Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

Neena Kapur And Ors. v. Lakha Singh And Ors.

Punjab & Haryana High Court
Jun 3, 1983
Important Paras
Please sign up to view Important Paras.
Smart Summary (Beta)

Structured Summary of the Opinion (S.S. Sodhi, J.)

Factual and Procedural Background

On April 17, 1979 at about 4 P.M., Ravi Kapur, riding his scooter (DLW-7556) on the Mathura–Delhi Road, was involved in a collision with a truck (DLH-3487) coming from the opposite direction. Ravi Kapur sustained injuries and died shortly thereafter.

A claim for compensation was filed by his widow, Smt. Neena Kapur, and their two minor children Ashish Kapur and Manish Kapur. Ravi Kapur's mother, Smt. Kamla Kapur, and step-father, Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur, were impleaded as respondents because they did not initially join as claimants; they later applied to be transposed as claimants but that prayer was declined by the Tribunal.

The Tribunal found the truck driver to be rash and negligent and awarded Rs. 96,000 as compensation: Rs. 10,000 to Smt. Kamla Kapur and the balance of Rs. 86,000 to the three named claimants in equal shares. The Tribunal held the insurer's liability limited to Rs. 50,000.

The present order resolves two appeals arising from that award: (1) an appeal by the claimants (widow and two minors) seeking enhanced compensation; and (2) an appeal by the truck's driver and owner challenging both the finding of negligence and the quantum awarded. Cross-objections for enhancement were filed by Smt. Kamla Kapur and Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the accident was caused by the rash and negligent driving of the truck driver (i.e., the correctness of the Tribunal's finding of negligence).
  2. What amount of compensation the claimants (widow and two minor children) are entitled to, including appropriate assessment of the deceased's income and the multiplier to apply.
  3. Whether Smt. Kamla Kapur and Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur were entitled to any compensation as dependants of the deceased.
  4. How the award should be distributed among the claimants and what portion of interest and liability is to be borne by the insurer (given the Tribunal's determination of insurer liability at Rs. 50,000).

Arguments of the Parties

Appellant-claimants' Arguments

  • Claimants relied on eyewitness testimony of Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh (A.W.-5) and Constable Kanshi Ram (A.W.-7), who stated they were present at the scene, witnessed the accident, and described the truck as being on the wrong lane and driven rashly and at high speed.
  • The accident was promptly reported and a First Information Report (Ext. A/1) was lodged immediately on the basis of Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh's statement, supporting the eyewitness account.
  • Medical evidence (postmortem by Dr. Vijay Tandon, A.W.-4) indicated multiple fractures and abrasions and the possibility that the deceased had been dragged, consistent with a severe impact rather than a minor collision with a rear wheel.
  • Photographs showed a dent on the truck's right mud-guard, corroborating an impact; a site plan (Ext. A/6) recorded visible truck brake marks for 20 feet, indicating high speed.
  • For assessment of dependency and income: the widow testified that the deceased earned Rs. 2,500–3,000 per month; other family members supported this, and the claimants emphasized that the widow's testimony was not challenged in cross-examination.
  • Counsel for the claimants argued that absence of documentary proof of income should not be held against them because the widow's testimony was unchallenged and some documentary evidence (bank book) was produced when specifically asked in relation to investments.

