- Bookmark
- Share
- CaseIQ
United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Kiran Combers & Spinners .
Factual and Procedural Background
M/s Kiran Combers & Spinners (“the complainant”) held a fire insurance policy with flood endorsement issued by United India Insurance Company (“the insurer”) covering the period 11-1-1993 to 10-1-1994 for its building, machinery, stock and furniture. On 24-7-1993 heavy rains caused flooding that damaged the insured property. The loss was reported to the insurer the next day and an FIR was lodged on 27-7-1993. Two surveyors assessed the damage; the second surveyor valued the loss at Rs 10,13,571.90 but opined that the insurer bore no liability because the collapse resulted from “subsidence,” allegedly excluded from coverage. Relying on this report, the insurer repudiated the claim on 7-1-1994. The complainant filed Original Petition No. 74 of 1994 before the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission (NCDRC), which on 18-7-2003 allowed the claim for the amount assessed by the second surveyor. The insurer appealed this decision, leading to the present judgment.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether “subsidence” was an excluded peril under the relevant insurance policy, thereby justifying repudiation of the claim.
- Whether alleged structural defects in the insured building relieved the insurer of liability for flood-related damage.
Arguments of the Parties
Appellant (United India Insurance Company)
- The policy covered flood but did not extend to “subsidence,” which the surveyor identified as the cause of collapse; therefore no liability arose.
- The building’s third column was defectively constructed; the collapse was due to this structural defect rather than flood, excluding insurer responsibility.
Respondent (M/s Kiran Combers & Spinners)
- The insurer had certified the building as “first-class construction” and never pointed out defects prior to issuing the policy.
- The collapse was directly caused by flood water entering from the adjacent Kohinoor Woollen Mills premises, a peril expressly covered by the policy.
- The policy nowhere mentions “subsidence” as an exclusion; therefore the insurer’s repudiation lacked contractual basis.
Table of Precedents Cited
No precedents were cited in the provided opinion.
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The Court examined Clause 8 of the policy, which lists exclusions. It noted that while Clause 8(b) enumerates typhoon, storm, cyclone, tempest, hurricane, tornado, flood and inundation, it contains no reference to “subsidence.” Consequently, the surveyor’s reliance on “subsidence” to disallow the claim was deemed unfounded. The Court further observed that:
- The insured had paid an additional premium to secure coverage against flood and inundation, and the loss undisputedly occurred during the policy period owing to flooding.
- Even if a structural weakness existed in column 3, the building had stood for over twelve years without incident; the immediate and operative cause of collapse was the flood, a covered peril.
- The insurer had previously certified the construction quality as first-class; it could not later avoid liability by attributing loss to undisclosed construction defects.
On these grounds, the Court found the NCDRC’s award justified and saw no basis to interfere.
Holding and Implications
APPEAL DISMISSED; the NCDRC’s award of Rs 10,13,571.90 to the complainant stands affirmed. No order as to costs.
Implications: The decision reinforces that insurers cannot rely on exclusions not expressly stipulated in the policy and that flood coverage extends to consequential structural collapse caused by flood waters. The ruling affects only the parties and sets no new binding precedent, as no broader legal principles were articulated beyond contractual interpretation.
A.K Mathur, J.— This appeal is directed against the order passed by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi in Original Petition No. 74 of 1994 on 18-7-2003.
2. Brief facts giving rise to this appeal are:
The respondent complainant, M/s Kiran Combers & Spinners filed its complaint alleging deficiency in service on the part of United India Insurance Company. The case of the respondent complainant was that they got their building and stock insured from United India Insurance Company (hereinafter to be referred to as “the Company”). The respondent complainant held a valid fire policy for its stock (building Rs 25 lakhs, machinery Rs 40 lakhs, stocks Rs 25 lakhs and furniture/fixtures Rs 1 lakh) effective from 11-1-1993 to 10-1-1994. This policy also endorsed to cover risk of flood. On account of heavy rains and floods in the city, insured property was affected by floods on 24-7-1993 at about 7.45 p.m which caused damage to building, machinery and stocks. This incident was reported to the Company on 25-7-1993 and an FIR was lodged on 27-7-1993. The respondent claimant claimed Rs 20,03,842 in July 1993 from the Company. The surveyor, namely, M/s Vij Engineer's Enterprise appointed by the Company carried out its preliminary survey and submitted a report on 29-7-1993. The second surveyor, M/s Mita Marine and General Survey Agencies Pvt. Ltd. also visited the premises and submitted its detailed report on 14-9-1993. M/s Mita Marine assessed the loss of Rs 10,13,571.90. However, at the same time M/s Mita Marine, surveyor recommended that the insurer carries no responsibility in this case as the building collapsed on account of structural defect caused by subsidence which was not covered by policy. A legal notice was issued by the claimant on 4-12-1993 and the claim was repudiated on 7-1-1994 by the Company, basing on the report of the second surveyor i.e M/s Mita Marine. Aggrieved against the repudiation of the claim of the respondent claimant, Original Petition No. 74 of 1994 was filed in the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi claiming the damages as aforesaid.
3. The claim was contested by the Company, the appellant herein on the basis of the report given by the surveyor and their plea was that the loss and damage caused to the building due to structural defect in column 1 of the building, the subsidence is a specific extension to the above policy which was not insured by the Company. The relevant extract of surveyor's report reads as under:
“As brought out in the body of the report, this loss and damage has happened due to failure of column 1 which may have happened due to its own structural failure or due to its sinking/tilting causing it to become eccentrically loaded and hence falling in tension. The insured are covered under the Std. FP ‘C’ with flood endst. Subsidence is a specific extension to the above policy, which has not been taken by the insured. As such, we regret to say that either of the original cause of failure do not conform to the existing cover. In view of the above, we find that the insurers carry no liability in the above case. We understand that the insured had been asking the insurers' permission for repairs. We, during our visits had informed the insured that they would be carrying out the repairs in their personal capacity and that the insurers were in no way involved in the same since the liability was not admitted.”
