- Bookmark
- Share
- CaseIQ
Savani Roadlines v. Sundaram Textiles Ltd. And Another
Factual and Procedural Background
The first respondent (consignor) entrusted 125 cartons of goods valued at Rs 9,30,188 to the appellant for transport from Nanguneri to Itchalkaranji. The goods were never delivered. Having insured the consignment with the second respondent (insurer), the consignor lodged a claim, which the insurer settled in full by paying Rs 9,30,188. In return, the insurer obtained a document titled “letter of subrogation and special power of attorney”. Relying on this document, the insurer—joined by the consignor—filed a complaint before the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Forum, which on 16-12-1998 directed the appellant to pay Rs 9,30,188 with 12% interest per annum. The appellant’s revision before the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission was dismissed on 11-3-1999, leading to the present appeal before the Supreme Court.
Legal Issues Presented
- Whether an insurer, having compensated the consignor and holding a “letter of subrogation and special power of attorney,” qualifies as a “consumer” vis-à-vis the carrier and can therefore maintain a complaint before a Consumer Forum.
Arguments of the Parties
Respondents’ Arguments (Insurer and Consignor)
- The prior Supreme Court decisions—New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. G.N. Sainani and Oberai Forwarding Agency v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd.—turned on the existence of an assignment. If the document is merely a subrogation and not an assignment, those decisions do not apply.
- A pure subrogation allows the insurer to step into the shoes of the consignor, making the insurer a consumer entitled to file the complaint on the consignor’s behalf.
- The terms of the present document should be interpreted as evidencing only subrogation, not assignment.
Table of Precedents Cited
| Precedent | Rule or Principle Cited For | Application by the Court |
|---|---|---|
| New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. G.N. Sainani (1997) 6 SCC 383 | An assignee of a mere right to sue is not a “consumer”; such an assignee cannot maintain a complaint under the Consumer Protection Act. | Relied upon to underscore that assignment of a right to sue deprives the assignee (insurer) of consumer status. |
| Oberai Forwarding Agency v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. (2000) 2 SCC 407 | An insurer holding an assignment is not a beneficiary of the carrier’s services and therefore not a consumer; a complaint filed by such an insurer is not maintainable. | The Court noted that the current “letter of subrogation” mirrors that in Oberai; hence it constitutes an assignment, rendering the insurer’s complaint non-maintainable. |
Court's Reasoning and Analysis
The Supreme Court compared the operative terms of the present “letter of subrogation and special power of attorney” with those examined in Oberai Forwarding Agency. Finding them “identical,” the Court deemed the document an assignment rather than a mere subrogation. Under the rulings in Oberai and New India Assurance v. Sainani, an assignee of a right to sue is not a consumer and therefore lacks standing to file a complaint before a Consumer Forum. Because the insurer’s complaint was predicated on such an assignment, the complaint was not maintainable. The Court expressly stated it was unnecessary to decide the broader question of whether a complaint would lie in situations involving pure subrogation unaccompanied by assignment. It added that the insurer remains free to pursue recovery through a civil suit.
Holding and Implications
Appeal Allowed; Complaint Dismissed.
Consequences: The order of the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission upholding the State Forum’s award is set aside, relieving the appellant of the liability imposed by those bodies. The insurer retains the option to file a civil suit for recovery. The decision confines itself to the facts and documents at hand and does not establish a new precedent beyond reaffirming the principles in Oberai and Sainani.
S.N Variava, J.— This appeal is against an order of the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission dated 11-3-1999.
2. Briefly stated the facts are as follows:
The 1st respondent had entrusted to the appellant 125 cartons of goods, of the value of Rs 9,30,188 for transport from Nanguneri to Itchalkaranji. The goods were not delivered. The 1st respondent had insured the goods with the 2nd respondent. The 1st respondent lodged a claim with the 2nd respondent for loss of goods. The 2nd respondent settled the claim of the 1st respondent by paying a sum of Rs 9,30,188. The 2nd respondent took a letter, which is termed as a “letter of subrogation, and a special power of attorney”. On the basis of this letter the 2nd respondent filed a complaint before the State Consumer Redressal Forum. The 1st respondent was also a party to this complaint. The State Consumer Redressal Forum by its order dated 16-12-1998 directed the appellant to pay a sum of Rs 9,30,188 with interest at 12% per annum.
3. The appellant filed a revision before the National Consumer Redressal Commission which has been dismissed by the impugned order dated 11-3-1999. Hence this appeal.
4. The only question raised before us is whether an insurance company is a consumer vis-à-vis the appellant and as such consumer can file a complaint before the Consumer Forum.
5. In the case of New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. G.N Sainani (1997) 6 SCC 383 this Court has held that the assignee of a mere right to sue for the loss on account of short-landing of goods cannot be regarded as any beneficiary of any service within the meaning of the definition of “consumer”. It has been held that such assignee cannot file a complaint under the Act, but can file a suit in a civil court for recovery of the loss. It has been held that the complaint by such assignee would not be maintainable.
6. In the case of Oberai Forwarding Agency v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. (2000) 2 SCC 407 it has been held that an insurer compensating the consignor for loss of goods during transit and having an assignment was not a beneficiary of the services hired by the consignor from the carrier. It is held that an insurer was not a consumer and could not, therefore, maintain a complaint against the carrier of the goods. It is held that even the addition of the consignor as a co-complainant would not enable the insurer to maintain such a complaint. In this judgment the terms of “letter of subrogation” (in that case) are also set out. The main terms are, more or less, identical to the terms of the “letter of subrogation” in the present case. On an interpretation of those terms this Court has held that such a “letter of subrogation” was in effect an assignment. This Court has held that the assignee was not a beneficiary of the service and was not a consumer. It is held that a complaint by the Insurance Company was not maintainable.
7. Faced with this situation, Mr Raina submitted that in both cases i.e New India Assurance Co. Ltd. case (1997) 6 SCC 383 and Oberai Forwarding Agency (2000) 2 SCC 407 the decisions were based on the fact that there was an assignment. He submitted that if there was no assignment but a mere subrogation then the principles laid down in these two cases would not apply. He submitted that on subrogation the Insurance Company would merely step into the shoes of the consumer and would be filing the complaint on behalf of the consumer. He showed to this Court the various terms of the letter of subrogation and submitted that, in this case, there was no assignment, but a mere subrogation. He submitted that the complaint was thus maintainable.
8. In our view, it is not necessary to decide whether a complaint would be maintainable if there was merely subrogation. The main terms of the letter of subrogation in this case are identical to the letter of subrogation in Oberai Forwarding Agency case (2000) 2 SCC 407. On such terms it has been held that it is an assignment. As it is an assignment the principles laid down in the abovementioned cases apply and the complaint would not be maintainable. We, however, clarify that it will be open for the Insurance Company to file a claim for recovery of the amounts in a civil court.
9. Accordingly, the appeal is allowed. There will, however, be no order as to costs.
Alert