Respondents (Truck Driver/Owner and Supporting Witnesses) Arguments

  • The truck driver, Inderjit Singh (R.W.-3), testified that the deceased attempted to overtake another truck and in the process hit the truck while it was proceeding slowly (20–25 km/h); he said he had put on headlights as an extra caution and that he did not run away but remained at the spot after the accident.
  • Daya Ram (R.W.-4), who was said to be in the truck at the time, corroborated the driver's version.
  • Smt. Kamla Kapur (R.W.-1) testified regarding an alleged monthly contribution by the deceased to her (claimed Rs. 1,000 per month) as part of cross-objections seeking compensation for dependency.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Lachhman Singh v. Gurmit Kaur, 1979 PLR 1 The method for assessing compensation: determine pecuniary loss to dependants by computing annual dependency (annual earnings and the portion spent on maintenance of dependants) and multiply by a suitable multiplier taking into account years of dependency and various imponderables. The Court applied this framework to compute the claimants' compensation by first fixing monthly loss and then applying a multiplier to arrive at total pecuniary loss.
Asha Rani v. Union of India, 1982 PLR 486 Guidance that the normal multiplier in such cases should be sixteen (16), having regard to the factors discussed in Lachhman Singh (supra). The Court adopted a multiplier of sixteen for calculating the total compensation in this case.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court conducted a fact-based evaluation focused on witness credibility, contemporaneous records, physical evidence, and internal consistency of the parties' accounts.

  1. Credibility of claimants' eyewitnesses: The testimony of Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh and Constable Kanshi Ram was accepted as reliable. Both witnesses were present at the scene, gave consistent accounts, were impartial (no suggestion of interest or hostility), and their account was corroborated by an immediately recorded First Information Report (Ext. A/1). No contradictions or discrepancies were found in their evidence.
  2. Evaluation of the respondents' version: The truck driver's account that the deceased had dashed into the truck while overtaking (and that the truck was moving slowly) was first raised only in-court and was not pleaded in written statements nor suggested to the claimants' witnesses. The Court treated the late emergence of this defence as weakening its credibility.
  3. Physical and medical evidence contradicted the respondents' version: The postmortem report by Dr. Vijay Tandon (A.W.-4) described multiple fractures and abrasions and the possibility that the deceased had been dragged and crushed; photographs showed a dent on the right mud-guard of the truck; and the site plan (Ext. A/6) recorded truck brake marks visible for 20 feet. These features supported the conclusion of a high-impact collision consistent with the truck being in the wrong lane and travelling at speed.
  4. Conduct after the accident: Both Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh and Constable Kanshi Ram testified that the truck driver ran away after the accident; this was not challenged in cross-examination. The driver's contrary claim that he remained did not convince the Court.
  5. Assessment of secondary witnesses: Daya Ram's testimony was considered unreliable. He was named as an eyewitness for the first time in court; his alleged presence was not put to the claimants' witnesses; his statement was not recorded by the police; and his account contained contradictions with the truck driver's version on timing of police arrival. Consequently his evidence was not relied upon.
  6. Liability conclusion: On the totality of the evidence—independent eyewitness testimony, prompt FIR, medical and photographic evidence, site plan showing long brake marks, truck being in the wrong lane while repairs closed the correct lane—the Court affirmed the Tribunal's finding that the accident was caused by the rash and negligent driving of the truck driver. There was no evidence that the deceased contributed to the accident.
  7. Determination of income and dependency: Although the widow and others testified the deceased's income exceeded Rs. 2,500 per month, the claim application itself had stated the deceased's income as Rs. 1,500 per month. The Court found no satisfactory explanation for the discrepancy and noted the lack of documentary corroboration for the higher figure. Given this, and considering monthly outgoings (rent and school fees totalling Rs. 750), the Court fixed the deceased's monthly contribution for purposes of loss at Rs. 1,000.
  8. Application of legal principles for quantum: Relying on the Full Bench guidance in Lachhman Singh (supra) and the Division Bench direction in Asha Rani (supra) that the normal multiplier is 16, the Court adopted a monthly loss figure of Rs. 1,000 and applied multiplier 16 to compute total pecuniary loss of Rs. 1,92,000.
  9. Claims by mother and step-father: The Court found no evidence that Smt. Kamla Kapur or Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur were dependent on the deceased. They had not initially come forward as claimants and had to be impleaded as respondents; their later attempt to be transposed as claimants was unsupported by the record. The Tribunal's earlier award to Smt. Kamla Kapur could not be sustained.
  10. Distribution, interest, and insurer liability: The Court specified distribution and interest terms consistent with its findings (see Holding below).

