of pay and pension were restricted to 38 months prior to the date of filing of the suit.
6. Aggrieved against the judgment and decree passed by learned trial Court, the defendants-appellants preferred an appeal and it was submitted before the learned first Appellate Court that the plaintiff- respondent rendered military service during emergency period w.e.f. 26.10.1962 to 10.01.1968 i.e. 5 years, 9 months and 15 days and as such he was entitled only for five annual increments at the initial stage of his entry in the Punjab Police as constable and there is no rule existing
6 of 13
according to which he is entitled for protection of his last pay drawn in the Indian Army. It had also been submitted that five advance increments were already granted to the plaintiff-respondent and Rule 7.20 of CSR, had been omitted w.e.f. 6.12.1992, vide notification dated 18.09.1993, therefore, he was not entitled for the benefit of the same. Learned first appellate Court while passing the impugned judgment and decree came to the conclusion that the defendants-appellants cannot take the benefit of the fact that Rule 7.20 of CSR, had been omitted in the year 1993, as the plaintiff-respondent joined his services on the post of constable on 11.06.1990 and at that time the rule was very much in force. Learned first appellate Court also came to the conclusion that the defendants- appellants have failed to show any rule or provision(s) of law according to which the plaintiff-respondent was entitled to only five annual increments at the initial entry in Punjab Police on the post of constable and ultimately dismissed the appeal with costs.
7. Hence, the present Regular Second Appeal.
8. Learned counsel for the defendants-appellants has made the submissions: - (i) that the plaintiff-respondent has already been granted the benefits of five annual increments right from the time of his initial entry into service as constable in Punjab Police i.e. 16.06.1990 and he has duly accepted the same and never challenged; and (ii) that Rule 7.20 of CSR already stood omitted w.e.f. 06.12.1992 by way of a gazette notification dated 18.09.1993 and the plaintiff-appellant has retired from Punjab Police after attaining the age of superannuation w.e.f. 28.02.2001, but the present suit has been filed on 03.01.2002; therefore, both the
7 of 13
learned Courts below have committed a grave error of law while decreeing the suit, hence the appeal deserves to be accepted. On the other hand, learned counsel for the plaintiff- respondent submitted that there is no merits in the contentions of the learned counsel for the defendants-appellants and the impugned judgments and decrees passed by both the Courts below are perfectly legal and valid and do not require any interference by this Court while entertaining the present Regular Second Appeal.
9. Heard learned counsel for both the parties and perused the record carefully. For deciding the present matter in controversy, the point for determination as a substantial question of law is as under: -
"(1) Whether the impugned judgments and decrees passed by both the learned Courts below while granting the benefit of military service to the plaintiff-respondent and ordering for fixation of his pay @ ̀ 1800 per month on the date of his entry into service on the post of constable in Punjab Police w.e.f. 11.06.1990 is legally sustainable or not?"
10. The plaintiff-respondent appeared as PW-1 and stated that he joined on the post of constable in Punjab Police on 11.06.1990 after rendering military service from 25.05.1962 to 31.12.1987 i.e. 25 years, 7 months and six days and his basic pay was fixed as ̀ 1000/- on 11.06.1990, but when he retired from the Indian Army, his basic pay was Rs.1800/- (Rupees Eighteen Thousand) per month. He has brought on record his last pay certificate (Ex.P1) and discharge certificate (Ex.P2) respectively. He has also brought on record the copy of order dated
8 of 13
17.12.2001 (Ex.P3) to show that the payment of GPF was made to him on 14.02.2002. He has further deposed that he was not paid arrears of proficiency step-up, but the same has been released during pendency of the suit and arrears were paid to him up to 31.12.2000 and retired from the post of constable on 28.02.2001. In his cross-examination, plaintiff- respondent (PW1) stated that pay scale for the post of constable on 11.06.1990 was 950-1800 and at the time of joining as constable, his basic pay was fixed at ̀ 1000/-. He has admitted that the amount of `1,49,741/- was received by him towards GPF, vide demand draft dated
08.06.2002.
11. DW-1 ASI Jaspal Singh, In-charge Civil Suit Branch, Office of Senior Superintendent of Police, Bathinda, deposed that the plaintiff- respondent has already been given the benefit of five annual increments towards his military service. This witness has also stated that the plaintiff has been given the benefit of eight years service increment, which was previously under consideration. DW-1 has stated that the plaintiff- respondent rendered military service w.e.f. 26.10.1962 to 17.12.1977.
12. Before proceeding with the matter, it is necessary to reproduce Rule 7.20 of CSR prior to its omission by way of gazette notification 18.09.1993 and the same reads as as under: -
"(a) When a Commissioned Officer formerly in military service obtains employment in Civil Department after having been granted military pension, he shall continue to draw his military pension. His pay on re-employment shall be fixed at the minimum of the time scale of the Civil post in which he is re- employed. He shall be allowed to draw usual annual increment till the pay in the civil post plus pension and pension equivalent of
9 of 13
other retirement benefits taken together minus fifty rupees do not exceed the maximum of the scale of the Civil post in which he is re-employed.
