Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

ORIENTAL INSURANCE CO. LTD. v. SATPAL SINGH & ANR.

National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission
Apr 1, 2014
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

The complainant, Satpal Singh, along with his father Joginder Singh, purchased an Eicher Medium Truck financed by Shriram Finance Limited and insured with Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. The complainant paid Rs. 7.67 lakhs for the vehicle and paid instalments to clear the finance amount. The vehicle was insured from 15.05.2006 to 14.06.2007, but no policy or terms and conditions were supplied to the complainant. On 01.09.2006, the truck met with an accident in which Joginder Singh died on the spot and the vehicle was badly damaged. An FIR was registered the same day. The insurance company appointed a surveyor who assessed the vehicle as a total loss and recommended full payment of the insured amount. The complainant spent Rs. 21,900 on salvage hiring charges and made repeated attempts to claim compensation for the vehicle loss and death of his father, but the insurance company did not respond.

The complainant filed a complaint before the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum seeking Rs. 7,30,000 for vehicle loss, Rs. 8,00,000 for death of the driver (his father), and Rs. 2,29,911 for other claims. The District Forum held that the insurance company was not liable for the death claim as Joginder Singh was neither a paid driver nor an employee, but was liable to pay the insured declared value of Rs. 7,30,000 with interest and other costs. The complainant was directed to issue a subrogation letter and deliver the salvage to the insurance company. The insurance company filed a first appeal against the order, and the complainant filed a cross-appeal for enhancement of compensation. The State Commission dismissed both appeals. The insurance company then filed this revision petition against the State Commission's order.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the insurance company is liable to indemnify the complainant for the death of the driver, Joginder Singh, given he was neither a paid driver nor an employee?
  2. Whether the insurance company supplied the policy terms and conditions to the complainant along with the cover note?
  3. Whether the insurance company’s denial of the claim and closure of the case as "no claim" amounts to deficiency in service and unfair trade practice?
  4. Whether the complainant’s alleged violation of policy terms (such as vehicle registration, fitness certificate, and route permit) affects the maintainability of the claim?
  5. Whether the complainant is a consumer under the Consumer Protection Act when the truck was used for commercial purposes?

Arguments of the Parties

Petitioner (Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd.) Arguments

  • The complainant is not a consumer as the truck was used commercially for hire and reward.
  • The vehicle lacked valid registration, fitness certificate, and route permit, violating policy terms and conditions.
  • The personal accidental death claim is not maintainable because Joginder Singh was neither the owner nor the driver as per Indian Motor Tariff.
  • The complainant failed to cooperate by not submitting required documents despite reminders.
  • The complainant did not produce the final survey report, leading to closure of the case as no claim.
  • The insurance company contended that terms and conditions were supplied along with the cover note.
  • Intimation of the accident was given after a delay of 19 days, though no cogent evidence was produced to prove this.

Respondent (Complainant) Arguments

  • An FIR was registered immediately after the accident and intimation was given to the insurance company.
  • The insurance company appointed a surveyor who conducted a spot survey and reported the vehicle was totally damaged and not repairable.
  • The policy terms and conditions were not supplied along with the cover note, only the cover note was provided.
  • The affidavit of the surveyor stating the vehicle was repairable was an afterthought and inconsistent with the spot survey report.

Table of Precedents Cited

No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court analyzed the facts and documents on record, including the cover note, survey reports, and affidavits. It found that the insurance company failed to prove that the policy terms and conditions were supplied to the complainant along with the cover note, as the cover note only referred to terms and conditions being available on the company website or on demand. The court rejected the insurance company’s argument that every insured is expected to be computer savvy to access such terms. The court also noted the absence of cogent evidence supporting the insurance company’s claim that the accident intimation was delayed by 19 days. The affidavit of the surveyor suggesting the vehicle was repairable was considered an afterthought and inconsistent with the initial spot survey report. Furthermore, the insurance company did not appoint a final surveyor and closed the claim as “no claim” without basis, which the court held amounted to deficiency in service and unfair trade practice. Regarding the death claim, the court upheld the District Forum’s finding that Joginder Singh was neither a paid driver nor an employee and thus the insurance company was not liable for the death compensation. The court dismissed the revision petition filed by the insurance company.

Holding and Implications

The revision petition filed by Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. is dismissed.