Holding and Implications

Core Rulings:

  • The Tribunal's finding that the accident was caused by the rash and negligent driving of the truck driver is affirmed.
  • The appeal filed by the claimants (widow and two minor children) is allowed to the extent of enhancing compensation; the appeal filed by the truck's owner and driver is dismissed.
  • The cross-objections filed by Smt. Kamla Kapur and Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur are dismissed.

Consequent orders and direct effects on the parties:

  • The claimants (widow and two minor children) are awarded Rs. 1,92,000 as compensation.
  • Interest at 12% per annum is awarded on the amount from the date of the application to the date of payment. The respondent insurance company is liable to pay interest at this rate only to the extent of its liability of Rs. 50,000.
  • Distribution of the awarded amount: Rs. 50,000 each to the two minor children (Ashish and Manish Kapur) and the balance to the widow, Smt. Neena Kapur. Payment to the minor children is to be made in such manner and on such terms as the Tribunal considers in their best interest.
  • The Tribunal's earlier award of Rs. 10,000 to Smt. Kamla Kapur is set aside (no compensation awarded to her or to Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur).
  • The claimants are entitled to costs in both appeals; counsel's fee fixed at Rs. 500 (one set only).

Broader implications: The Court applied existing authorities (Lachhman Singh and Asha Rani) on method of computation and the normal multiplier; the opinion implements those precedents in the facts of the case. The opinion does not state that it establishes a new legal precedent beyond applying the cited authorities to the facts.

Show all summary ...