(b) When a junior Commissioned Officer or other rank formerly in military service obtain employment in Civil Department, after having been granted military pension, he shall continue to draw his military pension. His pay in the Civil post shall be fixed at a stage in the time scale of the Civil post which is equal to the basic pay exclusive of allowances of any kind drawn at the time of retirement or, if there is no such stage, the stage next below that pay plus personal pay equal to the difference to be absorbed in to next increment, subject to the condition that it shall not in any case be below the minimum or above the maximum of the time scale of the Civil post in which he is re-employed. He will be allowed to draw usual annual increments in the time-scale of the Civil Post."
13. There is no dispute that the plaintiff-respondent was appointed on the post of Constable in Punjab Police on 11.06.1990 and at that time Rule 7.20 of CSR as reproduced hereinabove was in the statue book and the same has been omitted only in the year 1993, vide notification dated 18.09.1993 w.e.f. 06.12.1992. This is also an admitted fact that the plaintiff-respondent retired from the post of constable on attaining the age of superannuation w.e.f. 28.02.2001 and the present suit was filed on 03.01.2002 and during his service career he never raised any objection regarding the fixation of his pay as per Rule 7.20 of CSR. It has also come on record that the plaintiff-respondent was granted the benefits of five increments on account of his military service towards the fixation of pay etc. w.e.f. 11.06.1990, vide office order No.2256 dated 15.11.2000 and the same was duly accepted by him and that fact is not disputed by the plaintiff-respondent and which is not challenged till date. Neither in
10 of 13
the legal notice; nor in the plaint it has been mentioned that the plaintiff- respondent has been granted the benefit of five increments in lieu of his military service for fixation of his pay w.e.f. 11.06.1990 on the post of constable in Punjab Police and therefore, that amounts to an active concealment of a vital fact by the plaintiff-respondent. As per the provisions of sub-rule (b) of Rule 7.20 of the CSR when a military personnel obtains employment in civil department after having been granted military pension, his pay in the civil post is to be fixed at a stage in the time scale of the civil post which is equal to the basic pay exclusive of allowances of any kind drawn at the time of retirement or if there is no such stage, the stage next below that pay plus personal pay equal to the difference to be absorbed into next increment subject to the condition that it shall not in any case be above the maximum of time scale of civil post in which he is re-employed. No doubt as per the material available on record, the pay scale of the post of constable in Punjab Police as on 11.06.1990 was Rs.950-1800, but there is no pleadings as to how much allowances the plaintiff-respondent was getting on account of his discharge from military service and what was the component of financial benefits granted to him while fixing his pay on account of five increments w.e.f. 11.06.1990 in lieu of his military service benefits as constable in Punjab Police, vide order dated 15.11.2000. Thus, without examining the applicability of sub-rule (b) of Rule 7.20 of the CSR from that angle, both the learned Courts below have straight way granted the benefit of fixation of pay of the plaintiff- respondent @ 1800/- per month by taking into consideration the factum
11 of 13
of his last pay drawn in military service with effect from 11.06.1990 on the post of constable in Punjab Police and as such committed a grave error of law.
It is one thing to say that the plaintiff-respondent has not at all been granted the benefit of military service and it is another thing to say that he has been granted the inadequate or less benefits in the form of five increments towards military service. As a matter of fact if the contents of plaint are read as a whole, even then it no where reveals that the plaintiff-respondent has been granted the inadequate benefit by way of five increments towards his military service benefits. Thus, the claim of plaintiff-respondent is not sustainable.
14. Even otherwise as discussed above, the plaintiff-respondent joined as constable in Punjab Police on 11.06.1990, the present suit was filed on 03.01.2002 and the Rule 7.20 of the CSR stood omitted, vide notification dated 18.09.1993. Thus, the suit is hopelessly time barred in view of Article 58 of the Limitation Act,1963 and which reads as under: -
"Part III - Suits Relating To Declarations __________________________________________________________ Description of suit Period of limitation Time from which period begins to run
__________________________________________________________
58. To obtain any other Three years When the right to sue first declaration. accrues"
__________________________________________________________ The right to sue, first accrued in favour of the plaintiff- respondent when his initial pay was fixed and thereafter at the best when the notification dated 18.09.1993 omitting Rule 7.20 of CSR was issued.
12 of 13
As such, both the learned Courts below have committed a grave error of law while entertaining a declaratory suit and on that count also the judgments and decrees passed by both the learned Courts below are not legally sustainable.
15. In view of the above, the present Regular Second Appeal is allowed and the impugned judgments and decrees passed by both the learned Courts below are set aside. Resultantly, the civil suit filed by the plaintiff-respondent stands dismissed.
16. It is made clear that if the plaintiff-respondent has already received any financial benefits in pursuance to the impugned judgments and decrees passed by both the learned Courts below, the same shall not be recovered from him by the defendants-appellants. Disposed off in the above terms.
December 21, 2017 ( MAHABIR SINGH SINDHU )
naresh.k JUDGE
Whether speaking/reasoned Yes Whether reportable Yes
Neutral Citation No:=2017:PHHC:128742
13 of 13
Alert