Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. Petitioners(S) v. Brahmdeo Panjiyara (S).

National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
Mar 14, 2012
Smart Summary (Beta)

Summary of Opinion — Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Brahmdeo Panjiyara

Factual and Procedural Background

The insurer, Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. (Petitioner), filed a revision petition challenging an order of the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Bihar (State Commission) in Appeal No. 384/2002, which had been decided in favour of Brahmdeo Panjiyara (Respondent), the original complainant before the District Forum.

The Respondent, proprietor of M/s B.P. Trading and an authorized Indane Gas distributor, had taken a Multi-Perils Insurance Policy for LPG dealers covering cylinders and contents (sum assured Rs. 7,00,000) and burglary/house-breaking (Rs. 1,00,000). On 04.01.1997, an employee of the Respondent stole 224 gas cylinders. The Respondent filed an FIR and notified the Petitioner, which appointed a surveyor on 16.01.1997. The claim file was initially closed by the insurer because certain documents were not produced; subsequently, after documents were supplied, there was no substantive response and the claim was repudiated on the basis of an Exception/Exclusion Clause in the policy that excluded indemnity where theft was committed by an employee of the insured.

The Respondent filed a complaint before the District Forum alleging deficiency of service and sought Rs. 4,03,200/- (loss calculated at Rs. 1,800/- per cylinder) with costs. The District Forum directed payment of Rs. 2,01,600/- (assessed at Rs. 900/- per cylinder) with interest at 12% p.a. after three months from the date of filing the claim and Rs. 1,000/- as litigation costs, and ordered refund to the Respondent of any amount recovered by Indian Oil Corporation over Rs. 900/- per cylinder. The Petitioner appealed to the State Commission, which dismissed the appeal on the ground that the Respondent was not informed of the policy condition (Special Exceptions/Exclusion Clause) as that clause was not part of the main policy document supplied; consequently the Respondent could not be bound by an undisclosed exception. The Petitioner then filed the present revision petition.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the insurer could lawfully repudiate the Respondent's claim by relying on a Special Exceptions/Exclusion Clause (excluding theft by an employee) when that clause was not supplied to or communicated to the insured at the time the policy was issued.
  2. Whether the orders of the fora below (District Forum and State Commission) on liability, quantum and interest were legally sustainable in the circumstances of non-communication of the exclusionary clause.

Arguments of the Parties

Petitioner’s Arguments (Counsel for Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd.)

  • The entire insurance policy was made available to the Respondent and, as a contractual agreement, the Respondent was bound by all its terms and could not claim ignorance of its provisions.
  • The Exclusion/Exception Clause unambiguously excludes indemnity where theft is committed by an employee of the insured (inter alia), and therefore repudiation of the claim was justified because the theft was admittedly committed by the Respondent’s employee.

Respondent’s Arguments (Counsel for Brahmdeo Panjiyara)

  • The fora below (District Forum and State Commission as courts of fact) found on evidence that only the cover note and the schedule of the insurance policy were supplied to the Respondent; other parts of the policy, including the Special Exceptions clause, were not provided to him.
  • Because the Exception/Exclusion Clause was not part of the documents given to the Respondent, he could not reasonably be aware of an exclusion that the insurer later invoked to repudiate the claim.

Table of Precedents Cited

No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court reviewed the evidence on record, including the insurance policy document. It accepted the State Commission's factual finding that only the cover note and the policy schedule were supplied to the Respondent and that the clause titled “Special Exceptions” (the exclusion relied on by the insurer) was not made available to or explained to the Respondent. The Petitioner/insurer was unable to produce any document or other evidence to rebut this factual finding.

On the basis of those facts, the court concluded that the insurer could not validly repudiate the claim by invoking a Special Exceptions/Exclusion Clause that had not been communicated to or relied upon by the insured at the time of entering into the contract. The court therefore affirmed the approach of the State Commission in refusing to permit repudiation on that ground.

Finally, the court applied these findings to dispose of the revision petition by upholding the State Commission’s order and by issuing directions for payment (including modification of interest and time for payment as set out in the order).

Holding and Implications

Holding: The revision petition was dismissed and the order of the State Commission was upheld. The Petitioner/Insurance Company was directed to pay the Respondent Rs. 2,01,600/- together with interest at 10% per annum with effect from 26.10.1999 until realization, and Rs. 1,000/- as litigation costs, payable within six weeks from receipt of the order.