4. The report was rebutted by the respondent complainant by filing rejoinder. The National Commission after hearing the parties came to the conclusion that the repudiation of the claim by the Company is not warranted and they decreed the claim of the complainant to the extent of Rs 10,13,571.90 as recommended by the second surveyor.
5. Aggrieved against the order passed by NCDRC, New Delhi on 18-7-2003, the present appeal has been filed by the Company.
6. Learned counsel for the appellant submitted that it is true that this is a fire policy and the appellant also covered the perils of flood but the policy did not cover subsidence. Therefore, learned counsel for the appellant tried to justify that since the policy had not covered subsidence and as pointed out by the surveyor the respondent is not entitled to be compensated. Learned counsel for the appellant also submitted that as pointed out by the surveyor that the third column over which the building was constructed was not properly constructed and, therefore, on account of tilting of that column the whole building collapsed and as such the Company was not entitled to compensate the respondent claimant because of the structural defect. As against this, learned counsel for the respondent submitted that the Company has certified the building to be of first class construction and no defect was pointed out by the Company, and it is on account of the flood water entering from the side of Kohinoor Woollen Mills that the building collapsed. It was submitted that in fact the collapse of the building was on account of entering of flood water from the side of Kohinoor Woollen Mills and not on account of flood water coming from the road. It was also pointed out that there is no provision for covering subsidence in the policy and, therefore, the National Commission has rightly decreed the claim of the respondent claimant.
7. We have considered the rival submissions of the parties. It is an admitted position that the claimant was covered from 11-1-1993 to 10-1-1994 and the flood took place on 24-7-1993 and caused extensive damage to the building. It is submitted that as per the policy, fire policy is covered for flood, storm and tempest on payment of extra 20 per cent premium i.e Rs 500. Therefore, there is no dispute that the incident has taken place during the coverage of the policy and the cause of the damage is flooding of water into the building. The basic submission which has been addressed by learned counsel for the appellant was that the Company has not covered subsidence. Subsidence means “the gradual caving in or sinking of an area of land”. But on account of the water flooding into the premises of the respondent claimant's factory from Kohinoor Woollen Mills, the land caved in as a result of which one column of the building collapsed. The question is whether subsidence was covered in the policy or not. In this connection, a reference may be made to the terms of the policy. Clause 8 of the policy deals with exclusions that if any loss is occasioned on account of these events then policy shall not cover. Clause 8 of the exclusions in the policy reads as under:
“8. Any loss or damage occasioned by or through or in consequence directly or indirectly of any of the following occurrence, namely,
(a) Earthquake, volcanic eruption, or other convulsion of nature.
(b) Typhoon, storm, cyclone, tempest, hurricane, tornado, flood and inundation.
(c) War, invasion, act of foreign enemy, hostilities or warlike operations (whether war be declared or not), civil war.
(d) Mutiny, civil commotion assuming the proportions of or amounting to a popular rising, military rising insurrection, rebellion, military or usurped power.
(e) Burning, whether accidental or otherwise, forest bush and jungles and the clearing of lands by fire.
In any action, suit or other proceeding where the Company alleges that by the reason of the provisions of the above exclusions, any loss or damage is not covered by this insurance, the burden of providing that such loss or damage is covered shall be upon the insured.”
8. A perusal of the aforesaid clause would clearly show that there is no exclusion clause for subsidence. Clause 8(b) only talks of typhoon, storm, cyclone, tempest, hurricane, tornado, flood and inundation. None of the events mentioned above includes subsidence. We fail to understand from where the surveyor has brought the expression “subsidence” although clause 8 which specifically talks about exclusions, does not mention anything like subsidence. The policy is covered for flood and inundation for which the claimant is covered by paying extra premium, therefore, now to say that the policy has not covered subsidence, which is not a clause in the present policy cannot be sustained. Therefore, on the basis of this ground, repudiation of the claim of the claimant by the appellant does not appear to be justified. Had this been the clause, that if damage is caused on account of sinking and caving of the building i.e subsidence then perhaps this would have come to the rescue of the Company but since in the exclusion clause there is no mention of subsidence, therefore, this ground taken by the appellant Company and by the surveyor to defeat the claim, is absolutely unwarranted.
9. Now, coming to the next question of collapse of the building on account of poor construction of column 3 of the building, there also the submission appears to be not justified. In fact, the Company has certified that this building has a first class construction. Normally when the Company insures any factory, then their officers and the Engineers used to inspect the building to find out whether there is any defect in the construction or the construction is of poor quality. In the present case, the Company certified that it is a first class construction, then for some defect which has not been noticed by the Company, no benefit could be given to the Company for such defect. More so, in the present case, as pointed out that because of defective structure i.e column 3, the building has collapsed but the question is what aggravated or accentuated this, factory is in place for more than 12 years and it is on account of flood water entering in factory that has caused this damage. The so-called defect was aggravated on account of flooding of the water in the premises of the factory; if the flood water had not entered into the factory, perhaps the construction which stood good for 12 years, would have lasted long. The cause of the damage to column 3 of the building was flood water. Therefore, the Company cannot escape the liability to compensate the claimant for collapse of the building on account of floods. As a result of the above discussion, we are of the opinion that the view taken by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission is correct and is fully justified and there is no ground to interfere with the order. As such, the appeal is dismissed. There would be no order as to costs.
Alert