S.S. Sodhi, J. - Ravi Kapur, while proceeding towards Delhi on his scooter DLW-7556, on the Mathura Delhi Road, met with an accident with a truck DLH-3487, coming from the opposite direction. He succumbed to his injuries, a short while thereafter and died. This accident occurred at about 4 P.M. on April 17, 1979. A claim for compensation arising from this accident was then preferred by his widow Neena Kapur and their two minor children Ashish Kapur and Manish Kapur. 2. Ravi Kapur also left behind his mother Smt. Kamla Kapur and his step-father Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur, Ravi Kapur was about 7 years old when his mother had married Dwarka Nath Kapur. Smt. Kamla Kapur and Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur did not join as claimants and they were consequently impleaded as respondents to the claim application. During the proceedings before the Tribunal however, they applied for being transposed as claimants, but this prayer was declined. 3. It was the finding of the Tribunal that the accident took place due to the rash and negligent driving of the truck driver. A sum of Rs. 96,000/- was awarded as compensation. Out of this amount Rs. 10.000/- was awarded to Smt. Kamla Kapur, the mother of the deceased; while the balance of Rs. 86,000/- was awarded to the three claimants in equal shares. The liability of the respondent Insurance Company was held to be limited to Rs. 50,000/-. 4. This order will dispose of the two appeals arising from this accident, one by the claimants Mrs. Neena Kapur and her two minor children and the other by the driver and owner of the truck; as also the cross-objections filed in both these appeals by Smt. Kamla Kapur and her husband Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur. The claim in appeal of the appellant-claimants, as also that of Smt. Kamla Kapur and Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur in their cross-objections, being for enhanced compensation; while the driver and the owner of the truck sought to challenge, in their appeal, both the finding of the negligence as also amount awarded as compensation in this case. 5. As mentioned earlier, the accident in the present case took place on the Delhi-Mathura Road. This is a two lane road with an intervening divider. At the place where the accident took place, the Delhi-Mathura lane was closed to traffic on account of repairs and the truck DLH-3487, proceeding towards Mathura, had therefore, per force to get in to the Mathura-Delhi Lane and it was while the truck was in this lane that the accident took place. The question which arises for consideration is how did it happen ? The Claimants version being that the truck came on to the wrong side and while travelling at a fast speed in a rash and negligent manner, it hit into the scooter of the deceased which was coming on its correct lane. The case of the claimants is founded upon the testimony of Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh, who was examined as A.W-5 and A.W-7 Kanshi Ram Constable who was with him at that time. Both these witnesses deposed to their presence near the place of occurance and to have witnessed the accident. There was no suggestion of any interest of either of them in the deceased or that they were, in any manner hostile to the truck driver or to any of the other respondents. They both gave a straight forward consistent account of how the accident took place and their testimony revealed no contradictions or discrepancies to create any doubt therein. What is more this accident was immediately reported at the Police Station on the statement of Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh. The First Information Report recorded on the basis thereof, Ext. A/1, was lodged with utmost promptitude. This report provides strong corroboration to the testimony of Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh. These circumstances clearly show that both these witnesses were wholly independent & reliable. According to both Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh and constable Kanshi Ram the truck was being driven rashly and negligently at a fast speed on the wrong lane, when it came and struck against the scooter. It was further their testimony that after this accident the truck driver ran away. No fault was attributed to the deceased in this accident, by either of these witness. 6. Inderjit Singh the driver of the struck, when he came into the witness box as R.W.-3 sought to put forth the version that the deceased came and hit into his truck, which was proceeding at the slow speed of 20 to 25 kilometers per hour, while trying to over take a truck travelling in the same direction as his. He also stated that as a measure of extra caution he had in addition put on the head lights of the truck. Further, according to him, he remained at the spot after the accident and did not run away. To corroborate this testimony, Daya Ram was examined as R.W.-4. Daya Ram stated that he was travelling in the truck, sitting besides Inderjit Singh at the time of the accident. He too came forth with a similar narration. 7. In dealing with this testimony, what deserves note at the very outset is that this version that the accident took place when the deceased was trying to over-take a truck was mentioned for the first time, when Inderjit Singh came into the witness box. No such plea had been raised in the written- statements by any of the respondents nor was any such suggestion put to Sub- Inspector Kartar Singh or constable Kanshi Ram. Similarly, it was neither stated in the written-statement nor put to the witnesses of the claimants that the head lights of the truck were on at the time of the accident. Here it would also be pertinent to note that there was no mention by the truck driver of any horn having been blown before or at the time of the accident. Further the testimony of Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh and constable Kanshi Ram that the truck driver had run away after the accident was never challenged in cross-examination. In this situation, the stand of the truck driver Inderjit Singh that he had not run away carries no conviction. 