- Bookmark
- Share
- CaseIQ
Reliance Life Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Madhavacharya
Factual and Procedural Background
The respondent/complainant subscribed to a life insurance policy on 12.01.2006 which included a critical illness rider covering ten specified major illnesses. The respondent was hospitalized for acute stomach pain and diagnosed with sub-acute intestinal obstruction, undergoing exploratory laparotomy. After discharge, the respondent claimed insurance benefits, which the petitioner insurance company repudiated on the ground that the illness treated was not covered under the critical illness benefits of the policy.
Aggrieved by the repudiation, the respondent filed a consumer complaint with the District Forum, which directed the insurance company to pay Rs. 1,00,000/- with 8% interest and litigation costs of Rs. 1,000/-. The petitioner appealed to the State Commission, which upheld the District Forum's decision. The petitioner then filed this revision petition challenging the findings of the fora below.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether the disease treated, sub-acute intestinal obstruction, falls within the scope of the critical illness rider as defined in the insurance policy.
- Whether the insurance company is liable to pay the claim for treatment expenses incurred for a disease not explicitly covered under the policy's critical illness benefits.
- The proper approach to interpretation of insurance contracts, particularly regarding coverage and exclusion clauses.
Arguments of the Parties
Petitioner’s Arguments
- The disease treated by the respondent was not among the ten major critical illnesses listed in the policy's critical illness rider.
- The insurance contract must be strictly construed according to its terms, including coverage and exclusions.
- Reliance on the Supreme Court decision in General Assurance Society Limited Vs. Chandumull Jain & Anr to argue that courts should not rewrite contracts or extend coverage beyond what the parties agreed.
Respondent’s Arguments
- Claimed that courts have the power to interpret terms of insurance contracts to prevent unfairness, citing the Supreme Court decision in United India Insurance Co. Ltd. Vs. M/s. Kiran Combers & Spinners.
- Asserted that the insurance company exercised unequal bargaining power, implying the terms were unfair to the insured.
Table of Precedents Cited
| Precedent | Rule or Principle Cited For | Application by the Court |
|---|---|---|
| General Assurance Society Limited Vs. Chandumull Jain & Anr (1966) 3 SCR 500 | Courts must interpret insurance contracts strictly according to the expressed terms and not rewrite contracts. | The court relied on this principle to emphasize strict construction of the insurance policy and to reject extending coverage beyond the listed critical illnesses. |
| United India Insurance Co. Ltd. Vs. M/s. Kiran Combers & Spinners AIR 2007 SC 393 | Courts may interpret contracts to prevent unfairness if terms are unfairly imposed. | The court noted this argument but found it contrary to settled law and distinguished it on facts, as the current policy had clear exclusion clauses. |
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The court examined the critical illness rider in the policy, which explicitly covers ten major illnesses. The respondent’s ailment, sub-acute intestinal obstruction, was not among these illnesses. The court underscored that insurance contracts are agreements between parties and must be interpreted strictly according to their terms, including exclusions. It referenced the Supreme Court’s ruling in General Assurance Society Limited Vs. Chandumull Jain to reinforce that courts should not create new contractual obligations or extend coverage beyond what is expressly agreed.
The court found that the fora below erred in extending coverage to the respondent’s claim despite the illness not falling within the policy’s defined critical illnesses. The argument that courts could stretch terms to address unequal bargaining power or unfairness was rejected as inconsistent with established legal principles. Accordingly, the court reversed the decisions of the District Forum and State Commission.
Holding and Implications
The revision petition is allowed and the findings of the fora below are reversed.
As a result, the insurance company is not liable to pay the claim for the treatment of sub-acute intestinal obstruction under the critical illness rider of the policy. No costs were imposed on the parties. Any fixed deposits or deposits made by the parties are to be adjusted along with accrued interest. The decision clarifies that insurance contracts must be strictly interpreted according to their explicit terms and that courts will not extend coverage beyond those terms, reaffirming settled legal principles without creating new precedent.
NATIONAL CONSUMER DISPUTES REDRESSAL COMMISSION
NEW DELHI
REVISION PETITION NO. 211 OF 2009
(Against the Order dated 03/12/2008 in Appeal No. 2511/2008 of the State Commission Karnataka)
1. RELIANCE LIFE INSURANCE CO. LTD. &
ANR.