The decision confirms the liability of the insurance company to pay the insured declared value for the total loss of the vehicle, while rejecting the death compensation claim due to the status of the deceased driver. The court’s order underscores the insurer’s duty to supply policy terms and conditions to the insured and to act fairly in claim processing, highlighting that failure to do so constitutes deficiency in service and unfair trade practice. No new precedent was set; the ruling applies the established principles to the facts of the case. The direct effect is that the insurance company must comply with the earlier orders of the District Forum and State Commission.

Show all summary ...

NATIONAL CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION

NEW DELHI

REVISION PETITION NO. 3165-3166 OF 2013

(Against the Order dated 14/05/2013 in Appeal No. 644/2008 & 131/2009 of the State Commission Punjab)

1. ORIENTAL INSURANCE CO. LTD.

SCO NO-109-11, SECTOR - 17-D, THROUGH ITS

REGIONAL MANAGER,

CHANDIGARH ...........Petitioner(s) Versus

1. SATPAL SINGH & ANR. S/O SH. JOGINDER SINGH, R/O KATCHA GONIANA ROAD, STREET NO-25, MUKTSAR

DISTRICT : MUKHTSAR

PUNJAB

2. SHRI RAM TRANSPOST FINANCE LTD.,

TINKONI CHOWK, GONIANA ROAD, THROUGH ITS

MANAGING DIRECTOR,

BHATINDA

PUNJAB ...........Respondent(s)

BEFORE:

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE J.M. MALIK, PRESIDING MEMBER HON'BLE MR. DR. S.M. KANTIKAR, MEMBER For the Petitioner : Ms. Neerja Sachdeva, Advocate For the Respondent : For the Respondent No.1 : Mr. Narendera , Advocate Mr. Deepak Jain, Advocate

For the Respondent No. 2 : Nemo

Dated : 01 Apr 2014

ORDER

PER DR. S.M. KANTIKAR, MEMBER 1. This revision petition has been filed against the order of State Commission which dismissed the First Appeal No. 644 of 2008 filed by the Petitioner by affirming the order dated 23.04.2008 passed by the District Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, (in short, istrict Forum. 2. The facts in brief: The Complainant, Sh. Satpal Singh and his father, Joginder Singh purchased a Eicher Truck Medium by paying a sum of Rs.7.67 lakhs, for his livelihood. It was financed by M/s Shriram Finance limited, Bhatinda, OP-2 and was insured with Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd, the Petitioner/OP-3. The financers obtained signatures of the Complainant on 8 blank cheques of Punjab National Bank, towards the payment of instalments. The vehicle was insured by OP-3, effective from 15.05.2006 to 14.06.2007, but no policy or terms and conditions, were supplied. The Complainant paid Rs.77, 000/- in cash and paid each instalment in the sum of Rs.18,272/- to the financer, in order to clear the finance amount. The said truck met with an accident, on 01.09.2006, and Sh. Joginder Singh, father of complainant, died on the spot and the vehicle was badly damaged. On

