Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

Union Of India v. Ravinder Kumar .

Supreme Court Of India
May 23, 2012
Important Paras
Please sign up to view Important Paras.
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

The Union of India appealed against the judgment dated 31-12-2007 rendered by the High Court of Jammu & Kashmir at Jammu in LPA No. 212 of 2006 (Union of India v. Ravinder Kumar). The High Court had affirmed concurrent findings of the subordinate courts which had granted disability pension to the respondent, a Rifleman who enlisted in 1998 and later suffered from “Solitary Generalised Tonic Clonic Seizure.” The appellate court held the ailment attributable to military service, thereby entitling the respondent to disability pension. The present appeal challenges that conclusion.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the respondent’s ailment (“Generalised Tonic Clonic Seizure”) is attributable to or aggravated by military service so as to warrant disability pension under Regulation 179.
  2. To what extent courts may override the opinion of the Medical Board, which found the ailment to be genetic and “not connected with service.”

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Union of India v. Baljit Singh (1996) 11 SCC 315 Primacy of Medical Board opinion in disability pension cases Reinforced that courts should not brush aside Medical Board findings
Union of India v. Dhir Singh China (2003) 2 SCC 382 Same principle: Medical opinion governs entitlement Cited to underline settled law on deference to expert boards
Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension) v. S. Balachandran Nair (2005) 13 SCC 128 Medical Board’s assessment is decisive Relied upon to support appellant’s stance
Union of India v. Keshar Singh (2007) 12 SCC 675 Requirement of attributability/aggravation for pension Used to bolster the governing test under Regulation 179
Union of India v. Surinder Singh Rathore (2008) 5 SCC 747 Judicial restraint in medical-based disability claims Cited as part of the consistent judicial approach
Victoria Memorial Hall v. Howrah Ganatantrik Nagrik Samity (2010) 3 SCC 732 Courts should defer to expert opinion Applied by analogy to medical expertise in military context
University of Mysore v. C.D. Govinda Rao (1965) AIR SC 491 General principle of deference to experts Referenced in support of the Victoria Memorial Hall ratio
Union of India v. Jujhar Singh (2011) 7 SCC 735 Interprets Regulation 179; Medical Board’s finding is final unless nexus proven Treated as the closest factual precedent; court follows its reasoning
Ministry of Defence v. A.V. Damodaran (2009) 9 SCC 140 Pre-condition of attributability for pension Considered while discussing Jujhar Singh
ESI Corporation v. Francis De Costa (1996) 6 SCC 1 Principle of causal connection for compensation Re-examined in Jujhar Singh; relied upon indirectly
Govt. of India (Ministry of Defence) v. Ajit Singh (2009) 7 SCC 328 Need for reasonable nexus between ailment and service Cited to affirm the causal-connection test

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

1. The Court observed that entitlement to disability pension under Regulation 179 is conditioned on a finding that the disability is either attributable to or aggravated by military service.

2. A line of authorities establishes that the opinion of the Service Medical Board—an expert body—must ordinarily be accorded primacy. Judicial interference is warranted only when the opinion is demonstrably arbitrary or unsupported, which was not alleged or shown here.

3. The Medical Board in the present case specifically recorded that the respondent’s “Generalised Tonic Clonic Seizure” is genetic in origin and “not connected with service.” This finding, being by experts, carries decisive weight.

4. Applying the principles distilled in Jujhar Singh and related cases, the Court held that the respondent failed to establish any causal nexus between military duties and the ailment.

5. Consequently, the concurrent findings of the courts below, which had disregarded the Medical Board’s assessment and granted disability pension, were deemed unsustainable in law.

Holding and Implications

APPEAL ALLOWED; IMPUGNED JUDGMENTS/ORDERS SET ASIDE.

The direct consequence is the denial of disability pension to the respondent. The decision reinforces the jurisprudence that courts must defer to the expert opinion of Medical Boards in military disability matters unless compelling evidence to the contrary is adduced. No new legal doctrine is created, but the judgment consolidates existing precedent on the primacy of medical expertise and the requirement of attributability under Regulation 179.

Show all summary ...

Order

1. This appeal has been preferred against the impugned judgment and order dated 31-12-2007 in Union of India v. Ravinder Kumar LPA No. 212 of 2006 passed by the High Court of Jammu and Kashmir at Jammu by which it affirmed the orders of the courts below entitling the respondent to disability pension taking the view that the respondent who had joined the Army service in 1998 as a Rifleman (Sepoy) got the ailment “Solitary Generalised Tonic Clonic Seizure” which was attributable to Army service.

2. The issue involved herein is no more res integra. It is not in dispute that in case the injury suffered by military personnel is attributable to or aggravated by military service, he becomes entitled for disability pension. It is also a settled legal proposition that opinion of the Medical Board should be given primacy in deciding cases of disability pension and the court should not grant such pension brushing aside the opinion of the Medical Board. [See Union of India v. Baljit Singh (1996) 11 SCC 315, Union of India v. Dhir Singh China (2003) 2 SCC 382, Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension) v. S. Balachandran Nair (2005) 13 SCC 128, Union of India v. Keshar Singh (2007) 12 SCC 675 and Union of India v. Surinder Singh Rathore (2008) 5 SCC 747.]

3. In Victoria Memorial Hall v. Howrah Ganatantrik Nagrik Samity (2010) 3 SCC 732, AIR 2010 SC 1285, this Court while placing reliance upon a large number of earlier judgments including Constitution Bench judgment in University of Mysore v. C.D Govinda Rao AIR 1965 SC 491, held that ordinarily, the court should not interfere with the order based on opinion of experts on the subject. It would be safe for the courts to leave the decision to experts who are more familiar with the problems they face than the courts generally can be.

4. This Court recently decided an identical case in Union of India v. Jujhar Singh (2011) 7 SCC 735 and after reconsidering a large number of earlier judgments including Ministry of Defence v. A.V Damodaran (2009) 9 SCC 140, Baljit Singh (1996) 11 SCC 315 and ESI Corpn. v. Francis De Costa (1996) 6 SCC 1, came to the conclusion that in view of Regulation 179, a discharged person can be granted disability pension only if the disability is attributable to or aggravated by military service and such a finding has been recorded by Service Medical Authorities. In case the Medical Authorities record the specific finding to the effect that disability was neither attributable to nor aggravated by the military service, the court should not ignore such a finding for the reason that Medical Board is specialised authority composed of expert medical doctors and it is a final authority to give opinion regarding attributability and aggravation of the disability due to the military service and the conditions of service resulting in the disablement of the individual. A person claiming disability pension must be able to show a reasonable nexus between the act, omission or commission resulting in an injury/ailment to the person and the normal expected standard of duties and way of life expected from such person. [See also Govt. of India (Ministry of Defence) v. Ajit Singh (2009) 7 SCC 328.]

5. We are of the view that the opinion of the Medical Board which is an expert body must be given due weight, value and credence. Person claiming disability pension must establish that the injury suffered by him bears a causal connection with military service.

6. In the instant case, the Medical Board has opined as under:

“ID. Generalised Tonic Clonic Seizure MA opined that ID is genetic in origin, not connected with service.”

Thus, in view of the above, it is evident that the ailment with which the respondent has been suffering from is neither aggravated nor attributable to the Army services.

7. In the result, the appeal succeeds and is accordingly allowed. Impugned judgments/orders are set aside. No costs.