Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

N. Parameswaran Pillai And Another v. Union Of India And Another

Supreme Court Of India
Apr 12, 2002
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

P. Suresh Kumar, while travelling from Thiruvalla to Jamnagar on Train No. 6334, was accidentally thrown out of the overcrowded train near kilometre 134/4-5 between Chakarapalli and Penukonda on 17 July 1997. He sustained multiple injuries and died. An accidental death case (Crime No. 38 of 1997) was registered and later closed. His dependants sought compensation of ₹4 lakhs under the Railway Accidents and Untoward Incidents (Compensation) Rules, 1990.

The Railway Claims Tribunal, by judgment dated 29 October 1998, awarded ₹2 lakhs with 15% interest from the date of default. On appeal, the Division Bench of the High Court upheld the ₹2-lakh award and limited interest to 12% per annum from 29 December 1997 to 29 November 1998, relying on Union of India v. Thankaraj (1999) 3 KLT 320 and denying the benefit of the 1997 amendment to the Rules. The claimants appealed to the Supreme Court.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether compensation for an accident occurring on 17 July 1997 should be calculated under the pre-1997 Railway Accidents and Untoward Incidents (Compensation) Rules or under the enhanced amounts introduced by the 1997 amendment.

Arguments of the Parties

The opinion does not contain a detailed account of the parties' legal arguments.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Rathi Menon v. Union of India (2001) 3 SCC 714 Compensation must be determined according to the Rules in force when the Tribunal makes its order, not when the accident occurred; avoiding discriminatory outcomes. Relied upon as binding authority to overturn the High Court and award the enhanced compensation of ₹4 lakhs.
Union of India v. Thankaraj (1999) 3 KLT 320 Held that compensation is governed by the Rules prevailing on the date of the accident. The Supreme Court rejected the High Court’s reliance on this case in light of the later decision in Rathi Menon.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Supreme Court, after reviewing the record and hearing counsel, found the appellants’ claim “squarely covered” by Rathi Menon. That judgment had criticised any interpretation leading to discriminatory awards based solely on the accident date, illustrating the potential for grossly unequal compensation for identical injuries suffered days apart. The Court reiterated that:

  • Currency values fluctuate; compensation figures must be updated to preserve real value.
  • Rules should be applied as they stand at the time the Tribunal decides the case, ensuring fairness and consistency.
  • Any contrary approach would result in “manifestly absurd” and unjust outcomes.

Because the High Court had denied the enhanced amount by following Thankaraj, its judgment conflicted with the authoritative ratio in Rathi Menon and had to be set aside.

Holding and Implications

Appeal Allowed; compensation enhanced to ₹4 lakhs. The Railway Administration must pay the increased amount within three months, with interest as previously directed by the High Court. If ₹2 lakhs has already been paid, interest is payable only on the balance.

Implications: The decision reinforces the binding effect of Rathi Menon and affirms that claims should be assessed under the compensation amounts prevailing at the time of adjudication, safeguarding claimants from outdated awards. No new legal principle is laid down; the Court merely applies existing precedent.

Show all summary ...

R.P Sethi, J.— Leave granted.

2. Denying them the benefit of the amendment to the Railway Accidents and Untoward Incidents (Compensation) Rules, 1990 as amended in 1997 and relying upon its earlier judgment in Union of India v. Thankaraj (1999) 3 KLT 320, the High Court refused to enhance the compensation for the death of P. Suresh Kumar in a train accident which had occurred on 17-7-1997. Relying upon a judgment of this Court in Rathi Menon v. Union of India (2001) 3 SCC 714 the appellants have prayed for setting aside the impugned judgment and for enhancement of the compensation.