1

the same day, a FIR was registered at Police Station, Gandoj, Rajasthan. Intimation of the incident was given to insurance company(OP-3) which OP-3 appointed, Sh. Kamlesh Barmera, Surveyor & Loss Assessor, who conducted the sport survey and conveyed that vehicle is totally damaged and not repairable, and that Insurance Company will have to pay full insured amount. Complainant spent a sum of Rs.21,900/- towards hiring charges to bring salvage of damaged vehicle. Thereafter, repeated attempts were made for the claim of compensation for damaged vehicle and on account of death of his father (driver), but OP turned a deaf ear. Hence, the complainant filed a complaint, before the District Forum, Bhatinda, seeking direction to OP-1 to 3 to pay Rs.7,30,000/- on account of vehicle loss, Rs.8,00,000/- on account of death of Driver-his father, Joginder Singh, and Rs.2, 29,911/- towards other claims, under different heads. 3. The District Forum, after hearing the Counsel for the parties and going through the record, observed that Sh. Joginder Singh, who was driving the truck, was neither the paid driver of Satpal Singh nor was he, his employee and so the insurance company is not liable to indemnify, the Complainant on account of the death of his father. It further observed that it was a case of total loss and the insured declared value is payable and held OP Nos. 1 to 3 liable to pay the insured declared value assessed at Rs.7,30,000/- along with interest @ 9% p.a. from 21.12.2006, till payment. It also awarded a sum of Rs.2,511/- as fee paid to the surveyor, along with costs of Rs.2,000/-. The complainant was directed to issue letter of subrogation in favour of OP Nos.1 to 3 and to deliver the salvage to OP No. 3, within one month from the receipt of copy of the order. 4. OPs shall pay Rs.7,30,000/- along with interest @ 9% p.a. from 21.12.2006, till payment to Shri Ram Transport Finance Limited (OP- 4/Respondent 2), which it would adjust the amount in the loan account and excess, if any, shall be paid to the complainant. 5. Aggrieved by the impugned order dated 23.04.2008, the Petitioner/OP-1 filed first appeal for setting aside of the order of District Forum , while the complainant filed First appeal FA/131/2009 for enhancement of compensation. 6. The State Commission dismissed both the appeals. Aggrieved by the order of State Commission, the Petitioner/Insurance Co. filed this revision petition. 7. We have heard the counsels of both the parties. The Counsel for the complainant argued that, after the accident, FIR was registered and intimation was given to insurance company (OP-3) and OP-3 appointed Sh. Kamlesh Barmera, Surveyor & Loss Assessor, who conducted the sport survey and gave report (Ex.C-18). The said report did not mention that the vehicle is repairable. But, the surveyor in his affidavit Ex.R-18 deposed that the vehicle can be repaired and will be roadworthy, after repairs. The Counsel for the Petitioner contended that the complainant is not a consumer, as the truck was used for commercial purpose, by plying it for hire and reward. The vehicle was not having valid registration, fitness certificate and route permit, hence complainant has violated the terms and conditions of the policy. Also, the personal accidental death claim is not maintainable, because Joginder Singh cannot be termed as owner/driver, as per Indian Motor Tariff. He further argued that the complainant has not co-operated with OP-3 and failed to submit the required documents, inspite of repeated reminders. The complainant did not produce the final survey report, hence the case was closed as o Claim Therefore, there was no deficiency of service by OP-3. 8. We have perused the documents on file, the letters/correspondences exchanged between the parties. It is an admitted fact that Truck bearing Registration No. RJ- 13-GA-1246 was insured by OPs, vide cover note no. 441941 effective from 15.06.2006 to 14.06.2007, subject to IMT (Indian Motor Tariff) Condition Nos. 37A, 21, 37, 5, besides other conditions. However, counsel for Petitioner submitted that terms and conditions of the policy were supplied to the Complainant, after the issuance of cover note. On the contrary, counsel for the Complainant argued that only insurance cover note was supplied, and the policy, along

2

with its terms and conditions, was not issued to him. 9. We are of considered view that, onus of proof lies upon OP Nos. 1 to 3 to prove that policy, along with terms and conditions, was supplied to the Complainant. OPs had not produced any cogent evidence in this regard. The Counsel for the Petitioner drew our attention to the relevant portion of the cover note, which reads as :- he insurance under this policy is subject to conditions, clauses, warranties, exclusions, IMTs and OIC endorsements, mentioned herein above, which are available on Company website: www.orientalinsurance.org.in or on demand from the policy issuing office.

10. It a ridiculous attempt, made by the Counsel for the OP. It seems every driver/insured is a computer savvy..!! It proves that OP-1, did not supply the terms and conditions, with cover note. The Counsel for OP-1 argued that the intimation of the accident was given to the company, after a delay of 19 days, but the Counsel failed to produce any cogent evidence or document to prove this contention. Even, the affidavit of Surveyor, appears to be an afterthought, improvement and just to frustrate the claim. After the spot survey, the Insurance Company was supposed to appoint a Surveyor and loss assessor for final survey, but it never appointed. OP-3 who, knowingly, wrote a letter (Ex.R-13) and sought information about the Surveyor, who has conducted the final survey. Thereafter, petitioner/OP-3 concluded it, as o claim without any basis. This act of Petitioner, is arbitrary and is deficiency in service. It amount to unfair trade practice. 11. Therefore, we dismiss this revision petition. No orders as to costs.

......................J

J.M. MALIK

PRESIDING MEMBER

......................

DR. S.M. KANTIKAR

MEMBER

3