8. Next to note is that Inderjit Singh had deposed that scooter came and dashed against the rear side wheel of his truck. This again is a statement which cannot stand scrutiny. According to the testimony of A.W-4 Dr. Vijay Tandon, who conducted the postmortem examination on the dead-body of the deceased, the injuries consisted of many fractures and multiple abrasions. He clearly deposed to the possibility of the deceased having been dragged with the vehicle after the accident. The injuries are of such a nature that they clearly suggest that the body was crushed. Besides this, a reference to the photographs on record would show that there is a dent on the right mud-guard of the truck which is clearly indicative of it having been caused by the impact between the truck and the deceased. It cannot, therefore, be accepted that the deceased had dashed against the rear side wheel of the truck as deposed to by the truck driver. 9. An important circumstance against the truck driver is provided by the site plan Ext. A/6 which was prepared and proved by Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh. The marginal notes thereon clearly mention that brake marks of the truck were visible to a distance of 20 feet, a fact which provides eloquent proof of the fast speed of the truck at that time. 10. What deserves note, in dealing with this accident, is that the truck was in the wrong lane when the accident occurred. There is at all times a duty of care which a road user owes to other persons travelling on the road. When a vehicle comes on to a wrong lane, no matter on what account, justified or unjustified, it cannot proceed on it except with the conscious and deliberate awareness of the greater need to exercise due care and caution, as it is in essence encroaching upon the right of vehicles who are correctly in their own lane and who may not know of its presence until suddenly faced with it at a short distance. The duty of care upon the driver of such vehicle extends to ensuring safety in such a situation too. This duty in the present case has obviously been observed only in its breach, inasmuch as it while travelling in the wrong lane the truck was being driven at such a fast speed. Another significant aspect here is the angle at which the truck is seen standing in the photographs, after the accident. It denotes sharp turn to its right of which the driver of the truck came forth with no explanation. This rather demolishes his claim that the truck was proceedings on the extreme left of the road at the time of the accident. 11. Finally, as regards Daya Ram, it was for the first time in the Court he was mentioned as an eye-witness. His presence at the spot was not put either to Sub-Inspector Kartar Singh, constable Kanshi Ram. What is more, he stated that he was present at the spot when the police came there, but no statement of his was recorded by the police. There is also contradiction in his testimony and that of the truck driver Inderjit Singh as to the time when the police came to the spot after the accident. Both give different times; while according to Daya Ram the police came there 5/7 minutes after the accident, according to Inderjit Singh the police came at 5 P.M. No reliance can thus be placed upon the testimony of both these witnesses. 12. In the totality of the circumstances of the case and for the reasons discussed above, there is no escape from the conclusion that the Tribunal rightly held the accident to have been caused by the rash and negligent driving of the truck driver. The deceased, cannot in any manner be blamed for this accident. He was travelling on his correct lane and there is no evidence to show that there was any opportunity or time available to him to avoid the accident. The finding of the Tribunal on the issue of the negligence must accordingly be affirmed. 13. Turning now to the amount that the claimants are entitled to as compensation, it will be seen that the deceased Ravi Kapur was only 36 years of age at the time of the accident. He died leaving behind a young widow of Smt. Neena Kapur, aged 23 year and the two minor children Ashish and Monish. Ravi Kapur was stated to be in good health. The evidence on record shows that he was engaged in business. He was running three firms. Ashish and Company, Ravi Art Dyers and Dry Cleaners, and Akwa Sales and Service and he was also a supplying contractor for the Air Force. It was the testimony of Smt. Neena Kapur that his income was Rs. 2500/- to Rs. 3000/- per month and that it was he who paid house rent as also the children school fees. This house rent was stated by her brother Surinder Mohan (A.W.-3) to be Rs. 500/- and the school fees Rs. 250/- per month. Besides this she stated that he used to give her Rs. 1500/- per month. Next is the testimony of Surinder Mohan (A.W.-3) the brother of Neena Kapur. His testimony was to the same effect and also that it was he who is now maintaining the widow and her children as she has no other source of income. 14. As regard the income of the deceased, it deserves note that while Smt. Neena Kapur (A.W.-2) and Surinder Mohan (A.W-8) as also Smt. Kamla Kapur (R.W-1) mother of the deceased, all deposed that the income of the deceased was over Rs. 2500/- per month, but no documentary evidence was produced by either of them, to corroborate this. Mr.M.L. Sarin, counsel for the claimants, while on this matter laid great stress upon the fact that the testimony of the widow to this effect had not been challenged in cross examination and nor was she ever asked to produce any such documentary evidence. He contended, therefore, that the absence of such evidence cannot be taken against the claimants. The argument being that had such documentary evidence been called for or Mrs. Neena Kapur's testimony regarding her husband's income being doubted, the requisite record could have been produced as was done by her brother Surinder Mohan (A.W.