Login
  • Bookmark
  • PDF
  • Share
  • CaseIQ

Kerala State Electricity Board And Another v. Valsala K. And Another

Supreme Court Of India
Sep 16, 1999
Important Paras
Please sign up to view Important Paras.
Smart Summary (Beta)

Factual and Procedural Background

This opinion resolves a consolidated set of Special Leave Petitions (SLPs) — SLPs (C) Nos. 21613, 22950, 22590 of 1997, and 1481, 1799, 16518 of 1998 — and a connected Civil Appeal No. 5962 of 1997. The proceedings arise from claims under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923, and turn on whether the 1995 amendments (Act 30 of 1995, effective 15-09-1995) enhancing compensation and interest apply to accidents that occurred before the amendment.

For the batch of SLPs, the impugned orders had applied the 1995 amendment. The Court clarified the governing legal position but declined to interfere with those orders under Article 136 of the Constitution. In Civil Appeal No. 5962 of 1997, arising from a Kerala High Court judgment dated 22-10-1996, the Court affirmed the High Court’s view and dismissed the appeal.

Legal Issues Presented

  1. Whether the amendments to Sections 4 and 4-A of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923, introduced by Act 30 of 1995 with effect from 15-09-1995 (enhancing compensation and interest), apply to cases where the accident causing death or permanent disablement occurred prior to 15-09-1995.
  2. What is the relevant date for determining the quantum of compensation and applicable interest under the Act — the date of the accident or the date of adjudication.

Arguments of the Parties

The opinion does not contain a detailed account of the parties' legal arguments.

Table of Precedents Cited

Precedent Rule or Principle Cited For Application by the Court
Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata, (1976) 1 SCC 289 An employer becomes liable to pay compensation as soon as the personal injury is caused in an accident arising out of and in the course of employment. The relevant date for determining compensation is the date of the accident, not the date of adjudication. Treated as binding law by a larger Bench. Used to hold that compensation must be determined as on the date of the accident; guided the Court’s rejection of the contrary view and the overall answer to the main question in the negative.
New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. V.K. Neelakandan Two-Judge Bench view that the Workmen's Compensation Act, being beneficial, warrants applying the benefits available on the date of adjudication rather than the accident date. Declared not correct in view of the larger Bench decision in Pratap Narain Singh Deo, which the two-Judge Bench had not considered.
United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Alavi, (1998) 1 KLT 951 (FB) Entitlement to compensation arises at the moment of injury; the amount payable is that which is applicable on the date of the accident, not the enhanced amount under the 1995 amendment. Approved to the extent it accords with the larger Bench ruling in Pratap Narain Singh Deo; relied upon in affirming the High Court’s approach and clarifying the correct legal position.

Court's Reasoning and Analysis

The Court began by identifying the central question: whether the 1995 amendments enhancing compensation and interest under Sections 4 and 4-A of the Workmen’s Compensation Act apply to accidents predating 15-09-1995. It noted that High Courts had uniformly treated the date of the accident as the controlling date for determining rights and liabilities.

Anchoring its analysis in the four-Judge Bench decision in Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata, the Court reaffirmed that liability to pay compensation arises as soon as the workman suffers personal injury in an accident arising out of and in the course of employment. Consequently, the relevant date for determining compensation is the date of the accident, not the date when the claim is adjudicated.

The Court expressly disapproved the contrary two-Judge Bench view in New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. V.K. Neelakandan, which had applied the benefits available as on the date of adjudication, observing that the larger Bench decision in Pratap Narain Singh Deo controlled the field and had not been noticed in Neelakandan. The Court also endorsed the Full Bench decision of the Kerala High Court in United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Alavi to the extent it aligned with the larger Bench in holding that compensation is pegged to the accident date.

Having answered the principal question in the negative — i.e., that the 1995 amendments do not apply to accidents occurring before 15-09-1995 — the Court turned to the batch of SLPs. It recognized that the accidents had occurred long ago and that, under the unamended law, compensation had become payable. However, taking into account the peculiar facts, the relatively small amounts involved, and the passage of time, the Court declined to interfere with the impugned orders (which had applied the 1995 amendment) in exercise of its discretionary jurisdiction under Article 136 of the Constitution. The SLPs were therefore dismissed, with the legal position clarified.

In Civil Appeal No. 5962 of 1997, the Court found the Kerala High Court’s judgment to be consistent with Pratap Narain Singh Deo and the Alavi Full Bench decision. It held there was no merit in the appeal and dismissed it, with no order as to costs.