Implications:

  • Direct effect on the parties: The insurer is ordered to pay the awarded sum plus interest and costs to the insured as specified above.
  • Contractual practice implication (limited to the facts as decided): The opinion treats non-communication or non-supply of an exclusionary clause as a decisive factual circumstance preventing reliance on that clause to repudiate a claim. The court relied on the record that showed the exclusion was not supplied or explained to the insured and that the insurer could not controvert that finding.
  • No broader precedent beyond the case facts was explicitly stated by the court; the decision resolves the dispute between these parties on the basis that the exclusionary clause was not communicated to the insured and so could not be invoked.
Show all summary ...

Vineeta Rai, Member:— Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. (hereinafter referred to as the ‘Petitioner’) has filed this revision petition being aggrieved by the order of the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Bihar (hereinafter referred to as the ‘State Commission’) in Appeal No. 384/2002 which was decided in favour of Brahmdeo Panjiyara, Respondent herein, who was the original complainant before the District Forum.

The brief facts of the case are that Respondent was proprietor of M/s B.P Trading an authorized distributor of Indane Gas and had taken a Multi-Perils Insurance Policy for L.P Gas (LPG) Dealers from the Petitioner/Insurance Company for an assured sum of Rs. 7 lakhs for the cost of cylinders and its contents, Rs. 1 lakh against Burglary and/or House Breaking etc. On 04.01.1997, one Binay Kumar Mishra an employee of the Respondent committed theft and took away 224 gas cylinders from the Respondent premises. Respondent lodged an FIR against the said employee and also informed the Petitioner/Insurance Company about this incident. Petitioner appointed a Surveyor on 16.01.1997 to enquire into the incident. The claim was initially treated as “closed” on the grounds that the Surveyor was not given the necessary documents by the Respondent and thereafter though the Respondent supplied the necessary documents and requested for reopening of his claim, no reply was received from the Petitioner/Insurance Company. Aggrieved by this, Respondent filed a complaint before the District Forum on grounds of deficiency in service and requested that Petitioner be directed to pay the Respondent Rs. 4,03,200/- being the loss caused to him because of theft of the cylinders @ Rs. 1,800/- per cylinder along with litigation costs and other reliefs.

The above contentions were denied by the Petitioner who stated that in the first instance the file had been closed because certain papers asked for from the Respondent were not supplied to its Surveyor and even after the papers were supplied the claim could not be indemnified as per Exception Clause in the insurance policy when an employee of the Insured or member or partner of the Insured or a member of the Insured's family is concerned as principal or accessory in commissioning of the crime. Since admittedly, theft was committed by an employee of the Respondent, the claim was rightly repudiated.

The District Forum after hearing both parties allowed the complaint and directed the Petitioner to pay Rs. 2,01,600/- (@ Rs. 900/- per cylinder) along with interest @ 12% per annum after 3 months from the date of filing of the claim till realization and Rs. 1,000/- as litigation cost. The District Forum further directed that any amount if recovered by the Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. Gas over and above Rs. 900/- should be refunded to the Respondent.

Aggrieved by this order, Petitioner filed an appeal before the State Commission. The State Commission dismissed the appeal on the ground that the Respondent was never informed by the Petitioner about the policy condition which included the Exception Clause since it was not a part of the main policy supplied by the Petitioner and therefore, Respondent could not be bound by any condition or exception which were not explained or made aware at the time of the parties entering into an insurance contract.

Hence, the present revision petition.

Counsel for both parties made oral submissions. Counsel for Petitioner reiterated the fact that the entire insurance policy was made available to the Respondent and since it was a contractual agreement, Respondent was bound by it and cannot claim ignorance of its provisions. He further contended that the Exclusion Clause makes it very clear that the claim could not be indemnified if the theft was committed inter alia by an employee of the Respondent which happened in the instant case.

Counsel for Respondent stated that the Fora below which are courts of facts had after considering the evidence on record concluded that only the cover note along with a schedule of the Insurance Policy was supplied to the Respondent and no other part of this document was given to him. Since, as stated above the Exception Clause was not a part of the policy document supplied, Respondent would obviously not be aware of the Exclusion cited by the Petitioner/Insurance Company to repudiate the claim.

We have heard learned Counsel for both parties and have gone through the evidence on record including the insurance policy document. We note that as pointed out by the State Commission only the cover note along with schedule of policy was supplied to the Respondent and the clause pertaining to Special Exceptions which is in the specimen copy of the insurance policy was not made available to him nor was he apprised about it. Petitioner was unable to provide any document or evidence to controvert this fact. Under these circumstances, we agree with the State Commission that the claim could not be repudiated by the Petitioner by citing the Special Exceptions condition of the insurance policy. We therefore, uphold the order of the State Commission and dismiss the revision petition. Petitioner/Insurance Company is directed to pay the Respondent, Rs. 2,01,600/- along with interest @ 10% per annum w.e.f 26.10.1999 till realization and Rs. 1,000/- as litigation cost within six weeks from the date of receipt of this order.