-3) when he was asked to produce the bank book of the deceased to show his investment of Rs. 40,000/- in the firm Ashish and Company. 15. In dealing with the matter relating to the income of the deceased, it is pertinent to note that his income was stated to be Rs. 1500/- per month by the claimants in the claim application filed by them. It has not been explained why and undedr what circumstances this figure was mentioned as his income if it was, in fact, almost double this amount as was sought to be established by the evidence led. In this situation the income of the deceased cannot be taken to exceed this figure, that is Rs. 1500/- per month. This has, of course, undoubtedly to be taken to be his income considering the fact that the rent and the school fees alone accounted for Rs. 750/- per month. 16. Turning now to the assessment of the compensation to be awarded, regard in this behalf must be had to the principles as laid down by the Full Bench of this Court in Lachhman Singh v. Gurmit Kaur, 1979 PLR 1, where it was held that the compensation to be assessed is the pecuniary loss caused to defendants by the death of the person concerned and for the purpose of calculating the just compensation, annual dependancy of the defendants should be determined in terms of the annual loss accruing to them due to the abrupt termination of life. For this purpose, annual earnings of the deceased at the time of the accident and the amount out of the same which he was spending for the maintenance of the defendants will be the determining factor. This basic figure will then have to be multiplied by a suitable multiplier. The suitable multiplier shall be determined by taking into consideration the numbers of years of the dependancy of the various defendants, the numbers of years by which the life of the deceased was cut short and the various imponderable factors, such as early natural death of the deceased, his becoming incapable of supporting the defendants due to illness or any other natural handicap or calamity, the prospects of remarriage of the widow, the coming up of age of the defendants and their developing independent sources of income as well as the pecuniary benefits which might accrue to the defendants on account of the death of the person concerned. 17. A Division Bench of our High Court in Asha Rani v/s. Union of India, 1982 PLR, 486. held that the normal multiplier should be sixteen in such cases. It was so held after taking note of Lachhman Singh's case (supra). 18. Keeping in view the principles as set out above and having regard generally to the circumstances of this case, it would be fair and just to take the loss occurring on account of the death of the deceased to be to the extent of Rs. 1000/- per month. The multiplier here must clearly be sixteen. Computed on this basis the loss to the estate would work out Rs. 1,92,000/-. 19. It now remains to consider the claim for compensation put forth on behalf of Smt. Kamla Kapur and Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur as set out in the cross- objections filed by them. Neither the counsel nor the parties appeared when the appeals were taken up for hearing. An affidavit has been filed by the claimant Smt. Neena Kapur that Smt. Kamla Kapur died in Delhi on January 16, 1982. It was presumably on this account that no appearance was put in thereafter by any of them. 20. It may be mentioned that a reference to the evidence would show that there was no warrant for holding that Smt. Kamla Kapur or Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur were in any manner dependent upon Ravi Kapur, deceased and the claimants being living apart in Patel Nagar since over five months before the accident. It was, no doubt, her testimony that the deceased used to give her Rs. 1000/- per month, but it is significant to note that no such suggestion was made by her to Smt. Neena Kapur. Not without significant here is the facts as set out earlier namely that neither Smt. Kamla Kapur nor Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur had filed any application for compensation, they had in fact to be impleaded as respondents, though later they did apply for being transposed as claimants. What has come on record does not thus warrant any award of compensation to Smt. Kamla Kapur. The order of the Tribunal to this effect cannot be sustained. 21. In the result, the claimants are held entitled to and are hereby awarded a sum of Rs. 1,92,000/- as compensation which shall be payable to them with interest at the rate of 12 per cent per annum from the date of the application to the date of the payment of the amount awarded. It is clarified that the respondent-Insurance Company shall also be liable to pay the balance of the interest due to the claimants at this rate to the extent of its liability of Rs. 50,000/-. Further, out of the amount awarded a sum of Rs. 50,000/- each shall be payable to the minor children and the balance to the widow Smt. Neena Kapur. The amount awarded to the minor claimants shall be paid to them in such manner and on such terms as the Tribunal may consider to be in their best interest. In the result the appeal filed by the claimants is accepted, while that filed by the owner and driver of the truck as also the cross-objections filed by Smt. Kamla Kapur and Sh. Dwarka Nath Kapur are hereby dismissed. The claimants shall be entitled to costs in both these appeals. Counsel's fee Rs. 500/-(one set only). Appeal dismissed.