Holding and Implications

Holding: The amendments introduced by Act 30 of 1995 to Sections 4 and 4-A of the Workmen’s Compensation Act, 1923 (effective 15-09-1995), enhancing compensation and interest, do not apply to accidents that occurred prior to 15-09-1995. The relevant date for determining compensation is the date of the accident. The two-Judge Bench view in New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. V.K. Neelakandan is not correct in light of the larger Bench decision in Pratap Narain Singh Deo. The Full Bench decision in United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Alavi is approved to the extent it aligns with this principle.

Disposition: The SLPs are DISMISSED in the Court’s discretion under Article 136, without disturbing the impugned orders, but with the law clarified as above. Civil Appeal No. 5962 of 1997 is DISMISSED; no costs.

Implications: The decision reaffirms that compensation under the Workmen’s Compensation Act is determined as of the date of the accident. While the Court clarified the law, it did not set aside the impugned orders in the SLPs due to the small amounts involved and the lapse of time. For the parties, the existing orders in the SLP matters remain undisturbed; in the civil appeal, the Kerala High Court’s judgment stands. The opinion consolidates and approves the larger Bench principle without creating a new rule beyond reaffirmation.

Show all summary ...

SLPs (C) Nos. 21613, 22950, 22590 of 1997, 1481, 1799 and 16518 of 1998

1. The neat question involved in these special leave petitions is whether the amendment of Sections 4 and 4-A of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923, made by Act 30 of 1995 with effect from 15-9-1995, enhancing the amount of compensation and rate of interest, would be attracted to cases where the claims in respect of death or permanent disablement resulting from an accident caused during the course of employment, took place prior to 15-9-1995.

2. Various High Courts in the country, while dealing with the claim for compensation under Workmen's Compensation Act have uniformly taken the view that the relevant date for determining the rights and liabilities of the parties is the date of the accident.

3. A four-Judge Bench of this Court in Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata (1976) 1 SCC 289 speaking through Shinghal, J. has held that an employer becomes liable to pay compensation as soon as the personal injury is caused to the workman by the accident which arose out of and in the course of employment. Thus, the relevant date for determination of the rate of compensation is the date of the accident and not the date of adjudication of the claim.

4. A two-Judge Bench of this Court in New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. V.K Neelakandan however, took the view that the Workmen's Compensation Act being a special legislation for the benefit of the workmen, the benefit as available on the date of adjudication should be extended to the workmen and not the compensation which was payable on the date of the accident. The two-Judge Bench in Neelakandan case however, did not take notice of the judgment of the larger Bench in Pratap Narain Singh Deo case (1976) 1 SCC 289 as it presumably was not brought to the notice of their Lordships. Be that as it may, in view of the categorical law laid down by the larger Bench in Pratap Singh Deo case (1976) 1 SCC 289 the view expressed by the two-Judge Bench in Neelakandan case is not correct.

5. Our attention has also been drawn to a judgment of the Full Bench of the Kerala High Court in United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Alavi (1998) 1 KLT 951 (FB) wherein the Full Bench precisely considered the same question and examined both the above-noted judgments. It took the view that the injured workman becomes entitled to get compensation the moment he suffers personal injuries of the types contemplated by the provisions of the Workmen's Compensation Act and it is the amount of compensation payable on the date of the accident and not the amount of compensation payable on account of the amendment made in 1995, which is relevant. The decision of the Full Bench of the Kerala High Court, to the extent it is in accord with the judgment of the larger Bench of this Court in Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata (1976) 1 SCC 289 lays down the correct law and we approve it.

6. Having answered the question posed in the earlier part of the judgment in the negative, we shall take up this batch of special leave petitions for consideration.

7. Insofar as these special leave petitions are concerned, we find that the accident took place a long time back. Compensation became payable to the workmen, as it is not disputed that the accidents occurred during the course of employment, as per the law prior to the amendment made in 1995. Keeping in view the peculiar facts and circumstances of these cases, the pettiness of the amounts involved in each of the cases and the time that has since elapsed, we are not inclined to interfere with the impugned orders, decided on the basis of the 1995 amendment, in exercise of our jurisdiction under Article 136 of the Constitution of India and, therefore, dismiss the special leave petitions, but after clarifying the law, as noticed above.

Civil Appeal No. 5962 of 1997

8. This appeal by special leave calls in question the judgment of the High Court of Kerala dated 22-10-1996. We have heard learned counsel for the parties. The view taken by the High Court is unexceptionable and is in accord with the judgment of this Court in Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata (1976) 1 SCC 289 as also the Full Bench judgment of the Kerala High Court in United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Alavi (1998) 1 KLT 951 (FB). There is no merit in this appeal. It is dismissed. No costs.