3. The facts giving rise to the filing of the present appeal are that while travelling from Thiruvalla to Jamnagar in Train No. 6334 on a valid ticket issued by the Southern Railway, the deceased was accidentally thrown out of the train on account of overcrowding near electric pillar at km 134/4-5 between Chakarapalli and Penukonda Railway Stations. As a result of the fall, the deceased got injuries all over his body and ultimately died. A case as Crime No. 38 of 1997 was registered and ultimately closed, finding it as a case of accidental death. The appellants thereafter prayed for the award of compensation of Rs 4 lakhs, which was disposed of by the Railway Claims Tribunal vide its judgment dated 29-10-1998 holding the appellants entitled to the payment of Rs 2 lakhs by way of compensation for the untoward incident along with interest at the rate of 15% per annum from the date of default. In the appeal before the Division Bench of the High Court, the order of the Tribunal awarding compensation was upheld and the appellants held entitled @ 12% per annum from 29-12-1997, the date of petition till 29-11-1998.

4. After hearing the learned counsel for the parties and perusing the record, we have no doubt in our mind that the claim of the appellants is squarely covered by the judgment of this Court in Rathi Menon case (2001) 3 SCC 714 wherein while setting aside the similar judgment of the Kerala High Court, it was held:

“26. The asinine consequence of accepting the interpretation placed by the Division Bench of the High Court can be demonstrated through an illustration. If a person sustained injury as described in Rule 3(2) of the Rules, in an accident in a train on 31-10-1997, and another person sustains the same kind of injury in another accident in a train the next day i.e 1-11-1997, when both persons made separate applications before the same Claims Tribunal for compensation, the Tribunal can award Rs 2 lakhs only in the first case and Rs 4 lakhs in the second case. What a woeful discrimination, if not a glaringly unfair differentiation. See the interval between the two accidents of identical features. It was only a few hours, but the difference in the compensation amount is enormously high. Any court should avert an interpretation which would lead to such a manifestly absurd fallout, unless the court is compelled otherwise by any mandatory provision.
27. Why the Central Government decided to make such a vast variation in the amount of compensation while exercising the powers conferred by Section 129 of the Act? It cannot be conceived that the Government wanted to make a discrimination between those victims who suffered an injury in an accident prior to 1-11-1997 and those who suffered an identical injury in a similar accident on or after that date. The raison d'être for making such variation is easily discernible. The Central Government wanted to update the compensation amount. Rupee value is not an unchanging unit in the monetary system. Students of economic history know that currency value remained static before the Second World War. But the post-World War II witnessed the new phenomenon of vast fluctuations in money value of currency notes in circulation in each nation. When the US Dollar registered a steep upward rise, currencies in many other countries made downward slip. What was the value of one hundred rupees twenty years ago is vastly different from what it is today. This substantial change has caused its impact on the cost of living also.
28. The Central Government while changing the figures in the compensation amount after an interval of a decade was only influenced by the desire to update the money value of the compensation. In other words, what you were to pay ten years ago to one person cannot be the same if it is paid today in the same figure of currency notes. It is for the purpose of meeting the reality that the Central Government changed the figures.
29. The unjust consequence resulting from the interpretation which the Division Bench placed can be demonstrated in another plane also. If a person who sustained injury in a railway accident or in an untoward incident was disabled from making an application immediately and he makes the application a few years hence, is he to get the compensation in terms of the money value which prevailed on the date of the accident? Suppose a Tribunal wrongly dismissed a claim after a few years of filing the application and the claimant approaches the High Court in appeal. As it happens quite often now, some High Courts could take up such an appeal only after the lapse of many years and if the appeal is decided in favour of the claimant after so many years, what a pity if the amount awarded is only in terms of the figure indicated on the date of the accident.
30. From all these, we are of the definite opinion that the Claims Tribunal must consider what the Rules prescribed at the time of making the order for payment of the compensation.”

5. In view of the authoritative pronouncement made by this Court under similar circumstances, the present appeal has to be allowed by setting aside the impugned judgment of the High Court. Consequently we direct the Railway Administration to pay to the appellants a total sum of Rs 4 lakhs instead of Rs 2 lakhs as awarded within a period of three months from the date of this judgment with interest as awarded by the High Court. If the amount of Rs 2 lakhs as awarded by the Tribunal has already been paid, the appellants would be entitled to interest on the balance amount of Rs 2 lakhs from the date of the petition till the actual payment and not on the whole amount as awarded by us. The appeal is allowed accordingly.