Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

United India Insurance v. Ajmer Singh Cotton & General Mills And Others

Supreme Court Of India
Aug 12, 1999
Important Paras
Please sign up to view Important Paras.
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

The appeals arose out of insurance claims made by the respondents (insured) for losses caused by fire. After surveyor assessments, the appellant insurance company paid the assessed amounts, which the insured accepted by executing discharge vouchers expressly stating that the sums were received in “full and final discharge” of all claims. Subsequently, the insured filed complaint petitions before the Punjab State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission seeking, inter alia, interest at 18% per annum on the settled claims. The State Commission dismissed the complaints. On appeal, the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission reversed the decision and awarded the claimed interest. The insurer challenged the National Commission’s orders before the present court, leading to the instant appeals.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether an insured, after voluntarily executing a discharge voucher acknowledging full and final settlement, is estopped from raising any further claim against the insurer.
  2. Whether, despite such voluntary execution, the insured is still entitled to interest on the settled amount.
  3. Whether Consumer Disputes Redressal Commissions have the power to impose liability on insurance companies beyond the contractual liabilities stipulated in the policy.

Arguments of the Parties

The opinion does not contain a detailed account of the parties' legal arguments.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Sovintorg (India) Ltd. v. State Bank of India Consumer fora have jurisdiction to award reasonable interest where justified by the facts. Relied upon to affirm that consumer forums may award interest in appropriate cases, although not expressly authorised by the Consumer Protection Act.
Jivajeerao Cotton Mills Ltd. v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. Effect of accepting claim amounts without protest after executing a discharge voucher. The court clarified that the observations in this case must be read subject to the present ruling that execution of a discharge voucher does not invariably bar further claims; each case depends on circumstances such as fraud or coercion.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The court first acknowledged that, although the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 does not expressly grant authority to award interest, its earlier decision in Sovintorg recognises an implied power to do so when justified by the facts. It then analysed the legal effect of discharge vouchers, holding that such documents do not automatically estop a consumer from pursuing additional claims if the voucher was obtained through fraud, misrepresentation, undue influence, or other coercive circumstances.

Applying these principles to the present cases, the court found:

  • The discharge vouchers were executed voluntarily, and the complainants never pleaded fraud, misrepresentation, or undue influence.
  • The only basis for the National Commission’s award was a “delay of a couple of months” in settlement, a ground the court deemed insufficient where the insured had not protested at the time of payment.
  • Consequently, no deficiency in service was established that could justify additional liability or interest.

The court further clarified that consumer fora may, in appropriate circumstances, impose liability notwithstanding a discharge voucher, but only where the facts support such relief.

Holding and Implications

Appeals Allowed; orders of the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission set aside; complaints dismissed.

Implications: The ruling confirms that voluntary execution of a discharge voucher generally bars subsequent claims unless vitiating factors such as fraud, misrepresentation, or coercion are alleged and proved. It also reinforces that consumer forums possess a conditional power to award interest but must exercise it based on the factual matrix. The decision provides guidance on the evidentiary burden required to reopen settled insurance claims and does not create new liability beyond the policy terms absent proven deficiency in service.

Show all summary ...

R.P Sethi, J.— Whether the insured is estopped from making any further claim from the insurer after accepting the insurance claim amount in full and final settlement of all the claims by executing the discharge voucher willingly and voluntarily without any protest or objections?

Whether in spite of the acceptance of the claim amount and execution of the discharge voucher voluntarily, the insured is entitled to the grant of any interest?

Whether the Consumer Disputes Redressal Commissions constituted under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 are entitled to fasten liability against the insurance companies over and above the liabilities payable under the contract of insurance envisaged in the policy of insurance? are the main questions of law required to be adjudicated in all these appeals.