Ground Floor, Midas wing Sahar Plaza, andheri Kurla Road, Andheri East
Mumbai -400059
Maharashtra
2. THE BRANCH MANAGER RELIANCE LIFE
INSURANCE CO. LTD.
s.K. Complex ,ground Floor, Opposite KPTCL Office Dharwad ...........Petitioner(s)
Versus
1. MADHAVACHARYA
s/o.Shj. Radhavendracharya Udupi R/o. Shri Keshav Krupa Kempageri Kine Bazaar,
Dharwad
Karanataka ...........Respondent(s)
BEFORE:
HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE B.N.P. SINGH ,PRESIDING MEMBER HON'BLE MR. S.K. NAIK ,MEMBER
For the Petitioner : NEMO
For the Respondent : NEMO
Dated : 02 Feb 2010
ORDER
The respondent/complainant had subscribed to a life insurance policy on 12.01.2006 which inter-alia provided provision of treatment in case of critical illness along-with a rider. It so happened that the respondent having suffered acute stomach pain was hospitalized at Sri Dharmstal Manjunatheshar Medical Science College and Hospital where his ailment was diagnosed as sub-acute intestinal obstruction. The respondent had undergone exploratory laprotomy and was discharged from the hospital on 03.12.2007. After the insured lodged his claim with petitioner insurance company, it was repudiated holding that the disease for which the respondent had taken treatment was not covered or defined under the policy benefits of critical illness claim. Aggrieved with repudiation of claim in respect of expenses incurred for the treatment, the respondent brought a consumer complaint with District Forum which on consideration of pleadings of the parties, while accepting complaint directed petitioner insurance company to pay Rs. 1,00,000/- to respondent as assured in the policy along-with 8% interest. Litigation cost of Rs. 1,000/- too was awarded. In appeal that was preferred with State Commission, the State Commission too, having overruled contentions raised on behalf of petitioner insurance company, concurred with the finding of District Forum accepting claim of the respondent. Now the findings so recorded by the fora below are under challenge before us. Learned counsels for the parties were heard on admission. Before we appreciate the contentions raised on behalf of parties, we wish to put on record the relevant part of the policy which is as under:- Critical Illness Rider: Sudden on set of a major illness causes worries and heavy expenses. Our optional Critical Conditions Cover helps provide financial relief in such
1
cases. It pays you the Sum Assured upfront in respect of ten major illnesses. a) Cancer b) Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery c) Heart Attack d) Stroke e) Kidney Failure f) Aorta Surgery
g) Coma h) Heart Valve Replacement i) Major Organ Transplant j) Paralysis This Benefit can be availed only once against any one of the illness and the company will not pay the claim if it arises from deliberate self-injury or attempted suicide by the Life Assured, whether sane or insane. This benefit will only be given if the diseases are confirmed by a Consultant Physician. The insurance company under the aforesaid policy seeks to provide financial relief to the insured in case of 10 major critical illnesses along-with some rider, though among these aforesaid critical illnesses, some are the treatments like aorta surgery, heart-valve replacement and major-organ transplant. Manifestly, the disease for which the treatment was secured by respondent from the Hospital did not fall within the ambit of critical illness defined in the clause as specified in the policy and as such no liability could be fastened against the insurance company to reimburse expenses incurred over the treatment of the disease suffered by the respondent. Since the insurance between the insurer and the insured is a contract between the parties, the terms of the agreement including applicability of the provisions and also its exclusion had to be strictly construed to determine the extent of the liability of the insurer. Our attention has been drawn by learned counsel for the petitioner to a decision of the Honble Apex court in the matter of General Assurance Society Limited Vs. Chandumull Jain & Anr. reported in (1966) 3 SCR 500 in which the following observations were made by Honble Apex court :- In interpreting documents relating to a contract of insurance, the duty of the court is to interpret the words in which the contract is expressed by the parties, because it is not for the court to make a new contract, however reasonable, if the parties have not made it themselves. Looking at the proposal, the letter of acceptance and the cover notes, it is clear that a contract of insurance under the standard policy for fire and extended to cover flood, cyclone, etc had come into being. Putting reliance on a decision of the Honble Apex court in the matter of United India Insurance Co. Ltd. Vs. M/s. Kiran Combers & Spinners reported in AIR (2007) SC 393, the learned counsel for the respondent tried to persuade us that where the terms of contract between the parties are unfair, the courts are well within its powers even to stretch the terms and conditions. We, however, find that the logic advanced by learned counsel was contrary to well settled and acknowledged cannons of law and that apart, in the case cited before us, the claim was accepted by Honble court, there being no exclusion clause, including subsidence, Apprehending grounds loosing, lastly it was urged by learned counsel for respondent that there were circumstances to hold that there was unequal bargaining power exercised by the insurance company. Conversely, in the matter of General Insurance Society Limited Vs. Chandumull Jain (Supra), the Honble Apex court cautioned against interpreting contract of insurance contrary to the words expressed by the parties. Both fora below have misinterpreted the true spirit and ambit of provisions of policy and rushed to an erroneous conclusion. We, accordingly, while reversing the finding of the State Commission, allow this revision petition with no order as to cost. FDR/Deposits, if any, made by the parties, be adjusted accordingly, along-with interest accrued thereon.
......................J
B.N.P. SINGH
PRESIDING MEMBER
......................
S.K. NAIK
2
MEMBER
3
Alert