2. In Civil Appeal No. 535 of 1994 Respondent 1 had procured two Policies Nos. 201202-11-43-11-01234-90 from the appellant Insurance Company. Similarly in Civil Appeal No. 723 of 1994 Respondent 1 had procured two insurance covers operative from 20-10-1989 to 19-6-1990 to the extent of Rs 1,00,000 and from 3-4-1990 to 29-6-1990 to the extent of Rs 10,00,000 respectively. Respondent 1 had also procured insurance cover to the tune of Rs 27 lakhs from Respondents 2 to 4. The respondent suffered losses on account of fire regarding which surveyors were appointed and upon submission of their reports the payments were made which were accepted by the insured with declaration of receipt of the “sum in full and final discharge of claims upon them”. After the payments were made, the respondents filed complaint petitions before the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, Punjab at Chandigarh claiming, inter alia, interest at the rate of 18 per cent per annum against the appellant. The State Commission dismissed the claims but the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission accepted the appeal of Respondent 1 and directed the appellant to pay the interest at the rate of 18 per cent.

3. The facts in Civil Appeal No. 534 of 1994 are almost identical for determining the controversy and deciding the question of law noted hereinabove.

4. We have heard learned counsel for the parties and perused the record. It is true that the award of interest is not specifically authorised under the Consumer Protection Act, 1986 (hereinafter called “the Act”) but in view of our judgment in Sovintorg (India) Ltd. v. State Bank of India we are of the opinion that in appropriate cases the forum and the commissions under the Act are authorised to grant reasonable interest under the facts and circumstances of each case. The mere execution of the discharge voucher would not always deprive the consumer from preferring claim with respect to the deficiency in service or consequential benefits arising out of the amount paid in default of the service rendered. Despite execution of the discharge voucher, the consumer may be in a position to satisfy the Tribunal or the Commission under the Act that such discharge voucher or receipt had been obtained from him under the circumstances which can be termed as fraudulent or exercise of undue influence or by misrepresentation or the like. If in a given case the consumer satisfies the authority under the Act that the discharge voucher was obtained by fraud, misrepresentation, undue influence or the like, coercive bargaining compelled by circumstances, the authority before whom the complaint is made would be justified in granting appropriate relief. However (sic so), where such discharge voucher is proved to have been obtained under any of the suspicious circumstances noted hereinabove, the Tribunal or the commission would be justified in granting the appropriate relief under the circumstances of each case. The mere execution of the discharge voucher and acceptance of the insurance claim would not estop the insured from making further claim from the insurer but only under the circumstances as noticed earlier. The Consumer Disputes Redressal Forums and Commissions constituted under the Act shall also have the power to fasten liability against the insurance companies notwithstanding the issuance of the discharge voucher. Such a claim cannot be termed to be fastening the liability against the insurance companies over and above the liabilities payable under the contract of insurance envisaged in the policy of insurance. The claim preferred regarding the deficiency of service shall be deemed to be based upon the insurance policy, being covered by the provisions of Section 14 of the Act.

5. In the instant cases the discharge vouchers were admittedly executed voluntarily and the complainants had not alleged their execution under fraud, undue influence, misrepresentation or the like. In the absence of pleadings and evidence the State Commission was justified in dismissing their complaints. The National Commission however granted relief solely on the ground of delay in the settlement of claim under the policies. The mere delay of a couple of months would not have authorised the National Commission to grant relief particularly when the insurer had not complained of such a delay at the time of acceptance of the insurance amount under the policy. We are not satisfied with the reasoning of the National Commission and are of the view that the State Commission was justified in dismissing the complaints though on different reasonings. The observations of the State Commission in Jivajeerao Cotton Mills Ltd. v. New India Assurance Co. Ltd. shall always be construed in the light of our findings in this judgment and the mere receipt of the amount without any protest would not always debar the claimant from filing the complaint.

6. Under the circumstances the appeals are allowed. The orders of the National Commission are set aside by confirming the orders passed by the State Commission. The complaint of the respondents shall stand dismissed without any order as to costs.